DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
As per preliminary amendment filed by the applicant on 12/17/2024 claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 12, 17 and 19-20 have been amended and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim limitation “configured to” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “configured to” coupled with functional language “control” and "store” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. ([0046] An OTA controller of a vehicle broadcasts a communication control packet to the vehicle based on a preset configuration, where the communication control packet indicates to disable all CAN communication functions except a target CAN communication function in the vehicle, the target CAN communication function includes a first CAN communication function for transmitting a target signal between a control unit and a target unit that are of the vehicle, the target unit is configured to sense…]. Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 1, 4, 15 and 17-20 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: paragraphs [0007 and 0008]. However, these section does not provide any structure thereof and only summarize the functionality.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 el seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because
As per claims 1, 15 and 20
A vehicle control method, comprising: in a software upgrade process of a vehicle, receiving, by a control unit of the vehicle, a signal from a target unit, wherein the target unit is configured to sense whether there is a person in the vehicle; and
when determining, based on the signal, that there is a person in the vehicle, controlling, by the control unit, a basic service unit in the vehicle to provide a basic service.
under Step 2A, Prong 1,
Claims 1, 15 and 20 recite
under Step 2A, Prong 1,
Claims 1, 15 and 20 recite
Claims 1, 15 and 20 fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter as it is directed to a method claim under Step 1. The claim recites the limitations when determining, based on the signal, that there is a person in the vehicle, (mental process) as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. In same manner, a person is capable of determining, based on the signal, that there is a person in the vehicle, the aid of pen and paper by determining. Therefore, these limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the "Mental Processes" grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1.
Under Prog 2
The additional elements “controlling, by the control unit, a basic service unit in the vehicle to provide a basic service” is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere controlling by a control unit which merely using generic computing equipment to execute/run the software tools to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). For the additional elements " controlling, by the control unit, a basic service unit in the vehicle to provide a basic service do nothing more than to add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Under Step 2A Prong 2
software upgrade process of a vehicle, receiving, by a control unit of the vehicle, a signal from a target unit, wherein the target unit is configured to sense whether there is a person in the vehicle is mere data gathering which the courts have identified as well-understood, routine, conventional activity, thus do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception such as data gathering/storing the results of the abstract idea, See MPEP 2106.05(g). Accordingly, the additional elements recited in the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, thus fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application See MPEP 2106.05(d).
Step 2 B
A vehicle control method, comprising: software upgrade process of a vehicle, receiving, by a control unit of the vehicle, a signal from a target unit, wherein the target unit is configured to sense whether there is a person in the vehicle is mere data gathering which the courts have identified as well-understood, routine, conventional activity, thus do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception such as data gathering/storing the results of the abstract idea, See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The additional elements controlling, by the control unit, a basic service unit in the vehicle to provide a basic service” is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere controlling by a control unit which merely using generic computing equipment to execute/run the software tools to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). For the additional elements " controlling, by the control unit, a basic service unit in the vehicle to provide a basic service do nothing more than to add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Regarding claims 2-6
The signal line mere data gathering which the courts have identified as well-understood, routine, conventional activity, thus do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception such as data gathering/storing the results of the abstract idea, See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Regarding claim 7-12
Control unit, vehicle control lock controller which merely using generic computing equipment to execute/run the software tools to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). For the additional elements " controlling, by the control unit, a basic service unit in the vehicle to provide a basic service do nothing more than to add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Regarding claim 13
determining, based on the signal, that there is a person in the vehicle, (mental process) as drafted, are functions that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. In same manner, a person is capable of determining, based on the signal, that there is a person in the vehicle, the aid of pen and paper by determining. Therefore, these limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the "Mental Processes" grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1.
Regarding claim 14
routine, conventional activity, thus do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception such as data gathering/storing the results of the abstract idea, See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Regarding claim 7-12
Air condition… equipment to execute/run the software tools to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). For the additional elements " controlling, by the control unit, a basic service unit in the vehicle to provide a basic service do nothing more than to add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(h).
Regarding claim 16
The signal line mere data gathering which the courts have identified as well-understood, routine, conventional activity, thus do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception such as data gathering/storing the results of the abstract idea, See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Regarding claims 17-20
The receiving module, receive a target signal and received control packet mere data gathering which the courts have identified as well-understood, routine, conventional activity, thus do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception such as data gathering/storing the results of the abstract idea, See MPEP 2106.05(g).
The signal line mere data gathering which the courts have identified as well-understood, routine, conventional activity, thus do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception such as data gathering/storing the results of the abstract idea, See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-15, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mendez Rodriguez et al (thereafter Mendez) US 2022/0321655.
