DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “picture generation unit configured to” in claims 1 and 17. Examiner interprets this as some sort of projection unit in accordance with the following portions of the specification: “A picture generation unit emits a light field. At least one mirror reflects the light field emitted by the picture generation unit such that the reflected light field is again reflected by a windshield of the motor vehicle so as to be visible by a human driver of the motor vehicle as a virtual image. An electronic processor is communicatively coupled to the driver-monitoring camera and to the picture generation unit” ([0011]) “Picture generation unit (PGU) 12 includes LEDs 14, optics (e.g., lenses) 16 and liquid crystal display (LCD) 18” ([0020]) of the publication of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR20230136826A [Machine Translation]) in view of Nocham (US 20190346678 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, Park et al. disclose a head up display arrangement for a motor vehicle, the arrangement comprising, a method of operating a head up display in a motor vehicle, the method comprising, head up display arrangement for a motor vehicle, the arrangement comprising: a driver-monitoring camera configured to capture images of a human driver of the motor vehicle (technology that tracks the driver's gaze, such as the 'deep learning based vehicle driver gaze tracking device and method' of registered patent No. 10-2017766, as well as technology that tracks the driver's gaze, such as the 'driver forward gaze maintenance device and method' of published patent No. 10-2019-0105396 or the 'vehicle wiper driving device and method using driver's gaze' of registered patent No. 10-1338791, [0013], eye tracking unit, [0016], tracks the gaze of the driver seated in the driver's seat of the vehicle, [0046]) [camera implied by gaze tracking]; a picture generation unit configured to emit a light field such that the light field is reflected by a windshield of the motor vehicle so as to be visible by a human driver of the motor vehicle as a virtual image (a cluster that transmits and receives signals from the integrated control unit and displays information related to the driving state of the vehicle as an image or video on a cluster display; a HUD that transmits and receives signals from the integrated control unit and displays information related to the driving state of the vehicle as an image or video on the front windshield of the vehicle, [0032], The HUD (400) is also a Head-Up Display, as is currently widely known, and displays driving information of the vehicle (1) as a virtual image on the windshield (2) directly in front of the driver, [0045]); and an electronic processor communicatively coupled to the driver-monitoring camera and to the picture generation unit, the electronic processor being configured to: receive the images captured by the driver-monitoring camera (The eye tracking unit (500) transmits and receives signals to and from the integrated control unit (200) as shown in FIGS. 3, 4 and 7, and tracks the gaze of the driver seated in the driver's seat of the vehicle (1), [0046]); determine, dependent upon the captured images, an element in the virtual image at which eyes of the human driver are looking (distinguish the direction in which the driver's gaze is directed into two directions: a cluster direction (510) directed toward the cluster display (310) and a front windshield direction (520) directed toward the front windshield (2) of the vehicle, [0048]); and control the picture generation unit to increase a relative brightness of the element in the virtual image at which eyes of the human driver are looking as compared to a brightness of another element in the virtual image/ controlling the picture generation unit such that the element in the virtual image at which the eyes of the human driver are looking becomes brighter than another element in the virtual image/ control the picture generation unit to change a characteristic of the element in the virtual image at which eyes of the human driver are looking (the integrated control unit is characterized by increasing the brightness of the image or video displayed on the cluster display and controlling the HUD to decrease the brightness of the image or video displayed on the front windshield of the vehicle when the driver's gaze tracked by the eye tracking unit is directed toward the cluster direction, [0018], Additionally, the integrated control unit is characterized by increasing the brightness of the image or video displayed on the cluster display and changing it to a color with high visibility when the driver's gaze tracked by the eye tracking unit is directed toward the cluster, and by controlling the HUD to decrease the brightness of the image or video displayed on the front windshield of the vehicle and changing it to a color with low visibility, [0034]).
Park et al. delineates looking at the cluster on the windshield or the driving direction past the windshield but do not disclose an element in the virtual image.
