DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 4192634 to Campos in view of US Patent 3791781 to Fujiyama and further in view of US Patent 3918137 to Telang.
As to claim 1, Campos discloses forming at least a main rotor housing (12), a first side housing (13) and a second side housing (14); forming a first side plate (43) and a second side plate (44).
Campos discloses how the first and second side plates house a cooling channel (16) but does not expressly disclose how the housing is made from an aluminum alloy and selecting interface surfaces between at least the main rotor housing, the first side housing, the second side housing, the first side plate and the second side plate; masking non-selected surface of the each of the at least the main rotor housing, the first side housing, the second side housing, the first side plate and the second side plate; and applying an anti-fretting coating to the selected interface surfaces.
Fujuyama discloses how the housing is made from an aluminum alloy (Col 2 Line 8-9) and selecting all interfaces that adjoin fastening surfaces and applying an anti-fretting coating to the selected interface surfaces (Col 2, Line 19-37) to accommodate wear brought about by thermal expansion and contraction due to a cooling channel and its influence on those surfaces (Col 1, Line 15-36).
Telang discloses how during wear resistant coating all non-coating surfaces ae masking to prevent coating on undesired surfaces (Col 5, Line 38-50).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Campos to include how the housing is made from an aluminum alloy and selecting interface surfaces between at least the main rotor housing, the first side housing, the second side housing, the first side plate and the second side plate; masking non-selected surface of the each of the at least the main rotor housing, the first side housing, the second side housing, the first side plate and the second side plate; and applying an anti-fretting coating to the selected interface surfaces using the combined teachings of Fujuyama and Telang so as to made the housing of a durable and stable material as known in the art, while providing a wear resistant material at all interfaces between components held by fasteners and interfacing with a cooling channel (Fujiyama Col 2, Line 19-37) to avoid wear on components due to thermal expansion and contraction which would lead to coolant leaking, where the an anti-fretting coating is applied by masking non-selected surface of the each of the at least the main rotor housing, the first side housing, the second side housing, the first side plate and the second side plate so as to avoid application of the coating on other undesired surfaces which could cause additional waste of material, work to remove said undesired material, and negative influence on component tolerance during assembly.
Claims 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 4192634 to Campos in view of US Patent 3791781 to Fujiyama and further in view of US Patent 3918137 to Telang as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of US Patent 5911809 to Cordy.
As to claim 3, Campos does not expressly disclose comprising applying the anti-fretting coating to first thickness and machining the anti-fretting coating to a second thickness that is less than the first thickness, however it is commonly known as shown in Cordy (Col 1, Line 45-56) that masked coatings are applied in a spray range and then machined down to the desired tolerance to create a flat surface and to adhere to the tolerances of the machine as a whole.
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 4192634 to Campos in view of US Patent 3791781 to Fujiyama and further in view of US Patent 3918137 to Telang as applied to Claim 1 above and further in view of US Patent 11333068 to Savaria.
As to claim 6, Campos does not expressly disclose the anti-fretting coating comprises one of a chromium carbide, an aluminum bronze, or a tungsten carbide.
Savaria discloses a similar rotary internal combustion engine including an anti-fretting coating [50 and/or 70] comprising a thermal spray coating containing at least one of a chromium carbide or tungsten carbide (col. 5 lines 44-50, col. 6 lines 32-47, col. 7 lines 12-17, and Figures 1-4). I At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Campos to include the anti-fretting coating to contain chromium carbide or tungsten carbide using the teachings of Savaria as that these compositions are also wear-resistant (col. 4 lines 63-65 and col. 5 lines 44-50) capable of achieving the desired results. This amounts to a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-16 allowed.
Claim 2,4-5,7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746