DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 are pending in the instant application. Claims 1 and 11 are amended and claims 2 and 12 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/18/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “the technical objective of Han is fundamentally different. Han describes passively using the digital pen 200 merely to determine which touch screen (100-1 or 100-2) is present by identifying a pulse signal emitted from that touch screen. Han does not disclose the digital pen 200 actively adjusting its own transmission timing to coordinate with a touch screen”, Remarks page 10.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the digital pen 200 actively adjusting its own transmission timing to coordinate with a touch screen) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant further argues that “Han is silent on any temporal synchronization or temporal coincidence between the transmission timeslot of the digital pen 200 and the touch period of a touch”, Remarks page 10.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Han discloses that “[w]hen a user pre-stores pulse signal information corresponding to the plurality of touch screens 100-1 and 100-2, the memory 250 may match the information of a pulse signal and information of its corresponding touch screen”, para. [0066]. In addition, Han further teaches “the control unit 230 may search information corresponding to a touch screen, using a pulse signal detected by the second sensing unit 220. The control unit 230 controls the communication unit 240 to transmit information of a touch screen corresponding to a pulse signal and the detected coordinate information to the external control unit 300”, para. [0067]. Han teaches that the stylus control unit detects a pulse signal using an on and off status of a touch screen detected and immediately transmits a signal (downlink) to the external control unit through the communication unit, para. [0071]. Therefore, there is a tempo temporal coincidence between the transmission timeslot of the downlinks of the digital pen and the touch period of a touch.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 13-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, page 5 line 1, recites, “wherein the processing circuit is configured to”. Examiner suggest ““wherein the processing circuit is further configured to”.
Claims 13-20 depend directly or indirectly from an objected claim, therefore are also objected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US 20130009912 A1, hereinafter referenced as Han).
Regarding Claim 1, Han teaches a synchronization method (see abstract, Fig. 6. A method and system for recognizing a touch of a display system including a plurality of touch screens is provided), for an active stylus (see Fig. 1, Fig. 4, Fig. 6, para. [0037]. digital pen or stylus 200), comprising:
transmitting a first downlink signal according to at least one first timing parameter, configured for a first touch device, after moving to the first touch device (see Figs.3-5, A-type pulse, para. [0065]-[0068], para. [0073]-[0077]. As illustrated in FIG. 4, if a user touches a point P1 of the first touch screen 100-1, the control unit 230 of the digital pen 200 detects coordinate information of point P1, 100,100. The second sensing unit 220 of the digital pen 200 detects an A-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "2t" as illustrated in FIG. 5, and the control unit 230 detects that the touched touch screen is the first touch screen 100-1. The control unit 230 may then transmit information corresponding to a coordinate of the touched point P1, 100,100, and information corresponding to the first touch screen 100-1 to the external control unit 300. The digital pen 200 transmits information corresponding to a pulse signal and coordinate information of the touched point to the control unit 300 (S640). For example, the digital pen 200 may transmit information corresponding to a pulse signal itself to the control unit 300, and/or may transmit touch screen information corresponding to the pulse signal to the control unit 300. When the digital pen 200 transmits pulse signal information and coordinate information of the touched point, the control unit 300 recognizes the touched touch screen and coordinate (S650). For example, if the digital pen 200 transmits the pulse signal information itself, the control unit 300 may recognize the touched touch screen by reading and extracting touch screen information corresponding to the pulse signal information); and
