DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant's “Amendment” filed on 7/6/2026 has been considered.
Rejection to Claims 2-21 under 35 USC 101 have been overcome.
Rejection to Claims 2-21 under nonstatutory double patenting have not been overcome.
Claims 2-5, 7-9, 11-12, 14-16, 18-19, 21 are amended.
Claim 1 is cancelled.
Claims 2-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 12,190,370. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,190,370.
Instant application and Patent No. 11,170,424 claim the same invention as follows:
Instant Application
Patent No. 12,190,370
Claim 2
A computer-implemented method, comprising:
performing an analysis at a gifting service system using transaction order details to determine that a recipient qualifies for a gift offer;
selecting one or more gift options associated with a retailer system,
wherein selecting is performed by a send offer analysis algorithm of a machine learning system of the gifting service system,
wherein the send offer analysis algorithm uses the transaction order details to dynamically predict gift options likely to result in a gift action associated with a retailer system;
receiving a send selection including the one or more gift options and a request for a selection from among the one or more gift options;
receiving send information indicating that a recipient has declined the one or more gift options;
transmitting a confirmation based on the send information; and
dynamically updating the send offer analysis algorithm,
wherein updating comprises: adding the send information together with the transaction order details as training data associated with a declined offer of the one or more gift options; determining, based on the training data, that the declined offer did not result in a completed gift action; incorporating the training data into a continuously updated training dataset for the send offer analysis algorithm; and retraining the send offer analysis algorithm using the continuously updated training dataset to improve prediction of future gift offers.
1.
A computer-implemented method, comprising:
identifying, by a gifting service system including one or more processors, order confirmation details for a completed transaction;
performing an analysis using the order confirmation details and sender information;
selecting one or more sender gift options that include one or more partner products associated with a retailer system,
wherein the selection is performed by a send offer analysis algorithm of a machine learning system of the gifting service system, and wherein the send offer analysis algorithm uses order details to dynamically predict gift options likely to result in a gift action;
receiving send information, wherein the send information includes a gift selection and a recipient identifier;
transmitting a gift notification based on the recipient identifier, wherein the gift notification includes one or more recipient gift options;
receiving one or more recipient gift selections associated with the one or more recipient gift options;
performing, by the gifting service system, the gift action based on the one or more recipient gift selections;
updating the send offer analysis algorithm using the send information and the gift selections gift selection as training data for updating the send offer analysis algorithm; and
dynamically updating the send offer analysis algorithm
wherein dynamically updating includes continuously training the send offer analysis algorithm over time to improve predictive accuracy using confirmation details, product data, or sender data,
wherein the sender data includes data associated with purchases for which an offer to send a gift was provided to a consumer.
3. (New) The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the recipient may decline the gift options by interacting with an interactive element presented as part of a gift notification, wherein the gift notification includes information that provides the recipient with details regarding gift redemption.
2. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the send information includes the one or more sender gift options and a request for a selection from among the one or more sender gift options.
4. (New) The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein declining of the gift option occurs based on an expiration of a timer.
3. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein performing the analysis further includes analyzing inventory information, and wherein the one or more sender gift options are based on the inventory information.
5. (New) The computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising: selecting one or more additional gift options, wherein selecting is performed by the updated send offer analysis algorithm; and receiving additional send information, wherein the additional send information indicates that the recipient has accepted the additional one or more gift options.
4. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the completed transaction is associated with the retailer system, and the one or more sender gift options include one or more retailer products associated with the retailer system.
6. (New) The computer-implemented method of claim 5, further comprising: updating the machine learning system based on the additional send information.
5. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the send information includes a request for a communication channel selection, and wherein the recipient identifier is based at least in part on the communication channel selection.
7. (New) The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the one or more gift options include a sender-selected item and one or more alternative items.
6. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the order confirmation details include product information, a price, or a date of purchase.
8. (New) The computer-implemented method of claim 2, wherein the transaction is associated with the retailer system and a recipient identifier.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more recipient gift options include a sender-selected item and one or more alternative items.
