DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 108. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, the limitation “the inner surface of the inner surface of the wall” is unclear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the dowel" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8-10, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Graham et al (US 2023/0331449), hereinafter Graham.
Regarding claim 1, Graham teaches a deodorant container configured to be entirely recyclable, the deodorant container comprising: a body (comprised of 3310, 3300, 3320, Fig 33) having a wall (3310) defining an interior cavity (space taken by 3350), a top end (near 3360), and an opposite bottom end (near 3300), the top end being open (as shown in Fig 33) and providing access to the interior cavity for storing a deodorant material ¶ [200]), the wall being made of a paper material (¶ [95]) and including an inner surface that is impermeable (¶[101]), the inner surface contacting the deodorant material within the interior cavity (as shown in Fig 27); a cap (3370) for closing the top end to protect the deodorant material contained within the interior cavity the wall being made of a paper material (¶ [94-95]) and including an inner surface that is impermeable (¶ [101]) for contacting the deodorant material within the interior cavity; an elevator mechanism (3320, 3322, 3340) in the interior cavity for advancing the deodorant material within the interior cavity towards the opening at the top end of the container to dispense the deodorant material (¶ [215]), the elevator mechanism including a platform (3340) for holding and pushing the deodorant material to be dispensed, the platform including a threaded aperture (3341), the platform being made of a paper material and includes a surface that is impermeable for contacting the deodorant material (¶ [18-20, 101, 103]); a spindle (3322) threadbly engaging the threaded aperture and operating to move the platform along the length of the spindle when the spindle is rotated (¶ [215]), the spindle being made entirely of a plant-based material that is entirely recyclable (¶ [18-20, 103]); and a dial (3320) at the bottom end of the body, the dial being connected to an end of the spindle (Fig 33) and is used to rotate the spindle to operate the elevator mechanism for dispensing the deodorant material from within the interior cavity (¶[215]), the dial being made entirely of a material that is recyclable (¶ [18-20, 103]).
Graham further teaches in claim 2 wherein the body is formed from a paper-based material and the inner surface being treated at least in part with at least one of a natural, biodegradable wax, oil, and sealant to prevent absorption of the deodorant material (¶ [95, 98, 100]);
in claim 6 a dial (3320) used to operate the elevator mechanism for advancing and exposing the deodorant material from the interior cavity of the of the deodorant container to dispense the deodorant material from within interior cavity for application by the user (¶ [215]);
in claim 8 (as best understood) a nonstick liner adjacent the inner surface of the inner surface of the wall of the container body (¶ [97]);
in claim 9 a lower platform (3010, Fig 30, which connected to 3013) similar to platform having multiple layers of materials suitable for consumer curbside recycling (¶ [103]);
in claim 11 wherein the lower platform is positioned at a base of the spindle below the deodorant material to maintain the support deodorant material within the container (as shown in Fig 30);
in claim 12 wherein the lower platform comprises at least one of a cellulose paper material that is recyclable and/or biodegradable and is treated with at least one of a natural, biodegradable wax, oil, and sealant to prevent absorption of the deodorant material (¶ [103, 100-101]);
in claim 13 wherein the deodorant material is stored in the container, the deodorant material includes at least one of a solid and semi-solid formulation (¶ [200]; therefore solid or semi-solid would be inherent);
in claim 14 wherein the materials used include at least one of cardboard, corrugated cardboard, and cellulose with at least a portion of the materials preferably being made from postconsumer paper (¶ [98]); and
in claim 15 where various components of the deodorant container comprise at least one of coated, laminated, combined or treated with biodegradable materials to prevent absorption by the components and leakage of the deodorant material from the container (¶ [97, 100]).
