DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application is CON of 18/558,021 filed 10/30/2023, which has priority to 63/183,314 filed 5/3/2021.
Examiner acknowledges no foreign priority is claimed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 2/20/2025, 3/21/2025 and 4/28/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,179,941. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Current Application
US 18/951,856
Patent
US 12,179,941
(US 18/558,021)
1. A method of locating a femto-satellite with respect to a spacecraft,
the method comprising:
scanning, by the spacecraft, an electromagnetic beam across a portion of outer space containing the femto-satellite;
receiving, by the spacecraft, an acknowledgement from the femto-satellite in response to detecting the electromagnetic beam,
the acknowledgement indicating a time stamp associated with the electromagnetic beam;
determining a pointing angle of the electromagnetic beam associated with the time stamp; and
estimating a position of the femto-satellite relative to the spacecraft based on the pointing angle of the electromagnetic beam.
6. A method of operating a femto-satellite,
the method comprising:
receiving, by a solar cell array on the femto-satellite,
an electromagnetic beam scanned by a spacecraft across a portion of outer space containing the femto satellite;
activating at least one electronic component of the femto-satellite in response to the solar cell array receiving the electromagnetic beam; and
transmitting, by the femto-satellite, an acknowledgement of the electromagnetic beam to the spacecraft.
14. The method of claim 6, wherein further comprising:
decoding, at the femto-satellite, a timestamp and information about a
pointing angle of the electromagnetic beam encoded in the electromagnetic beam; and
determining, by the femto-satellite, a position of the femto-satellite with respect to the spacecraft based on the timestamp and the information about the pointing angle of the electromagnetic beam.
Claim 1 of the current application (US 18/951,856) is disclosed by claim 4 and 14 combined of the US patent #12,179,941.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the acknowledgement comprises detecting a portion of the electromagnetic beam retroreflected from the femto-satellite.
5. The femto-satellite of claim 1, further comprising: a retroreflector to retroreflect at least a portion of the electromagnetic beam back to the spacecraft.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein receiving the acknowledgement comprises detecting a radio-frequency (RF) signal from the femto-satellite in response to detecting the electromagnetic beam.
2. The femto-satellite of claim 1, wherein the at least one electronic component comprises a radio to transmit an acknowledgement of the electromagnetic beam to the spacecraft.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising: modulating the electromagnetic beam with a command for the femto-satellite.
15. The method of claim 6, further comprising: decoding, at the femto-satellite, a wake-up command encoded in the electromagnetic beam.
Claim 5 of the current application (US 18/951,856) is disclosed by claim 15 of the US patent #12,179,941.
6.The method of claim 1, further comprising: modulating the electromagnetic beam with successive time stamps while scanning the electromagnetic beam, wherein the acknowledgement includes a time stamp received by the femto-satellite and estimating the position of the femto-satellite relative to the spacecraft comprises matching the pointing angle of the electromagnetic beam to the time stamp.
14. The method of claim 6, wherein further comprising: decoding, at the femto-satellite, a timestamp and information about a pointing angle of the electromagnetic beam encoded in the electromagnetic beam; and determining, by the femto-satellite, a position of the femto-satellite with respect to the spacecraft based on the timestamp and the information about the pointing angle of the electromagnetic beam.
Claim 6 of the current application (US 18/951,856) is disclosed by claim 14 of the US patent #12,179,941.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein
the electromagnetic beam is an optical beam, and
further comprising:
detecting, with a solar cell on the femto-satellite, the optical beam;
filtering a direct current (DC) component from an alternating current (AC) component of an output of the solar cell;
powering an electronic component of the femto-satellite with the DC component; and actuating a sensor of the femto-satellite in response to a command encoded in the AC component.
1. A femto-satellite comprising:
a solar cell array to convert incident solar radiation into direct current (DC) components and to convert an electromagnetic beam from a spacecraft into alternating current (AC) components;
filters, operably coupled to respective solar cells in the solar cell array, to separate the DC components from the AC components; and
circuitry, operably coupled to the filters, to detect the AC components and to activate at least one electronic component of the femto-satellite in response to the solar cell array receiving the electromagnetic beam from the spacecraft.
Claim 7 of the current application (US 18/951,856) is disclosed by claim 1 of the US patent #12,179,941.
Claims 2-8 depend on claim 1 and therefore are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Claim 1, 4-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortezza (US 2020/0024012 A1), in view of Michaels (US 2017/0272149 A1), and further in view of Speidel (US 2022/0216896 A1).
