DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final, first office action in response to the communication filed on 11/19/2024. Claims 1—5 are currently pending.
Priority
The Applicant’s claim for benefit of Japanese Patent Application JP2023-204481 filed in the country of Japan on 12/04/2023, has been received and acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement received 11/19/2024 has been reviewed and considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 recites “the control device is configured to perform control so as to switch…” however, as presented, the limitation should like be amended to recite “the control device is configured to: perform control so as to switch…”. Appropriate correction is requested
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a control device” as recited in claims 1—5. For example, the claim element “a control device” is equivalent to reciting “a device for controlling,” where “device” is a nonce term and “controlling” is a function. As recited in claim 1, the limitations directed to the control device are exclusively directed to the function of the control device and do not recite any structure(s) for the control device. Based on the instant application, it is understood that the “control device” is an electronic control unit (e.g., ECU 100; see para. [0083] of instant application) which may further comprise either computer components (e.g., processor, memory) or electronic circuitry (e.g., see para. [0038] of instant application). As such, the “control device” is interpreted as consisting of: computer components, electronic circuitry, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1—5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The preamble of claim 1 states “a control device for locking a device that fixes a connector to an inlet of a vehicle.” As such, the claim is understood to be directed to a control device. However, extensive portions of the claim, including every limitation which recites structure, are directed to components which are not the control device. For example, the connector, vehicle, external device, locking device, and power supply are elements recited in the claim which do not constitute part of the control device (e.g., the apparatus to which the claim is directed). The inclusion of extensive limitations directed to components which are not the claimed apparatus obfuscates the metes and bounds of the claim insofar as the preamble is directed to an apparatus (e.g., a control device), but the claim appears to describe a system (e.g., a system comprising a control device, a locking device, and a power source). As such, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear therefore rendering the claim indefinite.
In view of the foregoing, the only limitations which are correctly directed to the subject matter of the preamble are those which are directed to the control device. The identified limitations are as follows: “a control device… wherein… control is performed so as to switch the locking device to an unlocked state,” and “the control device is configured to: perform control so as to switch the locking device to the unlocked state… and maintain the locking device in the locked state…”. In order to benefit compact prosecution, all claim limitations have been considered and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as provided below.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the connector includes a connector that supplies power to an external device external to the vehicle,” where the recitation of “a connector,” is improper with respect to antecedent basis and renders the claim indefinite. For example, it is unclear what the relationship is between “the connector” and “a connector”, and the manner in which the limitations are drafted indicate that they are different elements. While the claim is rendered indefinite for the foregoing reasons, for the purposes of examination “the connector” and “a connector” are understood to be the same element.
Claim 1 recites “power supply to the external device is stopped when control is performed so as to switch the locking device to an unlocked state while power is supplied with the locking device in the lock state.” The utilization of “when” and “while” as provided above, obfuscates the metes and bounds of the claim. For example, it is unclear whether the control performed to the lock causes the power supply to stop or if the power supply just happens to be stopped when the control is performed. The limitation reciting “while power is supplied with the locking device in the locked state” is additionally unclear insofar as the limitation could either be directed to an action taken at the same time or in juxtaposition. As such, the relationships between the elements in the limitation cited above are unclear in a manner which renders the claim indefinite. The limitations of “perform control… while no power is supplied in the locked state” and “maintain the locking device… while power is supplied in the locked state,” are drafted in a similar manner (e.g., using “when” and “while”) and are indefinite for the same reasons as provided above. Claims 2—5 include similar drafting style which should likewise be amended.
With continued regards for claim 1, the claim element “a control device” was identified to include a computer and/or electronic circuitry as described above. Claim 1 recites the limitation “the control device is configured to perform control so as to switch the locking device to the unlocked state.” Examiner notes that computer processors and circuitry are not able to directly and physically control or adjust a physical object such as a locking device. Instead the computer sends signals to achieve the intended task. Claim 1 should be amended to recite the correct manner in which the control takes place.
Claims 2—5 depend from claim 1 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1—5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Published US Patent Application to Ando hereinafter Ando ‘900 (US 20210170900 A1).
