DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 7 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 line 2-3 “node doesn’t include” has been amended to --node does not include--
Claim 7 line 3 “node doesn’t include” has been amended to --node does not include--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ISHII (US 2022/0217598) in view of ISHII (US 2022/0039188).
In reference to claim 1
ISHII ‘598 teaches a method performed by a child Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) node (e.g. child node A; Fig. 8, par. 0092-0093), the method comprising:
communicating with a first donor IAB node via a first parent IAB node (e.g. Child Node A communicates with IAB donor node via parent node 1 before Radio Link Failure; Fig. 8, par. 0093-0096)
when a Radio Link Failure (RLF) occurs between the child IAB node and the first parent IAB node, performing a IAB RLF recovery procedure (e.g. child Node A performs a IAB RLF recovery procedure; Fig. 8, par. 0093-0096), wherein the IAB RLF recovery procedure comprises:
transmitting a Radio Resource Control (RRC) re-establishment request message to a second parent IAB node (e.g. child Node transmits a RRC reestablishment request to second parent Node B; Fig. 8, par. 0093-0096)
wherein the second parent IAB node is different from the first parent IAB node (e.g. second parent Node B is different than Parent node 1; Fig. 8, par. 0093-0096).
ISHII ‘598 does not teach the second parent IAB node broadcasts that the second parent IAB node is an IAB capable node.
ISHII ‘188 teach a IAB node broadcasts that the IAB node is an IAB capable node (par. 0056).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the second parent IAB node of ISHII ‘598 to broadcast that the second parent IAB node is an IAB capable node as suggested by ISHII ‘188 because it would allow the second parent IAB node to notify nodes in the IAB network that the second parent IAB node supports IAB
- In reference to claim 2, 6
The combination of ISHII ‘598 and ISHII ‘188 teaches a system and method that covers substantially all limitations of the parent claim. ISHII ‘598 further teaches the first IAB donor node for the child IAB node via the first parent IAB node is the same as or different from a second IAB donor node for the child IAB node via the second parent IAB node (e.g. the first IAB donor node is the same for parent node 1 and parent node B; Fig. 8, par. 0093-0096)
- In reference to claim 3, 7
The combination of ISHII ‘598 and ISHII ‘188 teaches a system and method that covers substantially all limitations of the parent claim. ISHII ‘598 further teaches each of the child IAB node, the first parent IAB node and the second parent IAB node includes a Mobile Terminal (MT), and wherein the IAB donor node doesn't include the MT. (e.g. Node A, Parent Node 1, Parent Node B include MT and IAB donor node does not include MT; Fig. 8, par. 0093-0096, Fig. 3-4, par. 0079-0080)
- In reference to claim 4, 8
The combination of ISHII ‘598 and ISHII ‘188 teaches a system and method that covers substantially all limitations of the parent claim. ISHII ‘598 further teaches each of the child IAB node, the first parent IAB node, the second parent IAB node and the IAB donor node includes a Distributed Unit (DU). (e.g. Node A, Parent Node 1, Parent Node B include DU; Fig. 8, par. 0093-0096, Fig. 3-4, par. 0079-0080)
- In reference to claim 5
ISHII ‘598 teaches a child Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) node (e.g. child node A/ child node 30; Fig. 8, par. 0092-0093; Fig. 12 par. 0112), comprising:
a radio transceiver (e.g. transceiver circuitry 86; Fig. 12, par. 0112) and; hardware circuitry (e.g. processor circuitry 30, Fig. 12, par. 0112) configured to control the radio transceiver to:
communicate with a first donor IAB node via a first parent IAB node (e.g. Child Node A communicates with IAB donor node via parent node 1 before Radio Link Failure; Fig. 8, par. 0093-0096)
when a Radio Link Failure (RLF) occurs between the child IAB node and the first parent IAB node, perform a IAB RLF recovery procedure (e.g. child Node A performs a IAB RLF recovery procedure; Fig. 8, par. 0093-0096), wherein the IAB RLF recovery procedure comprises:
transmitting a Radio Resource Control (RRC) re-establishment request message to a second parent IAB node (e.g. child Node transmits a RRC reestablishment request to second parent Node B; Fig. 8, par. 0093-0096)
wherein the second parent IAB node is different from the first parent IAB node (e.g. second parent Node B is different than Parent node 1; Fig. 8, par. 0093-0096).
ISHII ‘598 does not teach the second parent IAB node broadcasts that the second parent IAB node is an IAB capable node.
ISHII ‘188 teach a IAB node broadcasts that the IAB node is an IAB capable node (par. 0056).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the second parent IAB node of ISHII ‘598 to broadcast that the second parent IAB node is an IAB capable node as suggested by ISHII ‘188 because it would allow the second parent IAB node to notify nodes in the IAB network that the second parent IAB node supports IAB
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are:
US 2022/0015176 pertains to transmitter circuitry is configured to transmit at least one message to the wireless terminal. The at least one message is configured to activate a first signaling data path and a second signaling data path. The first signaling data path and the second signaling data path are established between the wireless access node and the wireless terminal. Signaling data on the first signaling data path is relayed by a wireless relay node.
US 2022/0053588 pertains to reestablishing a connection based on a Radio Link Failure (RLF) in a Wireless Relay Network using alternative routes, the wireless relay network having a donor node, a first node (IAB-node A), a second node (IAB-node B), a third node (IAB-node X), and a fourth node (IAB-node C), wherein the donor node is an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) node connected to a core network, and wherein the first node, the second node, the third node, and the fourth node each have Mobile Termination (MT) functionality capabilities.
US 2025/0261042 pertains to establishing a connection with a donor node; and receiving, from the donor node, identification information identifying a plurality of Layer 2 relay nodes under the donor node. The identification information further identifies, for each of the plurality of Layer 2 relay nodes, a cell served by the corresponding Layer 2 relay node. A Layer 2 relay node comprises a controller configured to establish a connection with a donor node, and a receiver configured to receive, from the donor node, identification information identifying a plurality of Layer 2 relay nodes under the donor node. The identification information further identifies, for each of the plurality of Layer 2 relay nodes, a cell served by the corresponding Layer 2 relay node.
US 2022/0110179 pertains to monitoring circuitry configured to monitor radio link conditions on one or multiple bandwidth parts (BWPs) of a parent node, and detecting circuitry configured to detect radio link failure (RLF) in at least one downlink BWP.
US 2021/0360496 pertains to a wireless terminal comprises a receiver circuitry configured to receive a reconfiguration message comprising information configured to facilitate a conditional handover from the wireless access node, and a notification message from the at least one wireless relay node. The information comprises at least one identity of a target cell and one or more conditions for the wireless terminal performing the conditional handover autonomously. The conditions include a reception of a notification from the at least one wireless relay node. Such a condition may be, for example, a radio link failure (RLF). The wireless terminal comprises a processor circuitry configured to initiate a handover to the target cell upon receiving the notification message.
BRIAN S. ROBERTS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/BRIAN S ROBERTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466