9. (New) A system, comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing thereon instructions that, as a result of being executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising:
performing an analysis at a gifting service system using transaction order details to determine that a recipient qualifies for a gift offer;
selecting one or more gift options associated with a retailer system, wherein selecting is performed by a send offer analysis algorithm of a machine learning system of the gifting service system, wherein the send offer analysis algorithm uses the transaction order details to dynamically predict gift options likely to result in a gift action associated with a retailer system;
receiving a send selection including the one or more gift options and a request for a selection from among the one or more gift options;
receiving send information indicating that a recipient has declined the one or more gift options;
transmitting a confirmation based on the send information; and
dynamically updating the send offer analysis algorithm, wherein updating comprises: adding the send information together with the transaction order details as training data associated with a declined offer of the one or more gift options; determining, based on the training data, that the declined offer did not result in a completed gift action; incorporating the training data into a continuously updated training dataset for the send offer analysis algorithm; and retraining the send offer analysis algorithm using the continuously updated training dataset to improve prediction of future gift offers.
8. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more recipient gift options include customization options.
10. (New) The system of claim 9, wherein the recipient may decline the gift options by interacting with an interactive element presented as part of a gift notification, wherein the gift notification includes information that provides the recipient with details regarding gift redemption.
9. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more recipient gift options include delivery options.
11. (New) The system of claim 9, wherein declining of the gift option occurs based on an expiration of a timer.
10. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the gift action includes delivering the gift.
12. (New) The system of claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise:
selecting one or more additional gift options, wherein selecting is performed by the updated send offer analysis algorithm; and
receiving additional send information, wherein the additional send information indicates that the recipient has accepted the additional one or more gift options.
11. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein a send offer is provided as part of an order confirmation page.
13. (New) The system of claim 12, further comprising:
updating the machine learning system based on the additional send information.
1. updating the send offer analysis algorithm using the send information and the gift selections gift selection as training data for updating the send offer analysis algorithm;
14. (New) The system of claim 9, wherein the one or more gift options include a sender-selected item and one or more alternative items.
7. The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more recipient gift options include a sender-selected item and one or more alternative items.
15. (New) The system of claim 9, wherein the transaction is associated with the retailer system and a recipient identifier.
5. wherein the send information includes a request for a communication channel selection, and wherein the recipient identifier is based at least in part on the communication channel selection.
16. (New) A non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium storing thereon executable instructions that, as a result of being executed by a computer system, cause the computer system to perform operations comprising:
performing an analysis at a gifting service system using transaction order details to determine that a recipient qualifies for a gift offer;
selecting one or more gift options associated with a retailer system, wherein selecting is performed by a send offer analysis algorithm of a machine learning system of the gifting service system, wherein the send offer analysis algorithm uses the transaction order details to dynamically predict gift options likely to result in a gift action associated with a retailer system;
receiving a send selection including the one or more gift options and a request for a selection from among the one or more gift options;
receiving send information indicating that a recipient has declined the one or more gift options;
transmitting a confirmation based on the send information; and
dynamically updating the send offer analysis algorithm, wherein updating comprises: adding the send information together with the transaction order details as training data associated with a declined offer of the one or more gift options; determining, based on the training data, that the declined offer did not result in a completed gift action; incorporating the training data into a continuously updated training dataset for the send offer analysis algorithm; and retraining the send offer analysis algorithm using the continuously updated training dataset to improve prediction of future gift offers.
21. A non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium storing thereon executable instructions that, as a result of being executed by a computer system, cause the computer system to:
identify, by a gifting service system including one or more processors, order confirmation details for a completed transaction;
perform an analysis using the order confirmation details and sender information; select one or more sender gift options that include one or more partner products associated with a retailer system, wherein the selection is performed by a send offer analysis algorithm of a machine learning system of the gifting service system, and wherein the send offer analysis algorithm uses order details to dynamically predict gift options likely to result in a gift action;
receive send information, wherein the send information includes a gift selection and a recipient identifier;
transmit a gift notification based on the recipient identifier, wherein the gift notification includes one or more recipient gift options;
receive one or more recipient gift selections associated with the one or more recipient gift options; perform, by the gifting service system, the gift action based on the one or more recipient gift selections;
update the send offer analysis algorithm using the send information and gift selection as training data for updating the send offer analysis algorithm; and
dynamically update the send offer analysis algorithm wherein dynamically updating includes continuously training the send offer analysis algorithm over time to improve predictive accuracy using confirmation details, product data, or sender data, wherein the sender data includes data associated with purchases for which an offer to send a gift was provided to a consumer.
17. (New) The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the recipient may decline the gift options by interacting with an interactive element presented as part of a gift notification, wherein the gift notification includes information that provides the recipient with details regarding gift redemption.
