DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "420" and "426" have both been used to designate the baseboard component and the printed circuit board, respectively, wherein “420” and “426,” are pointed towards the same element. See at least Figure 4A. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, 7-12 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1-6, the limitation “a plurality of blind mate connectors positioned along an edge of the printed circuit board… each respective component interface blind mate connector being positioned to directly mate with a blind mate connector of the baseboard component,” is unclear to the examiner. It is unclear to what constitutes the “a blind mate connector.” The specification reads as though the “plurality of blind mate connectors,” are the “a blind mate connector.” Claims 1-6 are thereby rejected and will be examined as best understood.
Regarding claims 7-12, the limitation “a baseboard component, the baseboard component comprising a printed circuit board and a plurality of blind mate connectors positioned along an edge of the printed circuit board; wherein each respective component interface blind mate connector being positioned to directly mate with a blind mate connector of the baseboard component,” is unclear to the examiner. It is unclear to what constitutes the “a blind mate connector of the baseboard component.” The claim reads as though the “plurality of blind mate connectors,” are the “a blind mate connector of the baseboard component.” Claims 7-12 are thereby rejected and will be examined as best understood.
Regarding claims 13-18, the limitation, “a baseboard component, the baseboard component comprising a printed circuit board and a plurality of blind mate connectors positioned along an edge of the printed circuit board; wherein each of the plurality of component interface components comprising a respective component interface blind mate connector, each respective component interface blind mate connector being positioned to directly mate with a blind mate connector of the baseboard component.” It is unclear to what constitutes the “a blind mate connector of the baseboard component.” The claim reads as though the “plurality of blind mate connectors,” are the “a blind mate connector of the baseboard component.” Claims 13-18 are thereby rejected and will be examined as best understood.
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 13, the limitation “card electromechanical (CEM) form factor,” is unclear to the examiner. It is unclear whether “CEM” is an industry standard and what said standard is claimed in the current invention. CEM can be electrical, mechanical, power and/or thermal. It is unclear as to which CEM the applicant is claiming. Claims 5, 11 and 13 are thereby rejection and will be examined as best understood.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation, “the PCIe interface component providing a PCIe type interface between a component of the information handling system and the baseboard component, is unclear to the examiner. It is unclear what the “interface,” and “a component,” are as claimed. Claim 3 is thereby rejected and will be examined as best understood.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 10, 13, 15, 16, the limitation “component interface component,” is unclear to the examiner. It is unclear as to whether there are one or two components. The aforementioned limitation corresponds to the limitation “respective component interface blind mate,” and the examiner cannot ascertain which “component,” is respective to the claims “respective component interface blind mate.” Claims 1, 3, 7, 9, 10, 13, 15, 16 are thereby rejected and will be examined as best understood.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7 and 10 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kelley (US20220247125).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Kelley discloses a direct connect component connection system for an information handling system, comprising:
a baseboard component (308), the baseboard component comprising a printed circuit board (Paragraph 0026 – 208) and a plurality of blind mate connectors (306) positioned along an edge of the printed circuit board (Figure 2B and 3) ; and;
a plurality of component interface components (304), each of the plurality of component interface components comprising a respective component interface blind mate connector (Figure 4), each respective component interface blind mate connector being positioned to directly mate with a blind mate connector of the baseboard component (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Kelley discloses the direct connect component connection system of claim 1, wherein: each of the plurality of component interface components (304) is associated with a respective component within an array of components (Figure 3).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Kelley discloses a component array system for use in an information handling system comprising (Abstract):
an array of components (Figure 3), the array of components comprising a plurality of components (Figure 3); and,
a direct connect component (Figure 3) connection system for an information handling system, comprising:
a baseboard component (308), the baseboard component comprising a printed circuit board (Paragraph 0026 – 208) and a plurality of blind mate connectors (306) positioned along an edge of the printed circuit board (Figure 2B and 3); and;
a plurality of component interface components (304), each of the plurality of component interface components comprising a respective component interface blind mate connector (Figure 4), each respective component interface blind mate connector being positioned to directly mate with a blind mate connector of the baseboard component (Figure 4).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Kelley discloses the component array system of claim 7, wherein: each of the plurality of component interface components (304) is associated with a respective component within an array of components (Figure 3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelley (US20220247125) in view of Bechtolsheim et al. (hereinafter Bechtolsheim) (US20080259555).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Kelley discloses the direct connect component connection system of claim 1.
