DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication filed on August 14, 2026. Claims 1-10 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on August 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant in Page 7 of the Remarks argues that paragraph [0038] of their specification supports the feature “wherein the automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors through a computer-vision recognition procedure” and overcomes the pending 112 rejections.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The feature “wherein the automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors through a computer-vision recognition procedure” is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant’s specification in [0040] discloses “In the present embodiment, the automated operation processes AFL1 to AFLN are processes that simulate editing of a file by the user through the computer vision recognition”, which is not the same as the feature “automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors through a computer-vision recognition procedure” recited in the claims.
An automated process simulating a user action such as editing a file by the user is not the same as an automated operation process itself being simulated according to human operation behaviors, as claimed.
Paragraph [0038] mentions automated operation processes, but it does not
provide any support for automated operation processes being simulated according to
human operation behaviors through a computer-vision recognition procedure.
There is no support in the specification for features such as “processes are simulated”, “human operation behaviors”, “processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors”, and “processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors through a computer-vision recognition procedure”.
Therefore, the 112 rejection is being maintained in this office action.
Applicant in Pages 6-8 of the Remarks argues that the claimed processes in the amended independent claims 1 and 6 now affirmatively specify methods and devices that are operated by the hardware circuits in the electronic device rather than carried out as mental activities.
Examine respectfully disagrees.
Amended independent claims 1 and 6 covers several steps, such as the selecting and analyze steps in claim 1 and the selects, analyze, select, compares, and determines steps in claim 6, that recite an abstract idea within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper perform the limitations recited in said steps, which is discussed in detail in the 101 rejection below.
The remaining steps in the claims that are identified as reciting additional elements, such as the adjusting step in claims 1 and 6, are only adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, are recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions, and are applying the exception using generic computer components, which is not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception and are not directed to any specific improvement in computer technology.
The additional elements “an automated file adjustment method, which is applicable to an electronic device, wherein the electronic device includes a control circuit, a storage circuit, and a communication circuit, the automated file adjustment method comprising:”, “by the control circuit”, “automated operation processes of a database of the storage circuit in a database of the electronic device”, “through a computer-vision recognition procedure”, “the specified request is performed by a program in the electronic device and by the control circuit”, “the computer-vision recognition procedure is used by the control circuit to analyze”, “through signals of peripheral devices of the electronic device”, and “without low-level programs of the programs in the electronic device” in the steps in claim 1 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
The additional elements “an automated file adjustment system, comprising: an electronic device, wherein the electronic device includes a process automation application, the electronic device includes a control circuit, a storage circuit and a communication circuit”, “in a database of the electronic device”, “through a computer-vision recognition procedure, the computer-vision recognition procedure is used by the control circuit to:”, “the specified request is performed by the control circuit”, “the control circuit adjusts a content of a first file…by controlling peripheral devices and the process automaton application”, “wherein the process automation application compares”, and “the process automation application determines…without low-level programs of the programs in the electronic device” in the steps in claim 6 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Applicant in Page 8 of the Remarks states that Applicant agrees with the examiner's citation that Smith fails to disclose the feature "[a]djusting, by the control circuit, according to the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to the content of the specified request, a content of a first file through signals of peripheral devices of the electronic device, so as to obtain a content of the adjusted first file".
Examiner notes that examiner did not state that Smith fails to disclose "adjusting, according to the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to the content of the specified request, a content of a first file through signals of peripheral devices of the electronic device, so as to obtain a content of the adjusted first file” in the pervious office action.
Applicant in Page 8 of the Remarks further states that in addition, the system of Smith is used to preview the file in the electronic device, and uses determined format to preview the file, the uploading operation of the file of Smith is not operated by the system, the uploading operation of Smith is also operated by a user, and in addition, the format changing of Smith is operated with low-level programs of format changing program.
However, the first file of the present disclosure is operated by the control circuit through signals of the peripheral device without low-level programs of the programs in the electronic device.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s specification does not specify what low-level programs are and how they differ from other programs in an electronic device.
It is not clear how the argued features of Smith mentioned above are relevant to the claimed features. Additionally, Smith does not mention any low-level programs, so it is not clear what argument applicant is presenting against Smith.
Applicant in Pages 8-10 of the Remarks argues that Smith and Jordanov do not teach or even suggest the features "selecting, by the control circuit, from a plurality of automated operation processes of a database of the storage circuit in a database of the electronic device, wherein the automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors through a computer-vision recognition procedure, wherein at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes according to a content of a specified request, wherein the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes corresponds to the content of the specified request, the specified request is performed by a program in the electronic device and by the control circuit, the computer-vision recognition procedure is used by the control circuit to analyze the specified file by an image of the specified file to select the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to the content of the specified request, and adjusting, by the control circuit, according to the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to the content of the specified request, a content of a first file through signals of peripheral devices of the electronic device, so as to obtain a content of the adjusted first file without low-level programs of the programs in the electronic device”, as recited in amended independent claim 1 and similarly recited in amended independent claim 6.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The previously cited prior art Smith and Jordanov alone and/or in combination discloses the argued features.
Smith in [0021] and [0024] discloses accessing files via an electronic device.
Smith in [0043], [0085] and [0086] discloses a device including a communication interface to communicate data, interface including a processor and modules executed by the processor.