22. The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 21, wherein the send information includes the one or more sender gift options and a request for a selection from among the one or more sender gift options.
18. (New) The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein declining of the gift option occurs based on an expiration of a timer.
23. The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 21, wherein performing the analysis further includes analyzing inventory information, and wherein the one or more sender gift options are based on the inventory information.
19. (New) The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise:
selecting one or more additional gift options, wherein selecting is performed by the updated send offer analysis algorithm; and
receiving additional send information, wherein the additional send information indicates that the recipient has accepted the additional one or more gift options.
24. The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 21, wherein the completed transaction is associated with the retailer system, and the one or more sender gift options include one or more retailer products associated with the retailer system.
20. (New) non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 19, further comprising:
Updating the machine learning system based on the additional send information.
25. The non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 21, wherein the send information includes a request for a communication channel selection, and wherein the recipient identifier is based at least in part on the communication channel selection.
21. (New) non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the one or more gift options include a sender-selected item and one or more alternative items.
20. The system of claim 14, wherein the one or more recipient gift options include a sender-selected item and one or more alternative items.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 5-10, 12-17, 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11341523 B1 to JACOBY in view of US 2016/0086222 A1 to KURAPATI in further view of US 2023/0186276 A1 to Storiale.
Regarding Claim 2, JACOBY discloses A computer-implemented method, comprising:
performing an analysis at a gifting service system using transaction order details to determine that a recipient qualifies for a gift offer; ([Col 20 Ln 40-45] the payment service may recommend reward offers or equity purchases of a merchant or industry based on the transaction history of a specific user on the payment service, or other users on the payment service that may have a similar profile of the specific user [col 25 Ln 60-Col 26 Ln 10)
selecting one or more gift options associated with a retailer system,
wherein selecting is performed by a send offer analysis algorithm of a machine learning system of the gifting service system, ([Col 14 Ln 59-65] At step 310, the payment service system 108 may identify one or more reward offers to be provided to the user. The reward offers may be identified using a machine-learning models based on information in one or more data stores associated with the payment service system 108. )
wherein the send offer analysis algorithm uses the transaction order details to dynamically predict gift options; ([Col 14 Ln 60-Col 15 Ln 10] The information analyzed by the machine-learning model to identify reward offers may comprise information about one or more users, information about one or more payment accounts, information about one or more merchants, information about one or more existing and available reward offers, other suitable information, or any combination thereof. For example, the information used to identify the reward offers may comprise demographic information associated with the user, information associated with a current time, information associated with a location of the user, historical information associated with use of the application 222 by the user, information associated with input by the user while using the application, or information associated with a membership status of the user.)
receiving a send selection including the one or more gift options and a request for a selection from among the one or more gift options; ([Col 26 Ln 30-35] The sending user may select one of the suggested gift offers, and may customize a selected gift offer, e.g., by changing the merchant, value, expiration, or other attribute of the offer. The sending user may invoke a command in the gift offer user interface to send the gift offer to a designated recipient. )
receiving send information indicating that a recipient has declined the one or more gift options; ([Col 34 Ln 5-12] The user interface 1400b includes a button 1406 for accepting the gift offer and a button 1408 for declining the gift offer. The user may tap the button 1406 to accept the offer. Accepting the offer may cause the offer to be automatically redeemed when a qualifying purchase is made, and added to the application 222, e.g., as one of the cards 520).)
transmitting a confirmation based on the send information; and ([Claim 2] an indication corresponding to an input confirming acceptance of the at least one of the one or more recommended digital gifts; )
dynamically updating the send offer analysis algorithm, ([Col 27 Ln 15-30] In particular embodiments, a machine-learning model may be trained, based on values of signals in a customer transaction history or database, to infer suggested gift offers based on values of those signals. Thus a trained machine-learning model may infer suggested gift offers based on values of the signals received subsequent to the training process so that the suggested gift offers can be presented to a user of a mobile wallet application. The signals may include signals related to identifying users who are likely to send a gift. )
gift offers, gift options; ([Col 34 Ln 5-12] The user interface 1400b includes a button 1406 for accepting the gift offer and a button 1408 for declining the gift offer. The user may tap the button 1406 to accept the offer. Accepting the offer may cause the offer to be automatically redeemed when a qualifying purchase is made, and added to the application 222, e.g., as one of the cards 520).)