Kelley does not expressly disclose wherein: a plurality of peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) type blind mate connectors.
Bechtolsheim discloses peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) type blind mate connectors (in at least Paragraph 0044 – in its entirety)
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) type blind mate connectors of Bechtolsheim into the direct connect component connection system of Kelley.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to increase performance and functionality of the apparatus to the network.
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Kelley in view of Bechtolsheim discloses the direct connect component connection system of claim 2, wherein: each of the plurality of component interface components comprises a respective PCIe interface component, the PCIe interface component providing a PCIe type interface between a component of the information handling system and the baseboard component (Figure 3 – Bechtolsheim)
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Kelley discloses the component array system of claim 7.
Kelley does not expressly disclose wherein: a plurality of peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) type blind mate connectors.
Bechtolsheim discloses peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) type blind mate connectors (in at least Paragraph 0044 – in its entirety)
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) type blind mate connectors of Bechtolsheim into the direct connect component connection system of Kelley.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to increase performance and functionality of the apparatus to the network
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Kelley in view of Bechtolsheim discloses the component array system of claim 8, wherein: each of the plurality of component interface components comprises a respective PCIe interface component, the PCIe interface component providing a PCIe type interface between a component of the information handling system and the baseboard component (Figure 3 – Bechtolsheim)
Claim(s) 5 and 11 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelley (US20220247125) in view of Venugopal et al. (hereinafter Venugopal) (US20140353264).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Kelley discloses the direct connect component connection system of claim 4.
Kelley does not expressly disclose wherein: each of the plurality of components of the array of components is configured to correspond to a card electromechanical (CEM) form factor.
Venugopal discloses wherein: each of the plurality of components of the array of components is configured to correspond to a card electromechanical (CEM) form factor (Paragraph 0016 – System 100 may be fully compliant with interface standards, such as the Standard PCI Express .RTM. Card Electromechanical (CEM) Specification)
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the Card Electromechanical (CEM) form factor of Venugopal into the direct connect component connection system of Kelley.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this as the combination would define PCIe’s higher data rates and power demands while accommodating smaller components and their respective connectors.
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Kelley discloses the component array system of claim 10, wherein: each of the plurality of components of the array of components is configured to correspond to a card electromechanical (CEM) form factor.
Kelley does not expressly disclose wherein: each of the plurality of components of the array of components is configured to correspond to a card electromechanical (CEM) form factor.
Venugopal discloses wherein: each of the plurality of components of the array of components is configured to correspond to a card electromechanical (CEM) form factor (Paragraph 0016 – System 100 may be fully compliant with interface standards, such as the Standard PCI Express .RTM. Card Electromechanical (CEM) Specification)
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the Card Electromechanical (CEM) form factor of Venugopal into the direct connect component connection system of Kelley.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this as the combination would define PCIe’s higher data rates and power demands while accommodating smaller components and their respective connectors.
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelley (US20220247125) in view of Nelson et al. (hereinafter Nelson) (US20190104632).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Kelley discloses the direct connect component connection system of claim 4, wherein
Kelley does not expressly disclose each of the plurality of components of the array of components comprises a graphics processing unit (GPU) module.
Nelson discloses a graphics processing unit (GPU) module (12).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the GPU of Nelson into the direct connect component connection system of Kelley.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this because GPU modules are compact and offers flexible performance upgrades and specialized computing capabilities.
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Kelley discloses the component array system of claim 11, wherein: each of the plurality of components of the array of components comprises a graphics processing unit (GPU) module.
Kelley does not expressly disclose each of the plurality of components of the array of components comprises a graphics processing unit (GPU) module.
Nelson discloses a graphics processing unit (GPU) module (12).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the GPU of Nelson into the direct connect component connection system of Kelley.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this because GPU modules are compact and offers flexible performance upgrades and specialized computing capabilities.
Claim(s) 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adrian (US20200060033) in view of Kelley (US20220247125).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Adrian in view of Bechtolsheim discloses system comprising:
a chassis (58);
a processor (30) contained within the chassis (58);
a data bus (32) coupled to the processor (Paragraph 0022 – It will be appreciated that “internal” as used in the term “internal data bus” refers to the fact that at least a portion of the data bus is typically housed in the same housing (which serves as a Faraday cage) as the processor of the server, and should be understood to encompass a data bus that connects a processor;” and,
an array of components (Figure 1) contained within the chassis, the array of components comprising a plurality of components.
