DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 3/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 17-36 are pending in the Application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 112(b) Rejections previously presented in the Office Action mailed 12/29/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 35 recites the limitation “the light source assembly is enclosed in an opaque casing including a wrap-around cover having transparent portions through which the light source may project outwardly”. This limitation is unclear because the opaque casing including a wrap-around cover having transparent portions has been already recited in a preceding claim from which claim 35 depends from (claim 28), and “the light source” is unclear as to which of the “at least two light sources” previously recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-19, 22-23, 25-31, 34-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoen et al., US 2016/0280396 A1 in view of Wang et al., US 2006/0250269 A1 and Hagen, US 2013/0088152 A1.
Regarding claim 17, Schoen discloses “A sector light, comprising: at least a first tier (seen in Fig. 2A) of at least two light sources (21b, 22b, 23b, 24b, Fig. 2A, at least two optical lenses (lenses like 21c on top of the optical systems, Fig. 2A; ¶ [0041]), wherein each light source of the at least two light sources is paired with a unique optical lens of the at least two optical lenses (seen in Fig. 2A);
However, Schoen does not explicitly disclose “an opaque casing including a wrap-around cover having transparent portions through which the at least two light sources may project outwardly and cuts off light at an angle for each of the at least two light sources” and “at least one sensor designed to collect information related to ambient light intensity and weather patterns in an environment of the sector light; and control circuitry communicatively connected to the at least two light sources, wherein the control circuitry is designed to: receive sensor data collected from the at least one sensor; and adjust at least one setting of the at least two light sources based at least in part on the sensor data.”
Hagen discloses a lighting assembly with a cap casing made of an opaque material (26, ¶ [0039]) and has transparent openings for light emission (¶ [0039]) that would cut off light at an angle for each light source (since the openings 28, align with the optics 24, the opaqueness of the cover would cut off light at certain angles) and also discloses that the fixture is hermetically sealed (¶ [0043]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the light assembly as taught by Schoen, to include an opaque casing with transparent openings and be hermetically sealed, such as taught by Hagen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a hermetically sealed casing for protecting the fixture’s internal components from surrounding environment (Hagen, ¶ [0043]).
As a result of the modification, the opaque cover of Hagen over the optical elements of Schoen would create a wrap-around cover, as the light emitters are circumferentially placed.
Wang discloses an LED apparatus with light sources with associated lenses, and sensor (610, Fig. 6; ¶ [0037]) designed to collect information related to ambient light intensity and weather patterns in an environment of the sector light (¶ [0037]); and control circuitry (602, Fig. 6, ¶ [0037]) communicatively connected to the at least two light sources, wherein the control circuitry is designed to: receive sensor data collected from the at least one sensor; and adjust at least one setting of the at least two light sources based at least in part on the sensor data (¶ [0037,0038]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to include the sensor and controller, such as taught by Wang, to the light device, as taught by Schoen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a sensor and controller to control the light performance based on environmental factors (Wang, ¶ [0037]).
Regarding claim 18, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang discloses the invention of claim 17, as cited above, and further discloses “the at least one setting is an intensity of the at least two light sources (Wang, ¶ [0035,0036] “ One purpose of this current regulation is to adjust the luminous intensity of the LEDs 603 according to environment variations, such as weather change, to maintain visibility of the optical signaling apparatus”).”
Regarding claim 19, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang discloses the invention of claim 17, as cited above, and further discloses “the at least one setting is a flashing or blinking pattern of the at least two light sources (Wang, ¶ [0036] “ to vary the light intensity to generate a certain flash pattern for special signaling”).”
Regarding claim 22, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang discloses the invention of claim 17, as cited above, and further discloses “the at least two optical lenses are substantially convex and include: a front optical face and a rear optical face with focal planes there between, wherein the rear optical face is a first point of collection of light emitted by a light source of the at least two light sources paired with the respective optical lens, and wherein light from the respective light source is projected through the front optical face, and sides and ends with non-reflective properties (Schoen, seen in Fig. 2A, the lenses like 21c are convex, and are convex lenses so they are non-reflective, the lens’s function is to project light forward, not reflect light, and does not have any structural feature that would allow light to reflect ), and include an angle of curvature between 30 and 60 degrees.
Regarding claim 23, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang discloses the invention of claim 17, as cited above, and further discloses “the sector light is divided into at least two circumferential sections (seen in Fig. 2A), each of the at least two circumferential sections being separated by at least one opaque dividing element (Schoen, lateral shutters like 21d between the light sources, Fig. 2A; ¶ [0041]) and each of the at least two circumferential sections contains a light source of the at least two light sources and an optical lens of the at least two optical lenses (Schoen, seen in Fig. 2A), wherein the at least two light sources and the at least two optical lens are arranged such that the optical lens collects and outwardly projects light emitted by at least one of the two light sources into a sector, whereby a projected light when viewed from a position indicates whether the position is in a safe sector (Schoen, ¶ [0007]; additionally, the limitation does not have structural patentable weight, as indication of safe or unsafe can be fulfilled by the projection of light, which allows one to see if the area is safe or unsafe). .