Regarding clam 1, Fortezza (‘012) discloses “A method of locating a femto-satellite with respect to a spacecraft (paragraph 83: the satellite TT&C system 1 is an automatic low data rate communication system for LEO satellites, preferably of the small/micro/nano/pico/femto type (remaining it clear that said satellite TT&C system 1 may be advantageously exploited also for LEO satellites of the traditional large type), representing an improved alternative to the traditional solutions based on a ground segment made up of a single ground station specifically dedicated to one mission), the method comprising:
receiving, by the spacecraft, an acknowledgement from the femto-satellite in response to detecting the electromagnetic beam (paragraph 66: Figure 2 schematically illustrates a preferred architecture for the on-board TT&C units of the satellite TT&C system 1; paragraph 69: a receiving/transmitting (Rx/Tx) unit 133 operable to transmit the downlink signals carrying the telemetry data and receive the uplink signals carrying the commands).”
Fortezza (‘012) does not explicitly disclose “scanning, by the spacecraft, an electromagnetic beam across a portion of outer space containing the femto-satellite; estimating a position of the femto-satellite relative to the spacecraft based on the pointing angle of the electromagnetic beam.”
Michaels (‘149) relates to satellite communication system. Michaels (‘149) teaches “scanning, by the spacecraft, an electromagnetic beam across a portion of outer space containing the femto-satellite (paragraph 16: a satellite transmitter operating at a center frequency of 60 GHz inputs a modulated ultra-wideband signal at a maximum AC power of 24 dBm to a 60 dBi directional antenna beam pointed at a target satellite 301 in orbit at a 600 km altitude above the Earth; paragraph 22: the antenna is a 2-dimensional phased array antenna 401 which forms beams 400 that can be scanned in the X and Y planes with a resolution of less than 0.1 degree…the antenna beam scanning and control sub-system 404 is coupled to the satellite Attitude Determination and Control System (ADCS) 407 and system central processing unit 406 such that the antenna 401 can accurately point and track the target satellite 300 and 301 while compensating residual motion that would otherwise upset the accurate pointing of the antenna);
estimating a position of the femto-satellite relative to the spacecraft based on the pointing angle of the electromagnetic beam (paragraph 22: the antenna is a 2-dimensional phased array antenna 401 which forms beams 400 that can be scanned in the X and Y planes with a resolution of less than 0.1 degree. The antenna beam scanning and control sub-system 404 is coupled to the satellite Attitude Determination and Control System (ADCS) 407 and system central processing unit 406 such that the antenna 401 can accurately point and track the target satellite 300 and 301 while compensating residual motion that would otherwise upset the accurate pointing of the antenna).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of locating a femto-satellite of Fortezza (‘012) with the teaching of Michaels (‘149) for more efficient satellite communication (Michaels (‘149) – paragraph 6). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Fortezza (‘012) and Michaels (‘149)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, establish inter-satellite communications links to both main system and small client satellites.
Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149) does not explicitly disclose “the acknowledgement indicating a time stamp associated with the electromagnetic beam; determining a pointing angle of the electromagnetic beam associated with the time stamp.”
Speidel (‘896) relates to satellite communication systems. Speidel (‘896) teaches “the acknowledgement indicating a time stamp associated with the electromagnetic beam; determining a pointing angle of the electromagnetic beam associated with the time stamp (paragraph 70: the Doppler shift on the link can be measured, generally, by comparing the receive frequency to the satellite transmit frequency (which may vary as a function of time)…the satellite sends a time stamp in the BCCH, other control channel, or other traffic channel, which is used to compare to the received timestamp…another way might be to have the satellite send a timing advance to the terminal, possibly using conventional cellular protocols, but with a higher value than typical limited terrestrial distance timing advances …the delay and time measurements can be used along with the ephemeris of the satellites (delivered either by terrestrial means or space network) to compute a location relative to a satellite ephemeris…this may be done over multiple RF bursts, from one or more satellites, to hone in on a more accurate position).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of locating a femto-satellite of Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149) with the teaching of Speidel (‘896) for more efficient satellite communication (Speidel (‘896) – paragraph 10). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Fortezza (‘012), Michaels (‘149) and Speidel (‘896)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, establish inter-satellite communications links to both main system and small client satellites.
Regarding Claim 4, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149)/Speidel (‘896) discloses the femto-satellite of claim 1. Fortezza (‘012)/Speidel (‘896) does not explicitly disclose “receiving the acknowledgement comprises detecting a radio-frequency (RF) signal from the femto-satellite in response to detecting the electromagnetic beam.”