Smith in [0043], [0107], and [0108] discloses storage medium including a database that stores one or more sets of instructions, computer programs comprising one or more instructions in memory and storage devices in a computer that are executed by one or more processors in the computer to perform operations.
Smith in [0047], [0061], and [0083] discloses receiving a request from mobile client devices to preview files and automatically converting files based on the request.
Smith in [0058] discloses preview conversion engine generates a plurality of images at different scales, images used as a rough file preview on a mobile client device until better quality documents replace the rough preview information, intermediate previews are stored and used as thumbnails for devices.
Smith in [0069], [0106], and [0107] discloses a computer device including a repository or database managed by a database management system that stores data.
Therefore, Smith discloses an automated file adjustment method applicable to an electronic device including a control circuit, a storage circuit, and a communication circuit.
Smith in [0013] and [0047] discloses providing content previews of files stored in web-based collaboration environment or platform to mobile device clients, converting a file stored in the web-based content management system to a target file format suitable for providing a preview of the file.
Smith in [0019], [0024], and in claim 29 discloses previewing files for users so that the users do not have to download the file to access its contents, users can access, such as edit, update, revise, download, preview, tag, or otherwise manipulate files or images, conversion comprises an indication of a pattern of previously downloaded files.
Smith in [0048], [0082], and [0083] discloses identifying a pattern of previously previewed files, converting a file prior to the file being requested for preview based on a pattern of recent previously requested previews of other files, converting a previously uploaded input file from a source format to a target format based upon a pattern of preview requests from a client device, automatically converting one or more files based on the identified pattern, automatically triggering conversion of a file.
Smith in [0049], [0059], and [0069] discloses database repository storing file segments, tracking location in the repository for accessing preview format of files based on type of device.
Smith in [0061], [0062], and [0078] discloses receiving a request from a mobile device to preview a file, file segments accessed from repository and provided to the mobile client device, file segments are modified or altered for optimal preview on the requesting device, the user request includes a request preview format.
Therefore, Smith discloses a control circuit selecting from a plurality of automated operation processes of a database of the storage circuit in a database of the electronic device, wherein the automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors, at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes according to a content of a specified request.
Smith in [0061], [0062], and [0078] discloses receiving a request from a mobile device to preview a file, file segments accessed from repository and provided to the mobile client device, file segments are modified or altered for optimal preview on the requesting device, the user request includes a request preview format.
Smith in [0083] discloses identifying a pattern and automatically converting one or more files based on the identified pattern, automatically triggering conversion of a file.
Smith in [0097]-[0099] discloses determining if requested file for preview is converted to requested format that is compatible and/or optimal for the requesting mobile client device, if file is not converted then the file is converted from a source format to a target format, file segments are altered based on the type of mobile client device, file segments are altered to match a requested file format that is optimal for display and manipulation on the mobile client device and sent to the client device for preview.
Therefore, Smith discloses wherein the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes corresponds to the content of the specified request, the specified request is performed by a program in the electronic device.
Smith in [0022]-[0025] discloses input mechanism on clients devices include touch screen keypad, such as single touch multi-touch, gesture sensing etc., a physical keypad, a mouse, a pointer, a trac pad, motion detector, a light sensor or a combination of the above, signals received or detected indicating user activity at client devices through one or more input mechanisms are used by users for accessing work items for edit, update, tag, or otherwise manipulate, work item can be a file or image.
Smith in [0061], [0062], and [0078] discloses receiving a request from a mobile device to preview a file, file segments accessed from repository and provided to the mobile client device, file segments are modified or altered for optimal preview on the requesting device, the user request includes a request preview format.
Smith in [0083] discloses identifying a pattern and automatically converting one or more files based on the identified pattern, automatically triggering conversion of a file.
Smith in [0097]-[0099] discloses determining if requested file for preview is converted to requested format that is compatible and/or optimal for the requesting mobile client device, if file is not converted then the file is converted from a source format to a target format, file segments are altered based on the type of mobile client device, file segments are altered to match a requested file format that is optimal for display and manipulation on the mobile client device and sent to the client device for preview.
Therefore, Smith discloses a control circuit adjusting, according to the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to the content of the specified request, a content of a first file through signals of peripheral devices of the electronic device, so as to obtain a content of the adjusted first file.
Smith discloses automated file adjustment method comprising automated operation processes simulated according to a previous pattern of human operation behaviors, however, Smith does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors through a computer-vision recognition procedure,
Jordanov in [0076] discloses an expert systems including algorithms or functions for simulating the judgement and behavior of a human or an organization that has expert knowledge and experience in a particular filed, computer-based vision algorithms and functions automatically extract information from images, computer-based vision algorithms and functions include image recognition algorithms for automatically identifying and/or classifying objects, places, people, and so forth included in one or more image frames or other displayed data, machine vision algorithms allowing computers to see or acquire images for processing, analyzing, and/or measuring various data characteristics for decision making purposes.
Therefore, Jordanov discloses wherein automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors through a computer-vision recognition procedure.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Smith and Jordanov, to have combined Smith and Jordanov. The motivation to combine Smith and Jordanov would be to automatically identify and/or classify various data characteristics for decision making purposes using vision algorithms that include image recognition.
For the above reasons, Examiner states that rejection of the current Office action is proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claim 1 and similarly independent claim 6 recites the feature “wherein the automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors through a computer-vision recognition procedure”, which is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant’s specification in [0040] discloses “In the present embodiment, the automated operation processes AFL1 to AFLN are processes that simulate editing of a file by the user through the computer vision recognition”, which is not the same as the feature “automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors through a computer-vision recognition procedure” recited in the claims.