Regarding claim 25, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang discloses the invention of claim 17, as cited above, and further discloses “in use the at least two light sources each independently project a different color of light from the sector light (Schoen, ¶ [0020] red, green white).”
Regarding claim 26, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang discloses the invention of claim 17, as cited above, and further discloses “ a signal housing element designed to facilitate remote connections (Schoen, control unit 25, Fig. A is within structure 20, and is capable of connecting to an outside environment ¶ [0044]).”
Regarding claim 27, Schoen in view of Hagen and Wang discloses the invention of claim 17, as cited above, and further discloses “a casing is sealed to protect an interior cavity from exposure to external elements (Hagen, ¶ [0043]). .”
Regarding claim 28, Shoen discloses “A light source assembly, comprising: at least two light sources (21b, 22b, 23b, 24b, Fig. 2A); … and at least two optical lenses (lenses like 21c on top of the optical systems, Fig. 2A; ¶ [0041]), wherein the at least two optical lenses are substantially convex with sides and ends having non-reflective properties (seen in Fig. 2A, the lenses like 21c are convex, and are convex lenses so they are non-reflective, the lens’s function is to project light forward, not reflect light, and does not have any structural feature that would allow light to reflect),, wherein the light source assembly is divided into at least two circumferential sections (seen in Fig. 2A), each of the at least two circumferential sections being enclosed by at least one opaque dividing element (lateral shutters like 21d between the light sources, Fig. 2A; ¶ [0041]) and wherein each of the at least two circumferential sections contain a light source and an optical lens such that the optical lens collects and outwardly projects light emitted by a light source of the at least two light sources (seen in Fig. 2A),”
However, Schoen does not explicitly disclose “an opaque casing including a wrap-around cover having transparent portions through which the at least two light sources may proiect outwardly and cuts off light at an angle; “ and “at least one sensor designed to collect sensor data related to ambient light intensity or weather patterns;” and “wherein an intensity of the light emitted by the light source is based at least in part on the sensor data.”
Hagen discloses a lighting assembly with a cap casing made of an opaque material (26, ¶ [0039]) and has transparent openings for light emission (¶ [0039]) that would cut off light at an angle for each light source (since the openings 28, align with the optics 24, the opaqueness of the cover would cut off light at certain angles) and also discloses that the fixture is hermetically sealed (¶ [0043]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the light assembly as taught by Schoen, to include an opaque casing with transparent openings and be hermetically sealed, such as taught by Hagen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a hermetically sealed casing for protecting the fixture’s internal components from surrounding environment (Hagen, ¶ [0043]).
As a result of the modification, the opaque cover of Hagen over the optical elements of Schoen would create a wrap-around cover, as the light emitters are circumferentially placed.
Wang discloses an LED apparatus with light sources with associated lenses, and sensor (610, Fig. 6; ¶ [0037]) designed to collect information related to ambient light intensity and weather patterns in an environment of the sector light (¶ [0037]); and control circuitry (602, Fig. 6, ¶ [0037]) communicatively connected to the at least two light sources, wherein the control circuitry is designed to: receive sensor data collected from the at least one sensor; and adjust at least one setting of the at least two light sources based at least in part on the sensor data (¶ [0037,0038]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to include the sensor and controller, such as taught by Wang, to the light device, as taught by Schoen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a sensor and controller to control the light performance based on environmental factors (Wang, ¶ [0037]).
Regarding claim 29, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang discloses the invention of claim 28, as cited above, and further discloses “the intensity of the at least two light sources is based at least in part on the ambient light intensity (Wang,¶ [0034] “one or more photo detectors to monitor the level of stray light from ambient environment. The photo detectors may provide information to a switch for automatically shutting down the optical signaling apparatus 100 during day time”).”
Regarding claim 30, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang discloses the invention of claim 28, as cited above, and further discloses “a flashing or blinking pattern of the light emitted by the light source is based at least in part on the sensor data (Wang, ¶ [0036] “ to vary the light intensity to generate a certain flash pattern for special signaling”).