Regarding claims 1, 15 and 20
Mendez teaches,
in a software upgrade process of a vehicle, receiving, by a control unit of the vehicle, a signal from a target unit, wherein the target unit is configured to sense whether there is a person in the vehicle and when determining, based on the signal, that there is a person in the vehicle, controlling, by the control unit, a basic service unit in the vehicle to provide a basic service [0048] in some embodiments, a synthetic sensor orchestration environment may provide an output from a synthetic sensor to another vehicle system outside of the synthetic sensor orchestration environment. In some embodiments, the other vehicle system may take one or more control actions based on the output received from the synthetic sensor. For example, if the synthetic sensor is a synthetic sensor that determines whether or not a passenger is seated in the front seat, an output of the synthetic sensor may be provided to a vehicle system outside of the synthetic sensor orchestration environment, such as a front seat adjustment mechanism controller, wherein the front seat adjustment mechanism controller causes the front seat to automatically move forward if no one is sitting in the front seat such that passengers in the back seat have more leg room] and [0158] various embodiments may further include receiving, sending or storing instructions and/or data implemented in accordance with the foregoing description upon a computer-accessible medium. Generally speaking, a computer-accessible medium may include storage media or memory media such as magnetic or optical media, e.g., disk or DVD/CD-ROM, volatile or non-volatile media such as RAM (e.g. SDRAM, DDR, RDRAM, SRAM, etc.), ROM, etc., as well as transmission media or signals such as electrical, electromagnetic, or digital signals, conveyed via a communication medium such as network and/or a wireless link].
Regarding claim 2
Mendez teaches
the control unit is connected to the target unit through a signal line; and the signal line is configured to transmit the signal from the target unit to the control unit in the software upgrade process of the vehicle [0098] in some embodiments, an IoT software update service, such as IoT software update service 712, may facilitate software updates on devices connected to the IoT software update service, such as vehicles 124, 148, and 150 as illustrated in FIG. 1 or vehicles 602, 604, and 606 as illustrated in FIG. 6. In some embodiments, an IoT software update service may additionally update firmware on a connected device and may utilize encrypted communications to perform the update. In some embodiments, the IoT software update service may also include identity authentication protocols to prevent unauthorized entities from altering software on a connected device, such as a vehicle, and encrypt communications to the connected device to prevent alterations to the software updates].
Regarding claims 4 and 18
Mendez et al teaches
the first preset configuration indicates that the control unit is allowed to receive only a target signal from the target unit through the controller area network, and the target signal is used to determine whether there is a person in the vehicle [0048] in some embodiments, a synthetic sensor orchestration environment may provide an output from a synthetic sensor to another vehicle system outside of the synthetic sensor orchestration environment. In some embodiments, the other vehicle system may take one or more control actions based on the output received from the synthetic sensor. For example, if the synthetic sensor is a synthetic sensor that determines whether or not a passenger is seated in the front seat, an output of the synthetic sensor may be provided to a vehicle system outside of the synthetic sensor orchestration environment, such as a front seat adjustment mechanism controller, wherein the front seat adjustment mechanism controller causes the front seat to automatically move forward if no one is sitting in the front seat such that passengers in the back seat have more leg room] and [0158] various embodiments may further include receiving, sending or storing instructions and/or data implemented in accordance with the foregoing description upon a computer-accessible medium. Generally speaking, a computer-accessible medium may include storage media or memory media such as magnetic or optical media, e.g., disk or DVD/CD-ROM, volatile or non-volatile media such as RAM (e.g. SDRAM, DDR, RDRAM, SRAM, etc.), ROM, etc., as well as transmission media or signals such as electrical, electromagnetic, or digital signals, conveyed via a communication medium such as network and/or a wireless link].
Regarding claim 6
Mendez et al teaches
sending, by the control unit, a packet to the basic service unit by using a unified diagnostic services UDS protocol, wherein the packet indicates the basic service unit to provide a basic service [0067] in some embodiments, the in-vehicle distributed computing environment, such as in-vehicle distributed computing environment 140 illustrated in FIG. 1, may include an orchestration component 302 that determines placement of synthetic sensors and modules of synthetic sensors, a runtime component 304 in which modules of synthetic sensors execute, a monitoring component 306 that provides interfaces for collecting status and capability information from computing devices of the in-vehicle distributed computing environment, such as ECUs. Additionally, the in-vehicle distributed computing environment 140 includes a communication layer 308 that provides protocols and encoding for sending communications between components of the in-vehicle distributed computing environment 140. Also, in-vehicle distributed computing environment 140 includes work 310, which may be tasks of a job performed by different modular components of a modularly placed synthetic sensors that executes in a runtime environment provided by runtime component 304].