An automated process simulating a task such as editing by a user is not the same as an automated operation process itself being simulated according to human operation behaviors, as claimed.
Applicant has cited paragraph [0038] of the specification as support for the feature, however, even though [0038] mentions automated operation processes, it does not provide any support for automated operation processes being simulated according to human operation behaviors through a computer-vision recognition procedure.
There is no support in the specification for features such as “processes are simulated”, “human operation behaviors”, “processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors”, and “processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors through a computer-vision recognition procedure”.
Independent claim 1 recites the feature “from a plurality of automated operation processes of a database of the storage circuit in a database of the electronic device”, which is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant’s specification in [0034] discloses “The electronic device ED1 includes a control circuit CR1, a storage circuit SR1, and a communication circuit CM1”, “The control circuit CR1 is connected to the storage circuit SR1 and the communication circuit CM1”, and in [0035] discloses “The process automation application AMAPP1 is installed with the storage circuit SR1 of the electronic device ED1. The storage circuit SR1 of the electronic device ED1 further includes the database DB1, and the database DB1 includes the automated operation processes AFL1 to AFLN”, which is not the same as the feature “a plurality of automated operation processes of a database of the storage circuit in a database of the electronic device” as recited in the claim.
Amended independent claim 1 and similarly amended independent claim 6 recites the feature “without low-level programs of the programs in the electronic device”, which is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant’s specification recites pieces of software installed in an electronic device, however, there is no support in the specification for features such as “low-level programs”, “low-level programs of the programs in the electronic device”, and “without low-level programs of the programs in the electronic device”.
Dependent claims 2-5 and 7-10 inherit the same deficiencies of their base claims, therefore, they are also rejected.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1 the feature “from a plurality of automated operation processes of a database of the storage circuit in a database of the electronic device” is indefinite, because it is not clear if the phrase “in a database of the electronic device” is referring to the same database in the phrase “of a database of the storage circuit” or a different database.
In independent claims 1 and 6, the phrase “without low-level programs of the programs in the electronic device” in the amended feature “so as to obtain a content of the adjusted first file without low-level programs of the programs in the electronic device” is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
As discussed above, there is no support for this feature in applicant’s specification. Therefore, it is not clear what is being claimed by this particular feature or how the feature “without low-level programs of the programs in the electronic device” is tied to the feature of obtaining a content of an adjusted first file. It is also not clear how low-level programs differ from other programs in the electronic device.
Amended independent claims 1 and 6 recite the limitation "the programs of the electronic device" in the feature “without low-level programs in the programs in the electronic device”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Dependent claims 2-5 and 7-10 inherit the same deficiencies of their base claims, therefore, they are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
At step 1:
Independent claims 1 and 6 respectively recite a method and a system, which
are directed to a statutory category such as a process, machine, or an article of
manufacture.
At step 2A, prong one:
Independent claim 1 recites the limitations:
“selecting…from a plurality of automated operation processes of a database of the storage circuit in a database of the electronic device, wherein the automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors…wherein at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes is performed according to a content of a specified request”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper select, from a plurality of automated operation processes of a database of a storage circuit in a database of an electronic device, wherein the automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors, wherein at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes is performed according to a content of a specified request.
“wherein the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes corresponds to the content of the specified request…the specified request is performed….”,
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper select at least one of a plurality of automated operation processes according to a content of a specified request, wherein the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes corresponds to the content of the specified request and the person can mentally or using a pen and paper perform the specified request.
“…analyze the specified file by an image of the specified file to select the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to the content of the specified request”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper analyze a specified file by an image of the specified file to mentally or using a pen and paper select at least one of a plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to a content of a specified request.
The limitations, as recited above in claim 1, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover steps that can be performed in the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper, but for recitation of generic computer components.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Independent claim 6 recites the limitations:
“wherein, from a plurality of automated operation processes in a database of the electronic device…selects at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes according to a content of a specified request”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper select, from a plurality of automated operation processes in a database of an electronic device, at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes according to a content of a specified request.
“wherein the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes corresponds to the content of the specified request, wherein the automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors…”,
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper select at least one of a plurality of automated operation processes according to a content of a specified request, wherein the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes corresponds to the content of the specified request, and wherein the automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors.
“…analyze the specified file by an image of the specified file to select at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to the content of the specified request…”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper analyze a specified file by an image of the specified file to mentally or using a pen and paper select at least one of a plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to a content of a specified request.
“wherein…compares the content of the specified request with the content of the adjusted first file to obtain a comparison result”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper compare content of a specified request with content of an adjusted first file to obtain a comparison result.
“wherein, according to the comparison result…determines whether or not to output the content of the adjusted first file…”.
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine whether or not to output content of an adjusted first file according to a comparison result.