But does not explicitly disclose predict gift options likely to result in a gift action associated with a retailer system; wherein updating comprises: adding the send information together with the transaction order details as training data associated with a declined offer of the one or more options; determining, based on the training data, that the declined offer did not result in a completed gift action; incorporating the training data into a continuously updated training dataset for the send offer analysis algorithm; and retraining the send offer analysis algorithm using the continuously updated training dataset to improve prediction of future offers..
KURAPATI, on the other hand, teaches predict gift options likely to result in a gift action associated with a retailer system. ([0395] The filter to obtain rewards, offers, or incentives with the highest likelihood of being accepted may be based on a prediction of user behavior, such as purchase behavior, developed using at least one of: data on one or more past user responses to one or more savings opportunities, public or inferred data relevant to the user, preferences (including merchant category preferences, transaction category preferences, product category preferences, and merchant preferences), a geographic location, a seasonal variety, a spending level, and any recent changes from historic spending patterns.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the method, as taught by JACOBY, the features as taught by KURAPATI, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JACOBY, to include the teachings of KURAPATI, in order to present a user with relevant options (KURAPATI, [0012]).
Storiale, on the other hand, teaches wherein updating comprises: adding the send information together with the transaction order details as training data associated with a declined offer of the one or more gift options; determining, based on the training data, that the declined offer did not result in a completed gift action; incorporating the training data into a continuously updated training dataset for the send offer analysis algorithm; and retraining the send offer analysis algorithm using the continuously updated training dataset to improve prediction of future gift offers. ([0042] training of the machine learning algorithm or artificial intelligence implemented on the point-of-sale device 104, an evaluator of the machine learning algorithm or artificial intelligence may review the offers generated by the machine learning algorithm or artificial intelligence to determine whether the offers are germane to the corresponding transactions for which the offers were presented. To determine whether these offers are germane to these corresponding transactions, the evaluator may evaluate user feedback corresponding to the presentation of these offers. This feedback may include acceptance or rejection of presented offers, as well as any explicit feedback provided by a user (e.g., comments provided by users with regard to presented offers, selection of an option regarding their selection or rejection of the offer, etc.). In some instances, an evaluator may act as a user or other entity that utilizes their user device 102 to interact with the point-of-sale device 104 in association with a particular transaction and during which an offer may be presented to the evaluator for the transaction. The evaluator may review the offer provided by the point-of-sale device 104 based on the user information provided and the present transaction to determine whether the offer provided is germane to the transaction or is otherwise appealing to the evaluator. Based on the evaluator’s feedback, the machine learning algorithm may be re-trained and/or reinforced to improve the likelihood of the point-of-sale device 104 providing germane offers that may be appealing to users. [0043] The point-of-sale device 104 may use this feedback, as well as the payment information for the transaction and the offer provided to the user, as a new data point that may be used to reinforce or otherwise re-train the machine learning algorithm used to generate the offer. Thus, as users interact with the point-of-sale device 104 and the payment processor system 108, the machine learning algorithm or artificial intelligence may be dynamically trained in real-time based on users’ acceptance or rejection of presented offers. (dynamically training in real-time is being interpreted as using a continuously updated training set.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the method, as taught by JACOBY, the features as taught by Storiale, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JACOBY, to include the teachings of Storiale, in order to dynamically generate customized offers (Storiale, [0041]).
Regarding Claim 3, JACOBY in view of KURAPATI and Storiale teaches the method of claim 2.
JACOBY discloses wherein the recipient may decline the one or more gift options by interacting with an interactive element presented as part of a gift notification, wherein the gift notification includes information that provides the recipient with details regarding gift redemption.. ([Col 34 Ln 5-12] The user interface 1400b includes a button 1406 for accepting the gift offer and a button 1408 for declining the gift offer. The user may tap the button 1406 to accept the offer. Accepting the offer may cause the offer to be automatically redeemed when a qualifying purchase is made, and added to the application 222, e.g., as one of the cards 520).)
Regarding Claim 5, JACOBY in view of KURAPATI and Storiale teaches the method of claim 2.
JACOBY discloses selecting one or more additional gift options, wherein selecting is performed by an updated send offer analysis algorithm; and receiving additional send information, wherein the additional send information indicates that the recipient has accepted the one or more additional gift options. ([Col 15 Ln 45-55] As yet another example and not by way of limitation, the payment service system 108 may determine a reward offer accepted by the user has expired and present a similar reward offer extending the term of the previously-accepted reward offer.)