transmitting a second downlink signal according to at least one second timing parameter, configured for a second touch device, after moving to the second touch device (see Figs.3-5, B-type pulse, para. [0065]-[0067], para.[0069]-[0070], para. [0073]-[0077]. In case that a user touches a point P2 of the second touch screen 100-2, the control unit 230 detects coordinate information of point P2, 100,100. The second sensing unit 220 detects a B-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "t" as illustrated in FIG. 5, and the control unit 230 detects that the touched screen is the second touch screen 100-2. The control unit 230 may then transmit information corresponding to the coordinate of the touched point P2, 100,100, and information corresponding to the second touch screen 100-2 to the external control unit 300.The digital pen 200 transmits information corresponding to a pulse signal and coordinate information of the touched point to the control unit 300 (S640). For example, the digital pen 200 may transmit information corresponding to a pulse signal itself to the control unit 300, and/or may transmit touch screen information corresponding to the pulse signal to the control unit 300. When the digital pen 200 transmits pulse signal information and coordinate information of the touched point, the control unit 300 recognizes the touched touch screen and coordinate (S650). For example, if the digital pen 200 transmits the pulse signal information itself, the control unit 300 may recognize the touched touch screen by reading and extracting touch screen information corresponding to the pulse signal information);
wherein at least one first downlink timeslot of the first downlink signal, transmitted according to the at least one first timing parameter, coincides with at least one first touch period of the first touch device (see Figs. 4-5, para. [0056]-[0057], para. [0063]-[0068], para. [0073]-[0077]. The second sensing unit 220 detects a pulse signal which operates the backlight unit 130 provided on the touch screen 100. The backlight unit 110 operates sensing elements by receiving signals created in an image processing unit and projects backlight to the LCD panel 120 since the LCD panel 120 may not emit light on its own. The backlight unit 110 may be operated in a method of PWM. The pulse signals according to a method of PWM may be set differently for each of the plurality of touch screens 100-1 and 100-2 by user setting. The plurality of touch screens 100-1 and 100-2 may be set to be operated by pulse signals having different pulse-widths on/off section of a pulse or pulse-shapes. As illustrated in FIG. 4, if a user touches a point P1 of the first touch screen 100-1, the control unit 230 detects coordinate information of point P1, 100,100. The second sensing unit 220 detects an A-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "2t" as illustrated in FIG. 5, and the control unit 230 detects that the touched touch screen is the first touch screen 100-1. The control unit 230 may then transmit information corresponding to a coordinate of the touched point P1, 100,100, and information corresponding to the first touch screen 100-1 to the external control unit 300);
wherein at least one second downlink timeslot of the second downlink signal, transmitted according to the at least one second timing parameter, coincides with at least one second touch period of the second touch device (see Figs. 4-5, para. [0056]-[0057], para. [0063]-[0067], para. [0069], para. [0073]-[0077]. The second sensing unit 220 detects a pulse signal which operates the backlight unit 130 provided on the touch screen 100. The backlight unit 110 operates sensing elements by receiving signals created in an image processing unit and projects backlight to the LCD panel 120 since the LCD panel 120 may not emit light on its own. The backlight unit 110 may be operated in a method of PWM. The pulse signals according to a method of PWM may be set differently for each of the plurality of touch screens 100-1 and 100-2 by user setting. The plurality of touch screens 100-1 and 100-2 may be set to be operated by pulse signals having different pulse-widths on/off section of a pulse or pulse-shapes. In case that a user touches a point P2 of the second touch screen 100-2, the control unit 230 detects coordinate information of point P2, 100,100. The second sensing unit 220 detects a B-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "t" as illustrated in FIG. 5, and the control unit 230 detects that the touched screen is the second touch screen 100-2. The control unit 230 may then transmit information corresponding to the coordinate of the touched point P2, 100,100, and information corresponding to the second touch screen 100-2 to the external control unit 300).
Regarding Claim 5, Han teaches the synchronization method of claim 1.