The limitations, as recited above in claim 6, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover steps that can be performed in the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper, but for recitation of generic computer components.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
At step 2A, prong two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Independent claim 1 recites the limitations:
“adjusting, by the control circuit, according to the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to the content of the specified request, a content of a first file through signals of peripheral devices of the electronic device, so as to obtain a content of the adjusted first file without low-level programs of the programs in the electronic device”, which is a step of adjusting or manipulating data. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data manipulation, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The additional elements “an automated file adjustment method, which is applicable to an electronic device, wherein the electronic device includes a control circuit, a storage circuit, and a communication circuit, the automated file adjustment method comprising:”, “by the control circuit”, “automated operation processes of a database of the storage circuit in a database of the electronic device”, “through a computer-vision recognition procedure”, “the specified request is performed by a program in the electronic device and by the control circuit”, “the computer-vision recognition procedure is used by the control circuit to analyze”, “through signals of peripheral devices of the electronic device”, and “without low-level programs of the programs in the electronic device” in the steps in claim 1 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claim a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Independent claim 6 recites the limitations:
“wherein, according to the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to the content of the specified request, the control circuit adjusts a content of a first file to obtain a content of the adjusted first file by controlling peripheral devices and the process automation application”, which is a step of adjusting or manipulating data. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data manipulation, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The additional elements “an automated file adjustment system, comprising: an electronic device, wherein the electronic device includes a process automation application, the electronic device includes a control circuit, a storage circuit and a communication circuit”, “in a database of the electronic device”, “through a computer-vision recognition procedure, the computer-vision recognition procedure is used by the control circuit to:”, “the specified request is performed by the control circuit”, “the control circuit adjusts a content of a first file…by controlling peripheral devices and the process automaton application”, “wherein the process automation application compares”, and “the process automation application determines…without low-level programs of the programs in the electronic device” in the steps in claim 6 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claim a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
At step 2B:
Independent claims 1 and 6 recite the same additional elements as identified in step 2A prong two above. These additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Independent claim 1 recited the limitations:
“adjusting, by the control circuit, according to the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to the content of the specified request, a content of a first file through signals of peripheral devices of the electronic device, so as to obtain a content of the adjusted first file without low-level programs of the programs in the electronic device”, which is a step of adjusting or manipulating data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of electronic recordkeeping (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iii)).
Accordingly, the additional limitations are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea and is not patent eligible.
Independent claim 6 recited the limitations:
“wherein, according to the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to the content of the specified request, the control circuit adjusts a content of a first file to obtain a content of the adjusted first file by controlling peripheral devices and the process automation application”, which is a step of adjusting or manipulating data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of electronic recordkeeping (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iii)).
Accordingly, the additional limitations are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea and is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 2 recites additional limitations, such as:
“comparing…the content of the specified request with the content of the adjusted first file, so as to obtain a comparison result”;
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper compare content of a specified request with content of an adjusted first file to obtain a comparison result, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
“determining…according to the comparison result, whether or not to output the content of the adjusted first file”.
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claim 1, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine, according to a comparison result, whether or not to output content of an adjusted first file, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
The additional elements “by the control circuit” in the steps are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 3 and similarly dependent claim 7 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the plurality of automated operation processes are determined according to a plurality of blocks that are established in the content of the first file by a user”;
These limitations are directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claims 1 and 6, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a plurality of automated operation processes according to a plurality of blocks established in a content of a first file by a user, and because the limitations do not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 4 and similarly dependent claim 8 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the plurality of blocks in the content of the first file include a graphic, a text, a file format, an inspection process, or a line segment;
wherein each of the plurality of automated operation processes at least corresponds to one of the plurality of blocks”.
This limitation is directed to the same abstract idea under the mental processes grouping as independent claims 1 and 6, because a person can mentally or using a pen and paper determine a plurality of automated operation processes according to a plurality of blocks in a content of a first file that can include a graphic, a text, a file format, an inspection process, or a line segment, wherein each of the plurality of automated operation processes at least corresponds to one of the plurality of blocks, and because the limitation does not recite any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 5 and similarly dependent claim 9 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein, without altering a software implementation or an underlying code connection of the electronic device, the plurality of automated operation processes are performed by a plurality of peripheral devices, multiple pieces of software, multiple pieces of firmware, or multiple pieces of hardware installed in the electronic device”, which is a step of performing operation processes using generic computer components.
This limitation is recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no
more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer
components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependents claim 10 recites additional limitations, such as:
“wherein the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes is to perform a mouse click operation process, a keyboard operation process, or a software-automated operation process of the electronic device through a computer vision recognition procedure”, which is a step of performing operation processes.
This limitation is recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no
more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
“wherein the software-automated operation process is to execute one of the multiple pieces of software by a mouse or a keyboard, and the plurality of peripheral devices include the mouse or the keyboard”, which is a step of executing software using generic computer components.
This limitation is recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no
more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, dependent claims 2-5 and 7-10 are also directed to abstract idea without significantly more and are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (US Pub 2013/0238969) in view of Jordanov (US Pub 2024/0311457).