As addressed above, the only limitations which are aligned with the preamble of the claim are those that are directed to the control device rather than the system in which it operates. Ando 900’ fully discloses the features of the control device as follows:
Regarding claim 1, Ando ‘900 discloses [a] control device (ECU 170) for a locking device that fixes a connector to an inlet of a vehicle, wherein:… the control device is configured to perform control so as to: switch the locking device to the unlocked state (para. [0051], “ECU 170… controls connector lock device 111 to set charging connector 210 to the unlocked state (step S117).”) when a first operation (calculating and displaying remaining charging time, see FIG. 3) is performed while no power is supplied in the locked state (para. [0051], “[s]ubsequently, ECU 170 controls charging device 130 to limit the charging current (step S116), and controls connector lock device 111 to set charging connector 210 to the unlocked state (step S117). For example, the charging current may be decreased to a predetermined current, or may be decreased by a predetermined ratio. It should be noted that the charging current may be limited to zero (0).” Please see labelled FIG. 3 as provided below which depicts various combinations of locking, charging, and calculating/displaying remaining time. Examiner notes that charging current i2 may include a charging current of zero. As such, the configuration of Section 2 reads on the foregoing limitation), and maintain the locking device in the locked state when the first operation is performed while power is supplied in the locked state (See Section 1 and Section 3 of FIG. 3 provided below where the charging current i1 is greater than zero, the connector is in the locked state, and the remaining charge time is continuously being calculated).
Ando ‘900 further discloses control is performed so as to switch the locking device to an unlocked state (see FIG. 3, the transition between Section 1 and Section 2 shows control performed to unlock the connector) while power is supplied with the locking device in a locked state (see FIG. 3, the charging connector is locked and the charging current is providing power until t1 after which, control is performed and the charging connector is unlocked).
Regarding claim 2, Ando ‘900 dislcoses [t]he control device… wherein the control device performs control so as to switch the locking device to the unlocked state (para. [0043], “unlocks a connector”) when a second operation (para. [0043], “unlocking of a door”) different from the first operation (calculating and displaying estimated time) is performed while power is supplied in the locked state (para. [0043], “[t]here is also provided a charging system that unlocks a connector in cooperation with the unlocking of a door and stops charging.” Examiner notes unlocking the door causes the charging connector to unlock and reduces the charging current to zero where it was previously charging.).
Regarding claim 3, Ando ‘900 discloses [t]he control device… wherein the control device performs control (see the transition between Section 1 and Section 2 as provided in FIG. 3 above) so as to switch the locking device to the unlocked state (the charging connector transitions from the locked ins Section 1 to unlocked state in Section 2) when the first operation is performed a plurality of times (calculating the remaining charge is continuously being performed in Section 1 and is therefore performed a plurality of times) while power is supplied in the locked state (See Section 1 where charging current is greater than zero and the charging connector is locked.).
Regarding claim 4, Ando ‘900 discloses [t]he control device… wherein the control device executes a process of indicating an operation (blinking; para. [0055], “when ECU 170 determines that the charging current is limited (YES in step S132), ECU 170 reads the remaining charging time stored in step S115 from the memory (step S135), controls DCM 160 to transmit information for displaying the read remaining charging time in a blinking manner.”) necessary to switch the locking device to the unlocked state (as discussed in para. [0051], the charging connector is unlocked in the event that the charging current is limited) when the first operation is performed while power is supplied in the locked state (Section 1 shows power supplied in the locked state while the remaining charge time is being calculated. Control is performed at t1 which executes the blinking screen which occurs when the system transitions to the unlocked state.).
