DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 12-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thiemert et al. (Thiemert) (US 2011/0222787).
As to claims 1, 15, Thiemert discloses a system, and corresponding method, for performing signature comparison (Fig. 1-2, paragraph 50-53), the system comprising:
a processor (212; paragraph 54-55); and
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor (paragraph 5, 54-55), cause the system to perform operations comprising:
comparing first initial groups of monitored signatures from a sequence of monitored signatures representative of media presented by a media device with second initial groups of reference signatures from respective sequences of reference signatures representative of corresponding different reference media to determine a first initial sequence of signature match results for an observation period (comparing segments from two different streams to attempt to find matches; Fig. 9, paragraph 72-74), the first initial groups and the second initial groups to have a first size corresponding to a first number of signatures (segment comparison between two streams, using window of default initial size; Fig. 9, paragraph 72-74);
in response detecting an initial discontinuity in the first initial sequence of signature match results (“For example, if the video segment comparison module 217 does not identify any matches or below a match threshold number for a segment within the adaptive window 930”; paragraph 73), comparing third initial groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with fourth initial groups of reference signatures from the respective sequences of reference signatures to determine a second initial sequence of signature match results for the observation period, the third initial groups and the fourth initial groups to have a second size corresponding to a second number of signatures greater than the first number of signatures (video segment comparison with adaptive window increased in size; paragraph 73-74);
outputting the second initial sequence of signature match results (output of threshold # of matches, see Tables 2-3, paragraph 69-71, 73);
determining an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures (continuing the comparison matching with the next segments in the stream; paragraph 72-74), the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures (“After the video segment comparison module 217 identifies the match threshold number and/or exceeds a maximum size for the adaptive window 930, the size of the adaptive window 930 can be reset to the initial size; paragraph 73); and
in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results (outputting threshold, see Tables 2-3, paragraph 69-71, 73).
As to claim 8, Thiemert discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium having stored thereon instructions (paragraph 5, 54-55) that, upon execution by a processor (212; paragraph 54-55), cause performance of a set of operations comprising:
comparing first initial groups of monitored signatures from a sequence of monitored signatures representative of media presented by a media device with second initial groups of reference signatures from respective sequences of reference signatures representative of corresponding different reference media to determine a first initial sequence of signature match results for an observation period, the first initial groups and the second initial groups to have a first size corresponding to a first number of signatures (segment comparison using window of default initial size; Fig. 9, paragraph 72-74);
in response detecting an initial discontinuity in the first initial sequence of signature match results (“For example, if the video segment comparison module 217 does not identify any matches or below a match threshold number for a segment within the adaptive window 930”; paragraph 73), comparing third initial groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with fourth initial groups of reference signatures from the respective sequences of reference signatures to determine a second initial sequence of signature match results for the observation period, the third initial groups and the fourth initial groups to have a second size corresponding to a second number of signatures greater than the first number of signatures (video segment comparison with adaptive window increased in size; paragraph 73-74);
outputting the second initial sequence of signature match results (output of threshold # of matches, see Tables 2-3, paragraph 69-71, 73);
determining an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures (continuing the comparison matching with the next segments in the stream; paragraph 72-74), the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures (“After the video segment comparison module 217 identifies the match threshold number and/or exceeds a maximum size for the adaptive window 930, the size of the adaptive window 930 can be reset to the initial size; paragraph 73); and
in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results (outputting threshold, see Tables 2-3, paragraph 69-71, 73)).
As to claim 2, 9, 16, Thiemert discloses wherein at least one of the initial discontinuity or the alternative discontinuity corresponds to discontinuous timestamps included in the respective sequence of signature match results (matching stream segments with different reference times; Table 3, paragraph 66, 71).
As to claim 5, 12, 19, Thiemert discloses wherein i) the sequence of monitored signatures includes a plurality of packets of monitored signatures reported by a device meter (Fig. 1, 21, paragraph 50-52, 96-97), and
ii) the device meter is configured to generate the plurality of packets of monitored signatures from the media presented by the media device (Fig. 1, 21, paragraph 50-52, 96-97).