With respect to claim 1, Smith discloses an automated file adjustment method, which is applicable to an electronic device, wherein the electronic device includes a control circuit, a storage circuit, and a communication circuit (Smith in [0021] and [0024] discloses accessing files via an electronic device; Smith in [0043], [0085] and [0086] discloses a device including a communication interface to communicate data, interface including a processor and modules executed by the processor; Smith in [0043], [0107], and [0108] discloses storage medium including a database that stores one or more sets of instructions, computer programs comprising one or more instructions in memory and storage devices in a computer that are executed by one or more processors in the computer to perform operations; Smith in [0047], [0061], and [0083] discloses receiving a request from mobile client devices to preview files and automatically converting files based on the request; Smith in [0069], [0106], and [0107] discloses a computer device including a repository or database managed by a database management system that stores data), the automated file adjustment method comprising:
selecting, by the control circuit, from a plurality of automated operation processes of a database of the storage circuit in a database of the electronic device, wherein the automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors…wherein at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes is performed according to a content of a specified request (Smith in [0013] and [0047] discloses providing content previews of files stored in web-based collaboration environment or platform to mobile device clients, converting a file stored in the web-based content management system to a target file format suitable for providing a preview of the file; Smith in [0019], [0024], and in claim 29 discloses previewing files for users so that the users do not have to download the file to access its contents, users can access, such as edit, update, revise, download, preview, tag, or otherwise manipulate files or images, conversion comprises an indication of a pattern of previously downloaded files; Smith in [0048], [0082], and [0083] discloses identifying a pattern of previously previewed files, converting a file prior to the file being requested for preview based on a pattern of recent previously requested previews of other files, converting a previously uploaded input file from a source format to a target format based upon a pattern of preview requests from a client device, automatically converting one or more files based on the identified pattern, automatically triggering conversion of a file; Smith in [0049], [0059], and [0069] discloses database repository storing file segments, tracking location in the repository for accessing preview format of files based on type of device; Smith in [0061], [0062], and [0078] discloses receiving a request from a mobile device to preview a file, file segments accessed from repository and provided to the mobile client device, file segments are modified or altered for optimal preview on the requesting device, the user request includes a request preview format);
wherein the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes corresponds to the content of the specified request, the specified request is performed by a program in the electronic device and by the control circuit…used by the control circuit to analyze the specified file by an image of the specified file to select the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to the content of the specified request (Smith in [0058] discloses preview conversion engine generates a plurality of images at different scales, images used as a rough file preview on a mobile client device until better quality documents replace the rough preview information, intermediate previews are stored and used as thumbnails for devices; Smith in [0061], [0062], and [0078] discloses receiving a request from a mobile device to preview a file, file segments accessed from repository and provided to the mobile client device, file segments are modified or altered for optimal preview on the requesting device, the user request includes a request preview format; Smith in [0083] discloses identifying a pattern and automatically converting one or more files based on the identified pattern, automatically triggering conversion of a file; Smith in [0097]-[0099] discloses determining if requested file for preview is converted to requested format that is compatible and/or optimal for the requesting mobile client device, if file is not converted then the file is converted from a source format to a target format, file segments are altered based on the type of mobile client device, file segments are altered to match a requested file format that is optimal for display and manipulation on the mobile client device and sent to the client device for preview); and
adjusting, by the control circuit, according to the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to the content of the specified request, a content of a first file through signals of peripheral devices of the electronic device, so as to obtain a content of the adjusted first file without low-level programs of the programs in the electronic device (Smith in [0022]-[0025] discloses input mechanism on clients devices include touch screen keypad, such as single touch multi-touch, gesture sensing etc., a physical keypad, a mouse, a pointer, a trac pad, motion detector, a light sensor or a combination of the above, signals received or detected indicating user activity at client devices through one or more input mechanisms are used by users for accessing work items for edit, update, tag, or otherwise manipulate, work item can be a file or image; Smith in [0061], [0062], and [0078] discloses receiving a request from a mobile device to preview a file, file segments accessed from repository and provided to the mobile client device, file segments are modified or altered for optimal preview on the requesting device, the user request includes a request preview format; Smith in [0083] discloses identifying a pattern and automatically converting one or more files based on the identified pattern, automatically triggering conversion of a file; Smith in [0097]-[0099] discloses determining if requested file for preview is converted to requested format that is compatible and/or optimal for the requesting mobile client device, if file is not converted then the file is converted from a source format to a target format, file segments are altered based on the type of mobile client device, file segments are altered to match a requested file format that is optimal for display and manipulation on the mobile client device and sent to the client device for preview; here content of an adjusted file is obtained without any low-level programs of programs in a device).
Smith discloses automated file adjustment method comprising automated operation processes simulated according to a previous pattern of human operation behaviors, however, Smith does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors through a computer-vision recognition procedure…and…the computer-vision recognition procedure is used…to analyze…;
The Jordanov reference discloses wherein automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors through a computer-vision recognition procedure and the computer-vision recognition procedure is used to analyze (Jordanov in [0076] discloses an expert systems including algorithms or functions for simulating the judgement and behavior of a human or an organization that has expert knowledge and experience in a particular filed, computer-based vision algorithms and functions automatically extract information from images, computer-based vision algorithms and functions include image recognition algorithms for automatically identifying and/or classifying objects, places, people, and so forth included in one or more image frames or other displayed data, machine vision algorithms allowing computers to see or acquire images for processing, analyzing, and/or measuring various data characteristics for decision making purposes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Smith and Jordanov, to have combined Smith and Jordanov. The motivation to combine Smith and Jordanov would be to automatically identify and/or classify various data characteristics for decision making purposes using vision algorithms that include image recognition (Jordanov: [0001] and [0074]).
