DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the drawings filed 11/18/2024 are not proper black and white line drawings. This is frequently the result of drawings which are filed in a very dark grey (so dark that it is appears black such as RGB value 37, 37, 37) instead of pure black (RGB value 0, 0, 0). While very dark grey may appear black, it causes artifacts and inconsistent line thickness. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
In the instant case, the abstract both repeats information given in the title, and contains the implied phrase “The present disclosure discloses”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 12, 17-22, and 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. 11,214,141 – Yagura.
Regarding claim 11.
Yagura discloses a panel assembly (Fig 1a), comprising:
a panel mounting frame (1, fig 1a);
a panel cover (2, fig 1a);
a hinge (B, fig 6) configured to connect the panel cover to the panel mounting frame (See fig 1a), the hinge comprising:
a hinge plate (6, fig 6);
a first pivot shaft (65, fig 9) disposed on a first side of the hinge plate (See fig 9) and configured to be pivotally connected to the panel mounting frame (via 4, fig 9); and
a second pivot shaft (64, fig 9) disposed on a second side of the hinge plate (See fig 9) and configured to be pivotally connected to the panel cover (at 25, fig 9); and
an elastic element (7, fig 9) configured to drive the hinge plate to rotate and disposed between the panel mounting frame and the hinge plate (See fig 9), wherein
the elastic element is in a compressed state when the panel cover is in a closed state relative to the panel mounting frame (Column 8, lines 19-37; (1) FIGS. 1(a) and 1(b) show a basic operation of the lid device. In FIG. 1(b), the basic operation resides in that the lid 2 is switched between the closed position shown by the dashed lines where the lid 2 becomes approximately a same one face as a body of an auto body, and the fully open position shown by the solid lines; in the closed position, the lid 2 is urged in a closing direction by the urging force of the urging member 7, and is locked by the lock device (not shown in the drawings); when the lock device is unlocked, the lid 2 is pressed in the opening direction against an urging force of an urging device 6 by the push lifter (not shown in the drawings) so as to slightly turn in the opening direction as shown in FIG. 1(b); and from that state, when an operator turns the lid 2 in the opening direction by hand and the like, in a middle (an intermediate position) of turning the lid 2, the urging direction of the urging device 7 is reversed, and after that, the lid 2 turns in the opening direction through the respective link members 5 and 6 by the urging force of the urging device 7 until the lid 2 fully opens.).
Regarding claim 12.
Yagura discloses all limitations of claim 11.
Yagura further discloses:
a frame edge extending plate (4, fig 6) disposed on an inner side of a frame edge of the panel mounting frame (See fig 6), wherein
the first pivot shaft (65, fig 9) is configured to be pivotally connected to the frame edge extending plate (at 47, fig 9), and wherein the elastic element (7, fig 9) is disposed between the hinge plate (6, fig 9) and the frame edge extending plate (4, fig 9).
Regarding claim 17.
Yagura discloses all limitations of claim 11.
Yagura further discloses the hinge plate (6, fig 9) extends along a height direction of the panel mounting frame (See fig 1a), wherein the hinge comprises two first pivot shafts (65, fig 9) disposed on the first side of the hinge plate (See fig 9), wherein the two first pivot shafts are arranged vertically apart from each other (see fig 9) and configured to be pivotably connected to the panel mounting frame (via 4, fig 9), respectively, wherein the hinge comprises two second pivot shafts (64, fig 9) disposed on the second side of the hinge plate (See fig 9), and wherein the two second pivot shafts are arranged vertically apart from each other (See fig 9) and configured to be pivotably connected to the panel cover, respectively (at 25, fig 9).
Regarding claim 18.
Yagura discloses all limitations of claim 11.
Yagura further discloses the hinge plate (6, fig 9) comprises a plurality of lightening holes (adjacent 61 in fig 9).
Regarding claim 19.
Yagura discloses all limitations of claim 11.
Yagura further discloses: a first buckle (26, fig 1a) disposed on a first side, away from the hinge, of the panel cover (See fig 1a), an elastic clamping slot disposed on a second side, away from the hinge, of the panel mounting frame, wherein, when the panel cover is in the closed state relative to the panel mounting frame, the first buckle is engaged with the elastic clamping slot (Column 5, lines 60-65; Also, on a lower face of the flat plate 21, an engagement piece 26 projects approximately in a middle of a plate width on a front side. The engagement piece 26 includes a locking hole 26a passing through in front and back, and a lock member of the aforementioned lock device is inserted and engaged so as to lock the lid 2 in a closed state).