Nocham teaches a driver-monitoring camera configured to capture images of a human driver of the motor vehicle (OS or gaze trackers may be incorporated in a head mounted display (HMD), e.g. in a helmet, a visor, glasses etc. or may be associated or independent units, [0023], System 100 may be configured to use the direction of the user's gaze e.g., a pilot's gaze direction, [0030]) [camera implied by gaze tracker]; a picture generation unit configured to emit a light field such that the light field is reflected by a windshield of the motor vehicle so as to be visible by a human driver of the motor vehicle as a virtual image (virtual cursor for road scene object selection on full windshield head-up display, [0003], LED display, display 90 may be embodied as Head Up Display, [0039]) [note the windshield display references incorporated by reference]; and an electronic processor communicatively coupled to the driver-monitoring camera and to the picture generation unit, the electronic processor being configured to: receive the images captured by the driver-monitoring camera (eye tracking, [0003], LOS tracker 120 configured to track user's (80) LOS, parameters of the user's gaze, such as duration or gaze movement patterns may be used to modify parameters associated with displayed controller 79, [0039]); determine, dependent upon the captured images, an element in the virtual image at which eyes of the human driver are looking (Methods and systems are provided for using a user's line of sight (LOS) and/or gaze direction to enhance displayed data and control various displays and instruments. The user's LOS is tracked, corresponding element(s) in a scene at which the user gazes are identified, e.g., in a database, and respective displayed data are enhanced or otherwise manipulated with respect to the identified element(s), [0027], Control unit 110 may be configured to identify a displayed element 78 at which user 80 gazes, for example, identify a displayed controller 79, such as a button, a dial, etc. and activate a function associated with the gazed-at displayed controller 79, [0039]); and control the picture generation unit to increase a relative brightness of the element in the virtual image at which eyes of the human driver are looking as compared to a brightness of another element in the virtual image/ controlling the picture generation unit such that the element in the virtual image at which the eyes of the human driver are looking becomes brighter than another element in the virtual image/ control the picture generation unit to change a characteristic of the element in the virtual image at which eyes of the human driver are looking ( “The term “enhance” as used in this application with respect to displayed elements refers to any modification of the displayed element and/or its surrounding that make the displayed element more prominent and/or augment the information content associated therewith, such as changes to visual parameters of the element (e.g., increased size, brightness, different color, blinking etc.), attenuation of the element's surrounding (e.g., dimming, removing or spacing surrounding elements) and display of additional information related to the displayed element by visual or non-visual means (e.g., presentation of additional data or symbols relating to the element, auditory information)”, [0021], System 100 may be configured to use the direction of the user's gaze (e.g., a pilot's gaze direction, determined e.g., by the line of sight or an eye tracker) in order to change symbology depiction levels on respective displays and enable designation of elements on the display, [0030], “It is explicitly noted that element enhancements may comprise any modifications of the displayed element and/or its surrounding that make the displayed element more prominent and/or augment the information content associated therewith, such as changes to visual parameters of the element (e.g., increased size, brightness, different color, blinking etc.), attenuation of the element's surrounding (e.g., dimming, removing or spacing surrounding elements) and display of additional information related to the displayed element by visual or non-visual means (e.g., presentation of additional data or symbols relating to the element, auditory information). For example, in case of a landing site as the element, it's enhancement may comprise display of additional information, which is not displayed prior to the site's designation by the pilot's gaze or by triggering, such as height, distance, image of site, etc.”, [0057]).