With respect to claim 2, Smith in view of Jordanov discloses the automated file adjustment method according to claim 1, further comprising:
comparing, by the control circuit, the content of the specified request with the content of the adjusted first file, so as to obtain a comparison result (Smith in [0066] and [0089] discloses interacting with mobile client devices to receive search queries and or criteria and responsively provide one or more intermediate file segments matching the search criteria, if nothing matches the criteria then expanding the search; Smith in [0097] – [0099] discloses determining if requested file for preview is converted to requested format that is compatible and/or optimal for the requesting mobile client device, if file is not converted then the file is converted from a source format to a target format, file segments are altered based on the type of mobile client device, file segments are altered to match a requested file format that is optimal for display and manipulation on the mobile client device and sent to the client device for preview); and
determining, by the control circuit, according to the comparison result, whether or not to output the content of the adjusted first file (Smith in [0066] and [0089] discloses interacting with mobile client devices to receive search queries and or criteria and responsively provide one or more intermediate file segments matching the search criteria, if nothing matches the criteria then expanding the search; Smith in [0097] – [0099] discloses determining if requested file for preview is converted to requested format that is compatible and/or optimal for the requesting mobile client device, if file is not converted then the file is converted from a source format to a target format, file segments are altered based on the type of mobile client device, file segments are altered to match a requested file format that is optimal for display and manipulation on the mobile client device and sent to the client device for preview).
With respect to claim 3, Smith in view of Jordanov discloses the automated file adjustment method according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of automated operation processes are determined according to a plurality of blocks that are established in the content of the first file by a user (Smith in [0024], [0093], and [0099] discloses users accessing digital content to view, edit, update, revise, preview, or otherwise manipulate, digital content includes files, documents, slides, images, audio files, multimedia content, etc., user can request to access one or more sections of a segment of a displayed file; Smith in [0034] discloses users collaborating on projects or jointly working on documents; Smith in [0086] and [0083] discloses auto launch engine on a client device to preview files).
With respect to claim 4, Smith in view of Jordanov discloses the automated file adjustment method according to claim 3, wherein the plurality of blocks in the content of the first file include a graphic, a text, a file format, an inspection process, or a line segment; wherein each of the plurality of automated operation processes at least corresponds to one of the plurality of blocks (Smith in [0024], [0093], and [0099] discloses users accessing digital content to view, edit, update, revise, preview, or otherwise manipulate, digital content includes files, documents, slides, images, audio files, multimedia content, etc., user can request to access one or more sections of a segment of a displayed file; Smith in [0034] discloses users collaborating on projects or jointly working on documents; Smith in [0086] and [0083] discloses auto launch engine on a client device to preview files).
With respect to claim 5, Smith in view of Jordanov discloses the automated file adjustment method according to claim 4, wherein, without altering a software implementation or an underlying code connection of the electronic device, the plurality of automated operation processes are performed by a plurality of peripheral devices, multiple pieces of software, multiple pieces of firmware, or multiple pieces of hardware installed in the electronic device (Smith in [0022] discloses clients devices can include touch screen keypad, such as single touch multi-touch, gesture sensing etc., a physical keypad, a mouse, a pointer, a trac pad, motion detector, a light sensor or a combination of the above; Smith in [0046] and [0083] discloses mobile client device has a specific preview application installed on the device to preview files, identifying patterns of previews requested and automatically converting files based on the identified patterns, automatically triggering conversion of files; Smith in [0086] and [0083] discloses auto launch engine on a client device to preview files).
With respect to claim 6, Smith discloses an automated file adjustment system (Smith in [0019] and [0108] and in Figure 1 discloses a system; Smith in [0021] and [0024] discloses accessing files via an electronic device; Smith in [0043], [0085] and [0086] discloses a device including a communication interface to communicate data, interface including a processor and modules executed by the processor; Smith in [0043], [0107], and [0108] discloses storage medium including a database that stores one or more sets of instructions, computer programs comprising one or more instructions in memory and storage devices in a computer that are executed by one or more processors in the computer to perform operations; Smith in [0047], [0061], and [0083] discloses receiving a request from mobile client devices to preview files and automatically converting files based on the request; Smith in [0069], [0106], and [0107] discloses a computer device including a repository or database managed by a database management system that stores data), comprising:
an electronic device, wherein the electronic device includes a process automation application, the electronic device includes a control circuit, a storage circuit and a communication circuit (Smith in [0021] and [0024] and in Figure 1 discloses an electronic device, accessing files via the electronic device; Smith in [0043], [0085] and [0086] discloses a device including a communication interface to communicate data, interface including a processor and modules executed by the processor; Smith in [0043], [0107], and [0108] discloses storage medium including a database that stores one or more sets of instructions, computer programs comprising one or more instructions in memory and storage devices in a computer that are executed by one or more processors in the computer to perform operations; Smith in [0047], [0061], and [0083] discloses receiving a request from mobile client devices to preview files and automatically converting files based on the request; Smith in [0069], [0106], and [0107] discloses a computer device including a repository or database managed by a database management system that stores data);