Michaels (‘149) relates to satellite communication system. Michaels (‘149) teaches “receiving the acknowledgement comprises detecting a radio-frequency (RF) signal from the femto-satellite in response to detecting the electromagnetic beam (paragraph 17: the target satellite may acknowledge (ACK) successful or unsuccessful (NACK) transmissions in either a time domain duplex (TDD) or Frequency domain duplex (FDD) fashion, either transmitting to the source satellite at the same frequency or preferably at another duplex frequency lying within the same or a different absorption band).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of locating a femto-satellite of Fortezza (‘012)/Speidel (‘896) with the teaching of Michaels (‘149) for more efficient satellite communication (Michaels (‘149) – paragraph 6). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Fortezza (‘012), Michaels (‘149), Speidel (‘896), Hirschfield et al. (‘336)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, establish inter-satellite communications links to both main system and small client satellites.
Regarding Claim 5, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149)/Speidel (‘896) discloses the femto-satellite of claim 1. Fortezza (‘012)/Speidel (‘896) does not explicitly disclose “modulating the electromagnetic beam with a command for the femto-satellite.”
Michaels (‘149) relates to satellite communication system. Michaels (‘149) teaches “modulating the electromagnetic beam with a command for the femto-satellite (paragraph 16: a satellite transmitter operating at a center frequency of 60 GHz inputs a modulated ultra-wideband signal at a maximum AC power of 24 dBm to a 60 dBi directional antenna beam pointed at a target satellite 301 in orbit at a 600 km altitude above the Earth).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of locating a femto-satellite of Fortezza (‘012)/Speidel (‘896) with the teaching of Michaels (‘149) for more efficient satellite communication (Michaels (‘149) – paragraph 6). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Fortezza (‘012), Michaels (‘149)/Speidel (‘896) and Michaels (‘149)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, establish inter-satellite communications links to both main system and small client satellites.
Regarding Claim 8, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149)/Speidel (‘896) discloses the femto-satellite of claim 1. Ejeckam et al. (‘130)/Michaels (‘149) does not explicitly disclose “estimating a distance from the spacecraft to the femto-satellite based at least in part on a time of flight of the electromagnetic beam to the femto-satellite.”
Speidel (‘896) relates to satellite communication systems. Speidel (‘896) teaches “estimating a distance from the spacecraft to the femto-satellite based at least in part on a time of flight of the electromagnetic beam to the femto-satellite (paragraph 70: the Doppler shift on the link can be measured, generally, by comparing the receive frequency to the satellite transmit frequency (which may vary as a function of time)…the satellite sends a time stamp in the BCCH, other control channel, or other traffic channel, which is used to compare to the received timestamp…another way might be to have the satellite send a timing advance to the terminal, possibly using conventional cellular protocols, but with a higher value than typical limited terrestrial distance timing advances …the delay and time measurements can be used along with the ephemeris of the satellites (delivered either by terrestrial means or space network) to compute a location relative to a satellite ephemeris…this may be done over multiple RF bursts, from one or more satellites, to hone in on a more accurate position).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of locating a femto-satellite of Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149) with the teaching of Speidel (‘896) for more efficient satellite communication (Speidel (‘896) – paragraph 10). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Fortezza (‘012), Michaels (‘149) and Speidel (‘896)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, establish inter-satellite communications links to both main system and small client satellites.
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortezza (US 2020/0024012 A1)/Michaels (US 2017/0272149 A1)/Speidel (US 2022/0216896 A1) and further in view of Thangavelautham et al. (US 2017/0141849 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149)/Speidel (‘896) discloses the femto-satellite of claim 1. Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149)/Speidel (‘896) does not explicitly disclose “receiving the acknowledgement comprises detecting a portion of the electromagnetic beam retroreflected from the femto-satellite.”
Thangavelautham et al. (‘849) relates to communication system for small mobile devices and spacecraft. Thangavelautham et al. (‘849) teaches “receiving the acknowledgement comprises detecting a portion of the electromagnetic beam retroreflected from the femto-satellite (paragraph 25: a reflector to reflect back at least a portion of the transmitted laser signal back to the first station).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of locating a femto-satellite of Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149)/Speidel (‘896) with the teaching of Thangavelautham et al. (‘849) for more efficient satellite communication (Thangavelautham et al. (‘849) – paragraph 26). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Fortezza (‘012), Michaels (‘149), Speidel (‘896) and Thangavelautham et al. (‘849)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, satellite communications.