Park et al. and Nocham are in the same art of windshield displays/HUDs (Park et al., [0016]; Nocham, [0003], [0039]). The combination of Nocham with Park et al. will enable adjusting an element in a displayed image. It would have been obvious at the time of filing to combine the element of Nocham with the invention of Park et al. as this was known at the time of filing, the combination would have predictable results, and as Nocham states “The present invention relates to the field of user-display interaction, and more particularly, to using the user's gaze direction to increase the relevance of the displayed information” ([0001]) which should result in safety benefit to the driver when the inventions are combined.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Park et al. and Nocham disclose the head up display arrangement and method of claims 1 and 9. Nocham further teaches the electronic processor is configured to increase a relative brightness of the element in the virtual image at which eyes of the human driver are looking by performing local dimming (virtual cursor for road scene object selection on full windshield head-up display, [0003], “The term “enhance” as used in this application with respect to displayed elements refers to any modification of the displayed element and/or its surrounding that make the displayed element more prominent and/or augment the information content associated therewith, such as changes to visual parameters of the element (e.g., increased size, brightness, different color, blinking etc.), attenuation of the element's surrounding (e.g., dimming, removing or spacing surrounding elements) and display of additional information related to the displayed element by visual or non-visual means (e.g., presentation of additional data or symbols relating to the element, auditory information)”, [0021], display 90 may be embodied as Head Up Display, [0039], “It is explicitly noted that element enhancements may comprise any modifications of the displayed element and/or its surrounding that make the displayed element more prominent and/or augment the information content associated therewith, such as changes to visual parameters of the element (e.g., increased size, brightness, different color, blinking etc.), attenuation of the element's surrounding (e.g., dimming, removing or spacing surrounding elements) and display of additional information related to the displayed element by visual or non-visual means (e.g., presentation of additional data or symbols relating to the element, auditory information). For example, in case of a landing site as the element, it's enhancement may comprise display of additional information, which is not displayed prior to the site's designation by the pilot's gaze or by triggering, such as height, distance, image of site, etc.”, [0057]).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 19, Park et al. and Nocham disclose the head up display arrangements and method of claims 1, 9, and 17. Park et al. and Nocham further indicate the electronic processor is configured to increase a relative brightness of the element in the virtual image at which eyes of the human driver are looking by increasing a brightness of the element in the virtual image at which eyes of the human driver are looking (Park et al., the integrated control unit is characterized by increasing the brightness of the image or video displayed on the cluster display and controlling the HUD to decrease the brightness of the image or video displayed on the front windshield of the vehicle when the driver's gaze tracked by the eye tracking unit is directed toward the cluster direction, [0018], Additionally, the integrated control unit is characterized by increasing the brightness of the image or video displayed on the cluster display and changing it to a color with high visibility when the driver's gaze tracked by the eye tracking unit is directed toward the cluster, and by controlling the HUD to decrease the brightness of the image or video displayed on the front windshield of the vehicle and changing it to a color with low visibility, [0034]; Nocham, “The term “enhance” as used in this application with respect to displayed elements refers to any modification of the displayed element and/or its surrounding that make the displayed element more prominent and/or augment the information content associated therewith, such as changes to visual parameters of the element (e.g., increased size, brightness, different color, blinking etc.), attenuation of the element's surrounding (e.g., dimming, removing or spacing surrounding elements) and display of additional information related to the displayed element by visual or non-visual means (e.g., presentation of additional data or symbols relating to the element, auditory information)”, [0021], display 90 may be embodied as Head Up Display, [0039], “It is explicitly noted that element enhancements may comprise any modifications of the displayed element and/or its surrounding that make the displayed element more prominent and/or augment the information content associated therewith, such as changes to visual parameters of the element (e.g., increased size, brightness, different color, blinking etc.), attenuation of the element's surrounding (e.g., dimming, removing or spacing surrounding elements) and display of additional information related to the displayed element by visual or non-visual means (e.g., presentation of additional data or symbols relating to the element, auditory information). For example, in case of a landing site as the element, it's enhancement may comprise display of additional information, which is not displayed prior to the site's designation by the pilot's gaze or by triggering, such as height, distance, image of site, etc.”, [0057]).