Han further teaches wherein one of the at least one first timing parameter and one of the at least one second timing parameter both serve as an uplink time length, an uplink period, an edge-to-edge time length, a downlink period, a downlink time length, or a downlink slot number; wherein the uplink time length is a length of time for one uplink timeslot; wherein the uplink period is a length of time between two adjacent uplink timeslots; wherein the downlink period is a length of time between two adjacent downlink timeslots; wherein the downlink time length is a length of time for one downlink timeslot; wherein the downlink slot number is a total number of at least one downlink timeslot; wherein the edge-to-edge time length starts from a falling edge of one uplink timeslot and ends at a rising edge of one downlink timeslot (see Figs.4-5, para. [0065]-[0070], para. [0073]-[0077]. a user pre-stores pulse signal information corresponding to the plurality of touch screens 100-1 and 100-2, the memory 250 may match the information of a pulse signal and information of its corresponding touch screen. For example, an ID of a touch screen and store them. For instance, the memory 250 may match an A-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "2t" as illustrated in the upper part of FIG. 5 for the first touch screen 100-1 and store them, and match a B-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "t" as illustrated in the lower part of FIG. 5 for the second touch screen 100-1 and store them. As illustrated in FIG. 4, if a user touches a point P1 of the first touch screen 100-1, the control unit 230 detects coordinate information of point P1, 100,100. The second sensing unit 220 detects an A-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "2t" as illustrated in FIG. 5, and the control unit 230 detects that the touched touch screen is the first touch screen 100-1. The control unit 230 may then transmit information corresponding to a coordinate of the touched point P1, 100,100, and information corresponding to the first touch screen 100-1 to the external control unit 300. However, in case that a user touches a point P2 of the second touch screen 100-2, the control unit 230 detects coordinate information of point P2, 100,100. The second sensing unit 220 detects a B-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "t" as illustrated in FIG. 5, and the control unit 230 detects that the touched screen is the second touch screen 100-2. The control unit 230 may then transmit information corresponding to the coordinate of the touched point P2, 100,100, and information corresponding to the second touch screen 100-2 to the external control unit 300).
Regarding Claim 11, Han teaches a control circuit, for an active stylus, (see Fig. 3, control unit 230, para. [0061]) comprising:
a processing circuit (see Fig. 3, control unit 230, para. [0063]. The term "unit" as used herein means a hardware component such as a processor or circuit), wherein the processing circuit is configured to transmit a first downlink signal according to at least one first timing parameter for a first touch device after moving to the first touch device (see Figs.3-5, A-type pulse, para. [0065]-[0068], para. [0073]-[0077]. As illustrated in FIG. 4, if a user touches a point P1 of the first touch screen 100-1, the control unit 230 of the digital pen 200 detects coordinate information of point P1, 100,100. The second sensing unit 220 of the digital pen 200 detects an A-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "2t" as illustrated in FIG. 5, and the control unit 230 detects that the touched touch screen is the first touch screen 100-1. The control unit 230 may then transmit information corresponding to a coordinate of the touched point P1, 100,100, and information corresponding to the first touch screen 100-1 to the external control unit 300. The digital pen 200 transmits information corresponding to a pulse signal and coordinate information of the touched point to the control unit 300 (S640). For example, the digital pen 200 may transmit information corresponding to a pulse signal itself to the control unit 300, and/or may transmit touch screen information corresponding to the pulse signal to the control unit 300. When the digital pen 200 transmits pulse signal information and coordinate information of the touched point, the control unit 300 recognizes the touched touch screen and coordinate (S650). For example, if the digital pen 200 transmits the pulse signal information itself, the control unit 300 may recognize the touched touch screen by reading and extracting touch screen information corresponding to the pulse signal information),