Regarding claim 7
Mendez et al teaches
the control unit comprises one or more of a vehicle domain controller (VDC), a cockpit domain controller (CDC), a vehicle integration unit (VIU), or a gateway [0031] additionally, in some embodiments an in-vehicle distributed computing environment may be connected to a virtual ECU, wherein the virtual ECU appears as another ECU of the vehicle but is actually implemented using remote hardware, such as at an edge location or at a data center of a service provider network. For example, the virtual ECU may function as a virtual machine for the vehicle (e.g. cloud compute resource). In some embodiments, an ECU of the vehicle may implement an interface to the virtual ECU. In some embodiments, a virtual domain control unit may also be connected to an in-vehicle distributed computing network, wherein the virtual domain control unit (DCU) implements an additional vehicle domain using remote hardware such as in an edge location or a data center of a provider network. Note the virtual ECU and the virtual DCU may function as a cloud computing resource available to be used for placement of synthetic sensors, of logic modules of modularly placed synthetic sensors, or both, in some embodiments] and [0047] in some embodiments, various domains or operating systems included in a vehicle may include an infotainment domain/OS, a cockpit or control domain/OS, a communications domain/OS, a safety system domain/OS, a vehicle server domain/OS, a telematics communication unit domain/OS, an advanced drive assistance system domain/OS, a cloud domain/OS, an edge processing domain/OS (which may be implemented in part in a cellular communications tower, etc.), and/or a gateway domain/OS. The vehicle may include a common communications bus, but the different domains may be separate branches off of the bus, or data flowing over the bus may not be accessible in all of the domains].
Regrading claim 8
Mendez et al teaches
wherein the target unit is one or more of a vehicle lock controller, a vehicle key controller, a seat controller, a camera, or a vehicle-mounted T-box of the vehicle [0047] In some embodiments, various domains or operating systems included in a vehicle may include an infotainment domain/OS, a cockpit or control domain/OS, a communications domain/OS, a safety system domain/OS, a vehicle server domain/OS, a telematics communication unit domain/OS, an advanced drive assistance system domain/OS, a cloud domain/OS, an edge processing domain/OS (which may be implemented in part in a cellular communications tower, etc.), and/or a gateway domain/OS. The vehicle may include a common communications bus, but the different domains may be separate branches off of the bus, or data flowing over the bus may not be accessible in all of the domains].
Regarding claim 9
Mendez et al teaches
the vehicle key controller; and the signal from the target unit comprises a signal that is from the vehicle key controller and that indicates whether a key of the vehicle is placed in the vehicle, wherein a signal indicating that the key of the vehicle is placed in the vehicle indicates that there is a person in the vehicle, and a signal indicating that the key of the vehicle is not placed in the vehicle indicates that there is no person in the vehicle [0048] In some embodiments, a synthetic sensor orchestration environment may provide an output from a synthetic sensor to another vehicle system outside of the synthetic sensor orchestration environment. In some embodiments, the other vehicle system may take one or more control actions based on the output received from the synthetic sensor. For example, if the synthetic sensor is a synthetic sensor that determines whether or not a passenger is seated in the front seat, an output of the synthetic sensor may be provided to a vehicle system outside of the synthetic sensor orchestration environment, such as a front seat adjustment mechanism controller, wherein the front seat adjustment mechanism controller causes the front seat to automatically move forward if no one is sitting in the front seat such that passengers in the back seat have more leg room and [0047] In some embodiments, various domains or operating systems included in a vehicle may include an infotainment domain/OS, a cockpit or control domain/OS, a communications domain/OS, a safety system domain/OS, a vehicle server domain/OS, a telematics communication unit domain/OS, an advanced drive assistance system domain/OS, a cloud domain/OS, an edge processing domain/OS (which may be implemented in part in a cellular communications tower, etc.), and/or a gateway domain/OS. The vehicle may include a common communications bus, but the different domains may be separate branches off of the bus, or data flowing over the bus may not be accessible in all of the domains].