As to claim 6, 13, 20, Thiemert discloses: detecting the initial discontinuity based on whether at least one match result in the first initial sequence of signature match results indicates no match was found (“For example, if the video segment comparison module 217 does not identify any matches or below a match threshold number for a segment within the adaptive window 930”; paragraph 73)
As to claim 7, 14, Thiemert discloses wherein the operations further comprise: detecting the initial discontinuity based on whether at least a portion of the first initial sequence of signature match results oscillates between at least two different reference media identifiers (requiring additional analysis to determine “best” matching when multiple are detected; Table 2-3, paragraph 70-71, 79-81).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,624 in view of Thiemert.
As to claims 1, 8, 15, of the instant application, claims 1, 7, 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,624 disclose every limitation except for
determining an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures, the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures, and
in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results.
In an analogous art, Thiemert discloses a system for performing signature comparison (Fig. 1-2, paragraph 50-53) which will compare larger size groups of signatures for an observation period in response detecting an initial discontinuity in the first initial sequence of signature match results (increasing adaptive window size when matches are not found; paragraph 73), and
determine an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures (continuing the comparison matching with the next segments in the stream; paragraph 72-74), the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures (“After the video segment comparison module 217 identifies the match threshold number and/or exceeds a maximum size for the adaptive window 930, the size of the adaptive window 930 can be reset to the initial size; paragraph 73), and
in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results (outputting threshold, see Tables 2-3, paragraph 69-71, 73) so as to adaptively reduce the processing requirements and number of comparisons performed for each segment (paragraph 70, 72-74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,624 to include determining an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures, the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures, and in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results, as taught in combination with Thiemert, for the typical benefit of adaptively reduce the processing requirements and number of comparisons performed for each segment (paragraph 70, 72-74).
Claims 2-3, 9-10, 16-17, correspond to claims 1, 7, 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,624.
Claims 4-5, 11-12, 18-19, correspond to claims 2, 8, 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,160,624.
As to claim 6, 13, 20, Thiemert discloses: detecting the initial discontinuity based on whether at least one match result in the first initial sequence of signature match results indicates no match was found (“For example, if the video segment comparison module 217 does not identify any matches or below a match threshold number for a segment within the adaptive window 930”; paragraph 73)
As to claim 7, 14, Thiemert discloses wherein the operations further comprise: detecting the initial discontinuity based on whether at least a portion of the first initial sequence of signature match results oscillates between at least two different reference media identifiers (requiring additional analysis to determine “best” matching when multiple are detected; Table 2-3, paragraph 70-71, 79-81).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,501 in view of Thiemert.
Claims 1-20 of the instant application correspond to claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,501 except for
determining an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures, the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures, and
in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results.
In an analogous art, Thiemert discloses a system for performing signature comparison (Fig. 1-2, paragraph 50-53) which will compare larger size groups of signatures for an observation period in response detecting an initial discontinuity in the first initial sequence of signature match results (increasing adaptive window size when matches are not found; paragraph 73), and
determine an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures (continuing the comparison matching with the next segments in the stream; paragraph 72-74), the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures (“After the video segment comparison module 217 identifies the match threshold number and/or exceeds a maximum size for the adaptive window 930, the size of the adaptive window 930 can be reset to the initial size; paragraph 73), and
in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results (outputting threshold, see Tables 2-3, paragraph 69-71, 73) so as to adaptively reduce the processing requirements and number of comparisons performed for each segment (paragraph 70, 72-74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,477,501 to include determining an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures, the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures, and in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results, as taught in combination with Thiemert, for the typical benefit of adaptively reduce the processing requirements and number of comparisons performed for each segment (paragraph 70, 72-74).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,931,987 in view of Thiemert.