wherein, from a plurality of automated operation processes in a database of the electronic device, the process automation application selects at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes according to a content of a specified request (Smith in [0013] and [0047] discloses providing content previews of files stored in web-based collaboration environment or platform to mobile device clients, converting a file stored in the web-based content management system to a target file format suitable for providing a preview of the file; Smith in [0019], [0024], and in claim 29 discloses previewing files for users so that the users do not have to download the file to access its contents, users can access, such as edit, update, revise, download, preview, tag, or otherwise manipulate files or images, conversion comprises an indication of a pattern of previously downloaded files; Smith in [0048], [0082], and [0083] discloses identifying a pattern of previously previewed files, converting a file prior to the file being requested for preview based on a pattern of recent previously requested previews of other files, converting a previously uploaded input file from a source format to a target format based upon a pattern of preview requests from a client device, automatically converting one or more files based on the identified pattern, automatically triggering conversion of a file; Smith in [0049], [0059], and [0069] discloses database repository storing file segments, tracking location in the repository for accessing preview format of files based on type of device; Smith in [0061], [0062], and [0078] discloses receiving a request from a mobile device to preview a file, file segments accessed from repository and provided to the mobile client device, file segments are modified or altered for optimal preview on the requesting device, the user request includes a request preview format);
wherein the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes corresponds to the content of the specified request, wherein the automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors… used by the control circuit to analyze the specified file by an image of the specified file to select the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to the content of the specified request, the specified request is performed by the control circuit (Smith in [0013] and [0047] discloses providing content previews of files stored in web-based collaboration environment or platform to mobile device clients, converting a file stored in the web-based content management system to a target file format suitable for providing a preview of the file; Smith in [0019], [0024], and in claim 29 discloses previewing files for users so that the users do not have to download the file to access its contents, users can access, such as edit, update, revise, download, preview, tag, or otherwise manipulate files or images, conversion comprises an indication of a pattern of previously downloaded files; Smith in [0048], [0082], and [0083] discloses identifying a pattern of previously previewed files, converting a file prior to the file being requested for preview based on a pattern of recent previously requested previews of other files, converting a previously uploaded input file from a source format to a target format based upon a pattern of preview requests from a client device, automatically converting one or more files based on the identified pattern, automatically triggering conversion of a file; Smith in [0058] discloses preview conversion engine generates a plurality of images at different scales, images used as a rough file preview on a mobile client device until better quality documents replace the rough preview information, intermediate previews are stored and used as thumbnails for devices; Smith in [0049], [0059], and [0069] discloses database repository storing file segments, tracking location in the repository for accessing preview format of files based on type of device; Smith in [0061], [0062], and [0078] discloses receiving a request from a mobile device to preview a file, file segments accessed from repository and provided to the mobile client device, file segments are modified or altered for optimal preview on the requesting device, the user request includes a request preview format; Smith in [0097]-[0099] discloses determining if requested file for preview is converted to requested format that is compatible and/or optimal for the requesting mobile client device, if file is not converted then the file is converted from a source format to a target format, file segments are altered based on the type of mobile client device, file segments are altered to match a requested file format that is optimal for display and manipulation on the mobile client device and sent to the client device for preview);
wherein, according to the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes that corresponds to the content of the specified request, the control circuit adjusts a content of a first file to obtain a content of the adjusted first file by controlling peripheral devices and the process automation application (Smith in [0022]-[0025] discloses input mechanism on clients devices include touch screen keypad, such as single touch multi-touch, gesture sensing etc., a physical keypad, a mouse, a pointer, a trac pad, motion detector, a light sensor or a combination of the above, signals received or detected indicating user activity at client devices through one or more input mechanisms are used by users for accessing work items for edit, update, tag, or otherwise manipulate, work item can be a file or image; Smith in [0061], [0062], and [0078] discloses receiving a request from a mobile device to preview a file, file segments accessed from repository and provided to the mobile client device, file segments are modified or altered for optimal preview on the requesting device, the user request includes a request preview format; Smith in [0083] discloses identifying a pattern and automatically converting one or more files based on the identified pattern, automatically triggering conversion of a file; Smith in [0097]-[0099] discloses determining if requested file for preview is converted to requested format that is compatible and/or optimal for the requesting mobile client device, if file is not converted then the file is converted from a source format to a target format, file segments are altered based on the type of mobile client device, file segments are altered to match a requested file format that is optimal for display and manipulation on the mobile client device and sent to the client device for preview);
wherein the process automation application compares the content of the specified request with the content of the adjusted first file to obtain a comparison result (Smith in [0066] and [0089] discloses interacting with mobile client devices to receive search queries and or criteria and responsively provide one or more intermediate file segments matching the search criteria, if nothing matches the criteria then expanding the search; Smith in [0097]-[0099] discloses determining if requested file for preview is converted to requested format that is compatible and/or optimal for the requesting mobile client device, if file is not converted then the file is converted from a source format to a target format, file segments are altered based on the type of mobile client device, file segments are altered to match a requested file format that is optimal for display and manipulation on the mobile client device and sent to the client device for preview);
wherein, according to the comparison result, the process automation application determines whether or not to output the content of the adjusted first file without low-level programs of the programs in the electronic device (Smith in [0066] and [0089] discloses interacting with mobile client devices to receive search queries and or criteria and responsively provide one or more intermediate file segments matching the search criteria, if nothing matches the criteria then expanding the search; Smith in [0097]-[0099] discloses determining if requested file for preview is converted to requested format that is compatible and/or optimal for the requesting mobile client device, if file is not converted then the file is converted from a source format to a target format, file segments are altered based on the type of mobile client device, file segments are altered to match a requested file format that is optimal for display and manipulation on the mobile client device and sent to the client device for preview; here a determination of whether or not to output content of an adjusted first file is made without any low-level programs of programs in a device).
