DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, & 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2000124057A hereafter referred to as Masuda.
In regards to claim 1, Masuda discloses
A multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (1 – fig. 1 & 5; [0019]) having first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction, third and fourth surfaces opposing each other in a second direction and connected to the first and second surfaces, fifth and sixth surfaces opposing each other in a third direction and connected to the first to fourth surfaces, the body including a dielectric layer ([0019]) and first and second internal electrodes (4a-4g – fig. 1 & 5; [0019]) alternately disposed in the first direction with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween (fig. 1 & 5);
a first external electrode (2 – fig. 1 & 5; [0019]) connected to the first internal electrode, the first external electrode disposed on the third surface and extending onto portions of the first and second surfaces; and
a second external electrode (3 – fig. 1 & 5; [0019]) connected to the second internal electrode, the second external electrode disposed on the fourth surface and extending onto portions of the first and second surfaces,
wherein the body includes an overlapping region in which the first internal electrode overlaps the second internal electrode adjacent thereto in the first direction with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween (fig. 1 & 5),
a length in the second direction of a central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction is greater than that of both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction (fig. 5a), and
the body has a crack extending to an inside of the body from an end of at least one of the first and second external electrodes, the crack spaced apart from the overlapping region (fig. 5a; [0042] – the invention looks to improve occurrence of cracks, implying that cracks form. Furthermore, the present application discloses [0005] - that cracks in MLCCs occur at the external electrode towards the inside of the body. It is therefore considered that a crack inevitably forms in the capacitor of Masuda).
In regards to claim 2, Masuda discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the body includes a first margin region disposed between the overlapping region and the third surface and free of the second internal electrode (fig. 5a), and a second margin region disposed between the overlapping region and the fourth surface and free of the first internal electrode (fig. 5a), and
the crack extends from an end of the first external electrode to the third surface through the first margin region or from an end of the second external electrode to the fourth surface through the second margin region (fig. 5a; [0042] –the present application discloses [0005] - that cracks in MLCCs occur at the external electrode towards the inside of the body. It is therefore considered that a crack inevitably forms in the capacitor of Masuda and said crack will take the path of least resistance).
In regards to claim 7, Masuda discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 2, wherein a slope in the second direction of at least a portion of a section of the crack, passing through the dielectric layer, is steeper, based on a plane of incidence, than a slope in the second direction of a section of the crack, passing through the first or second internal electrode ([0016] & [0022] – as nickel is denser than barium titanate, the slope of the crack through the dielectric will be steeper than that of the internal electrode).
In regards to claim 10, Masuda discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein a length of the overlapping region in the second direction gradually decreases from the central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction toward both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction (fig. 5a; [0042]).
In regards to claim 11, Masuda discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 10, wherein a length in the second direction in which the first external electrode and the second internal electrode are spaced apart from each other gradually increases from the central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction toward both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction (fig. 5a; [0042]), and
a length in the second direction in which the second external electrode and the first internal electrode are spaced apart from each other gradually increases from the central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction toward both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction (fig. 5a; [0042]).
In regards to claim 12, Masuda discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein a length of the overlapping region in the second direction decreases in a stepwise manner from the central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction to both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction (fig. 5a; [0042]).
In regards to claim 13, Masuda discloses
The multilayer electronic component of claim 1, wherein the overlapping region includes a first region disposed on the central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction, the first region having a substantially constant length in the second direction, and a second region having a length in the second direction gradually decreasing from the first region to both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction (fig. 5a; [0042]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 & 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2013/0242456) in view of JP2002299146A hereafter referred to as Fujioka.