Regarding Claim 6, JACOBY in view of KURAPATI and Storiale teaches the method of claim 5.
JACOBY discloses updating the machine learning system based on the additional send information. ([Col 27 Ln 15-30] In particular embodiments, a machine-learning model may be trained, based on values of signals in a customer transaction history or database, to infer suggested gift offers based on values of those signals. Thus a trained machine-learning model may infer suggested gift offers based on values of the signals received subsequent to the training process so that the suggested gift offers can be presented to a user of a mobile wallet application. The signals may include signals related to identifying users who are likely to send a gift. )
Regarding Claim 7, JACOBY in view of KURAPATI and Storiale teaches the method of claim 2.
JACOBY discloses wherein the one or more recipient gift options include a sender-selected item and one or more alternative items.. ([Col 27 Ln 15-30] In particular embodiments, a machine-learning model may be trained, based on values of signals in a customer transaction history or database, to infer suggested gift offers based on values of those signals. Thus a trained machine-learning model may infer suggested gift offers based on values of the signals received subsequent to the training process so that the suggested gift offers can be presented to a user of a mobile wallet application. The signals may include signals related to identifying users who are likely to send a gift. ([Col 26 Ln 30-35] The sending user may select one of the suggested gift offers, and may customize a selected gift offer, e.g., by changing the merchant, value, expiration, or other attribute of the offer. The sending user may invoke a command in the gift offer user interface to send the gift offer to a designated recipient.; Fig 14.C )
Regarding Claim 8, JACOBY in view of KURAPATI and Storiale teaches the method of claim 2.
JACOBY discloses wherein the transaction order details are associated with the retailer system and a recipient identifier.. ([Col 4 Ln 30-40] The merchant may interact with POS device 105 to process the transactions, such as by inputting (e.g., manually, via a magnetic card reader, NFC reader, or an RFID reader, etc.) identifiers associated with payment instrument 112. For example, a payment instrument of the customer may include a card having one or more magnetic strips for providing card and customer information when swiped in a card reader. )
Regarding Claim 9, JACOBY discloses A system, comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing thereon instructions that, as a result of being executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising:
performing an analysis at a gifting service system using transaction order details to determine that a recipient qualifies for a gift offer; ([Col 20 Ln 40-45] the payment service may recommend reward offers or equity purchases of a merchant or industry based on the transaction history of a specific user on the payment service, or other users on the payment service that may have a similar profile of the specific user [col 25 Ln 60-Col 26 Ln 10)
selecting one or more gift options associated with a retailer system,
wherein selecting is performed by a send offer analysis algorithm of a machine learning system of the gifting service system, ([Col 14 Ln 59-65] At step 310, the payment service system 108 may identify one or more reward offers to be provided to the user. The reward offers may be identified using a machine-learning models based on information in one or more data stores associated with the payment service system 108. )
wherein the send offer analysis algorithm uses the transaction order details to dynamically predict gift options; ([Col 14 Ln 60-Col 15 Ln 10] The information analyzed by the machine-learning model to identify reward offers may comprise information about one or more users, information about one or more payment accounts, information about one or more merchants, information about one or more existing and available reward offers, other suitable information, or any combination thereof. For example, the information used to identify the reward offers may comprise demographic information associated with the user, information associated with a current time, information associated with a location of the user, historical information associated with use of the application 222 by the user, information associated with input by the user while using the application, or information associated with a membership status of the user.)
receiving a send selection including the one or more gift options and a request for a selection from among the one or more gift options; ([Col 26 Ln 30-35] The sending user may select one of the suggested gift offers, and may customize a selected gift offer, e.g., by changing the merchant, value, expiration, or other attribute of the offer. The sending user may invoke a command in the gift offer user interface to send the gift offer to a designated recipient. )
receiving send information indicating that a recipient has declined the one or more gift options; ([Col 34 Ln 5-12] The user interface 1400b includes a button 1406 for accepting the gift offer and a button 1408 for declining the gift offer. The user may tap the button 1406 to accept the offer. Accepting the offer may cause the offer to be automatically redeemed when a qualifying purchase is made, and added to the application 222, e.g., as one of the cards 520).)
