DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, line 1 “the presence”, line 2 “its”, line 4 “the diffraction” lacks proper antecedent basis.
Similar issue in claim 9.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means for positioning in claim 2, movement means in claim 6, means for reading in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Musgrave et al. (US 20230049542) in view of Nazarpoor (US 20150004709).
Regarding claim 1, Musgrave teaches metal oxidation determining apparatus for determining the presence of metal oxidation on a pipe, wherein the pipe includes insulation 220 around its outer surface, the apparatus comprising an x-ray emitter 236, and an x-ray detector 238, the apparatus arranged to identify the presence of metal oxidation by virtue of the characteristics of the detected x-rays (para 71)
However Musgrave fails to teach by virtue of diffraction characteristics.
Nazarpoor teaches by virtue of diffraction characteristics (para 62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt identification of Musgrave by the diffraction as taught by Nazarpoor, since it would better modality and/or alternative measurement technique.
Regarding claim 2, Musgrave teaches attachment means for attaching the apparatus to the outside of the insulation surrounding the pipe (figure 2a and 6).
Regarding claim 3, Musgrave teaches x-ray emitter adjustment means for positioning the emitter such that the x-rays are emitted at a tangent to the surface of the pipe underneath the insulation (figure 2a and 6).
Regarding claim 4, Musgrave teaches x-ray detector adjustment means for positioning the detector to receive the x-rays emitted after they have travelled at a tangent to the surface of the pipe underneath the insulation (figure 2a and 6).
Regarding claim 5, Musgrave teaches movement means for moving the apparatus along the linear axis of the pipe (figure 2a and 6).
Regarding claim 6, Musgrave teaches a means of determining its position relative to the pipe (figure 2a and 6).
Regarding claim 7, Musgrave teaches the means of determining its position include any one or more of a GPS, means for reading a fiducial marker located on the pipe, and movement recording means (figure 2a and 6).
Regarding claim 8, Musgrave teaches movement means for moving the apparatus around the circumference of the pipe (figure 2a and 6).
Regarding claim 9, Musgrave teaches a method of determining the presence of metal oxidation on a pipe, wherein the pipe includes insulation around its outer surface, including the steps of providing a metal oxidation determining apparatus, the metal oxidation determining apparatus comprising an x-ray emitter, and an x-ray detector, the metal oxidation determining apparatus arranged to identify the presence of metal oxidation by virtue of the characteristics of the detected x-rays; the method further including the step of placing the apparatus on the pipe, and operating the apparatus (para 71).
However Musgrave fails to teach by virtue of diffraction characteristics.
Nazarpoor teaches by virtue of diffraction characteristics (para 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt identification of Musgrave by the diffraction as taught by Nazarpoor, since it would better modality and/or alternative measurement technique.
Regarding claim 10, Musgrave teaches attachment means for attaching the apparatus to the outside of the insulation surrounding the pipe; and x-ray emitter adjustment means for positioning the emitter relative to the pipe; the method including the steps of attaching the apparatus to the outside of the insulation surrounding the pipe; and positioning the emitter relative to the pipe such that the x-rays are emitted at a tangent to the surface of the pipe underneath the insulation (figure 2a and 6).
Regarding claim 11, Musgrave teaches x-ray detector adjustment means for positioning the detector relative to the pipe; the method including the step of positioning the detector so as to receive the x-rays emitted after they have travelled at a tangent to the surface of the pipe underneath the insulation (figure 2a and 6).
Regarding claim 12, Musgrave teaches movement means for moving the apparatus along the linear axis of the pipe; the method including the step of moving the apparatus along the axis of the pipe; and determining the presence of metal oxidation (figure 2a and 6).
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Georgeson et al. (US 10502697) in view of Wolf et al. (US 20140134743).
Regarding claim 1, Georgeson teaches metal oxidation determining apparatus for determining the presence of metal oxidation on a pipe, wherein the pipe includes insulation around its outer surface, the apparatus comprising an x-ray emitter 514, and an x-ray detector 518, the apparatus arranged to identify the presence of metal oxidation by virtue of the characteristics of the detected x-rays (para 2, 6, 81 and 95-96, figures 4-5, PCT written opinion)
However Georgeson fails to teach by virtue of diffraction characteristics.
Wolf teaches by virtue of diffraction characteristics (para 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt identification of Georgeson by the diffraction as taught by Wolf, since it would better modality and/or alternative measurement technique.
Regarding claim 2, Georgeson teaches attachment means for attaching the apparatus to the outside of the insulation surrounding the pipe (figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Georgeson teaches x-ray emitter adjustment means for positioning the emitter such that the x-rays are emitted at a tangent to the surface of the pipe underneath the insulation (figure 4).
Regarding claim 4, Georgeson teaches x-ray detector adjustment means for positioning the detector to receive the x-rays emitted after they have travelled at a tangent to the surface of the pipe underneath the insulation.
Regarding claim 5, Georgeson teaches movement means for moving the apparatus along the linear axis of the pipe (para 81).
Regarding claim 6, Georgeson teaches a means of determining its position relative to the pipe (para 81).
Regarding claim 7, Georgeson teaches the means of determining its position include any one or more of a GPS, means for reading a fiducial marker located on the pipe, and movement recording means (para 81).
Regarding claim 8, Georgeson teaches movement means for moving the apparatus around the circumference of the pipe (para 81).
Regarding claim 9, Georgeson teaches a method of determining the presence of metal oxidation on a pipe, wherein the pipe includes insulation around its outer surface, including the steps of providing a metal oxidation determining apparatus, the metal oxidation determining apparatus comprising an x-ray emitter, and an x-ray detector, the metal oxidation determining apparatus arranged to identify the presence of metal oxidation by virtue of the characteristics of the detected x-rays; the method further including the step of placing the apparatus on the pipe, and operating the apparatus (para 2, 6, 81 and 95-96, figures 4-5, PCT written opinion)
However Georgeson fails to teach by virtue of diffraction characteristics.
Wolf teaches by virtue of diffraction characteristics (para 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt identification of Georgeson by the diffraction as taught by Wolf, since it would better modality and/or alternative measurement technique.
Regarding claim 10, Georgeson teaches attachment means for attaching the apparatus to the outside of the insulation surrounding the pipe; and x-ray emitter adjustment means for positioning the emitter relative to the pipe; the method including the steps of attaching the apparatus to the outside of the insulation surrounding the pipe; and positioning the emitter relative to the pipe such that the x-rays are emitted at a tangent to the surface of the pipe underneath the insulation (figure 4).
Regarding claim 11, Georgeson teaches x-ray detector adjustment means for positioning the detector relative to the pipe; the method including the step of positioning the detector so as to receive the x-rays emitted after they have travelled at a tangent to the surface of the pipe underneath the insulation (figure 4).
Regarding claim 12, Georgeson teaches movement means for moving the apparatus along the linear axis of the pipe; the method including the step of moving the apparatus along the axis of the pipe; and determining the presence of metal oxidation (figure 4).
Conclusion
/HOON K SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884