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 20, Park et al. and Nocham disclose the head up display arrangements and method of claims 1, 9, and 17. Park et al. and Nocham further indicate the electronic processor is configured to increase a relative brightness of the element in the virtual image at which eyes of the human driver are looking by decreasing a brightness of an element in the virtual image at which eyes of the human driver are not looking (“The term “enhance” as used in this application with respect to displayed elements refers to any modification of the displayed element and/or its surrounding that make the displayed element more prominent and/or augment the information content associated therewith, such as changes to visual parameters of the element (e.g., increased size, brightness, different color, blinking etc.), attenuation of the element's surrounding (e.g., dimming, removing or spacing surrounding elements) and display of additional information related to the displayed element by visual or non-visual means (e.g., presentation of additional data or symbols relating to the element, auditory information)”, [0021], Methods and systems are provided for using a user's line of sight (LOS) and/or gaze direction to enhance displayed data and control various displays and instruments. The user's LOS is tracked, corresponding element(s) in a scene at which the user gazes are identified, e.g., in a database, and respective displayed data are enhanced or otherwise manipulated with respect to the identified element(s), [0027], display 90 may be embodied as Head Up Display, [0039], “It is explicitly noted that element enhancements may comprise any modifications of the displayed element and/or its surrounding that make the displayed element more prominent and/or augment the information content associated therewith, such as changes to visual parameters of the element (e.g., increased size, brightness, different color, blinking etc.), attenuation of the element's surrounding (e.g., dimming, removing or spacing surrounding elements) and display of additional information related to the displayed element by visual or non-visual means (e.g., presentation of additional data or symbols relating to the element, auditory information). For example, in case of a landing site as the element, it's enhancement may comprise display of additional information, which is not displayed prior to the site's designation by the pilot's gaze or by triggering, such as height, distance, image of site, etc.”, [0057]).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Park et al. and Nocham disclose the head up display arrangement and method of claims 1 and 9. Park et al. and Nocham further indicate the electronic processor is configured to perform eye-tracking on the images captured by the driver-monitoring camera (Park et al., technology that tracks the driver's gaze, such as the 'deep learning based vehicle driver gaze tracking device and method' of registered patent No. 10-2017766, as well as technology that tracks the driver's gaze, such as the 'driver forward gaze maintenance device and method' of published patent No. 10-2019-0105396 or the 'vehicle wiper driving device and method using driver's gaze' of registered patent No. 10-1338791, [0013], eye tracking unit, [0016], [0046]; Nocham, user's LOS is tracked, corresponding element(s) in a scene at which the user gazes are identified, abstract, OS or gaze trackers may be incorporated in a head mounted display (HMD), e.g. in a helmet, a visor, glasses etc. or may be associated or independent units, [0023], direction of the user's gaze (e.g., a pilot's gaze direction, determined e.g., by the line of sight or an eye tracker), [0030]).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Park et al. and Nocham disclose the head up display arrangement and method of claims 1 and 9. Nocham further indicates the electronic processor is configured to increase a relative size of the element in the virtual image at which eyes of the human driver are looking as compared to a size of another element in the virtual image (“The term “enhance” as used in this application with respect to displayed elements refers to any modification of the displayed element and/or its surrounding that make the displayed element more prominent and/or augment the information content associated therewith, such as changes to visual parameters of the element (e.g., increased size, brightness, different color, blinking etc.), attenuation of the element's surrounding (e.g., dimming, removing or spacing surrounding elements) and display of additional information related to the displayed element by visual or non-visual means (e.g., presentation of additional data or symbols relating to the element, auditory information)”, [0021], Methods and systems are provided for using a user's line of sight (LOS) and/or gaze direction to enhance displayed data and control various displays and instruments. The user's LOS is tracked, corresponding element(s) in a scene at which the user gazes are identified, e.g., in a database, and respective displayed data are enhanced or otherwise manipulated with respect to the identified element(s), [0027], display 90 may be embodied as Head Up Display, [0039], “It is explicitly noted that element enhancements may comprise any modifications of the displayed element and/or its surrounding that make the displayed element more prominent and/or augment the information content associated therewith, such as changes to visual parameters of the element (e.g., increased size, brightness, different color, blinking etc.), attenuation of the element's surrounding (e.g., dimming, removing or spacing surrounding elements) and display of additional information related to the displayed element by visual or non-visual means (e.g., presentation of additional data or symbols relating to the element, auditory information). For example, in case of a landing site as the element, it's enhancement may comprise display of additional information, which is not displayed prior to the site's designation by the pilot's gaze or by triggering, such as height, distance, image of site, etc.”, [0057]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Park et al. and Nocham disclose the head up display arrangement and method of claims 1 and 9. Park et al. and Nocham further indicate the electronic processor is configured to change a color of the element in the virtual image at which eyes of the human driver are looking (Park et al., That is, as shown in FIG. 11, when the eye tracking unit (500) is facing the cluster direction