transmitting a confirmation based on the send information; and ([Claim 2] an indication corresponding to an input confirming acceptance of the at least one of the one or more recommended digital gifts; )
dynamically updating the send offer analysis algorithm, ([Col 27 Ln 15-30] In particular embodiments, a machine-learning model may be trained, based on values of signals in a customer transaction history or database, to infer suggested gift offers based on values of those signals. Thus a trained machine-learning model may infer suggested gift offers based on values of the signals received subsequent to the training process so that the suggested gift offers can be presented to a user of a mobile wallet application. The signals may include signals related to identifying users who are likely to send a gift. )
gift offers, gift options; ([Col 34 Ln 5-12] The user interface 1400b includes a button 1406 for accepting the gift offer and a button 1408 for declining the gift offer. The user may tap the button 1406 to accept the offer. Accepting the offer may cause the offer to be automatically redeemed when a qualifying purchase is made, and added to the application 222, e.g., as one of the cards 520).)
But does not explicitly disclose predict gift options likely to result in a gift action associated with a retailer system; wherein updating comprises: adding the send information together with the transaction order details as training data associated with a declined offer of the one or more options; determining, based on the training data, that the declined offer did not result in a completed gift action; incorporating the training data into a continuously updated training dataset for the send offer analysis algorithm; and retraining the send offer analysis algorithm using the continuously updated training dataset to improve prediction of future offers.
KURAPATI, on the other hand, teaches predict gift options likely to result in a gift action associated with a retailer system. ([0395] The filter to obtain rewards, offers, or incentives with the highest likelihood of being accepted may be based on a prediction of user behavior, such as purchase behavior, developed using at least one of: data on one or more past user responses to one or more savings opportunities, public or inferred data relevant to the user, preferences (including merchant category preferences, transaction category preferences, product category preferences, and merchant preferences), a geographic location, a seasonal variety, a spending level, and any recent changes from historic spending patterns.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the method, as taught by JACOBY, the features as taught by KURAPATI, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JACOBY, to include the teachings of KURAPATI, in order to present a user with relevant options (KURAPATI, [0012]).
Storiale, on the other hand, teaches wherein updating comprises: adding the send information together with the transaction order details as training data associated with a declined offer of the one or more options; determining, based on the training data, that the declined offer did not result in a completed gift action; incorporating the training data into a continuously updated training dataset for the send offer analysis algorithm; and retraining the send offer analysis algorithm using the continuously updated training dataset to improve prediction of future offers. ([0042] training of the machine learning algorithm or artificial intelligence implemented on the point-of-sale device 104, an evaluator of the machine learning algorithm or artificial intelligence may review the offers generated by the machine learning algorithm or artificial intelligence to determine whether the offers are germane to the corresponding transactions for which the offers were presented. To determine whether these offers are germane to these corresponding transactions, the evaluator may evaluate user feedback corresponding to the presentation of these offers. This feedback may include acceptance or rejection of presented offers, as well as any explicit feedback provided by a user (e.g., comments provided by users with regard to presented offers, selection of an option regarding their selection or rejection of the offer, etc.). In some instances, an evaluator may act as a user or other entity that utilizes their user device 102 to interact with the point-of-sale device 104 in association with a particular transaction and during which an offer may be presented to the evaluator for the transaction. The evaluator may review the offer provided by the point-of-sale device 104 based on the user information provided and the present transaction to determine whether the offer provided is germane to the transaction or is otherwise appealing to the evaluator. Based on the evaluator’s feedback, the machine learning algorithm may be re-trained and/or reinforced to improve the likelihood of the point-of-sale device 104 providing germane offers that may be appealing to users. [0043] The point-of-sale device 104 may use this feedback, as well as the payment information for the transaction and the offer provided to the user, as a new data point that may be used to reinforce or otherwise re-train the machine learning algorithm used to generate the offer. Thus, as users interact with the point-of-sale device 104 and the payment processor system 108, the machine learning algorithm or artificial intelligence may be dynamically trained in real-time based on users’ acceptance or rejection of presented offers. (dynamically training in real-time is being interpreted as using a continuously updated training set.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the method, as taught by JACOBY, the features as taught by Storiale, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JACOBY, to include the teachings of Storiale, in order to dynamically generate customized offers (Storiale, [0041]).
Claim 10 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 3. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 3.
Claim 12 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 5. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 5.
Claim 13 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 6. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 6.
Claim 14 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 7. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 7.
Claim 15 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 8. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 8.