Smith discloses automated file adjustment method comprising automated operation processes simulated according to a previous pattern of human operation behaviors, however, Smith does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors through a computer-vision recognition procedure, the computer-vision recognition procedure is used…to analyze…;
The Jordanov reference discloses wherein automated operation processes are simulated according to human operation behaviors through a computer-vision recognition procedure and the computer-vision recognition procedure is used to analyze (Jordanov in [0076] discloses an expert systems including algorithms or functions for simulating the judgement and behavior of a human or an organization that has expert knowledge and experience in a particular filed, computer-based vision algorithms and functions automatically extract information from images, computer-based vision algorithms and functions include image recognition algorithms for automatically identifying and/or classifying objects, places, people, and so forth included in one or more image frames or other displayed data, machine vision algorithms allowing computers to see or acquire images for processing, analyzing, and/or measuring various data characteristics for decision making purposes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Smith and Jordanov, to have combined Smith and Jordanov. The motivation to combine Smith and Jordanov would be to automatically identify and/or classify various data characteristics for decision making purposes using vision algorithms that include image recognition (Jordanov: [0001] and [0074]).
With respect to claim 7, Smith in view of Jordanov discloses the automated file adjustment system according to claim 6, wherein the plurality of automated operation processes are determined according to a plurality of blocks that are established in the content of the first file by a user (Smith in [0024], [0093], and [0099] discloses users accessing digital content to view, edit, update, revise, preview, or otherwise manipulate, digital content includes files, documents, slides, images, audio files, multimedia content, etc., user can request to access one or more sections of a segment of a displayed file; Smith in [0034] discloses users collaborating on projects or jointly working on documents; Smith in [0086] and [0083] discloses auto launch engine on a client device to preview files).
With respect to claim 8, Smith in view of Jordanov discloses the automated file adjustment system according to claim 7, wherein the plurality of blocks in the content of the first file include a graphic, a text, a file format, an inspection process, or a line segment; wherein the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes at least corresponds to one of the plurality of blocks (Smith in [0024], [0093], and [0099] discloses users accessing digital content to view, edit, update, revise, preview, or otherwise manipulate, digital content includes files, documents, slides, images, audio files, multimedia content, etc., user can request to access one or more sections of a segment of a displayed file; Smith in [0034] discloses users collaborating on projects or jointly working on documents; Smith in [0086] and [0083] discloses auto launch engine on a client device to preview files).
With respect to claim 9, Smith in view of Jordanov discloses the automated file adjustment system according to claim 8, wherein, without altering a software implementation or an underlying code connection of the electronic device, the plurality of automated operation processes are performed by a plurality of peripheral devices, multiple pieces of software, multiple pieces of firmware, or multiple pieces of hardware installed in the electronic device (Smith in [0022] discloses clients devices can include touch screen keypad, such as single touch multi-touch, gesture sensing etc., a physical keypad, a mouse, a pointer, a trac pad, motion detector, a light sensor or a combination of the above; Smith in [0046] and [0083] discloses mobile client device has a specific preview application installed on the device to preview files, identifying patterns of previews requested and automatically converting files based on the identified patterns, automatically triggering conversion of files; Smith in [0086] and [0083] discloses auto launch engine on a client device to preview files).
With respect to claim 10, Smith in view of Jordanov discloses the automated file adjustment system according to claim 9, wherein the at least one of the plurality of automated operation processes is to perform a mouse click operation process, a keyboard operation process, or a software-automated operation process of the electronic device through a computer vision recognition procedure (Smith in [0022] discloses clients devices can include touch screen keypad, such as single touch multi-touch, gesture sensing etc., a physical keypad, a mouse, a pointer, a trac pad, motion detector, a light sensor or a combination of the above; Smith in [0046] and [0083] discloses mobile client device has a specific preview application installed on the device to preview files, identifying patterns of previews requested and automatically converting files based on the identified patterns, automatically triggering conversion of files; Smith in [0086] and [0083] discloses auto launch engine on a client device to preview files; Smith in [0092] and [0093] discloses identifying a swipe action by the user to identify an instruction to be performed, such as a request for one or more file segments to be displayed on the mobile client device, a request to annotate one or more sections of a displayed segment, and/or a request to adjust a displayed segment on the touch screen of the mobile client device for optimal preview);
wherein the software-automated operation process is to execute one of the multiple pieces of software by a mouse or a keyboard, and the plurality of peripheral devices include the mouse or the keyboard (Smith in [0022] discloses clients devices can include touch screen keypad, such as single touch multi-touch, gesture sensing etc., a physical keypad, a mouse, a pointer, a trac pad, motion detector, a light sensor or a combination of the above; Smith in [0046] and [0083] discloses mobile client device has a specific preview application installed on the device to preview files, identifying patterns of previews requested and automatically converting files based on the identified patterns, automatically triggering conversion of files; Smith in [0086] and [0083] discloses auto launch engine on a client device to preview files; Smith in [0092] and [0093] discloses identifying a swipe action by the user to identify an instruction to be performed, such as a request for one or more file segments to be displayed on the mobile client device, a request to annotate one or more sections of a displayed segment, and/or a request to adjust a displayed segment on the touch screen of the mobile client device for optimal preview).
Remarks
The relevant prior art of record that are not used in claim rejections but are pertinent to the claims or disclosure are:
Jordanov (US Pub 2024/0422647), which discloses simulating the judgement and behavior of a human and computer-based vision algorithms and functions including image recognition algorithms for automatically identifying and classifying information.
Krueger (US Pub 2024/0350051), which discloses AI enabled programs automatically trigger actions without human interference and simulate functions such as recognition or judgement like the human brain, or recognizes objects as in human vision.
Contact Information
/R.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2159 /ANN J LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2159