DETAILED ACTION
This correspondence is in response to applicant’s reply filed on 05/20/2026. Claims 17-18 and 21-38 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-18 and 21-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Butterworth et al. (U.S. Pat. 5570546) in view of Calabro (U.S. Pat. 5954305).
Regarding claims 17 and 27-28, Butterworth teaches a cable anchoring system for a cable ladder 10, where the cable ladder 10 extends up an exterior of an antenna mast 24 and having a plurality of cable beams 188 extending therebetween, the cable anchoring system comprising: a main support beam 100 comprising at least two apertures which each align with a respective aperture in one of the plurality of cable beams 188 (as seen in Fig. 8); and at least one eyebolt 148 affixed to the main support beam 100 (via transition assembly 40), where the aligned apertures are configured to receive a respective fastener (see Fig. 9 below) to secure the anchoring system to the cable ladder 10, and where the at least one eyebolt 148 is configured to engage one or more hoisting grips 164 that support cables 75,76 being routed up the antenna mast 24.
With regards to claims 17 and 27-28, Butterworth is discussed above and teaches the cable anchoring system. However, Butterworth fails to teach where the system comprises a pair of support beams extending vertically and parallel to each other, or a plurality of cable beams extending orthogonally therebetween. Calabro teaches an anchoring system comprising a mast 15, a main support beam 54 that is supported by support beams 50,80, and a pair of vertical support beams 117 extending parallel to each other and a plurality of horizontal beams 105 extending between the vertical support beams 117 (as seen in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the anchoring system of Butterworth to have vertical and horizontal support beams, in order to provide an adaptable antenna mounting platform for fixed securement to an elongated mast pole which provides an increased level of safety to personnel, as taught to be desirable by Calabro (see discussion in col. 2, lines 25-28).
Regarding claims 18, 23, 29, and 36, Butterworth teaches the cable anchoring system, where the anchoring system is configured to support the load weight of the one or more hoisting grips 164 and corresponding cables 75,76 without causing damage to the cable ladder 10 (see Figs. 1A and 5).
Regarding claims 21, 30, and 35, Butterworth and Calabro teach the cable anchoring system, where the main support beam is L-shaped (see combination of 100 in Butterworth and 55 in Calabro).
Regarding claims 22 and 32, Butterworth teaches the cable anchoring system, where the main support beam 100 comprises one or more additional apertures (as seen in Fig. 3 below) configured to receive the at least one eyebolt 148 therethrough. The Examiner notes that as the cables 75,76 are raised through the mast 24, the eyebolt 148 is elevated to the opening shown in Fig. 3 below.
Regarding claim 24, Butterworth is discussed above, and teaches the cable anchoring system, but fails to explicitly teach at least two eyebolts affixed to the main support beam.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an additional eyebolt with the anchoring system of Butterworth, in order to provide additional support for the hoisting grips. In addition, the Examiner notes that the claim would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2141, III. (D)).
Regarding claims 25 and 33, Butterworth teaches the cable anchoring system, where the at least one eyebolt 148 comprises a shank that is configured to be received through a respective aperture in the main support beam and secured via a fastener (as seen in Fig. 5).
Regarding claims 26 and 34, Butterworth teaches the cable anchoring system, where the at least one eyebolt 148 comprises a carriage bolt having a flanged hex head screw, the carriage bolt configured to be fixed to an eye by a fastening mechanism (as shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 37, Calabro teaches the cable anchoring system, in combination with the cable ladder extending up an antenna mast 15, the cable ladder comprises a pair of vertical support beams 117 extending parallel to each other and a plurality of horizontal beams 105 extending between the vertical support beams 117 (as seen in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 38, Butterworth teaches the cable anchoring system, in combination with the hoisting grip 164, where the hoisting grip 164 is engaged with one of the eyebolts 148 (as seen in Fig. 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Butterworth fails to teach or suggest a cable anchoring system for a cable ladder, or that Calabro teaches the same purpose for his angle iron as that of the claimed cable beams, the Examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
With regards to the amended limitations added to claim 17, the Examiner notes that it appears that these limitations are the same as those stated in dependent claim 37. Based on the Examiner’s interpretation of Butterworth and Calabro, it is submitted that the amended claims are taught by the combination of Butterworth and Calabro.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michael McDuffie/Examiner, Art Unit 3632 4-Aug-26
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632