Regarding Claim 16, JACOBY discloses A non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium storing thereon executable instructions that, as a result of being executed by a computer system, cause the computer system to perform operations comprising:
performing an analysis at a gifting service system using transaction order details to determine that a recipient qualifies for a gift offer; ([Col 20 Ln 40-45] the payment service may recommend reward offers or equity purchases of a merchant or industry based on the transaction history of a specific user on the payment service, or other users on the payment service that may have a similar profile of the specific user [col 25 Ln 60-Col 26 Ln 10)
selecting one or more gift options associated with a retailer system,
wherein selecting is performed by a send offer analysis algorithm of a machine learning system of the gifting service system, ([Col 14 Ln 59-65] At step 310, the payment service system 108 may identify one or more reward offers to be provided to the user. The reward offers may be identified using a machine-learning models based on information in one or more data stores associated with the payment service system 108. )
wherein the send offer analysis algorithm uses the transaction order details to dynamically predict gift options; ([Col 14 Ln 60-Col 15 Ln 10] The information analyzed by the machine-learning model to identify reward offers may comprise information about one or more users, information about one or more payment accounts, information about one or more merchants, information about one or more existing and available reward offers, other suitable information, or any combination thereof. For example, the information used to identify the reward offers may comprise demographic information associated with the user, information associated with a current time, information associated with a location of the user, historical information associated with use of the application 222 by the user, information associated with input by the user while using the application, or information associated with a membership status of the user.)
receiving a send selection including the one or more gift options and a request for a selection from among the one or more gift options; ([Col 26 Ln 30-35] The sending user may select one of the suggested gift offers, and may customize a selected gift offer, e.g., by changing the merchant, value, expiration, or other attribute of the offer. The sending user may invoke a command in the gift offer user interface to send the gift offer to a designated recipient. )
receiving send information indicating that a recipient has declined the one or more gift options; ([Col 34 Ln 5-12] The user interface 1400b includes a button 1406 for accepting the gift offer and a button 1408 for declining the gift offer. The user may tap the button 1406 to accept the offer. Accepting the offer may cause the offer to be automatically redeemed when a qualifying purchase is made, and added to the application 222, e.g., as one of the cards 520).)
transmitting a confirmation based on the send information; and ([Claim 2] an indication corresponding to an input confirming acceptance of the at least one of the one or more recommended digital gifts; )
dynamically updating the send offer analysis algorithm, ([Col 27 Ln 15-30] In particular embodiments, a machine-learning model may be trained, based on values of signals in a customer transaction history or database, to infer suggested gift offers based on values of those signals. Thus a trained machine-learning model may infer suggested gift offers based on values of the signals received subsequent to the training process so that the suggested gift offers can be presented to a user of a mobile wallet application. The signals may include signals related to identifying users who are likely to send a gift. )
gift offers, gift options; ([Col 34 Ln 5-12] The user interface 1400b includes a button 1406 for accepting the gift offer and a button 1408 for declining the gift offer. The user may tap the button 1406 to accept the offer. Accepting the offer may cause the offer to be automatically redeemed when a qualifying purchase is made, and added to the application 222, e.g., as one of the cards 520).)
But does not explicitly disclose predict gift options likely to result in a gift action associated with a retailer system; wherein updating comprises: adding the send information together with the transaction order details as training data associated with a declined offer of the one or more options; determining, based on the training data, that the declined offer did not result in a completed gift action; incorporating the training data into a continuously updated training dataset for the send offer analysis algorithm; and retraining the send offer analysis algorithm using the continuously updated training dataset to improve prediction of future offers.
KURAPATI, on the other hand, teaches predict gift options likely to result in a gift action associated with a retailer system. ([0395] The filter to obtain rewards, offers, or incentives with the highest likelihood of being accepted may be based on a prediction of user behavior, such as purchase behavior, developed using at least one of: data on one or more past user responses to one or more savings opportunities, public or inferred data relevant to the user, preferences (including merchant category preferences, transaction category preferences, product category preferences, and merchant preferences), a geographic location, a seasonal variety, a spending level, and any recent changes from historic spending patterns.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the method, as taught by JACOBY, the features as taught by KURAPATI, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JACOBY, to include the teachings of KURAPATI, in order to present a user with relevant options (KURAPATI, [0012]).