Claims 1-20 of the instant application correspond to claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,931,987 except for
determining an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures, the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures, and
in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results.
In an analogous art, Thiemert discloses a system for performing signature comparison (Fig. 1-2, paragraph 50-53) which will compare larger size groups of signatures for an observation period in response detecting an initial discontinuity in the first initial sequence of signature match results (increasing adaptive window size when matches are not found; paragraph 73), and
determine an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures (continuing the comparison matching with the next segments in the stream; paragraph 72-74), the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures (“After the video segment comparison module 217 identifies the match threshold number and/or exceeds a maximum size for the adaptive window 930, the size of the adaptive window 930 can be reset to the initial size; paragraph 73), and
in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results (outputting threshold, see Tables 2-3, paragraph 69-71, 73) so as to adaptively reduce the processing requirements and number of comparisons performed for each segment (paragraph 70, 72-74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,931,987 to include determining an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures, the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures, and in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results, as taught in combination with Thiemert, for the typical benefit of adaptively reduce the processing requirements and number of comparisons performed for each segment (paragraph 70, 72-74).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,321,171 in view of Thiemert.
Claims 1-20 of the instant application correspond to claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,321,171 except for
determining an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures, the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures, and
in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results.
In an analogous art, Thiemert discloses a system for performing signature comparison (Fig. 1-2, paragraph 50-53) which will compare larger size groups of signatures for an observation period in response detecting an initial discontinuity in the first initial sequence of signature match results (increasing adaptive window size when matches are not found; paragraph 73), and
determine an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures (continuing the comparison matching with the next segments in the stream; paragraph 72-74), the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures (“After the video segment comparison module 217 identifies the match threshold number and/or exceeds a maximum size for the adaptive window 930, the size of the adaptive window 930 can be reset to the initial size; paragraph 73), and
in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results (outputting threshold, see Tables 2-3, paragraph 69-71, 73) so as to adaptively reduce the processing requirements and number of comparisons performed for each segment (paragraph 70, 72-74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,321,171 to include determining an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures, the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures, and in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results, as taught in combination with Thiemert, for the typical benefit of adaptively reduce the processing requirements and number of comparisons performed for each segment (paragraph 70, 72-74).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 9,900,636 in view of Thiemert.
Claims 1-20 of the instant application correspond to claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 9,900,636 except for
determining an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures, the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures, and
in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results.
In an analogous art, Thiemert discloses a system for performing signature comparison (Fig. 1-2, paragraph 50-53) which will compare larger size groups of signatures for an observation period in response detecting an initial discontinuity in the first initial sequence of signature match results (increasing adaptive window size when matches are not found; paragraph 73), and
determine an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures (continuing the comparison matching with the next segments in the stream; paragraph 72-74), the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures (“After the video segment comparison module 217 identifies the match threshold number and/or exceeds a maximum size for the adaptive window 930, the size of the adaptive window 930 can be reset to the initial size; paragraph 73), and
in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results (outputting threshold, see Tables 2-3, paragraph 69-71, 73) so as to adaptively reduce the processing requirements and number of comparisons performed for each segment (paragraph 70, 72-74).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of U.S. Patent No. 9,900,636 to include determining an alternative sequence of signature match results for the observation period by comparing first alternative groups of monitored signatures from the sequence of monitored signatures with second alternative groups of reference signatures, the first alternative groups and the second alternative groups to have the first size corresponding to the first number of signatures of monitored signatures, and in response to detecting an absence of an alternative discontinuity in the alternative sequence of signature match results, outputting the alternative sequence of signature match results, as taught in combination with Thiemert, for the typical benefit of adaptively reduce the processing requirements and number of comparisons performed for each segment (paragraph 70, 72-74).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 10-11, 17-18 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and upon proper filing of a terminal disclaimer so as to overcome the outstanding nonstatutory Double Patenting rejections.
Conclusion
/James R Sheleheda/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424