CTNF 18/952,076 CTNF 82022 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada et al. (2020/0406612) (hereinafter Yamada et al.) . Regarding Claim 1, Yamada et al. teaches a recording device (1, Figs. 3A-3B) including a piezoelectric element (417, Fig. 4) and a recording head (41, Fig. 4) ejecting liquid by driving the piezoelectric element (41), the recording device (1) performing recording by the liquid ejected by the recording head (41) [Column 5 lines 55-67 and Column 7 lines 4-25], the recording device (1) comprising: a first output unit (70, Fig. 5) outputting a first drive signal (COM_A, Fig. 5) for driving the piezoelectric element (417) [Column 8 line 18-47]; a second output unit (70) outputting a second drive signal (COM_B, Fig. 5) for driving the piezoelectric element (417) [Column 8 lines 18-47]; a first switch (86A, Fig. 8) switching on or off input of the first drive signal (COM_A) output from the first output unit (70) to the piezoelectric element [Column 10 lines 37-47, Column 11 line32-Column 11 line 10]; a second switch (86B, Fig. 8) switching on or off input of the second drive signal (COM_B) output from the second output unit (70) to the piezoelectric element (417) [Column 10 lines 37-47; Column 11 line32-Column 11 line 10]; a selection output unit (HC, Fig. 8) outputting selection information indicating which of the first drive signal (COM_A) and the second drive signal (COM_B) is to be input to the piezoelectric element (417) based on image data [Column 10 line 32-Column 11 line 10]; and a control output unit (83, Fig. 8) outputting to the first switch (86A) and the second switch (86B) a switch control signal (SW_A, SW_B, Fig. 8) for controlling on and off of the first switch (86A) and the second switch (86B) based on the selection information input from the selection output unit (HC) and a timing signal (see Fig. 9) defining a switching timing of the selection information [Column 3 lines 16-24; 32-36, Column 13 line 64 – Column 14 line 41], wherein the switch control signal (SW_A, SW_B) output by the control output unit (83) is a control signal for turning off the first switch (86A) and the second switch (86B) during a predetermined period (T, Fig. 13) including the switching timing defined by the timing signal (see Fig. 9) [Column 11 line 12 – Column 13 line 3]. Regarding Claim 5, Yamada et al. teaches the recording device (1), wherein the first drive signal (COM_A) and the second drive signal (COM_B) are signals in accordance with a size of a droplet of the liquid ejected from the recording head (41) [Colum 13 line 64-Column 14 line 54]. Regarding Claim 6, Yamada et al. teaches the recording device (1), wherein the first drive signal (COM_A) and the second drive signal (COM_B) are signals in accordance with whether the liquid is to be ejected from the recording head (41) [Column 13 line 64-Column 14 line 65]. Regarding Claim 7, Yamada et al. teaches the recording device (1) wherein the predetermined period (T) is longer than a delay time from a timing when a switch control signal (SW_A, SW_B) for turning off the first switch (86A) is input to the first switch (86B) in an on state until a timing when the first switch (86A) enters an off state [Column 19 lines 15-41]. Regarding Claim 8, Yamada et al. teaches the recording device (1), wherein the predetermined period (T) is longer than a delay time from a timing when a switch control signal (SW_A, SW_B) for turning off the second switch (86A) is input to the second switch (86B) in an on state until a timing when the second switch (86B)enters an off state [Column 19 lines 15-41] . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the allowance of claim(s) 2 is the inclusion of the limitation of a recording device that includes a predetermined period includes a period from a timing of a leading edge of a pulse signal as a timing signal to a timing of a trailing edge of the pulse signal. It is these limitations found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination, that has not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art . The primary reason for the allowance of claims 3-4 is the inclusion of the limitation of a recording device that includes a control output unit including a first and second logical AND circuit outputting a signal of a first level (L) whenever a signal of the first level is present among a plurality of input signals, obtaining a signal by inverting a timing signal as an input to the first and second logical AND circuit, and a control output unit outputs an output signal of the first logical AND circuit to the first switch and an output signal of the second logical AND circuit to the second switch. It is these limitations found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination, that has not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LISA SOLOMON whose telephone number is (571)272-1701. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 9:30am -6pm, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Douglas Rodriguez can be reached at (571) 431-0716. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LISA SOLOMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/952,076 Page 2 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/952,076 Page 3 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/952,076 Page 4 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/952,076 Page 5 Art Unit: 2853