(510), the integrated control unit (200) changes the color of the image or video displayed on
the cluster display (310) to a color with high visibility, and controls the HUD (400) to change
the color of the image or video displayed on the front windshield (2) of the vehicle (1) to a
color with low visibility, [0057]; Nocham, “The term “enhance” as used in this application with respect to displayed elements refers to any modification of the displayed element and/or its surrounding that make the displayed element more prominent and/or augment the information content associated therewith, such as changes to visual parameters of the element (e.g., increased size, brightness, different color, blinking etc.), attenuation of the element's surrounding (e.g., dimming, removing or spacing surrounding elements) and display of additional information related to the displayed element by visual or non-visual means (e.g., presentation of additional data or symbols relating to the element, auditory information)”, [0021], Methods and systems are provided for using a user's line of sight (LOS) and/or gaze direction to enhance displayed data and control various displays and instruments. The user's LOS is tracked, corresponding element(s) in a scene at which the user gazes are identified, e.g., in a database, and respective displayed data are enhanced or otherwise manipulated with respect to the identified element(s), [0027], display 90 may be embodied as Head Up Display, [0039], “It is explicitly noted that element enhancements may comprise any modifications of the displayed element and/or its surrounding that make the displayed element more prominent and/or augment the information content associated therewith, such as changes to visual parameters of the element (e.g., increased size, brightness, different color, blinking etc.), attenuation of the element's surrounding (e.g., dimming, removing or spacing surrounding elements) and display of additional information related to the displayed element by visual or non-visual means (e.g., presentation of additional data or symbols relating to the element, auditory information). For example, in case of a landing site as the element, it's enhancement may comprise display of additional information, which is not displayed prior to the site's designation by the pilot's gaze or by triggering, such as height, distance, image of site, etc.”, [0057]).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Park et al. and Nocham disclose the head up display arrangement and method of claims 1 and 9. Park et al. and Nocham further indicate the electronic processor is configured to change a color of an element in the virtual image at which eyes of the human driver are not looking (Park et al., That is, if the first embodiment of the present invention described above adjusts brightness to prevent distraction and glare, the second embodiment of the present invention is characterized by changing colors with high or low visibility to prevent distraction and improve intuition. Here, color visibility refers to the phenomenon where a color stands out easily due to a distinct difference from surrounding colors, and is also called color clarity, [0055], Therefore, it cannot be specified as a single color because it varies depending on the surrounding color (background color), The decisive condition for enhancing the visibility of such colors is to significantly increase the difference in brightness. Usually, the cluster display (310) of a vehicle (1) has a black background, so colors such as yellow or orange have high visibility, and colors such as purple or blue have low visibility. The background of the image or video displayed on the front windshield (2) via the HUD (400) can be changed to a color with high or low visibility, [0056]; Nocham, “The term “enhance” as used in this application with respect to displayed elements refers to any modification of the displayed element and/or its surrounding that make the displayed element more prominent and/or augment the information content associated therewith, such as changes to visual parameters of the element (e.g., increased size, brightness, different color, blinking etc.), attenuation of the element's surrounding (e.g., dimming, removing or spacing surrounding elements) and display of additional information related to the displayed element by visual or non-visual means (e.g., presentation of additional data or symbols relating to the element, auditory information)”, [0021], Methods and systems are provided for using a user's line of sight (LOS) and/or gaze direction to enhance displayed data and control various displays and instruments. The user's LOS is tracked, corresponding element(s) in a scene at which the user gazes are identified, e.g., in a database, and respective displayed data are enhanced or otherwise manipulated with respect to the identified element(s), [0027], display 90 may be embodied as Head Up Display, [0039], “It is explicitly noted that element enhancements may comprise any modifications of the displayed element and/or its surrounding that make the displayed element more prominent and/or augment the information content associated therewith, such as changes to visual parameters of the element (e.g., increased size, brightness, different color, blinking etc.), attenuation of the element's surrounding (e.g., dimming, removing or spacing surrounding elements) and display of additional information related to the displayed element by visual or non-visual means (e.g., presentation of additional data or symbols relating to the element, auditory information). For example, in case of a landing site as the element, it's enhancement may comprise display of additional information, which is not displayed prior to the site's designation by the pilot's gaze or by triggering, such as height, distance, image of site, etc.”, [0057]).