wherein at least one first downlink timeslot of the first downlink signal, transmitted according to the at least one first timing parameter, coincides with at least one first touch period of the first touch device (see Figs. 4-5, para. [0056]-[0057], para. [0063]-[0068], para. [0073]-[0077]. The second sensing unit 220 detects a pulse signal which operates the backlight unit 130 provided on the touch screen 100. The backlight unit 110 operates sensing elements by receiving signals created in an image processing unit and projects backlight to the LCD panel 120 since the LCD panel 120 may not emit light on its own. The backlight unit 110 may be operated in a method of PWM. The pulse signals according to a method of PWM may be set differently for each of the plurality of touch screens 100-1 and 100-2 by user setting. The plurality of touch screens 100-1 and 100-2 may be set to be operated by pulse signals having different pulse-widths on/off section of a pulse or pulse-shapes. As illustrated in FIG. 4, if a user touches a point P1 of the first touch screen 100-1, the control unit 230 detects coordinate information of point P1, 100,100. The second sensing unit 220 detects an A-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "2t" as illustrated in FIG. 5, and the control unit 230 detects that the touched touch screen is the first touch screen 100-1. The control unit 230 may then transmit information corresponding to a coordinate of the touched point P1, 100,100, and information corresponding to the first touch screen 100-1 to the external control unit 300),
wherein the processing circuit is configured to transmit a second downlink signal according to at least one second timing parameter for a second touch device after moving to the second touch device (see Figs.3-5, B-type pulse, para. [0065]-[0067], para.[0069]-[0070], para. [0073]-[0077]. In case that a user touches a point P2 of the second touch screen 100-2, the control unit 230 detects coordinate information of point P2, 100,100. The second sensing unit 220 detects a B-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "t" as illustrated in FIG. 5, and the control unit 230 detects that the touched screen is the second touch screen 100-2. The control unit 230 may then transmit information corresponding to the coordinate of the touched point P2, 100,100, and information corresponding to the second touch screen 100-2 to the external control unit 300.The digital pen 200 transmits information corresponding to a pulse signal and coordinate information of the touched point to the control unit 300 (S640). For example, the digital pen 200 may transmit information corresponding to a pulse signal itself to the control unit 300, and/or may transmit touch screen information corresponding to the pulse signal to the control unit 300. When the digital pen 200 transmits pulse signal information and coordinate information of the touched point, the control unit 300 recognizes the touched touch screen and coordinate (S650). For example, if the digital pen 200 transmits the pulse signal information itself, the control unit 300 may recognize the touched touch screen by reading and extracting touch screen information corresponding to the pulse signal information),
wherein at least one second downlink timeslot of the second downlink signal, transmitted according to the at least one second timing parameter, coincides with at least one second touch period of the second touch device (see Figs. 4-5, para. [0056]-[0057], para. [0063]-[0067], para. [0069], para. [0073]-[0077]. The second sensing unit 220 detects a pulse signal which operates the backlight unit 130 provided on the touch screen 100. The backlight unit 110 operates sensing elements by receiving signals created in an image processing unit and projects backlight to the LCD panel 120 since the LCD panel 120 may not emit light on its own. The backlight unit 110 may be operated in a method of PWM. The pulse signals according to a method of PWM may be set differently for each of the plurality of touch screens 100-1 and 100-2 by user setting. The plurality of touch screens 100-1 and 100-2 may be set to be operated by pulse signals having different pulse-widths on/off section of a pulse or pulse-shapes. In case that a user touches a point P2 of the second touch screen 100-2, the control unit 230 detects coordinate information of point P2, 100,100. The second sensing unit 220 detects a B-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "t" as illustrated in FIG. 5, and the control unit 230 detects that the touched screen is the second touch screen 100-2. The control unit 230 may then transmit information corresponding to the coordinate of the touched point P2, 100,100, and information corresponding to the second touch screen 100-2 to the external control unit 300); and
a storage circuit, coupled to the processing circuit (see Fig. 3, memory 250, para. [0061], para. [0066]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 arerejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20130009912 A1, hereinafter referenced as Han) in view of Koike et al. (US 20180024654 A1, hereinafter referenced as Koike).