Storiale, on the other hand, teaches wherein updating comprises: adding the send information together with the transaction order details as training data associated with a declined offer of the one or more options; determining, based on the training data, that the declined offer did not result in a completed gift action; incorporating the training data into a continuously updated training dataset for the send offer analysis algorithm; and retraining the send offer analysis algorithm using the continuously updated training dataset to improve prediction of future offers. ([0042] training of the machine learning algorithm or artificial intelligence implemented on the point-of-sale device 104, an evaluator of the machine learning algorithm or artificial intelligence may review the offers generated by the machine learning algorithm or artificial intelligence to determine whether the offers are germane to the corresponding transactions for which the offers were presented. To determine whether these offers are germane to these corresponding transactions, the evaluator may evaluate user feedback corresponding to the presentation of these offers. This feedback may include acceptance or rejection of presented offers, as well as any explicit feedback provided by a user (e.g., comments provided by users with regard to presented offers, selection of an option regarding their selection or rejection of the offer, etc.). In some instances, an evaluator may act as a user or other entity that utilizes their user device 102 to interact with the point-of-sale device 104 in association with a particular transaction and during which an offer may be presented to the evaluator for the transaction. The evaluator may review the offer provided by the point-of-sale device 104 based on the user information provided and the present transaction to determine whether the offer provided is germane to the transaction or is otherwise appealing to the evaluator. Based on the evaluator’s feedback, the machine learning algorithm may be re-trained and/or reinforced to improve the likelihood of the point-of-sale device 104 providing germane offers that may be appealing to users. [0043] The point-of-sale device 104 may use this feedback, as well as the payment information for the transaction and the offer provided to the user, as a new data point that may be used to reinforce or otherwise re-train the machine learning algorithm used to generate the offer. Thus, as users interact with the point-of-sale device 104 and the payment processor system 108, the machine learning algorithm or artificial intelligence may be dynamically trained in real-time based on users’ acceptance or rejection of presented offers. (dynamically training in real-time is being interpreted as using a continuously updated training set.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the method, as taught by JACOBY, the features as taught by Storiale, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify JACOBY, to include the teachings of Storiale, in order to dynamically generate customized offers (Storiale, [0041]).
Claim 17 recites a computer-readable storage medium comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 3. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 8.
Claim 19 recites a computer-readable storage medium comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 5. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 5.
Claim 20 recites a computer-readable storage medium comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 6. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 6.
Claim 21 recites a computer-readable storage medium comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 7. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 7.
Claims 4, 11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11341523 B1 to JACOBY in view of US 2016/0086222 A1 to KURAPATI in further view of US 20140372197 A1 to MUHAMMAD.
Regarding Claim 4, JACOBY in view of KURAPATI teaches the method of claim 2.
However the combination of JACOBY and KURAPATI does not explicitly teach wherein declining of the one or more gift option occurs based on an expiration of a timer.
MUHAMMAD, on the other hand, teaches wherein declining of the one or more gift option occurs based on an expiration of a timer. ([0054] To decline the offer, the user may provide an indication that they are declining the offer, e.g. by clicking or touching a decline icon, or the user may simply allow the timer to expire.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the method, as taught by JACOBY and KURAPATI, the features, as taught by MUHAMMAD, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination, to include the teachings of MUHAMMAD, in order to create a positive buying tension (MUHAMMAD, [0055]).
Claim 11 recites a system comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 4. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 4.
Claim 18 recites a computer-readable storage medium comprising substantially similar limitations as claim 4. The claim is rejected under substantially similar grounds as claim 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the rejection of claims under non-statutory double patenting have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that a terminal disclaimer has been filed. However, no terminal disclaimer has been found in the record. The rejection is sustained. Filing of a terminal disclaimer will overcome the rejection.
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered.
The claims as amended recite a practical application of the abstract idea. The additional elements provide a particular way to achieve an improvement to predictive performance of a machine learning system over time. Applicant argues that the claimed invention improves the operation of a computer-implemented prediction engine through a specific adaptive learning mechanism, which is not directed to an abstract idea merely because it operates within a commercial environment. Examiner agrees. The rejection under 35 USC 101 is overcome.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of the claim under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant argues that the previously cited references to not disclose or suggest capturing recipient decline information as labeled training data, associating that information with transaction order details, incorporating the resulting information into a continuously updated training dataset, or retraining the prediction model using that dataset to improve future gift-offer predictions.
However, aside from the offers being specifically gift offers, which is taught by the previously cited references, neither Jacoby nor Kurapati are relied upon to teach these limitations in the claims. Examiner directs Applicant’s attention to the office action, above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE T KRINGEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689