Regarding claim 20.
Yagura discloses all limitations of claim 19.
Yagura further discloses: a second buckle (3, fig 6) disposed on a second side (See fig 1a), adjacent to the hinge, of the panel (2, fig 1a); and
a clamping convex (14, fig 6) disposed on a second side, adjacent to the hinge, of the panel mounting frame (See fig 6), wherein when the panel cover is in the closed state relative to the panel mounting frame, the second buckle is engaged with the clamping convex (See fig 1a).
Regarding claim 21.
Yagura discloses a water tank (Examiner notes that the recitation of a “water tank” amounts to intended use, and that the fuel tank of Yagura meets a broadest reasonable interpretation of a water tank, being capable of holding water.) assembly, comprising:
a water tank (Column 5, lines 20-22; In the through hole 13, for example, there is disposed a connecting pipe for communicating with a fuel tank) configured to be installed in a wall (9, fig 1a);
a panel assembly (Fig 1a), comprising:
a panel mounting frame (1, fig 1a);
a panel cover (2, fig 1a);
a hinge (B, fig 6) configured to connect the panel cover to the panel mounting frame (See fig 1a), the hinge comprising:
a hinge plate (6, fig 6);
a first pivot shaft (65, fig 9) disposed on a first side of the hinge plate (See fig 9) and configured to be pivotally connected to the panel mounting frame (via 4, fig 9); and
a second pivot shaft (64, fig 9) disposed on a second side of the hinge plate (See fig 9) and configured to be pivotally connected to the panel cover (at 25, fig 9); and
an elastic element (7, fig 9) configured to drive the hinge plate to rotate and disposed between the panel mounting frame and the hinge plate (See fig 9);
a connecting member (5, fig 9) configured to connect the panel assembly (at 24, fig 9) to the water tank (See fig 1a), wherein
the elastic element is in a compressed state when the panel cover is in a closed state relative to the panel mounting frame (Column 8, lines 19-37; (1) FIGS. 1(a) and 1(b) show a basic operation of the lid device. In FIG. 1(b), the basic operation resides in that the lid 2 is switched between the closed position shown by the dashed lines where the lid 2 becomes approximately a same one face as a body of an auto body, and the fully open position shown by the solid lines; in the closed position, the lid 2 is urged in a closing direction by the urging force of the urging member 7, and is locked by the lock device (not shown in the drawings); when the lock device is unlocked, the lid 2 is pressed in the opening direction against an urging force of an urging device 6 by the push lifter (not shown in the drawings) so as to slightly turn in the opening direction as shown in FIG. 1(b); and from that state, when an operator turns the lid 2 in the opening direction by hand and the like, in a middle (an intermediate position) of turning the lid 2, the urging direction of the urging device 7 is reversed, and after that, the lid 2 turns in the opening direction through the respective link members 5 and 6 by the urging force of the urging device 7 until the lid 2 fully opens.).
Regarding claim 22.
Yagura discloses all limitations of claim 21.
Yagura further discloses:
a frame edge extending plate (4, fig 6) disposed on an inner side of a frame edge of the panel mounting frame (See fig 6), wherein
the first pivot shaft (65, fig 9) is configured to be pivotally connected to the frame edge extending plate (at 47, fig 9), and wherein the elastic element (7, fig 9) is disposed between the hinge plate (6, fig 9) and the frame edge extending plate (4, fig 9).
Regarding claim 27.
Yagura discloses all limitations of claim 21.
Yagura further discloses the hinge plate (6, fig 9) extends along a height direction of the panel mounting frame (See fig 1a), wherein the hinge comprises two first pivot shafts (65, fig 9) disposed on the first side of the hinge plate (See fig 9), wherein the two first pivot shafts are arranged vertically apart from each other (see fig 9) and configured to be pivotably connected to the panel mounting frame (via 4, fig 9), respectively, wherein the hinge comprises two second pivot shafts (64, fig 9) disposed on the second side of the hinge plate (See fig 9), and wherein the two second pivot shafts are arranged vertically apart from each other (See fig 9) and configured to be pivotably connected to the panel cover, respectively (at 25, fig 9).