Regarding claim 16, Graham teaches a cosmetic product container configured to be entirely recyclable, the cosmetic product container comprising: a body (comprised of 3310, 3300, 3320, Fig 33) having a wall (3310) defining an interior cavity (space taken by 3350), a top end (near 3360), and an opposite bottom end (near 3300), the top end being open (as shown in Fig 33) and providing access to the interior cavity for storing a cosmetic material, the cosmetic material being a solid or semi-solid formulation (¶ [200]), the wall being made of a paper material and including an inner surface that is impermeable (¶ [95, 101]), the inner surface contacting the cosmetic material within the interior cavity (as shown in Fig 27); a cap (3370) for closing the top end to protect the cosmetic material contained within the interior cavity the wall being made of a paper material and including an inner surface that is impermeable (¶ [94-95, 101]) for contacting the cosmetic material within the interior cavity; an elevator mechanism (3320, 3322, 3340) in the interior cavity for advancing the cosmetic material within the interior cavity towards the opening at the top end of the container to dispense the cosmetic material (¶ [215]), the elevator mechanism including a platform (3340) for holding and pushing the cosmetic material to be dispensed (Fig 33), the platform including a threaded aperture (3341), the platform being made of a paper material and includes a surface that is impermeable for contacting the cosmetic material (¶ [18-20, 101, 103]); a spindle (3322) threadbly engaging the threaded aperture and operating to move the platform along the length of the spindle when the spindle is rotated (¶ [215]), the spindle being made entirely of a plant-based material that is entirely recyclable (¶ [18-20, 103]); and a dial (3320) at the bottom end of the body, the dial being connected to an end of the spindle and is used to rotate the spindle to operate the elevator mechanism for dispensing the cosmetic material from within the interior cavity (¶ [215]), the dial being made entirely of a material that is recyclable (¶ [18-20, 103]) .
Graham further teaches in claim 17 wherein the cosmetic material includes at least one of a deodorant, antiperspirant, foundation, and sunscreen (¶ [200]);
in claim 18 wherein the body is formed from a paper-based material and the inner surface being treated at least in part with at least one of a natural, biodegradable wax, oil, and sealant to prevent absorption of the deodorant material (¶ [95, 98, 100]);
in claim 19 wherein the materials of the container include at least one of cardboard, corrugated cardboard, and cellulose with at least a portion of the materials preferably being made from postconsumer paper (¶ [98]); and
in claim 20 where various components of the cosmetic product container comprise at least one of coated, laminated, combined or treated with biodegradable materials to prevent absorption by the components and leakage of the cosmetic material from the container (¶ [97, 100]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham, in view of KR 102382230B1.
Regarding claim 3, Graham is silent wherein the spindle is preferably made of wood. Attention is directed to KR 102382230B1 that teaches wherein the spindle (22) is made of wood (Machine Translation, Pg 6, ¶3-4]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a spindle made of wood, in view of KR 102382230B1's teaching. Wood material can be recycled or composted or repurposed.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham, in view of Skakoon et al (US 2006/0013640), hereinafter Skakoon.
Regarding claim 5, Graham is silent wherein the spindle is a wooden dowel with threads square-cut and widely spaced apart to preserve a relatively smoothe surface of the dowel between troughs of the threads, the square-cut threads threadably engage the threaded aperture of platform and engage the deodorant material resulting in the advancement of the platform and deodorant material from within container when the spindle is rotated.
Attention is directed to Skakoon that teaches wherein the spindle (114) with threads square-cut (116) and widely spaced apart (Fig 1-20) to preserve a relatively smoothe surface of the dowel between troughs of the threads, the square-cut threads threadably engage the threaded aperture (152 & 154, Fig 29-35) of platform (150) and engage the deodorant material resulting in the advancement of the platform and deodorant material from within container when the spindle is rotated (inherent function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a spindle with widely spaced apart square threads, in view of Skakoon’s teaching. Wide threads allow for better control of dispensing product.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to make the spindle out of wood. Applicant has not disclosed that whether the use of wooden dowels as spindle achieves any unexpected results. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to further modify Skakoon to arrive at the claimed invention as specified in claim 5 because such a modification would have been a mere design consideration. (See MPEP 2144.04 (I)).
Claim(s) 7 & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graham.
Regarding claims 7 & 10, Graham is silent wherein the platform and lower platform are multiple layered and includes at least one of a first paper oval disc, a wood oval disc, and a second paper oval disc. Instead, Graham discloses that the platform is made of compostable and recyclable materials similar to paper and wood (¶ [103]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to make the platform and lower platform out of multi-layered material and includes at least one of a first paper oval disc, a wood oval disc, and a second paper oval disc. Applicant has not disclosed that whether the use of paper over wood for platform achieves any unexpected results. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to further modify Graham to arrive at the claimed invention as specified in claims 7 & 10 because such a modification would have been a mere design consideration. (See MPEP 2144.04 (I)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2024/0067439 to Minnette is directed to the state of the art as a relevant teaching of the claimed invention.
/JENNIFER C CHIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754