Regarding Claim 3, Han teaches the synchronization method of claim 1,
Han further teaches wherein the at least one first timing parameter for the first touch device is stored in a first timing “information” located in the active stylus (see Figs. 3-5, para. [0061], para. [0066]-[0067]. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the digital pen 200 includes a memory 250.When a user pre-stores pulse signal information corresponding to the plurality of touch screens 100-1 and 100-2, the memory 250 may match the information of a pulse signal and information of its corresponding touch screen. For example, an ID of a touch screen and store them);
wherein the active stylus receives an uplink signal from the first touch device (see Figs. 4-5, para. [0066]-[0068]. As illustrated in FIG. 4, if a user touches a point P1 of the first touch screen 100-1, the control unit 230 detects coordinate information of point P1, 100,100. The second sensing unit 220 detects an A-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "2t" as illustrated in FIG. 5, and the control unit 230 detects that the touched touch screen is the first touch screen 100-1);
wherein the uplink signal indicates which timing “information” the active stylus is instructed to select (see para. [0066]-[0067]. The memory 250 may match the information of a pulse signal and information of its corresponding touch screen For instance, the memory 250 may match an A-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "2t" as illustrated in the upper part of FIG. 5 for the first touch screen 100-1. The control unit 230 detects a coordinate of the touched point according to a sensing element detected by the first sensing unit 210. Further, the control unit 230 may search information corresponding to a touch screen, using a pulse signal detected by the second sensing unit 220);
wherein the active stylus searches itself for the first timing “information”, which comprises the at least one first timing parameter, based on the uplink signal (see Figs. 4-5, para. [0046], para. [0066]-[0067]. The digital pen 200 may detect pulse signals operating in the plurality of touch screens 100-1 and 100-2. For example, pulse signals operating in the plurality of touch screens 100-1 and 100-2 have different pulse-widths and pulse-shapes from each other. The memory 250 may match the information of a pulse signal and information of its corresponding touch screen. For instance, the memory 250 may match an A-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "2t" as illustrated in the upper part of FIG. 5 for the first touch screen 100-1. The control unit 230 detects a coordinate of the touched point according to a sensing element detected by the first sensing unit 210. Further, the control unit 230 may search information corresponding to a touch screen, using a pulse signal detected by the second sensing unit 220).
Han does not explicitly teach the first timing information corresponds to a first timing table.
However, Koike teaches the first timing information corresponds to a first timing table (see para. [0064] The communication control circuit 28 controls the transmission circuit 23 such that a downlink signal DS is transmitted at a time point indicated by the sensor controller 31 with reference to a reference time point given by a reception time point of an uplink signal US detected by the reception circuit 24 after a pen down operation is started. The indicated time point is, within a time period until the sensor controller 31 completes detection of a stylus 2, (1) a time point determined in advance between the stylus 2 and the sensor controller 31, and particularly a time point immediately after an uplink signal US including a search pattern D_UP is detected (a switching gap between transmission and reception may be interposed). On the other hand, after the sensor controller 31 detects a stylus 2, the indicated point of time is a time point designated expressly with reference to a reference time point given by the uplink signal US by a command CC_UP included in the uplink signal US. In the case of (2), the communication control circuit 28 controls the transmission circuit 23 to transmit a data signal OD_DP including data designated by the command CC_UP (including operation state data OD or configuration data CD). Further, the communication control circuit 28 holds a communication setting table and holds a timing of a reference time point detected once, a time period to be used for communication (time slot or the like), a frequency or the like).
Han and Koike are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Han with Koike’s teachings of providing timing information on a table, since it would have been obvious to try from finite number of options known in the art for storing timing information, that would have yielded the same predictable result of providing timing information.
Regarding Claim 13, Han teaches the control circuit of claim 11.
