DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18951505 filed on 11/18/2024 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on divisional of application #18139801, filed 04/26/2023, that is a Divisional of #17123597, filed 12/16/2020, that is a Divisional of #16503615, filed 07/04/2019 that is a Divisional of #15545706, filed 11/26/2017 which is a National Stage entry of PCT/JP2016/052735, with International Filing Date of 01/29/2016 that claims foreign priority to JP 2015-017212, filed 01/30/2015 (Japan).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
However, to overcome a prior art rejection, applicant(s) must submit a translation of the foreign priority papers in order to perfect the claimed foreign priority because said papers has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP § 213.04
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 6-18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2,4-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10379319. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as presented in the claims correspondence table below:
Instant case #18951505
US Pat. # 10379319
Notes
1
1, 5
2
2
3
1
4
1
6
4
7
5
8
6
9
7
10
8
11
9
12
10
13
11
14
12
15
13
16
14
17
15
18
16
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 17-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2,3-4, 6 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10908388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as presented in the claims correspondence table below:
Instant case #18951505
US Pat. # 10908388
Notes
1
1, 2
3
4
4
1
6
3
17
6
18
8
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamanashi US 20120268831 A1 (of record, see IDS dated 11/18/2024).
In regard to independent claim 1 and 19, Yamanashi teaches (see Figs. 1-6) a zoom lens and method for manufacturing zoom lens (wide angle zoom lens, e.g. 100 and equivalents, see abstract, paragraphs [01,29-35,99-109,111,113-123, 150-181]) comprising, zoom lens includes, in order from an object along an optical axis (along optical axis from object to image side, Figs. 1-5, paragraphs [29-35]):
a first lens group having a negative refractive power (negative group e.g. 110 and equivalents, paragraphs [29-35,99-110,113-123, 150-181], Figs. 1-6);
a second lens group having a positive refractive power (positive group e.g. 120 and equivalents, paragraphs [29-35,99-110,113-123, 150-181], Figs. 1-6);
a third lens group having a negative refractive power (negative group e.g. 130 and equivalents, paragraphs [29-35,99-110,113-123, 150-181], Figs. 1-6);
a fourth lens group (positive group e.g. 140 and equivalents, paragraphs [29-35,99-110,113-123, 150-181], Figs. 1-6); and
a fifth lens group (group e.g. 150 as positive and equivalents, paragraphs [29-35,99-110,113-123, 150-169,177-181], Figs. 1-4,6), regarding claim 19 method includes arranging the zoom lens such that, wherein when the zoom lens performs varying magnification (as zooming of zoom lens varies image magnification, e.g. paragraphs [29-35,99-110]), the distance between the first and second lens groups changes, the distance between the second and third lens groups changes, the distance between the third and fourth lens groups changes, the distance between the fourth and fifth lens groups changes (as second, third, fourth and fifth groups move during zooming, e.g. paragraphs [29-35,99-110], Figs. 1), the second and fourth lens groups move along the same trajectory along the optical axis (i.e. as second ad fourth groups have matching movement plans, e.g. 165 and equivalents, paragraphs [29-35,99-110], Figs. 1-4,6), and at least the third lens group moves along the optical axis (as third group e.g. 130, moves along optical axis paragraphs [29-35,99-110,113-123, 150-169, 177-181], Figs. 1-6), and
the following conditional expression is satisfied: 1.000<f5/(-f1)<10.000
where f5: a focal length of the fifth lens group,
f1: a focal length of the first lens group (e.g. given lens data, focal lengths of first and fifth lens group, e.g. value 4.17, paragraphs [113-123, 150-169, 177-181], Figs. 1-4,6).
Regarding claim 2, Yamanashi teaches (see Figs. 1-6) that the fourth lens group has a positive refractive power, and the fifth lens group has a positive refractive power (as fourth group and fifth group e.g. 140, 150 are positive and equivalents, paragraphs [29-35,99-110,113-123, 150-169,177-181], Figs. 1-4,6).
Regarding claim 3, Yamanashi teaches (see Figs. 1-6) that the following conditional expression is satisfied:
1.500<(-f3)/fw<10.000
where f3: a focal length of the third lens group fw: a focal length of the zoom lens system in a wide-angle end state (e.g. given lens data, focal lengths of third lens group and focal length at wide end, e.g. value 3.367, paragraphs [113-123, 150-169, 177-181], Figs. 1-4,6).
Regarding claim 4, Yamanashi teaches (see Figs. 1-6) that the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.050<|m34|/fw<1.500
where m34: a change in distance between the third lens group and the fourth lens group along the optical axis upon zooming from a wide-angle end state to a telephoto end state, fw: a focal length of the zoom lens in the wide-angle end state (e.g. given lens data, change of separation between group 3 and 4 and focal length at wide end, e.g. value 1.31, 1.66 paragraphs [113-123, 150-169, 177-181], Figs. 1-4,6).