Regarding claim 31, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang discloses the invention of claim 28, as cited above, and further discloses “the at least one opaque dividing element radially protrudes from a central hub (Schoen, seen in Fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 34, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang discloses the invention of claim 28, as cited above, and further discloses “in use the at least two light sources each independently project a different color of light from the light source assembly (Schoen, ¶ [0020] red, green white)”
Regarding claim 35, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang discloses the invention of claim 28, as cited above, and further discloses “the light source assembly is enclosed in an opaque casing including a wrap-around cover having transparent portions through which the light source may project outwardly (see rejection of claim 28 above), and a casing is sealed to protect an interior cavity from exposure to external elements (Hagen, ¶ [0043]).”
Regarding claim 36, Shoen discloses “A method for a light source assembly, comprising:
at least two light sources (21b, 22b, 23b, 24b, Fig. 2A) of the light source assembly … , wherein the light source assembly is divided into at least two circumferential sections (seen in Fig. 2A), each of the at least two circumferential sections being enclosed by at least one opaque dividing element (lateral shutters like 21d between the light sources, Fig. 2A; ¶ [0041]) , such that the optical lens collects and outwardly projects light emitted by the respective light source of the at least two light source (seen in Fig. 2A)”
However, Schoen does not explicitly disclose “includes an opaque casing including a wrap-around cover having transparent portions through which the at least two light sources may proiect outwardly” and “receiving sensor data from at least one sensor data of the light source assembly, wherein the sensor data is related to an ambient light intensity or a weather pattern in an environment of the light source assembly; and adjusting at least one setting of at least two light sources of the light source assembly based at least in part on the sensor data”
Wang discloses an LED apparatus with light sources with associated lenses, and sensor (610, Fig. 6; ¶ [0037]) designed to collect information related to ambient light intensity and weather patterns in an environment of the sector light (¶ [0037]); and control circuitry (602, Fig. 6, ¶ [0037]) communicatively connected to the at least two light sources, wherein the control circuitry is designed to: receive sensor data collected from the at least one sensor; and adjust at least one setting of the at least two light sources based at least in part on the sensor data (¶ [0037,0038]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to include the sensor and controller that adjusts the light sources based on sensor data, such as taught by Wang, to the light device, as taught by Schoen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a sensor and controller to control the light performance based on environmental factors (Wang, ¶ [0037]).
Hagen discloses a lighting assembly with a cap casing made of an opaque material (26, ¶ [0039]) and has transparent openings for light emission (¶ [0039]) that would cut off light at an angle for each light source (since the openings 28, align with the optics 24, the opaqueness of the cover would cut off light at certain angles).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the light assembly as taught by Schoen, to include an opaque casing with transparent openings and be hermetically sealed, such as taught by Hagen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a hermetically sealed casing for protecting the fixture’s internal components from surrounding environment (Hagen, ¶ [0043]).
As a result of the modification, the opaque cover of Hagen over the optical elements of Schoen would create a wrap-around cover, as the light emitters are circumferentially placed.
Claim(s) 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang, and further in view of Mostoller et al., US 2019/0186719 A1.
Regarding claim 20, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang discloses the invention of claim 17, as cited above, except “the control circuitry is housed in a protrusion of the sector light .”
Mostoller discloses a light device with a sensor and control circuitry (106, 156, Fig. 3), and the control circuitry is housed in a protrusion of the light device (the circuitry 156 is housed in protrusion 100, Fig. 1-3).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have the sensors and control circuitry, as taught by Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang, be housed in a protrusion of the light device, such as taught by Mostoller. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the sensor and circuitry in a protrusion for protecting environmental sensors while still allowing proper operation of the sensors (Mostoller, ¶ [0003]).
Regarding claim 21, Shoen in view of Wang and Mostoller discloses the invention of claim 20, as cited above, and further discloses “the protrusion of the sector light is a top-mounted centrally-disposed dome (Mostoller, 100, Fig. 1-3).”
Claim 22 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang, and further in view of Li et al., US 2010/0091507 A1.
Regarding claim 22, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang discloses the invention of claim 17, as cited above, and further discloses “the at least two optical lenses are substantially convex and include:a front optical face and a rear optical face with focal planes there between, wherein the rear optical face is a first point of collection of light emitted by a light source of the at least two light sources paired with the respective optical lens, and wherein light from the respective light source is projected through the front optical face, and sides and ends with non-reflective properties (Schoen, seen in Fig. 2A, the lenses like 21c are convex, and are convex lenses so they are non-reflective, the lens’s function is to project light forward, not reflect light, and does not have any structural feature that would allow light to reflect )”.
However, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang does not explicitly disclose “include an angle of curvature between approximately 30 and approximately 60 degrees.” (the Examiner interprets this limitation as referring to the overall lens emission angle in the horizontal (Instant Application Specification ¶ [0016] “angle in which the optical lens has the ability to project light in the horizontal or vertical planes is not particularly limited, but is preferably between approximately 30 and 60 degrees in the horizontal”). The lenses of Schoen appear to have an emission angle of 22.5 degrees (seen in Fig. 2A).