Han further teaches wherein the at least one first timing parameter for the first touch device is stored in a first timing “information” located in the active stylus (see Figs. 3-5, para. [0061], para. [0066]-[0067]. As illustrated in FIG. 3, the digital pen 200 includes a memory 250.When a user pre-stores pulse signal information corresponding to the plurality of touch screens 100-1 and 100-2, the memory 250 may match the information of a pulse signal and information of its corresponding touch screen. For example, an ID of a touch screen and store them);
wherein the active stylus receives an uplink signal from the first touch device (see Figs. 4-5, para. [0066]-[0068]. As illustrated in FIG. 4, if a user touches a point P1 of the first touch screen 100-1, the control unit 230 detects coordinate information of point P1, 100,100. The second sensing unit 220 detects an A-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "2t" as illustrated in FIG. 5, and the control unit 230 detects that the touched touch screen is the first touch screen 100-1);
wherein the uplink signal indicates which timing “information” the active stylus is instructed to select (see para. [0066]-[0067]. The memory 250 may match the information of a pulse signal and information of its corresponding touch screen For instance, the memory 250 may match an A-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "2t" as illustrated in the upper part of FIG. 5 for the first touch screen 100-1. The control unit 230 detects a coordinate of the touched point according to a sensing element detected by the first sensing unit 210. Further, the control unit 230 may search information corresponding to a touch screen, using a pulse signal detected by the second sensing unit 220);
wherein the active stylus searches itself for the first timing “information”, which comprises the at least one first timing parameter, based on the uplink signal (see Figs. 4-5, para. [0046], para. [0066]-[0067]. The digital pen 200 may detect pulse signals operating in the plurality of touch screens 100-1 and 100-2. For example, pulse signals operating in the plurality of touch screens 100-1 and 100-2 have different pulse-widths and pulse-shapes from each other. The memory 250 may match the information of a pulse signal and information of its corresponding touch screen. For instance, the memory 250 may match an A-type pulse signal which turns on and off once during a period of "2t" as illustrated in the upper part of FIG. 5 for the first touch screen 100-1. The control unit 230 detects a coordinate of the touched point according to a sensing element detected by the first sensing unit 210. Further, the control unit 230 may search information corresponding to a touch screen, using a pulse signal detected by the second sensing unit 220).
Han does not explicitly teach the first timing information corresponds to a first timing table.
However, Koike teaches the first timing information corresponds to a first timing table (see para. [0064] The communication control circuit 28 controls the transmission circuit 23 such that a downlink signal DS is transmitted at a time point indicated by the sensor controller 31 with reference to a reference time point given by a reception time point of an uplink signal US detected by the reception circuit 24 after a pen down operation is started. The indicated time point is, within a time period until the sensor controller 31 completes detection of a stylus 2, (1) a time point determined in advance between the stylus 2 and the sensor controller 31, and particularly a time point immediately after an uplink signal US including a search pattern D_UP is detected (a switching gap between transmission and reception may be interposed). On the other hand, after the sensor controller 31 detects a stylus 2, the indicated point of time is a time point designated expressly with reference to a reference time point given by the uplink signal US by a command CC_UP included in the uplink signal US. In the case of (2), the communication control circuit 28 controls the transmission circuit 23 to transmit a data signal OD_DP including data designated by the command CC_UP (including operation state data OD or configuration data CD). Further, the communication control circuit 28 holds a communication setting table and holds a timing of a reference time point detected once, a time period to be used for communication (time slot or the like), a frequency or the like).
Han and Koike are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the control circuit disclosed by Han with Koike’s teachings of providing timing information on a table, since it would have been obvious to try from finite number of options known in the art for storing timing information, that would have yielded the same predictable result of providing timing information.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20130009912 A1, hereinafter referenced as Han) in view of Wang et al. (US 20200401293 A1, hereinafter referenced as Wang).
Regarding Claim 6, Han teaches the synchronization method of claim 5.