Regarding claim 18, Park et al. and Nocham disclose the head up display arrangement of claim 17. Park et al. and Nocham further indicate the electronic processor is configured to increase a relative brightness of the element in the virtual image at which eyes of the human driver are looking, the brightness of the element in the virtual image at which eyes of the human driver are looking being increased relative to a remainder of the virtual image (Park et al., the integrated control unit is characterized by increasing the brightness of the image or video displayed on the cluster display and controlling the HUD to decrease the brightness of the image or video displayed on the front windshield of the vehicle when the driver's gaze tracked by the eye tracking unit is directed toward the cluster direction, [0018], Additionally, the integrated control unit is characterized by increasing the brightness of the image or video displayed on the cluster display and changing it to a color with high visibility when the driver's gaze tracked by the eye tracking unit is directed toward the cluster, and by controlling the HUD to decrease the brightness of the image or video displayed on the front windshield of the vehicle and changing it to a color with low visibility, [0034]; Nocham, “The term “enhance” as used in this application with respect to displayed elements refers to any modification of the displayed element and/or its surrounding that make the displayed element more prominent and/or augment the information content associated therewith, such as changes to visual parameters of the element (e.g., increased size, brightness, different color, blinking etc.), attenuation of the element's surrounding (e.g., dimming, removing or spacing surrounding elements) and display of additional information related to the displayed element by visual or non-visual means (e.g., presentation of additional data or symbols relating to the element, auditory information)”, [0021], display 90 may be embodied as Head Up Display, [0039], “It is explicitly noted that element enhancements may comprise any modifications of the displayed element and/or its surrounding that make the displayed element more prominent and/or augment the information content associated therewith, such as changes to visual parameters of the element (e.g., increased size, brightness, different color, blinking etc.), attenuation of the element's surrounding (e.g., dimming, removing or spacing surrounding elements) and display of additional information related to the displayed element by visual or non-visual means (e.g., presentation of additional data or symbols relating to the element, auditory information). For example, in case of a landing site as the element, it's enhancement may comprise display of additional information, which is not displayed prior to the site's designation by the pilot's gaze or by triggering, such as height, distance, image of site, etc.”, [0057]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 20250147578 A1 (Numerous types of electronic systems may allow a user to sense or interact with an XR environment. A non-exhaustive list of examples includes lenses having integrated display capability to be placed on a user's eyes (e.g., contact lenses), heads-up displays (HUDs), projection-based systems, head mountable systems, windows or windshields having integrated display technology, [0020] virtual objects are referred to as graphical objects or XR objects, [0030], For example, the electronic device 510 may include a user-facing image sensor (e.g., a front-facing camera or an inward-facing camera). In some implementations, the user-facing image sensor captures a set of one or more images of the eyes of the user 512. The electronic device 510 may determine a gaze vector based on the set of one or more images, In various implementations, as represented in FIG. 5B, the electronic device 510 (e.g., the display interface engine 600) receives a user input 530 corresponding to a user focus location 532, Based on the gaze vector, the electronic device 510 may determine that a gaze of the user 512 is directed to the user focus location 532, [0078], In some implementations, the electronic device 510 displays a visual effect 534 in connection with the user focus location 532. For example, the electronic device 510 may display an area of increased brightness around the user focus location 532, [0079]
).
/MICHELLE M ENTEZARI HAUSMANN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2671