Regarding claim 10
Mendez et al teaches
wherein the target unit comprises the seat controller; and the signal from the target unit comprises a signal that is from the seat controller and that indicates whether there is a person in a seat of the vehicle, wherein a signal indicating that there is a person in the seat of the vehicle indicates that there is a person in the vehicle, and a signal indicating that there is no person in the seat of the vehicle indicates that there is no person in the vehicle [0048] In some embodiments, a synthetic sensor orchestration environment may provide an output from a synthetic sensor to another vehicle system outside of the synthetic sensor orchestration environment. In some embodiments, the other vehicle system may take one or more control actions based on the output received from the synthetic sensor. For example, if the synthetic sensor is a synthetic sensor that determines whether or not a passenger is seated in the front seat, an output of the synthetic sensor may be provided to a vehicle system outside of the synthetic sensor orchestration environment, such as a front seat adjustment mechanism controller, wherein the front seat adjustment mechanism controller causes the front seat to automatically move forward if no one is sitting in the front seat such that passengers in the back seat have more leg room].
Regarding claim 11
Mendez et al teaches
the vehicle- mounted T-box and the signal from the target unit comprises a signal that is from the vehicle- mounted T-box and that indicates whether there is a person in the vehicle [0047] in some embodiments, various domains or operating systems included in a vehicle may include an infotainment domain/OS, a cockpit or control domain/OS, a communications domain/OS, a safety system domain/OS, a vehicle server domain/OS, a telematics communication unit domain/OS, an advanced drive assistance system domain/OS, a cloud domain/OS, an edge processing domain/OS (which may be implemented in part in a cellular communications tower, etc.), and/or a gateway domain/OS. The vehicle may include a common communications bus, but the different domains may be separate branches off of the bus, or data flowing over the bus may not be accessible in all of the domains].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mendez Rodriguez et al (thereafter Mendez) US 2022/0321655 in view of Kim et al US 021/0331706.
Regarding claim 12
Mendez et al teaches controller (see figs 4-50 but doesn’t teach explicitly the vehicle lock controller; and the signal from the target unit further comprises a signal that is from the vehicle lock controller and that indicates that a vehicle lock of the vehicle is in an unlocked or locked state, wherein a signal indicating that the vehicle lock of the vehicle is in the an unlocked state indicates that there is a person in the vehicle, and a signal indicating that the vehicle lock of the vehicle is in the locked state indicates that there is no person in the vehicle, However Kim et al teaches [0368] As such, when the boarding of the designated passenger is reserved, the controller 870 may sense a face image of a person approaching the vehicle 100, and compare facial features extracted from the sensed image with facial features of the designated passenger. When the vehicle 100 is approached by the designated passenger reserved for boarding, the vehicle door may be unlocked so that the designated passenger can open the door to get in the vehicle 100. In addition, the controller 879 may generate a control command so that a lamp is turned on or a specified buzzer sound is output to notify that the authentication is successfully completed. [0369] As for the designated passenger, available seats and functions may be limited. For example, the designated passenger may only be allowed to sit in the passenger seat or the back seat. In addition, the designated passenger may be allowed to use an AVN (Audio Video System) and an indoor air conditioning system, but may not be allowed to operate functions related to driving control of the vehicle 100. In more detail, when the designated passenger tries to control the vehicle 100, i.e., trying to turn on the vehicle 100, the controller 870 may generate a control command for preventing the vehicle 100 from being driven by the designated passenger. In addition, a notification message of a non-authorized driver may be output. Meanwhile, even though the designated passenger is not close to the vehicle 100, the controller 870 may output a signal for notifying the designated passenger of a location of the vehicle 100 when the designated passenger is detected. To this end, the controller 870 may generate a control command for operating a horn or light. In this case, as the designated passenger gets closer to the vehicle 100, the controller 870 may generate a control command for selectively controlling a plurality of devices (e.g., a horn, lights, lamps, etc.) provided in the vehicle 100 according to a distance between the vehicle 100 and the designated passenger. This is to help the designated passenger to find the location of the vehicle 100 more easily. In addition, when the designated passenger is sufficiently close to the vehicle 100, a voice alarm (notification) for guiding the designated passenger to get in the vehicle 100 may be output. When the designated passenger gets in the vehicle 100, information for notifying the boarding of the designated passenger may be transmitted to the registered user's mobile terminal]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate vehicle locking mechanism. The modification would have been obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine teaching into vehicle lock systems automatically secure your car’s doors without manual input, improving safety, convenience, and security for both driver and passengers.