Regarding Claim 3, which is dependent on claim 2, Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149)/Speidel (‘896) discloses the femto-satellite of claim 1. Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149) does not explicitly disclose “estimating a range from the spacecraft to the femto-satellite based on a round-trip time of flight of the electromagnetic beam between the femto-satellite and the spacecraft.”
Speidel (‘896) relates to satellite communication systems. Speidel (‘896) teaches “estimating a range from the spacecraft to the femto-satellite based on a round-trip time of flight of the electromagnetic beam between the femto-satellite and the spacecraft (paragraph 70: the Doppler shift on the link can be measured, generally, by comparing the receive frequency to the satellite transmit frequency (which may vary as a function of time)…the satellite sends a time stamp in the BCCH, other control channel, or other traffic channel, which is used to compare to the received timestamp…another way might be to have the satellite send a timing advance to the terminal, possibly using conventional cellular protocols, but with a higher value than typical limited terrestrial distance timing advances …the delay and time measurements can be used along with the ephemeris of the satellites (delivered either by terrestrial means or space network) to compute a location relative to a satellite ephemeris…this may be done over multiple RF bursts, from one or more satellites, to hone in on a more accurate position).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of locating a femto-satellite of Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149) with the teaching of Speidel (‘896) for more efficient satellite communication (Speidel (‘896) – paragraph 10). In addition, both of the prior art references, (Fortezza (‘012), Michaels (‘149) and Speidel (‘896)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, establish inter-satellite communications links to both main system and small client satellites.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortezza (US 2020/0024012 A1)/Michaels (US 2017/0272149 A1)/Speidel (US 2022/0216896 A1) and further in view of Ketchum et al. (US 2011/0028166 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149)/Speidel (‘896) discloses the femto-satellite of claim 1. Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149)/Speidel (‘896) does not explicitly disclose “modulating the electromagnetic beam with successive time stamps while scanning the electromagnetic beam, wherein the acknowledgement includes a time stamp received by the femto-satellite and estimating the position of the femto-satellite relative to the spacecraft comprises matching the pointing angle of the electromagnetic beam to the time stamp.”
Ketchum et al. (‘166) relates to methods and systems for acquisition of time and location information. Ketchum et al. (‘166) teaches “modulating the electromagnetic beam with successive time stamps while scanning the electromagnetic beam, wherein the acknowledgement includes a time stamp received by the femto-satellite and estimating the position of the femto-satellite relative to the spacecraft comprises matching the pointing angle of the electromagnetic beam to the time stamp (paragraph 70: GPS signal acquisition often involves computing the correlation between the received GPS signals and the C/A code of associated satellites at various phase offsets and Doppler-shifted frequencies …following signal acquisition, a signal tracking process may decode the signals from the identified satellites at the phase offsets and Doppler-shifted frequencies…during the signal tracking phase, navigation data may be received from the identified satellites…embedded in the navigation data transmitted by the GPS satellites are data related to satellite positioning as well as clock timing (i.e., time stamp), commonly referred to as ephemeris data, from which the position of the GPS receiver may be detected).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of locating a femto-satellite of Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149)/Speidel (‘896) with the teaching of Ketchum et al. (‘166) for more efficient satellite communication (Ketchum et al. (‘166) – paragraph 4). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Fortezza (‘012), Michaels (‘149), Speidel (‘896) and Ketchum et al. (‘166)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, satellite communications.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fortezza (US 2020/0024012 A1)/Michaels (US 2017/0272149 A1)/Speidel (US 2022/0216896 A1) and further in view of Bland (US 2011/00801135 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, which is dependent on independent claim 1, Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149)/Speidel (‘896) discloses the femto-satellite of claim 1. Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149)/Speidel (‘896) does not explicitly disclose “modulating the electromagnetic beam with successive time stamps while scanning the electromagnetic beam, wherein the acknowledgement includes a time stamp received by the femto-satellite and estimating the position of the femto-satellite relative to the spacecraft comprises matching the pointing angle of the electromagnetic beam to the time stamp.”