Han further teaches wherein a “parameter” of the first timing parameter (see Figs.3-5, A-type pulse, para. [0065]-[0068], para. [0073]-[0077]. The control unit 230 may then transmit information corresponding to a coordinate of the touched point P1, 100,100, and information corresponding to the first touch screen 100-1 to the external control unit 300. The digital pen 200 transmits information corresponding to a pulse signal and coordinate information of the touched point to the control unit 300 (S640). For example, the digital pen 200 may transmit information corresponding to a pulse signal itself to the control unit 300, and/or may transmit touch screen information corresponding to the pulse signal to the control unit 300. When the digital pen 200 transmits pulse signal information and coordinate information of the touched point, the control unit 300 recognizes the touched touch screen and coordinate (S650). For example, if the digital pen 200 transmits the pulse signal information itself, the control unit 300 may recognize the touched touch screen by reading and extracting touch screen information corresponding to the pulse signal information) is unequal to a “parameter” of the corresponding second timing parameter (see Figs.3-5, B-type pulse, para. [0065]-[0067], para.[0069]-[0070], para. [0073]-[0077]. The control unit 230 may then transmit information corresponding to the coordinate of the touched point P2, 100,100, and information corresponding to the second touch screen 100-2 to the external control unit 300.The digital pen 200 transmits information corresponding to a pulse signal and coordinate information of the touched point to the control unit 300 (S640). For example, the digital pen 200 may transmit information corresponding to a pulse signal itself to the control unit 300, and/or may transmit touch screen information corresponding to the pulse signal to the control unit 300. When the digital pen 200 transmits pulse signal information and coordinate information of the touched point, the control unit 300 recognizes the touched touch screen and coordinate (S650). For example, if the digital pen 200 transmits the pulse signal information itself, the control unit 300 may recognize the touched touch screen by reading and extracting touch screen information corresponding to the pulse signal information. As depicted in Fig. 5, the A-type pulse is different from the B-Type pulse).
Han does not explicitly disclose the parameter is amplitude.
However, Wan teaches the parameter is amplitude (see para. [0026]. In some embodiments, the downlink signal DL is configured to carry pressure information, tilt information, or button information in addition to determine the stylus location. In some embodiments, the uplink signal UL have pulses, and the signal processing circuit of the active stylus 110 can detect the period, duty cycle, number of pulses, rising edge, or falling edge of the pulses to obtain the information carried by the uplink signal UL. In some embodiments, the uplink signal is configured to carry synchronization information (e.g. by the raising edge or the falling edge), and thus the active stylus 110 can transmits the downlink signal DL synchronized with the raising edge or the falling edge of the uplink signal. The uplink signal UL and/or the downlink signal DL can be configured to carry any information by a modulation technology such as direct-sequence spread spectrum (DSSS), frequency-hopping spread spectrum (FHSS), TH-time hopping (THSS), phase-shift keying (PSK), pulse-amplitude modulation (PAM), quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM), single-sideband modulation (SSB), but the technology of the modulation and the content of the carried information are not limited in the invention).
Han and Wang are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Han with Wang’s teachings of having the parameter of the information be amplitude, since it would have been obvious to try from a finite number of options known in the art for transmitting information, that would have yielded the same predictable.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US 20130009912 A1, hereinafter referenced as Han) in view of Hisano (US 20210345361 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Han teaches the synchronization method of claim 1.
Han does not explicitly disclose wherein after receiving a detect signal from the first touch device, the active stylus determines whether the active stylus is paired with the first touch device.