In regards to claim 1,
Lee ‘456 discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (10 – fig. 1; [0028]) having first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction, third and fourth surfaces opposing each other in a second direction and connected to the first and second surfaces, fifth and sixth surfaces opposing each other in a third direction and connected to the first to fourth surfaces, the body including a dielectric layer (fig. 2) and first and second internal electrodes (30 – fig. 2; [0028]) alternately disposed in the first direction with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween;
a first external electrode (21a – fig. 2; [0041]) connected to the first internal electrode, the first external electrode disposed on the third surface and extending onto portions of the first and second surfaces; and
a second external electrode (22a – fig. 2; [0041]) connected to the second internal electrode, the second external electrode disposed on the fourth surface and extending onto portions of the first and second surfaces,
wherein the body includes an overlapping region in which the first internal electrode overlaps the second internal electrode adjacent thereto in the first direction with the dielectric layer interposed therebetween (fig. 2),
the body has a crack (Q1 or Q2 – fig. 2; [0062] & [0069]) extending to an inside of the body from an end of at least one of the first and second external electrodes, the crack spaced apart from the overlapping region. Lee ‘456 fails to disclose a length in the second direction of a central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction is greater than that of both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction.
Fujioka discloses a length in the second direction of a central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction is greater than that of both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction (fig. 5a; [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the internal electrodes of Lee ‘456 to have lengths that gradually increase from the upper and lower surfaces to the middle as taught by Fujioka to obtain a capacitor with increased capacitance.
In regards to claim 2,
Lee ‘456 as modified by Fujioka further discloses wherein the body includes a first margin region disposed between the overlapping region and the third surface and free of the second internal electrode, and a second margin region disposed between the overlapping region and the fourth surface and free of the first internal electrode (fig. 2 of Lee ‘456), and
the crack extends from an end of the first external electrode to the third surface through the first margin region or from an end of the second external electrode to the fourth surface through the second margin region (fig. 2 of Lee ‘456).
In regards to claim 3,
Lee ‘456 as modified by Fujioka further discloses wherein in a cross-section of the body in the first and second directions,
when a distance in the second direction between the third surface and the second internal electrode disposed on an outermost portion of the body in the first direction is denoted by LM, and a distance in the second direction between the third surface and the end of the first external electrode is denoted by LE, LE>LM is satisfied (fig. 2; table 2 of Lee ‘456).
In regards to claim 4,
Lee ‘456 as modified by Fujioka further discloses wherein, when a distance between a crack surface having a crack on the end of the first external electrode, among the first and second surfaces, and the second internal electrode disposed on the outermost portion of the body in the first direction is denoted by TM, and an angle between a straight line connecting one end and the other end of the crack to each other and the crack surface is denoted by θ, LM>LE-TM×tan(90°-θ) is satisfied (fig. 2; table 2 of Lee ‘456).
In regards to claim 5,
Lee ‘456 as modified by Fujioka disclose all the claimed limitations discussed above with respect to claim 1, except for wherein θ is 60° or more and 70° or less.
However, Lee ‘456 further discloses that the crack angle, θ, is a result effective variable, particularly for reducing short circuits from occurring (fig. 2; [0061-0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Lee ‘456 as modified by Fujioka such that θ is 60° or more and 70° or less to reduce the occurrence of short circuits, as taught by Lee ‘456. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 6,
Lee ‘456 as modified by Fujioka further discloses wherein, when a thickness of the body in the first direction is denoted by TB, a ratio of TM to TB (TM/TB) is 0.05 or more and 0.3 or less (table 2 of Lee ‘456 & [0033] of Fujioka – 65/800=0.08).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the capacitor of Lee ‘456 to have an overall thickness as taught by Fujioka to obtain a capacitor with a small size. Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
In regards to claim 7,
Lee ‘456 as modified by Fujioka further discloses wherein a slope in the second direction of at least a portion of a section of the crack, passing through the dielectric layer, is steeper, based on a plane of incidence, than a slope in the second direction of a section of the crack, passing through the first or second internal electrode ([0031] & [0035] – as nickel is denser than barium titanate, the slope of the crack through the dielectric will be steeper than that of the internal electrode).
In regards to claim 10,
Lee ‘456 as modified by Fujioka further discloses wherein a length of the overlapping region in the second direction gradually decreases from the central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction toward both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction (fig. 5 of Fujioka).
In regards to claim 11,
Lee ‘456 as modified by Fujioka further discloses wherein a length in the second direction in which the first external electrode and the second internal electrode are spaced apart from each other gradually increases from the central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction toward both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction, and
a length in the second direction in which the second external electrode and the first internal electrode are spaced apart from each other gradually increases from the central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction toward both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction (fig. 5 of Fujioka).
