DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 - 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 -20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,168,490. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the narrower patented claims anticipate the broader instant application claims.
Patented claim 1 anticipates instant application claim 1.
Patented claim 2 anticipates instant application claim 2.
Patented claim 3 anticipates instant application claim 3.
Patented claim 4 anticipates instant application claim 4.
Patented claim 5 anticipates instant application claim 5.
Patented claim 6 anticipates instant application claim 6.
Patented claim 7 anticipates instant application claim 7.
Patented claim 9 anticipates instant application claim 8.
Patented claim 10 anticipates instant application claim 9.
Patented claim 11 anticipates instant application claim 10.
Patented claim 12 anticipates instant application claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 – 16 and 18 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stewart et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0332296 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Stewart discloses a modular vehicle system comprising:
a lateral support (lateral support frame 34, FIG. 2);
a set of removable wheel assemblies coupled to the lateral support, each removable wheel assembly (10, 32; FIG. 2) comprising a corresponding controller (22, FIG. 1);
a network interface communicatively coupled to the controllers corresponding to the set
of removable wheel assemblies and configured to communicate commands to the
controllers (“The control unit 22 includes wireless receiving means for receiving a signal from a wireless push button control 28, with the wireless communication indicated at 29. In use, the control unit will activate the motor to drive the wheel 12 only when a signal is received from the wireless pushbutton control 28…”¶ 46); and
an attachment arrangement configured to removably attach at least one of the set of
removable wheel assemblies to the lateral support (connecting member extends from the rear of the wheel mounting 14. The connecting member 24 includes a recess 26 in one surface to receive a bolt of a locking device ¶ 45).
Regarding claim 12, Stewart discloses the modular vehicle system, further comprising a motor configured to rotationally drive one or more removeable wheel assemblies (motor provided to drive the wheel ¶ 44).
Regarding claim 13, Stewart discloses the modular vehicle system, further comprising a battery dock configured to provide power to one or more removable wheel assemblies (Battery 20, FIG. 1 and ¶ 44).
Regarding claim 14, Stewart discloses the modular vehicle system, wherein the attachment arrangement comprises a clamp (16, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Stewart discloses the modular vehicle system, wherein the attachment arrangement comprises a slide attachment mechanism (Connecting member 24 including a recess 26 which is interpreted to slide into place of a frame support which allows a locking bolt to be received, FIG. 1 and ¶ 45).
Regarding claim 16, Stewart discloses the modular vehicle system, wherein one or more removeable wheel assemblies include two portions that extend from the removeable wheel assembly to a center axis of a wheel (16, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Stewart discloses the modular vehicle system, wherein at least one removeable wheel assembly comprises a sheet of material folded over a portion of a wheel (12, 16, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 19, Stewart discloses the modular vehicle system, wherein the network interface comprises a data bus interface configured to communicate with other devices on a common data bus (“The control unit 22 includes wireless receiving means for receiving a signal from a wireless push button control 28, with the wireless communication indicated at 29. In use, the control unit will activate the motor to drive the wheel 12 only when a signal is received from the wireless pushbutton control 28…”¶ 46).
Regarding claim 20, Stewart discloses the modular vehicle system, wherein the network interface further comprising a power bus interface configured to receive power from a power bus independent of the common data bus and the data bus interface (control unit and battery are separate units ¶¶ 44, 46 and Device 28, FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 6 and 8 - 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0332296 A1) in view of Gillett (Pub. No.: US 2014/0318879 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Stewart discloses a wheel assembly comprising:
a housing having a top side (Housing 18, FIG. 1);
an attachment arrangement on the housing and configured to be removably attached to an external support (connecting member extends from the rear of the wheel mounting 14. The connecting member 24 includes a recess 26 in one surface to receive a bolt of a locking device ¶ 45);
a wheel supported by the housing and arranged below the top side of the housing (12, FIG. 1);
a motor supported by the housing and configured to move the wheel (motor provided to drive the wheel ¶ 44);
a network interface supported by the housing (control unit includes wireless receiving means ¶ 46); and
a controller in communication with the motor and the network interface, the controller
configured to control the motor based on at least one command received via the network interface (“The control unit 22 includes wireless receiving means for receiving a signal from a wireless push button control 28, with the wireless communication indicated at 29. In use, the control unit will activate the motor to drive the wheel 12 only when a signal is received from the wireless pushbutton control 28…”¶ 46).