Regarding claim 5, Ando ‘900 discloses wherein the control device (ECU 170) performs control so as to switch the locking device to the unlocked state (para. [0051], “ECU 170… controls connector lock device 111 to set charging connector 210 to the unlocked state (step S117).”) when the second operation is performed (para. [0049]—[0051], “ECU 170 determines whether or not an operation for unlocking door lock device 180 is performed by the user (step S111). When ECU 170 determines that the operation for unlocking the door is performed (YES in step S111), ECU 170 controls door lock device 180 to switch to the unlocking state (step S112)… Subsequently, ECU 170 controls charging device 130 to limit the charging current (step S116), and controls connector lock device 111 to set charging connector 210 to the unlocked state (step S117). For example, the charging current may be decreased to a predetermined current, or may be decreased by a predetermined ratio. It should be noted that the charging current may be limited to zero (0).”) while no power is supplied in the locked state (para. [0051], “ECU 170 controls charging device 130 to limit the charging current (step S116). The charging may be limited to zero).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1—5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Published US Patent Application to Ando hereinafter Ando ‘900 (US 20210170900 A1) in view of Published US Patent Application to Ando et al., hereinafter Ando ‘610 (US 20210245610 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ando ‘900 discloses [a] control device (ECU 170) for a locking device that fixes a connector to an inlet of a vehicle, wherein:… the control device is configured to perform control so as to: switch the locking device to the unlocked state (para. [0051], “ECU 170… controls connector lock device 111 to set charging connector 210 to the unlocked state (step S117).”) when a first operation (calculating and displaying remaining charging time, see FIG. 3) is performed while no power is supplied in the locked state (para. [0051], “[s]ubsequently, ECU 170 controls charging device 130 to limit the charging current (step S116), and controls connector lock device 111 to set charging connector 210 to the unlocked state (step S117). For example, the charging current may be decreased to a predetermined current, or may be decreased by a predetermined ratio. It should be noted that the charging current may be limited to zero (0).” Please see labelled FIG. 3 as provided below which depicts various combinations of locking, charging, and calculating/displaying remaining time. Examiner notes that charging current i2 may include a charging current of zero. As such, the configuration of Section 2 reads on the foregoing limitation), and maintain the locking device in the locked state when the first operation is performed while power is supplied in the locked state (See Section 1 and Section 3 of FIG. 3 provided below where the charging current i1 is greater than zero, the connector is in the locked state, and the remaining charge time is continuously being calculated).
Ando ‘900 further discloses control is performed so as to switch the locking device to an unlocked state (see FIG. 3, the transition between Section 1 and Section 2 shows control performed to unlock the connector) while power is supplied with the locking device in a locked state (see FIG. 3, the charging connector is locked and the charging current is providing power until t1 after which, control is performed and the charging connector is unlocked).
While Ando ‘900 fully discloses the control device as set forth in claim 1, Ando ‘900 may recite the specific system configuration in which the control device is used. Regarding the system elements, Ando ‘900 discloses a control device (ECU 170), a locking device (locking device 111), a connector (charging connector 210), and a power supply (external power supply 400). However, Ando ‘900 is utilized in a system where a vehicle 100 is charged by an external power source 300 (please see FIG. 1). In comparison, the claim is focused on a system where a power source of the vehicle is used to charge an apparatus which is external to the car. To this end, Examiner notes that, with the exception of the external power source, all of the elements claimed above are part of the vehicle including ECU 170 which controls the locking device 111, door lock device 180, and charging device 130 (and power storage device 120 by extension). Ando ‘900 at para. [0035] further states “[p]ower storage device 120 is a chargeable/dischargeable power storage component. Power storage device 120 includes a secondary battery...”. Given that the power storage device of Ando ‘900 is dischargable, it may be used to charge an apparatus external to the car including a second battery if that battery were removable.