In regards to claim 12,
Lee ‘456 as modified by Fujioka further discloses wherein a length of the overlapping region in the second direction decreases in a stepwise manner from the central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction to both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction (fig. 5 of Fujioka).
In regards to claim 13,
Lee ‘456 as modified by Fujioka further discloses wherein the overlapping region includes a first region disposed on the central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction, the first region having a substantially constant length in the second direction, and a second region having a length in the second direction gradually decreasing from the first region to both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction (fig. 5 of Fujioka).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee ‘456 as modified by Fujioka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP09190946A hereafter referred to as Kato.
In regards to claim 8,
Lee ‘456 as modified by Fujioka fails to disclose wherein the body further includes a first dummy electrode disposed to be spaced apart from the second internal electrode in the second direction and connected to the first external electrode, and a second dummy electrode disposed to be spaced apart from the first internal electrode in the second direction and connected to the second external electrode.
Kato discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising: a body having first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction, third and fourth surfaces opposing each other in a second direction and connected to the first and second surfaces, fifth and sixth surfaces opposing each other in a third direction and connected to the first to fourth surfaces (seen in fig. 2), the body including a plurality of dielectric layers (1 – fig. 3; [0043]) and a plurality of first and second internal electrodes (2 – fig. 3; [0043]) alternately disposed in the first direction with the respective dielectric layers interposed therebetween; a first external electrode (4 – fig. 3; [0043]) connected to the first internal electrodes, the first external electrode disposed on the third surface and extending onto portions of the first and second surfaces; and a second external electrode (4 – fig. 3; [0043]) connected to the second internal electrodes, the second external electrode disposed on the fourth surface and extending onto portions of the first and second surfaces, wherein the body includes an overlapping region in which the first internal electrodes overlap the second internal electrodes adjacent thereto in the first direction with the respective dielectric layers interposed therebetween (seen in fig. 3), the body further includes a plurality of first dummy electrodes (5 – fig. 3; [0043]) disposed to be spaced apart from the second internal electrodes in the second direction and connected to the first external electrode, and a plurality of second dummy electrodes (5 – fig. 3; [0043]) disposed to be spaced apart from the first internal electrodes in the second direction and connected to the second external electrode, the gap between the internal electrodes and dummy electrodes is constant (fig. 3; [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to included dummy electrodes as taught by Kato in the capacitor of Lee ‘456 as modified by Fujioka (i.e. length of dummy electrodes will change to ensure constant gap between internal electrodes and dummy electrodes) to obtain a capacitor that is reduced in internal defects such as delamination and has improved life.
In regards to claim 9,
Lee ‘456 as modified by Fujioka and Kato further discloses wherein a length of the first dummy electrode in the second direction, measured in the central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction, is less than a length of the first dummy electrode in the second direction, measured in both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction (length of dummy electrodes will change to ensure constant gap between internal electrodes and dummy electrodes thus obtaining a length of the first dummy electrode in the second direction, measured in the central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction, is less than a length of the first dummy electrode in the second direction, measured in both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction).
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR20150019643A hereafter referred to as Lee in view of Kato.
In regards to claim 14,
Lee discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (110 – fig. 1-2; abstract) having first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction, third and fourth surfaces opposing each other in a second direction and connected to the first and second surfaces, fifth and sixth surfaces opposing each other in a third direction and connected to the first to fourth surfaces (seen in fig. 1-2), the body including a plurality of dielectric layers (111 – fig. 2; abstract) and a plurality of first and second internal electrodes (121 & 122 – fig. 2; abstract) alternately disposed in the first direction with the respective dielectric layers interposed therebetween;
a first external electrode (131 – fig. 1-2; abstract) connected to the first internal electrodes, the first external electrode disposed on the third surface and extending onto portions of the first and second surfaces; and
a second external electrode (132 – fig. 1-2; abstract) connected to the second internal electrodes, the second external electrode disposed on the fourth surface and extending onto portions of the first and second surfaces,
wherein the body includes an overlapping region in which the first internal electrodes overlap the second internal electrodes adjacent thereto in the first direction with the respective dielectric layers interposed therebetween (seen in fig. 2),
a length in the second direction of a central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction is greater than that of both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction (seen in fig. 2), the dielectric layer disposed between the centermost first internal electrode and the centermost second internal electrode is free of an internal electrode (seen in fig. 2). Lee fails to discloses the body further includes a plurality of first dummy electrodes disposed to be spaced apart from the second internal electrodes in the second direction and connected to the first external electrode, and a plurality of second dummy electrodes disposed to be spaced apart from the first internal electrodes in the second direction and connected to the second external electrode, among the plurality of first dummy electrodes, the first dummy electrode adjacent to a centermost second internal electrode of the plurality of second internal electrodes has a minimum length in the second direction, among the plurality of second dummy electrodes, the second dummy electrode adjacent to a centermost first internal electrode of the plurality of first internal electrodes has a minimum length in the second direction.