However, Hisano teaches wherein after receiving a detect signal from the first touch device, the active stylus determines whether the active stylus is paired with the first touch device (see para. [0124]-[0126], para. [0137]. Specifically describing each mode, first, the discovery mode is a mode in which communication with a specific sensor controller 50 is not started yet, and a search is made for a communicable sensor controller 50. The pen 2 in the discovery mode is configured to repeat sensing of an uplink signal US1. When the pen 2 receives the uplink signal US1 as a result of the sensing, the pen 2 determines whether or not a pairing is possible on the basis of the pairing setting information included in the uplink signal US1. When the pen 2 determines that a pairing is possible, the pen 2 transmits a downlink signal DS including the pairing bit data according to the resource allocation scheme included in the uplink signal US1. The pairing mode is a mode in which a pairing is established with the sensor controller 50 that has transmitted the uplink signal US1 detected in the discovery mode. The pen 2 in the pairing mode is configured to perform sensing of the uplink signal US3. When the pen 2 receives the uplink signal US3 as a result of the sensing, the pen 2 determines whether or not the pairing bit data included in the uplink signal US3 matches the pairing bit data that has been sent out by the pen 2. When the pairing bit data matches, the pen 2 establishes a pairing with the sensor controller 50. Thereafter, the pen 2 makes an entry into the communication mode, and transmits a downlink signal DS. When the pen 2 in the pairing mode receives the uplink signal US3 as a result of sensing, the pen 2 determines whether or not the pairing bit data included in the uplink signal US3 matches the pairing bit data transmitted in step S9 in FIG. 10 (step S25). When the pen 2 determines as a result that the pairing bit data does not match, the pen 2 assumes that a pairing has failed, returns to the discovery mode, and continues its processing (step S32). When the pen 2 determines that the pairing bit data matches, on the other hand, the pen 2 establishes a pairing with the sensor controller 50 (step S26), and thereafter obtains the local pen ID assigned to the pen 2 by comparing new and old pairing control indicators with each other (step S27). That is, the pairing control indicator of the local pen ID assigned to the pen 2 should be “0” in the previous uplink signal US, whereas the pairing control indicator is “1” in the uplink signal US3 received in step S22, as described above)
Han and Hisano are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the method disclosed by Han with Hisano’s teachings of having the parameter of the information be amplitude, since it would have improved the method by adding realizing efficient communication between the active stylus and the first touch device.
Regarding Claim 20, Han teaches the control circuit of claim 11.
Han does not explicitly disclose wherein after receiving a detect signal from the first touch device, the active stylus determines whether the active stylus is paired with the first touch device.
However, Hisano teaches wherein after receiving a detect signal from the first touch device, the active stylus determines whether the active stylus is paired with the first touch device (see para. [0124]-[0126], para. [0137]. Specifically describing each mode, first, the discovery mode is a mode in which communication with a specific sensor controller 50 is not started yet, and a search is made for a communicable sensor controller 50. The pen 2 in the discovery mode is configured to repeat sensing of an uplink signal US1. When the pen 2 receives the uplink signal US1 as a result of the sensing, the pen 2 determines whether or not a pairing is possible on the basis of the pairing setting information included in the uplink signal US1. When the pen 2 determines that a pairing is possible, the pen 2 transmits a downlink signal DS including the pairing bit data according to the resource allocation scheme included in the uplink signal US1. The pairing mode is a mode in which a pairing is established with the sensor controller 50 that has transmitted the uplink signal US1 detected in the discovery mode. The pen 2 in the pairing mode is configured to perform sensing of the uplink signal US3. When the pen 2 receives the uplink signal US3 as a result of the sensing, the pen 2 determines whether or not the pairing bit data included in the uplink signal US3 matches the pairing bit data that has been sent out by the pen 2. When the pairing bit data matches, the pen 2 establishes a pairing with the sensor controller 50. Thereafter, the pen 2 makes an entry into the communication mode, and transmits a downlink signal DS. When the pen 2 in the pairing mode receives the uplink signal US3 as a result of sensing, the pen 2 determines whether or not the pairing bit data included in the uplink signal US3 matches the pairing bit data transmitted in step S9 in FIG. 10 (step S25). When the pen 2 determines as a result that the pairing bit data does not match, the pen 2 assumes that a pairing has failed, returns to the discovery mode, and continues its processing (step S32). When the pen 2 determines that the pairing bit data matches, on the other hand, the pen 2 establishes a pairing with the sensor controller 50 (step S26), and thereafter obtains the local pen ID assigned to the pen 2 by comparing new and old pairing control indicators with each other (step S27). That is, the pairing control indicator of the local pen ID assigned to the pen 2 should be “0” in the previous uplink signal US, whereas the pairing control indicator is “1” in the uplink signal US3 received in step S22, as described above)
Han and Hisano are related to stylus, thus one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have recognized the obviousness of modifying the control circuit disclosed by Han with Hisano’s teachings of having the parameter of the information be amplitude, since it would have improved the method by adding realizing efficient communication between the active stylus and the first touch device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objections set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IM/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 6/14/26