Regarding claim 28.
Yagura discloses all limitations of claim 21.
Yagura further discloses the hinge plate (6, fig 9) comprises a plurality of lightening holes (adjacent 61 in fig 9).
Regarding claim 29.
Yagura discloses a method for manufacturing a panel assembly (as in fig 1a), the method comprising:
pivotally connecting (See fig 1b) a first pivot shaft (65, fig 9) of a hinge (B, fig 6) to a panel mounting frame (via 4, fig 9);
pivotally connecting a second pivot shaft (64, fig 9) of the hinge to a panel cover (at 25, fig 9); and
arranging an elastic element (7, fig 9) between a hinge plate (6, fig 9) of the hinge and the panel mounting frame (at 4, fig 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15, 23-25, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagura in view of US Pat. 9,227,509 – Jones.
Regarding claim 13.
Yagura discloses all limitations of claim 12.
Yagura does not disclose the elastic element comprises an elastic sheet including:
a first end configured to be connected to the hinge plate or the frame edge extending plate; and
a second end configured to extend toward the frame edge extending plate or the hinge plate.
However, Jones teaches the elastic element (50, fig 4) comprises an elastic sheet (see fig 4) including:
a first end (54, fig 5) configured to be connected to the hinge plate (40, fig 5) or the frame edge extending plate; and
a second end (56, fig 6a) configured to extend toward the frame edge extending plate (36, fig 6a) or the hinge plate.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Yagura with the elastic sheet of Jones. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the cost of the assembly by substituting the leaf spring of Jones for the coil spring of Yagura.
Regarding claim 14.
The combination of Yagura and Jones teaches all limitations of claim 13.
Yagura does not disclose the hinge plate comprises a hinge plate through hole, wherein the first end of the elastic sheet configured to be connected to the hinge, wherein at least a portion of the elastic sheet is configured to be disposed in the hinge plate through hole, and wherein the second end of the elastic sheet is configured to extend out of the hinge plate through hole and extend toward the frame edge extending plate.
However, Jones teaches the hinge plate (40, fig 5) comprises a hinge plate through hole (46, fig 5), wherein the first end (54, fig 5) of the elastic sheet configured to be connected to the hinge (See fig 5), wherein at least a portion of the elastic sheet is configured to be disposed in the hinge plate through hole (See fig 5), and wherein the second end (56, fig 6a) of the elastic sheet is configured to extend out of the hinge plate through hole (See fig 6a) and extend toward the frame edge extending plate (36, fig 6a).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Yagura and Jones with the hinge plate through hole of Jones. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for the integration of the leaf spring of Jones with the assembly of Yagura.
Regarding claim 15.
The combination of Yagura and Jones teaches all limitations of claim 14.
The combination, in Jones, further teaches the elastic sheet (50, fig 6a) comprises a connecting sheet (at 54, fig 5) and an inclined extending sheet (58, fig 6a) connected to the connecting sheet (See fig 6a) and extending at an angle with respect to the connecting sheet (See fig 6a), wherein the connecting sheet is configured to be disposed in the hinge plate through hole (See at 46, fig 5) and connected to a hole wall of the hinge plate through hole (See fig 5), wherein the inclined extending sheet configured to extend toward the frame edge extending plate (See fig 6a) , wherein, when the panel cover is in the closed state relative to the panel mounting frame (as in fig 6a), the inclined extending sheet is compressed into the hinge plate through hole by the frame edge extending plate (See fig 6a).
Regarding claim 23.
Yagura discloses all limitations of claim 22.
Yagura does not disclose the elastic element comprises an elastic sheet including:
a first end configured to be connected to the hinge plate or the frame edge extending plate; and
a second end configured to extend toward the frame edge extending plate or the hinge plate.
However, Jones teaches the elastic element (50, fig 4) comprises an elastic sheet (see fig 4) including:
a first end (54, fig 5) configured to be connected to the hinge plate (40, fig 5) or the frame edge extending plate; and
a second end (56, fig 6a) configured to extend toward the frame edge extending plate (36, fig 6a) or the hinge plate.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Yagura with the elastic sheet of Jones. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the cost of the assembly by substituting the leaf spring of Jones for the coil spring of Yagura.
