DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate with applicant via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.03, 502.05.
Election/Restrictions
Claim(s) 5-10 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 18 August 2026. While applicant has stated that species A (Fig. 6) encompasses claims 5 & 7-10, the examiner disagrees. Claim 5 explixtly claims there are two IPs which is drawn to fig. 8 (Species C). Claim 7 claims two IPs in two different regions and is drawn to fig. 7 (Species B) or fig. 8 (Species C). Claim 8 is drawn to fig. 7 (Species B), claim 9 is drawn to fig. 8 (Species C), and claim 10 is drawn to fig. 7 (Species B) or fig. 8 (Species C). As claims 5 & 7-10 are directed to nonelected species, said claims are withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 & 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kowase et al. (US 2024/0194406) in view of Yanai et al. (US 2024/0331942).
In regards to claim 1,
Kowase ‘406 discloses a multilayer electronic component, comprising:
a body (110 – fig. 1-2; [0035]) including first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction, third and fourth surfaces connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (fig. 1) , and including a capacitance formation portion (14 – fig. 3; [0045]) including a dielectric layer (11 – fig. 2; [0040]) and internal electrodes (12 – fig. 2-3; [0040]) alternately arranged with the dielectric layer in the first direction, cover portions (13 – fig. 3; [0040]) disposed on both surfaces of the capacitance formation portion in the first direction, and side margin portions (16 – fig. 4; [0047]) disposed on both surfaces of the capacitance formation portion and the cover portions in the third direction (seen in fig. 2); and
external electrodes (20a-20b – fig. 3; [0045]) disposed on the third and fourth surfaces,
W < T < L is satisfied, in which T is a thickness of the body in the first direction, L is a length of the body in the second direction, and W is a width of the body in the third direction ([0084]). Kowase ‘406 fails to disclose wherein in a first and third directional cross-section of the body, one or more IPs, a point at which an inclination of a tangent to an outer surface of the body is opposite, is disposed on an exterior surface of one or more corner regions of the body.
Yanai ‘942 discloses a multilayer electronic component, comprising:
a body (11 – fig. 1; [0032]) including first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction, third and fourth surfaces connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (fig. 1; [0033]), and including a capacitance formation portion (16 – fig. 2; [0033]) including a dielectric layer (15 – fig. 2; [0033]) and internal electrodes (12-13 – fig. 2; [0033]) alternately arranged with the dielectric layer in the first direction, cover portions (18 – fig. 3; [0034]) disposed on both surfaces of the capacitance formation portion in the first direction, and side margin portions (19 – fig. 3; [0034]) disposed on both surfaces of the capacitance formation portion and the cover portions in the third direction; and
external electrodes (14-14b – fig. 2; [0032]) disposed on the third and fourth surfaces,
wherein in a first and third directional cross-section of the body, one or more Ips (23 – fig. 5; [0045), a point at which an inclination of a tangent to an outer surface of the body is opposite, is disposed on an exterior surface of one or more corner regions of the body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the ridge of Kowase ‘406 as taught by Yanai ‘942 to obtain a capacitor wherein the impact force propagated inside the ceramic element body is canceled out within the ceramic element body and as a result, the impact force directed toward the capacity section is alleviated.
In regards to claim 2,
Kowase ‘406 as modified by Yanai ‘942 further discloses wherein the corner region includes a curved shape (fig. 5 of Yanai ‘942).
In regards to claim 3,
Kowase ‘406 as modified by Yanai ‘942 further discloses wherein in a case in which, when a virtual line is drawn from a third directional end of an internal electrode disposed in an uppermost portion in the first direction to an upper portion in the first direction, a point at which the virtual line meets the outer surface of the body is referred to as P1, and when a virtual line is drawn in the third direction from the third directional end of the internal electrode disposed in the uppermost portion in the first direction, a point at which the virtual line meets the outer surface of the body is referred to as P2, the IP is disposed between P1 and P2 (fig. 5 of Yanai ‘942).
In regards to claim 4,
Kowase ‘406 as modified by Yanai ‘942 further discloses wherein only one IP is disposed between P1 and P2 (fig. 5 of Yanai ‘942).
In regards to claim 11,
Kowase ‘406 as modified by Yanai ‘942 further discloses wherein the T and the W satisfy 1.1 < T/W < 1.8 ([0093] of Kowase ‘406 =0.45/0.3=1.5).
In regards to claim 12,
Kowase ‘406 as modified by Yanai ‘942 further discloses wherein the L is 0.69 mm or less, and the W is 0.39 mm or less ([0093] of Kowase ‘406).
In regards to claim 13,
Kowase ‘406 as modified by Yanai ‘942 further discloses wherein the T is 0.55 mm or less ([0093] of Kowase ‘406).
In regards to claim 14,
Kowase ‘406 as modified by Yanai ‘942 further discloses wherein the thickness of the body refers to a maximum thickness of the body in the first direction, the length of the body refers to a maximum length of the body in the second direction, and the width of the body refers to a maximum width of the body in the third direction (fig. 1-4; [0039] of Kowase ‘406).
In regards to claim 15,
Kowase ‘406 as modified by Yanai ‘942 further discloses wherein the thickness of the body refers to an average thickness of the body in the first direction, the length of the body refers to an average length of the body in the second direction, and the width of the body refers to an average width of the body in the third direction (fig. 1-4; [0039] of Kowase ‘406 – it is noted that as the surface are substantially flat surfaces the average dimensions will be approximately the maximum dimensions).