Li discloses a circumferential light emitting device, with each light source and optical elements spaced at equal angular intervals such that the angle of emission is 32.7 degrees (¶ [0028] “360/11=32.7degree”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have the angle of curvature of the lenses, as taught by Schoen, be a different angle such as 32.7 degrees, such as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a larger angle of curvature for decreasing the number of LEDs and lenses required and fewer energy requirements (Li, ¶ [0047]).
Additionally, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Also see MPEP 2144.05 (II-A) for the obviousness of an optimum range. Also see MPEP 2144.05 (I) regarding claimed ranges that are merely close to the prior art.
Regarding claim 32, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang discloses the invention of claim 28, as cited above, and further discloses “the at least two optical lenses are at least one of substantially convex, comprising a front optical face and a rear optical face with focal planes there between, the rear optical face being a first point of collection of light emitted by the light source, and a front face being that from which light is projected, and wherein a side of the front face has non-reflective properties (Schoen, seen in Fig. 2A, the lenses like 21c are convex, and are convex lenses so they are non-reflective, the lens’s function is to project light forward, not reflect light, and does not have any structural feature that would allow light to reflect )”
However, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang does not explicitly disclose “include an angle of curvature between approximately 30 and approximately 60 degrees.” (the Examiner interprets this limitation as referring to the overall lens emission angle in the horizontal (Instant Application Specification ¶ [0016] “angle in which the optical lens has the ability to project light in the horizontal or vertical planes is not particularly limited, but is preferably between approximately 30 and 60 degrees in the horizontal”). The lenses of Schoen appear to have an emission angle of 22.5 degrees (seen in Fig. 2A).
Li discloses a circumferential light emitting device, with each light source and optical elements spaced at equal angular intervals such that the angle of emission is 32.7 degrees (¶ [0028] “360/11=32.7degree”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have the angle of curvature of the lenses, as taught by Schoen, be a different angle such as 32.7 degrees, such as taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a larger angle of curvature for decreasing the number of LEDs and lenses required and fewer energy requirements (Li, ¶ [0047]).
Additionally, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Also see MPEP 2144.05 (II-A) for the obviousness of an optimum range. Also see MPEP 2144.05 (I) regarding claimed ranges that are merely close to the prior art.
Claim(s) 24 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoen in view of Hagen and Wang, and further in view of Yu et al,. US 2015/0192265 A1.
Regarding claim 24 and 33, Shoen in view of Hagen and Wang discloses the invention of claim 17 and 28, respectively, as cited above, except “each optical lens of the at least two optical lenses projects light in a vertical plane with a narrow angle of divergence of 0.5 to 5 degrees.”
Schoen is silent with regards to the divergence angle of the lenses.
Yu discloses a light emitting device, and a light beam conditioning device with a vertical divergence of about 4 degrees.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the optical lenses, as taught by Schoen, have a vertical divergence angle of about 4 degrees, such as taught by Yu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the vertical divergence angle be about 4 degrees, for completing the details of the invention in selecting an appropriate divergence angle, in order to meet the specific lighting needs of a given application (such as output shape).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 17, 28, and 36, the Applicant argues in the Remarks filed 3/30/2026 on pages 10-12, that prior art reference Hagen does not disclose the limitation “an opaque casing including a wrap-around cover having transparent portions through which the at least two light sources may project outwardly and cuts off light at an angle for each of the at least two light sources;”. In support, the Applicant argues that Hagen discloses a disc shaped cover instead of the claimed wrap-around (or cylindrical). The Applicant further argues that Hagen is not a sector light, in that the cap does not cut off light at an angle for each of the light sources. Another argument is that one of ordinary skill in the art would not combine the teachings of the prior art references Schoen and Wang in view of Hagen, as Schoen is directed to exterior aircraft lighting and Wang is directed to lights for navigational aids, whereas Hagen is directed to buildings or architecture, and the disc shape cap of Hagen would not apply to Schoen and Wang.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Hagen is relied upon for teaching a cover that hermetically seals and is opaque and has transparent openings for the light source with optical element. By modifying Schoen, which teaches a cylindrical arrangement of light sources and optical elements, the opaque cover over the light sources would result in a cylindrical cover, in other words, a wrap-around cover.
In response to applicant's argument that the disc shaped cap of Hagen would not structurally apply to the aircraft lighting device of Schoen or the buoy of Wang, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). Schoen, Wang and Hagen are relevant to each other as they are all illumination devices.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL CHIANG/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/JOSEPH L WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875