Steward is silent to an attachment arrangement on the top side of the housing. However, in the same field of endeavor, Gillett teaches a robotic omniwheel for motion including a wheel motor, brake, hub and axle assemblies and a controller for steering motion of the wheel. Control system may also include sensor arrays, laser and GPS for navigational control (See Abstract). More specifically, wheel housing assembly (strut assemblies 6,7; FIG. 3) includes an attachment type arrangement (motor device 10 and flange plate 13) located on top of the housing (FIGS. 4 and 5) which may be fastened by bolts 12 (¶ 34).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the attachment arrangement taught by Stewart to be arranged on the top side of the housing as taught by Gillett to enhance wheel control by enabling minimal (e.g., stop forward and reverse thrust) thrust momentum (¶ 33).
Regarding claim 2, Gillett teaches the wheel assembly, wherein the motor is configured to move the wheel by at least one of rotationally driving the wheel and turning the wheel at an angle (turning range within mechanism 10 motor which can have zero degree motion ¶ 42).
It would have been obvious to modify Stewart to wherein the motor is configured to move the wheel by at least one of rotationally driving the wheel and turning the wheel at an angle as taught by Gillett to enhance range of movement of the wheel assembly (¶ 42).
Regarding claim 3, Stewart discloses the wheel assembly, further comprising a battery dock supported by the housing and in communication with the motor (20, FIG. 1 and ¶ 44).
Regarding claim 4, Gillett teaches the wheel assembly, further comprising a clamp coupled to the top side of the housing (strut assemblies 6,7; FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to modify Stewart to further comprise a clamp coupled to the top side of the housing as taught by Gillett to enhance range of movement of the wheel assembly (¶ 42).
Regarding claim 5, Gillett teaches the wheel assembly, further comprising a slide attachment mechanism coupled to the top side of the housing (Similarly, swivels 10, 13; FIG. 4).
It would have been obvious to modify Stewart to further comprising a slide attachment mechanism coupled to the top side of the housing as taught by Gillett to enhance range of movement of the wheel assembly (¶ 42).
Regarding claim 6, Gillett teaches the wheel assembly, wherein the housing includes two portions that extend downward from the top side of the housing to a center axis of the wheel (6,7; FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to modify Stewart to wherein the housing includes two portions that extend downward from the top side of the housing to a center axis of the wheel
as taught by Gillett to enhance range of movement of the wheel assembly (¶ 42).
Regarding claim 8, Stewart discloses the wheel assembly, wherein the housing comprises a sheet of material folded over a portion of the wheel (16, FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Stewart discloses the wheel assembly, further comprising a data bus interface configured to communicate with other devices on a common data bus (¶ 46).
Regarding claim 10, Stewart discloses the wheel assembly, further comprising a power bus interface configured to receive power from a power bus independent of the common data bus and the data bus interface (control unit and battery are separate units ¶¶ 44, 46 and device 28, FIG. 1).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0332296 A1) in view of Gillett (Pub. No.: US 2014/0318879 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Collins (Pub. No.: US 2022/0371819 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Stewart discloses the wheel assembly, wherein the controller is configured to receive commands from at least one other wheel assembly. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Collins teaches a computer-controlled rubbish container including a wheel assembly with an electric motor coupled to a wheel, wherein the wheel rotates upon wireless signal sent from a computer to the control unit (See Abstract). More, specifically, a control circuit that is coupled to the motorized wheel assemblies may receive wireless signals at two motorized wheels to move together in a “forward”, “backward”, “left” and “right” directions and even at different relative speeds and directions in order to match desired movements (¶ 58).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stewart and Gillett wherein the controller is configured to receive commands from at least one other wheel assembly as taught by Collins to prevent any unintended movement of the contained (¶ 58).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0332296 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Collins (Pub. No.: US 2022/0371819 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Stewart is silent to the modular vehicle system, wherein a controller of a removeable wheel assembly is configured to receive commands from at least one other removeable wheel assembly. However, in a similar field of endeavor, Collins teaches a computer-controlled rubbish container including a wheel assembly with an electric motor coupled to a wheel, wherein the wheel rotates upon wireless signal sent from a computer to the control unit (See Abstract). More, specifically, a control circuit that is coupled to the motorized wheel assemblies may receive wireless signals at two motorized wheels to move together in a “forward”, “backward”, “left” and “right” directions and even at different relative speeds and directions in order to match desired movements (¶ 58).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Stewart to wherein a controller of a removeable wheel assembly is configured to receive commands from at least one other removeable wheel assembly as taught by Collins to prevent any unintended movement of the contained (¶ 58).
Conclusion
/TYLER J LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663