DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Date et al. (US 20170021615 A1) in view of Li et al. (CN 205336168 U).
Regarding claim 1, Date discloses A recording device (see fig. 1) including a piezoelectric element (Pzt, fig. 4) and a recording head ejecting liquid by driving the piezoelectric element (inherent in fig. 3-4), and performing recording by the liquid ejected by the recording head (inherent in fig. 1), the recording device comprising:
an amplifier unit (430, fig. 5,14, para 141-146) amplifying and outputting residual vibration voltage caused by residual vibration generated in the piezoelectric element after the piezoelectric element is driven by a drive signal (see Abstract, para 77,135,141-146); and
a setting unit setting an amplification factor of the residual vibration voltage by the amplifier unit (inherent in fig. 14, para 141-146), wherein
the amplifier unit includes,
an operational amplifier (542, fig. 14, para 141-143),
a first resistor (R0, fig. 14, para 141-146) connected to the operational amplifier,
a plurality of switches (Sw0-Sw7, fig. 14, para 141-146), and
a plurality of second resistors (R1-R8, fig. 14, para 141-146) having different resistance values (Date is silent regarding the resistance values of R0-R8. However, a plurality of second resistors having different resistance values is taught in Li below.) and connected to the operational amplifier via each of the plurality of switches (see fig. 14),
the recording device includes a selection unit (544, fig. 14, para 141-146) selecting any one of the plurality of switches in accordance with the amplification factor set by the setting unit so as to connect any one of the plurality of second resistors to the operational amplifier (see fig. 14, para 141-146), and
the amplifier unit amplifies the residual vibration voltage with an amplification factor according to a resistance ratio between the first resistor and the second resistor selected by the selection unit (see fig. 14, para 141-146).
Date does not appear to explicitly disclose the following italicized portion: a plurality of second resistors having different resistance values.
However, Date, as modified by Li, discloses the italicized portion: a plurality of second resistors having different resistance values (Li discloses an alternative layout to switching the amplification gain of an op-amp. See Li’s fig. 2 and the highlighted portions of the translation of Li that teach differently valued resistances R4-R7 and corresponding switches S1-S5. Note that the “first resistor” in Li could be at least any one of the resistors found in the ADC, MCU, or DAC, or R1, R2, or R3, or the inherent parasitic resistance in any of the lines connected to the op-amp.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace Date’s gain switching layout with Li’s since Li’s layout is simply an alternative layout that accomplishes the same objective as Date’s, and choosing a layout is merely a design choice.
Regarding claim 2, Date, as modified by Li, further discloses The recording device according to claim 1, wherein an anomaly in the recording head is detected based on the residual vibration voltage amplified by the amplifier unit (see Date’s Abstract, para 77,135,141-146).
Regarding claim 4, Date, as modified by Li, further discloses The recording device according to claim 1, further comprising: a generation unit (Date’s 120, fig. 5) generating a plurality of drive signals according to a plurality of drive patterns of the piezoelectric element (Date’s fig. 12).
Regarding claim 5, Date, as modified by Li, further discloses The recording device according to claim 1, further comprising: a designation unit (Date’s 510, fig. 5, para 78-88) designating a drive signal for driving the piezoelectric element from among the plurality of drive signals (see Date’s para 78-88); and a switch unit (Date’s 520, fig. 5,6, para 78-88) outputting a drive signal designated by the designation unit from among the plurality of input drive signals to the piezoelectric element (see Date’s fig. 5, para 78-88).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Date et al. (US 20170021615 A1) in view of Oishi (US 20080197924 A1).
See fig. 6 of Oishi. It would be obvious to replace Date’s gain switching layout with Oishi’s since Oishi’s layout is simply an alternative layout that accomplishes the same objective as Date’s, and choosing a layout is merely a design choice. Explicit item-to-item matching has been omitted due to limited resources.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Date et al. (US 20170021615 A1) in view of Liang (CN 2252982 Y).
See fig. 2 of Liang. It would be obvious to replace Date’s gain switching layout with Liang’s since Liang’s layout is simply an alternative layout that accomplishes the same objective as Date’s, and choosing a layout is merely a design choice. Explicit item-to-item matching has been omitted due to limited resources.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Date et al. (US 20170021615 A1) in view of Curran, Jr. (US 4520304 A).
See 12, fig. 2 of Curran, Jr. It would be obvious to replace Date’s gain switching layout with Curran Jr’s since Curran Jr’s layout is simply an alternative layout that accomplishes the same objective as Date’s, and choosing a layout is merely a design choice. Explicit item-to-item matching has been omitted due to limited resources.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN SEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853
August 6, 2026