Regarding claim 13
Kim et al teaches
a signal from the vehicle key controller, the seat controller, the camera, or the vehicle-mounted T-box has a higher priority than that from the vehicle lock controller and the determining, based on the signal, that there is a person in the vehicle comprises when determining, based on the signal from the vehicle lock controller, that there is no person in the vehicle, and determining, based on the signal from the vehicle key controller, the seat controller, the camera, or the vehicle-mounted T-box, that there is a person in the vehicle, determining, by the control unit, that there is a person in the vehicle [0244] the sensing unit 820 may include at least one sensor for detecting a surrounding situation of the robot 800. Such a sensor may include a camera 821 capable of sensing an image signal. One or a plurality of cameras 821 may be provided. When the camera 821 is provided in plurality, each of the plurality of cameras 821 may be independently operated to sense a respective image signal. In addition, the sensing unit 820 may include a microphone 822 for sensing an audio signal. The image signal sensed by the camera 821 or the audio signal sensed by the microphone 822 may be analyzed by the controller 870 and provided to a user, which can be processed through a control command generated by the controller 870 or input by the user]. The feature of providing camera…would be obvious for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14
Kim et al teaches
the basic service unit comprises one or more of an air conditioner, a speaker, an in-vehicle infotainment screen, a horn, a wiper, a vehicle light, or a dashboard in the vehicle [0306] meanwhile, the predetermined angle may be approximately 120 degrees. This is because when the robot 800 is installed at the center of a dashboard in a general vehicle that typically features two front seats configuration having a driver's seat and a passenger seat next to the driver's seat, the driver is located at the left or right side of the vehicle, not the center. Accordingly, an angle between the front of the vehicle 100 and the driver from the robot 800 installed position may be approximately 120 degrees] and 0361] in this case, the controller 870 may generate a control command for operating any one of various devices of the vehicle 100, so as to notify that the user authentication is successfully completed. The various devices of the vehicle 100 may include a horn, turn signal lights, lamps, or the like in the vehicle 100. Here, the controller 870 may generate a control command in a manner that the various devices are operated differently according to a distance between the recognized (identified) user and the vehicle 100]. The feature of providing dashboard…would be obvious for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim16
Mendez et al teaches
connected to the target unit through a signal line and the signal line is configured to transmit the signal from the target unit to the control apparatus in the software upgrade process of the vehicle [0098] in some embodiments, an IoT software update service, such as IoT software update service 712, may facilitate software updates on devices connected to the IoT software update service, such as vehicles 124, 148, and 150 as illustrated in FIG. 1 or vehicles 602, 604, and 606 as illustrated in FIG. 6. In some embodiments, an IoT software update service may additionally update firmware on a connected device and may utilize encrypted communications to perform the update. In some embodiments, the IoT software update service may also include identity authentication protocols to prevent unauthorized entities from altering software on a connected device, such as a vehicle, and encrypt communications to the connected device to prevent alterations to the software updates]. The feature of providing upgrade… would be obvious for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 17 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Relevant Prior art
US 20160335073 A1 Hong teaches Iin an example, a system is provided and the system includes a motor vehicle component client, a server located in the cloud, and an application to be installed on a personal portable device, such as mobile phone or other portable, mobile electronic device. In some examples, the system enables efficient vehicle software updates to the Engine Control Unit (ECU), the head unit, or the like, or combinations thereof, and/or enables efficient wireless transmission of vehicle data analytics associated with diagnostic information, location information, or the like, or combinations thereof.
US 20210302941 A1 Francis et al teaches a system comprising one or more computers implements a synthetic sensor service configured to deploy synthetic sensors to an in-vehicle computing device implementing a synthetic sensor orchestration environment for a vehicle. The synthetic sensor orchestration environment determines a placement decision for a new synthetic sensor to be added to the vehicle based on one or more annotations included in a synthetic sensor package for the new synthetic sensor. The synthetic sensor service and respective synthetic sensor orchestration environments implemented in various types of vehicles provide a consistent way to remotely add additional synthetic sensors and/or other functionality to different types of vehicles after the vehicles have already been put in use by respective owners or operators of the vehicles.
US 20210173629 A1 DEJEAN teaches method for remotely updating software embedded in a computer storage unit (20) of a vehicle comprising at least one human-machine interface (60) with a display, the method comprising the steps of: detecting a presence of an occupant in the vehicle, if no occupant is present in the vehicle, then the method performs the update remotely and comprises a step of using the display of the human-machine interface (60) in a power-saving mode
US 20220078077 A1 Mifsud et al teaches a system comprising one or more computers implements a virtual domain control unit/virtual electronic control unit service configured to deploy vehicle code packages to one or more of a plurality of supported virtual domain control unit/electronic control unit orchestration environments, which include both a local orchestration environment and one or more remote orchestration environments. In such orchestration environments, virtual domain control units and/or virtual electronic control units are implemented that execute code included in the vehicle code packages. In some embodiments, such virtual domain control units or virtual electronic control units allow computing capacity and/or data storage capacity of a vehicle to be augmented via remotely implemented virtual domain control units and/or remotely implemented virtual electronic control units.
Conclusion
/ANIL KHATRI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2191