Regarding claim 24.
The combination of Yagura and Jones teaches all limitations of claim 23.
Yagura does not disclose the hinge plate comprises a hinge plate through hole, wherein the first end of the elastic sheet configured to be connected to the hinge, wherein at least a portion of the elastic sheet is configured to be disposed in the hinge plate through hole, and wherein the second end of the elastic sheet is configured to extend out of the hinge plate through hole and extend toward the frame edge extending plate.
However, Jones teaches the hinge plate (40, fig 5) comprises a hinge plate through hole (46, fig 5), wherein the first end (54, fig 5) of the elastic sheet configured to be connected to the hinge (See fig 5), wherein at least a portion of the elastic sheet is configured to be disposed in the hinge plate through hole (See fig 5), and wherein the second end (56, fig 6a) of the elastic sheet is configured to extend out of the hinge plate through hole (See fig 6a) and extend toward the frame edge extending plate (36, fig 6a).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Yagura and Jones with the hinge plate through hole of Jones. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for the integration of the leaf spring of Jones with the assembly of Yagura.
Regarding claim 25.
The combination of Yagura and Jones teaches all limitations of claim 24.
The combination, in Jones, further teaches the elastic sheet (50, fig 6a) comprises a connecting sheet (at 54, fig 5) and an inclined extending sheet (58, fig 6a) connected to the connecting sheet (See fig 6a) and extending at an angle with respect to the connecting sheet (See fig 6a), wherein the connecting sheet is configured to be disposed in the hinge plate through hole (See at 46, fig 5) and connected to a hole wall of the hinge plate through hole (See fig 5), wherein the inclined extending sheet configured to extend toward the frame edge extending plate (See fig 6a) , wherein, when the panel cover is in the closed state relative to the panel mounting frame (as in fig 6a), the inclined extending sheet is compressed into the hinge plate through hole by the frame edge extending plate (See fig 6a).
Regarding claim 30.
Yagura discloses all limitations of claim 29.
Yagura does not disclose the elastic element comprises an elastic sheet, wherein arranging the elastic element between the hinge plate of the hinge and the panel mounting frame comprises:
connecting a first end of the elastic sheet to the hinge plate;
disposing at least a portion of the elastic sheet in a hinge plate through hole of the hinge plate; and
extending a second end of the elastic sheet out of the hinge plate through hole and toward a frame edge extending plate disposed on an inner side of a frame edge of the panel mounting frame.
However, Jones teaches the elastic element (50, fig 4) comprises an elastic sheet (see fig 4) wherein arranging the elastic element between the hinge plate (40, fig 5) of the hinge and the panel mounting frame (36, fig 6a) comprises:
connecting a first end (54, fig 5) of the elastic sheet to the hinge plate (40, fig 5); and
extending a second end (56, fig 6a) of the elastic sheet out of the hinge plate through hole (46, fig 5) and toward a frame edge extending plate (36, fig 6a) disposed on an inner side of a frame edge of the panel mounting frame (See fig 6a).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yagura with the elastic sheet of Jones. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the cost of the assembly by substituting the leaf spring of Jones for the coil spring of Yagura.
Claim(s) 16 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yagura and Jones as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of PG Pub. US 2007/0039131 A1 – Rude.
Regarding claim 16.
The combination of Yagura and Jones teaches all limitations of claim 14.
The combination does not teach the elastic sheet is integrally formed with the hinge plate.
However, Rude teaches the elastic sheet (9m fig 1) is integrally formed (See fig 1) with the hinge plate (5, fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yagura and Jones with the integrally formed elastic sheet of Rude. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the complexity of the assembly.
Regarding claim 26.
The combination of Yagura and Jones teaches all limitations of claim 24.
The combination does not teach the elastic sheet is integrally formed with the hinge plate.
However, Rude teaches the elastic sheet (9m fig 1) is integrally formed (See fig 1) with the hinge plate (5, fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Yagura and Jones with the integrally formed elastic sheet of Rude. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the complexity of the assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/J.W.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634