Adrian does not expressly disclose a direct connect component connection system comprising: a baseboard component, the baseboard component comprising a printed circuit board and a plurality of blind mate connectors positioned along an edge of the printed circuit board; and; a plurality of component interface components, each of the plurality of component interface components comprising a respective component interface blind mate connector, each respective component interface blind mate connector being positioned to directly mate with a blind mate connector of the baseboard component.
Kelley discloses a direct connect component connection (Figure 4A) system for directly connecting with the array of components, the direct connect component connection system comprising:
a baseboard component (308), the baseboard component comprising a printed circuit board (Paragraph 0026 – 208) and a plurality of blind mate connectors (306) positioned along an edge of the printed circuit board (Figure 2B and 3) ; and;
a plurality of component interface components (304), each of the plurality of component interface components comprising a respective component interface blind mate connector (Figure 4), each respective component interface blind mate connector being positioned to directly mate with a blind mate connector of the baseboard component (Figure 4).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the direct connect component system of Kelley into the automated data center of Adrian.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this provide aligned mating which protects the components of the system.
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, Adrian in view of Kelley discloses the system of claim 13, wherein: each of the plurality of component interface components is associated with a respective component within the array of components (Figure 4A – Kelly).
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adrian (US20200060033) in view of Kelley (US20220247125) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Bechtolsheim et al. (hereinafter Bechtolsheim) (US20080259555).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Adrian in view of Kelley discloses the system of claim 13, wherein: the plurality of blind mate connectors comprises a plurality of peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe)type blind mate connectors; and, each respective component interface blind mate connector comprises a PCIe type blind mate connector.
Adrian in view of Kelley does not expressly disclose wherein: a plurality of peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) type blind mate connectors.
Bechtolsheim discloses peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) type blind mate connectors (in at least Paragraph 0044 – in its entirety)
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) type blind mate connectors of Bechtolsheim into the direct connect component connection system of Adrian in view of Kelley.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this to increase performance and functionality of the apparatus to the network.
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Adrian in view of Kelley further in view of Bechtolsheim discloses the system of claim 14, wherein: each of the plurality of component interface components comprises a respective PCIe interface component, the PCIe interface component providing a PCIe type interface between a component of the information handling system and the baseboard component (Figure 3 – Bechtolsheim)
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adrian (US20200060033) in view of Kelley (US20220247125) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Venugopal et al. (hereinafter Venugopal) (US20140353264).
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, Adrian in view of Kelley discloses the system of claim 16.
Adrian in view of Kelley does not expressly disclose wherein: each of the plurality of components of the array of components is configured to correspond to a card electromechanical (CEM) form factor.
Venugopal discloses wherein: each of the plurality of components of the array of components is configured to correspond to a card electromechanical (CEM) form factor (Paragraph 0016 – System 100 may be fully compliant with interface standards, such as the Standard PCI Express .RTM. Card Electromechanical (CEM) Specification)
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the Card Electromechanical (CEM) form factor of Venugopal into the direct connect component connection system of Adrian in view of Kelley.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this as the combination would define PCIe’s higher data rates and power demands while accommodating smaller components and their respective connectors.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adrian (US20200060033) in view of Kelley (US20220247125) further in view of Venugopal et al. (hereinafter Venugopal) (US20140353264) as applied to claim above, and further in view of Nelson et al. (hereinafter Nelson) (US20190104632).
Regarding claim 18, as best understood, Adrian in view of Kelley further in view of Venugopal discloses the system of claim 17.
Adrian in view of Kelley further in view of Venugopal further in view of Venugopal each of the plurality of components of the array of components comprises a graphics processing unit (GPU) module.
Kelley in view of Venugopal does not expressly disclose each of the plurality of components of the array of components comprises a graphics processing unit (GPU) module.
Nelson discloses a graphics processing unit (GPU) module (12).
It would’ve been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the GPU of Nelson into the direct connect component connection system of Kelley in view of Venugopal.
One having ordinary skill on the art would have been motivated to do this because GPU modules are compact and offers flexible performance upgrades and specialized computing capabilities.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US12127364.
/XANTHIA C RELFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
21 June 2026