Kato discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body having first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction, third and fourth surfaces opposing each other in a second direction and connected to the first and second surfaces, fifth and sixth surfaces opposing each other in a third direction and connected to the first to fourth surfaces (seen in fig. 2), the body including a plurality of dielectric layers (1 – fig. 3; [0043]) and a plurality of first and second internal electrodes (2 – fig. 3; [0043]) alternately disposed in the first direction with the respective dielectric layers interposed therebetween;
a first external electrode (4 – fig. 3; [0043]) connected to the first internal electrodes, the first external electrode disposed on the third surface and extending onto portions of the first and second surfaces; and
a second external electrode (4 – fig. 3; [0043]) connected to the second internal electrodes, the second external electrode disposed on the fourth surface and extending onto portions of the first and second surfaces,
wherein the body includes an overlapping region in which the first internal electrodes overlap the second internal electrodes adjacent thereto in the first direction with the respective dielectric layers interposed therebetween (seen in fig. 3),
the body further includes a plurality of first dummy electrodes (5 – fig. 3; [0043]) disposed to be spaced apart from the second internal electrodes in the second direction and connected to the first external electrode, and a plurality of second dummy electrodes (5 – fig. 3; [0043]) disposed to be spaced apart from the first internal electrodes in the second direction and connected to the second external electrode,
the gap between the internal electrodes and dummy electrodes is constant (fig. 3; [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to included dummy electrodes as taught by Kato in the capacitor of Lee (i.e. length of dummy electrodes will change to ensure constant gap between internal electrodes and dummy electrodes) thus obtaining among the plurality of first dummy electrodes, the first dummy electrode adjacent to a centermost second internal electrode of the plurality of second internal electrodes has a minimum length in the second direction, among the plurality of second dummy electrodes, the second dummy electrode adjacent to a centermost first internal electrode of the plurality of first internal electrodes has a minimum length in the second direction (noting the longest internal electrodes are at the center and thus in keeping the gap constant; the dummy electrodes at said point will be the shortest) to obtain a capacitor that is reduced in internal defects such as delamination and has improved life.
In regards to claim 15,
Lee as modified by Kato further discloses wherein a length of the overlapping region in the second direction gradually decreases from the central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction toward both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction (fig. 2 of Lee).
In regards to claim 16,
Lee as modified by Kato further discloses wherein a length of the overlapping region in the second direction decreases in a stepwise manner from the central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction to both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction (fig. 2 of Lee).
In regards to claim 17,
Lee as modified by Kato further discloses wherein the overlapping region includes a first region disposed on the central portion of the overlapping region in the first direction, the first region having a substantially constant length in the second direction, and a second region having a length in the second direction gradually decreasing from the first region to both ends of the overlapping region in the first direction (fig. 2 of Lee).
In regards to claim 18,
Lee as modified by Kato further discloses wherein a gap between the first dummy electrodes and the second internal electrodes in the second direction is substantially constant from a topmost first dummy electrode to a bottommost first dummy electrode, and
a gap between the second dummy electrodes and the first internal electrodes in the second direction is substantially constant from a topmost second dummy electrode to a bottommost second dummy electrode (fig. 3; [0023] of Kato).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0028618 – fig. 6 US 2018/0012703 – fig. 2
KR20150048063A – fig. 2
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847