Bland (‘135) relates to method and system for solar powered charging. Bland (‘135) teaches “the electromagnetic beam is an optical beam, and further comprising: detecting, with a solar cell on the femto-satellite, the optical beam; filtering a direct current (DC) component from an alternating current (AC) component of an output of the solar cell; powering an electronic component of the femto-satellite with the DC component; and actuating a sensor of the femto-satellite in response to a command encoded in the AC component (paragraph 22: 101 multiple photovoltaic cells on an orbiting space station, or a satellite in a geostationary orbit…convert 102 solar energy incident on the photovoltaic cells to direct current (DC) electrical power; paragraph 23: the DC electrical power generated by the photovoltaic cells is stored on the orbiting space station, or the satellite in the geostationary orbit; paragraph 33: the photovoltaic cells 202a residing on the solar panels 202 convert solar energy incident on the photovoltaic cells 202a to direct current (DC) electrical power; paragraph 44: a space transmitter 205 residing on an orbiting space station, or a satellite in a geostationary orbit 201…the photovoltaic cells 202a reside on the solar panels 202…the photovoltaic cells 202a residing on the solar panels 202 convert solar energy directed on the photovoltaic cells 202a to DC electrical power; paragraph 49: the DC bypass filter 603 is, for example, a low pass filter that blocks high frequency components, for example, alternating current (AC) components and allows low frequency and/or DC components to pass through since DC components exhibit low or zero frequency variation with respect to time. The output of the DC bypass filter 603 is connected to the resistor RL 604; paragraph 54: the full wave rectifier 702 may replace the half wave rectifier 702 to convert the entire radio frequency wave into a constant polarity at its output…the constant output is provided to the low pass filter 703, which removes AC components in the output of the full wave rectifier 702; paragraph 55: the system 200 disclosed herein comprises one or more solar panels 202, an inverter 705, a radio wave energy generator 706, and a space transmitter 205 residing on an orbiting space station, or a satellite in a geostationary orbit 201. Consider an example where the direct current (DC) electrical power produced by the photovoltaic cells 202a in the space station, or the satellite in the geostationary orbit 201 is amplified to obtain a total power of 100 MW…the inverter 705 converts the amplified DC electrical power to an alternating current (AC) electrical power. The inverter 705 is an electrical device that converts direct current (DC) to alternating current (AC)…the alternating current (AC) can be obtained at any required voltage and frequency with the use of appropriate transformers, switching elements such as reverse conducting thyristors, and control circuits…the alternating current is provided to the radio wave energy generator 706, for example, an oscillator circuit).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill-in-the-art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of locating a femto-satellite of Fortezza (‘012)/Michaels (‘149)/Speidel (‘896) with the teaching of Bland (‘135) for more efficient satellite communication (Bland (‘135) – paragraph 13). In addition, all of the prior art references, (Fortezza (‘012), Michaels (‘149), Speidel (‘896) and Bland (‘135)) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as, satellite communications.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ejeckam et al. (US 2018/0269130 A1) describes an efficient satellite transmitter is used in a small satellite (femto-, nano-, or micro-satellite) (paragraph 51).
Hirschfield et al. (US 5,787,336 A) describes a satellite power management system that provides efficient delivery of communications power for variable load telecommunications traffic with non-geostationary earth orbiting satellites (column 1 lines 63-66).
Brand et al. (US 2018/0239024 A1) describes that the control unit 302 is comprised of a processing circuit which facilitates controls over the operation of the SVTS…the control unit receives from the PSRS position information specifying at least the position of the space asset tag 200 when the space asset tag is in orbit around the earth…such position information can include latitude coordinates, longitude coordinates and altitude information as determined by the PSRS…the information communicated from the PSRS to the control unit can also include a time stamp which specifies a time when the position information was acquired…the information communicated from the PSRS to the control unit can also include a velocity value specifying the velocity of the space asset tag 200…alternatively, the control unit 302 can use the time stamp and position information to determine a velocity of the space asset tag 200 (paragraph 33); the control unit 302 uses the information from the PSRS to generate tracking message data…the tracking message data can include one or more of position information, velocity information and time stamp data as derived from the PSRS…the control unit 302 will also use the position information to determine when it is in a position that is suitable for communicating with a ground station 400 having a predetermined location on the surface of the earth 108…a suitable location for such transmission will include locations where there is an unobstructed line of sight path between the GLRF antenna 208 and a ground station antenna to facilitate a communication link 112…the control unit 302 can be more selective when choosing a transmission location…the control unit can instead transmit the message data at a location which has an unobstructed line-of-sight path between the space asset tag and the ground station, and is further chosen to minimize a vector distance between the space asset tag and the ground station antenna…when the space asset tag is in a suitable position determined by the control unit 302, the control unit will cause the GLRF transmitter 306 to transmit the tracking message data to the ground station 400, using the antenna 208 (paragraph 34).
Contact Information
/NUZHAT PERVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648