While Ando ‘900 contains all of the necessary components to read on the claim elements of claim 1, Ando ‘900 does not teach a vehicle which is charging an external power source. However, Published US Patent Application to Ando ‘610, which is in the same field of endeavor as the instant application insofar as it is directed to a vehicle system which is capable of charging an external device, teaches the above identified deficiencies. For example, Ando ‘610 teaches [a] control device (ECU 100) for a locking device (lock mechanism 206) that fixes a connector (para. [0095], “[w]hen ECU 100 determines based on the predetermined information that the power can be exchanged between the connector and battery 214, ECU 100 sets lock mechanism 206 to the lock state.”) to an inlet of a vehicle (vehicle 200), wherein: the connector includes a connector that supplies power to an external device external to the vehicle (Ando ‘610, para. [0005], “[a]n inlet may be provided with a lock mechanism that restricts removal of a connector (locks the connector) when the connector is attached to the inlet, to prevent the connector from being easily removed during a subsequent charging operation or discharging operation.”; para. [0013], “information indicating that the power to be exchanged between the connector and the power storage device is discharging power discharged from the power storage device.”; para. [0047], “[h]ere, an expression “power can be exchanged” indicates that at least one of charging or discharging is possible. That is, inlet 202 can receive supply of power to be used to charge battery 214, from the external facility. Further, inlet 202 enables supply (discharging) of power of battery 214 to the external facility.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Ando ‘900 such that it was configured to function in a scenario where energy is discharged from the battery to an external source, as described by Ando ‘610. The control device, to which the claim is directed, would work the same in either scenario where all of the components of the control device are part of the vehicle as identified above, and merely require modification of the power being discharged rather than received. The modification would provide the predictable result of a control device for a locking mechanism usable in a discharging operation.
Regarding claim 2, Ando ‘900 modified by Ando ‘610 teaches [t]he control device… wherein the control device performs control so as to switch the locking device to the unlocked state (para. [0043], “unlocks a connector”) when a second operation (para. [0043], “unlocking of a door”) different from the first operation (calculating and displaying estimated time) is performed while power is supplied in the locked state (para. [0043], “[t]here is also provided a charging system that unlocks a connector in cooperation with the unlocking of a door and stops charging.” Examiner notes unlocking the door causes the charging connector to unlock and reduces the charging current to zero where it was previously charging.).
Regarding claim 3, Ando ‘900 modified by Ando ‘610 teaches [t]he control device… wherein the control device performs control (see the transition between Section 1 and Section 2 as provided in FIG. 3 above) so as to switch the locking device to the unlocked state (the charging connector transitions from the locked ins Section 1 to unlocked state in Section 2) when the first operation is performed a plurality of times (calculating the remaining charge is continuously being performed in Section 1 and is therefore performed a plurality of times) while power is supplied in the locked state (See Section 1 where charging current is greater than zero and the charging connector is locked.).
Regarding claim 4, Ando ‘900 modified by Ando ‘610 teaches [t]he control device… wherein the control device executes a process of indicating an operation (Ando ‘900, blinking; para. [0055], “when ECU 170 determines that the charging current is limited (YES in step S132), ECU 170 reads the remaining charging time stored in step S115 from the memory (step S135), controls DCM 160 to transmit information for displaying the read remaining charging time in a blinking manner.”) necessary to switch the locking device to the unlocked state (as discussed in para. [0051] of Ando ‘900, the charging connector is unlocked in the event that the charging current is limited) when the first operation is performed while power is supplied in the locked state (Ando ‘900, Section 1 shows power supplied in the locked state while the remaining charge time is being calculated. Control is performed at t1 which executes the blinking screen which occurs when the system transitions to the unlocked state.).
Regarding claim 5, Ando ‘900 modified by Ando ‘610 teaches wherein the control device (Ando ‘900, ECU 170) performs control so as to switch the locking device to the unlocked state (Ando ‘900, para. [0051], “ECU 170… controls connector lock device 111 to set charging connector 210 to the unlocked state (step S117).”) when the second operation is performed (Ando ‘900, para. [0049]—[0051], “ECU 170 determines whether or not an operation for unlocking door lock device 180 is performed by the user (step S111). When ECU 170 determines that the operation for unlocking the door is performed (YES in step S111), ECU 170 controls door lock device 180 to switch to the unlocking state (step S112)… Subsequently, ECU 170 controls charging device 130 to limit the charging current (step S116), and controls connector lock device 111 to set charging connector 210 to the unlocked state (step S117). For example, the charging current may be decreased to a predetermined current, or may be decreased by a predetermined ratio. It should be noted that the charging current may be limited to zero (0).”) while no power is supplied in the locked state (Ando ‘900, para. [0051], “ECU 170 controls charging device 130 to limit the charging current (step S116). The charging may be limited to zero).
Conclusion
/U.L.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676