Regarding claim 6, Yamanashi teaches (see Figs. 1-6) that the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.030<|m12|/fw<5.000
where m12: a change in distance between the first lens group and the second lens group along the optical axis upon zooming from a wide-angle end state to a telephoto end state, fw: a focal length of the zoom lens in the wide-angle end state (e.g. given lens data, change of separation between group 1 and 2 and focal length at wide end, e.g. value 2.509, paragraphs [113-123, 150-169, 177-181], Figs. 1-4,6).
Regarding claim 7, Yamanashi teaches (see Figs. 1-6) that the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.200<f5/f4<4.000
where f4: a focal length of the fourth lens group (e.g. given lens data, focal lengths of fourth and fifth lens group, e.g. value 1.1198, paragraphs [113-123, 150-169, 177-181], Figs. 1-4,6).
Regarding claim 8, Yamanashi teaches (see Figs. 1-6) that the following conditional expression is satisfied:
0.500<f4/f2<10.000
where f4: a focal length of the fourth lens group, f2: a focal length of the second lens group (e.g. given lens data, focal lengths of fourth and second group, e.g. value 2.405, paragraphs [113-123, 150-169, 177-181], Figs. 1-4,6).
Regarding claim 9, Yamanashi teaches (see Figs. 1-6) that the fifth lens group has a meniscus-shaped positive lens having a convex surface oriented toward the image side, and the following conditional expression is satisfied:
1.100<(rl+r2)/(r1-r2)<5.000
where r1: a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the positive lens
r2: a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the positive lens (e.g. given lens data, e.g. value 2.65, paragraphs [113-123, 150-169, 177-181], Figs. 1-4,6).
Regarding claim 13, Yamanashi teaches (see Figs. 1-6) that the zoom lens performs focusing from an object at infinity to an object at a close distance by moving at least one lens of the second lens group along the optical axis (i.e. see at least Figs. 1A, 2A, e.g. as second group is moved in zooming while focusing relative to part of first lens group)
Regarding claim 14, Yamanashi teaches (see Figs. 1-6) that the zoom lens performs focusing from an object at infinity to an object at a close distance by moving at least one lens of the third lens group along the optical axis (i.e. see at least Figs. 1A, 2A, e.g. as third group is moved in zooming while focusing relative to part of first lens group).
Regarding claim 15, Yamanashi teaches (see Figs. 1-6) that the zoom lens performs focusing from an object at infinity to an object at a close distance by moving at least one lens of the fourth lens group along the optical axis (i.e. see at least Figs. 1A, 2A, e.g. as fourth group is moved in zooming while focusing relative to part of first lens group).
Regarding claim 16, Yamanashi teaches (see Figs. 1-6) that the zoom lens performs focusing from an object at infinity to an object at a close distance by moving at least one lens of the fifth lens group along the optical axis (i.e. see at least Figs. 1A, 2A, e.g. as fifth group is moved in zooming while focusing relative to part of first lens group).
Regarding claim 17, Yamanashi teaches (see Figs. 1-6) that an aperture stop is provided between the second lens group and the third lens group (i.e. as STO between second and third lens group, e.g. table 1A, paragraphs [113-123, 139,150-169, 177-181], Figs. 1-4,6).
Regarding claim 18, Yamanashi teaches (see Figs. 1-6) an optical apparatus having the zoom lens of claim 1 (i.e. as zoom lens e.g. 100 and equivalents are part of a camera, digital camera, image capture device, e.g. paragraphs [01,94,132], claim 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanashi US 20120268831 A1 (of record, see IDS dated 11/18/2024).
Regarding claims 10, 11 and 12, Yamanashi teaches (see Figs. 1-6) the zoom lens but not explicitly that that at least one lens of the third lens group is configured to be movable so as to include a component in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis, or regarding claim 11 that at least one lens of the second lens group is configured to be movable so as to include a component in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis, or regarding claim 12 that at least one lens of the fourth lens group is configured to be movable so as to include a component in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the above cited limitations, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70 C.C.P.A. 1950). One would be motivated to move the vibration correction unit in order to either reduce vibration early in collimation or late in collimation and correction. Adjusting the correction later provides the benefit of a tighter beam to correct and adjusting the beam earlier allows for the vibration to be removed before the aberration correction so that it does not cause as much an effect.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Tanaka US 5229886 A also teaches features of instant invention (see Figs. 1-3 and their descriptions).
/MARIN PICHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872