Claim(s) 1-4 & 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2014/0311782) in view of Yanai ‘942.
In regards to claim 1,
Lee ‘782 discloses a multilayer electronic component, comprising:
a body (110 – fig. 1-2; [0035]) including first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction, third and fourth surfaces connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction, and including a capacitance formation portion including a dielectric layer (111 – fig. 2-3; [0036]) and internal electrodes (121 & 122 – fig. 1-2; [0035]) alternately arranged with the dielectric layer in the first direction, cover portions disposed on both surfaces of the capacitance formation portion in the first direction (seen in fig. 3), and side margin portions disposed on both surfaces of the capacitance formation portion and the cover portions in the third direction (seen in fig. 2); and
external electrodes (131 & 132 – fig. 1; [0035]) disposed on the third and fourth surfaces,
W < T < L is satisfied, in which T is a thickness of the body in the first direction, L is a length of the body in the second direction, and W is a width of the body in the third direction ([0084]). Lee ‘782 fails to disclose wherein in a first and third directional cross-section of the body, one or more IPs, a point at which an inclination of a tangent to an outer surface of the body is opposite, is disposed on an exterior surface of one or more corner regions of the body.
Yanai ‘942 discloses a multilayer electronic component, comprising:
a body (11 – fig. 1; [0032]) including first and second surfaces opposing each other in a first direction, third and fourth surfaces connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction, and fifth and sixth surfaces connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (fig. 1; [0033]), and including a capacitance formation portion (16 – fig. 2; [0033]) including a dielectric layer (15 – fig. 2; [0033]) and internal electrodes (12-13 – fig. 2; [0033]) alternately arranged with the dielectric layer in the first direction, cover portions (18 – fig. 3; [0034]) disposed on both surfaces of the capacitance formation portion in the first direction, and side margin portions (19 – fig. 3; [0034]) disposed on both surfaces of the capacitance formation portion and the cover portions in the third direction; and
external electrodes (14-14b – fig. 2; [0032]) disposed on the third and fourth surfaces,
wherein in a first and third directional cross-section of the body, one or more Ips (23 – fig. 5; [0045), a point at which an inclination of a tangent to an outer surface of the body is opposite, is disposed on an exterior surface of one or more corner regions of the body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the ridge of Lee ‘782 as taught by Yanai ‘942 to obtain a capacitor wherein the impact force propagated inside the ceramic element body is canceled out within the ceramic element body and as a result, the impact force directed toward the capacity section is alleviated.
In regards to claim 2,
Lee ‘782 as modified by Yanai ‘942 further discloses wherein the corner region includes a curved shape (fig. 5 of Yanai ‘942).
In regards to claim 3,
Lee ‘782 as modified by Yanai ‘942 further discloses wherein in a case in which, when a virtual line is drawn from a third directional end of an internal electrode disposed in an uppermost portion in the first direction to an upper portion in the first direction, a point at which the virtual line meets the outer surface of the body is referred to as P1, and when a virtual line is drawn in the third direction from the third directional end of the internal electrode disposed in the uppermost portion in the first direction, a point at which the virtual line meets the outer surface of the body is referred to as P2, the IP is disposed between P1 and P2 (fig. 5 of Yanai ‘942).
In regards to claim 4,
Lee ‘782 as modified by Yanai ‘942 further discloses wherein only one IP is disposed between P1 and P2 (fig. 5 of Yanai ‘942).
In regards to claim 11,
Lee ‘782 as modified by Yanai ‘942 further discloses wherein the T and the W satisfy 1.1 < T/W < 1.8 ([0084] of Lee ‘782). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, in re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); in re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed, Cir. 1990)
In regards to claim 12,
Lee ‘782 as modified by Yanai ‘942 further discloses wherein the L is 0.69 mm or less, and the W is 0.39 mm or less ([0084] of Lee ‘782– 0603 is 0.6 mm by 0.3 mm).
In regards to claim 13,
Lee ‘782 as modified by Yanai ‘942 further discloses wherein the T is 0.55 mm or less ([0084] of Lee ‘782 – T will be is 0.36 mm to 0.9 mm). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, in re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); in re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed, Cir. 1990)
In regards to claim 14,
Lee ‘782 as modified by Yanai ‘942 wherein the thickness of the body refers to a maximum thickness of the body in the first direction, the length of the body refers to a maximum length of the body in the second direction, and the width of the body refers to a maximum width of the body in the third direction (fig. 1-3; [0084] of Lee ‘782 – it is noted that as the surface are substantially flat surfaces the average dimensions will be approximately the maximum dimensions).
In regards to claim 15,
Lee ‘782 as modified by Yanai ‘942 wherein the thickness of the body refers to an average thickness of the body in the first direction, the length of the body refers to an average length of the body in the second direction, and the width of the body refers to an average width of the body in the third direction (fig. 1-3 of Lee ‘782 – it is noted that as the surface are substantially flat surfaces the average dimensions will be approximately the maximum dimensions).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0203074 – fig. 5 US 2014/0307362 – fig. 1; [0097]
US 2019/0198249 – [0162] US 2020/0126721 – fig. 11
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847