DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to applicant’s filing on 11/19/2024 and 1/27/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and considered below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Comparing claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 with claims 1-10 of the instant application:
“A method for relocating autonomous vehicles of a plurality of autonomous vehicles available for use by certain individuals, the method comprising:” of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 is the same as “A method for relocating autonomous vehicles of a plurality of autonomous vehicles available for use by certain individuals, the method comprising:” of the instant application;
“providing a first hardware server including a first network interface; establishing, via said first network interface, a vehicle data connection between said first hardware server and each autonomous vehicle of said plurality of said autonomous vehicles” of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 is equivalent to “establishing a network connection with each autonomous vehicle of said plurality of said autonomous vehicles” of the instant application;
“receiving vehicle location data associated with each autonomous vehicle of said plurality of autonomous vehicles via said vehicle data connections between said first hardware server and each autonomous vehicle of said autonomous vehicles” of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 is equivalent to “receiving vehicle location information associated with each autonomous vehicle of said plurality of autonomous vehicles via said network connections” of the instant application;
“defining a first geographical region” of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 is the same as “defining a first geographical region” of the instant application;
“determining a demand for said autonomous vehicles within said first geographical region” of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 is the same as “determining a demand for said autonomous vehicles within said first geographical region” of the instant application;
“determining a first number of said autonomous vehicles that are available within said first geographical region, based at least in part on said vehicle location information” of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 is the same as “determining a first number of said autonomous vehicles that are available within said first geographical region, based at least in part on said vehicle location information” of the instant application;
“determining whether said first number of the autonomous vehicles corresponds to said demand for said autonomous vehicles within said first geographical region” of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 is the same as “determining whether said first number of the autonomous vehicles corresponds to said demand for said autonomous vehicles within said first geographical region” of the instant application; and
“if said first number of the autonomous vehicles available within said first geographical region does not correspond to said demand for said autonomous vehicles within said first geographical region, communicating, from said first hardware server, movement instructions to a particular one of said autonomous vehicles, via a particular one of said network connections; and relocating, responsive to receiving said movement instructions, said particular one of said autonomous vehicles into or out of said first geographical region, thereby changing said first number of the autonomous vehicles available within said first geographical region to a second number of said autonomous vehicles available within said first geographical region, said second number of said available autonomous vehicles in said first geographical region corresponding more closely to said demand for said autonomous vehicles within said first geographical region than said first number of said available autonomous vehicles in said first geographical region” of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 is equivalent to “if said first number of the autonomous vehicles available within said first geographical region does not correspond to said demand for said autonomous vehicles within said first geographical region, communicating movement instructions to a particular one of said autonomous vehicles, via a particular one of said network connections, to cause said particular one of said autonomous vehicles to move into or out of said first geographical region, thereby changing said first number of the autonomous vehicles available within said first geographical region to a second number of said autonomous vehicles available within said first geographical region, said second number of said available autonomous vehicles in said first geographical region corresponding more closely to said demand for said autonomous vehicles within said first geographical region than said first number of said available autonomous vehicles in said first geographical region” of the instant application.
Comparing claims 10-19 of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 with claims 11-20 of the instant application:
“A method for relocating an autonomous vehicle, said method comprising:” of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 is the same as “A method for relocating an autonomous vehicle, said method comprising:” of the instant application;
“establishing a network connection with at least one user device” of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 is the same as “establishing a network connection with at least one user device” of the instant application;
“receiving, at a hardware server associated with said autonomous vehicle, a request for said autonomous vehicle from said at least one user device via said network connection, said request including location information associated with said at least one user device” of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 is equivalent to “receiving a request for an autonomous vehicle from said at least one user device via said network connection, said request including location information associated with said at least one user device” of the instant application;
“determining a particular location based on said location information” of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 is the same as “determining a particular location based on said location information” of the instant application;
“identifying available autonomous vehicles within a first predetermined distance of said particular location” of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 is the same as “identifying available autonomous vehicles within a first predetermined distance of said particular location” of the instant application;
“selecting a particular one of said identified available autonomous vehicles” of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 is the same as “selecting a particular one of said identified available autonomous vehicles” of the instant application;
“establishing a network connection with said selected autonomous vehicle” of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 is the same as “establishing a network connection with said selected autonomous vehicle” of the instant application; and
“providing, from said hardware server, relocation instructions to said selected autonomous vehicle via said network connection; autonomously piloting, responsive to receiving said relocation instructions, said selected autonomous vehicle to a new location within a second predetermined distance of said particular location, said second predetermined distance being shorter than said first predetermined distance” of U.S. Patent Number 11,604,463 is equivalent to “providing relocation instructions to said selected autonomous vehicle via said network connection, said relocation instructions causing said autonomous vehicle to relocate to a new location within a second predetermined distance of said particular location, said second predetermined distance being shorter than said first predetermined distance” of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without integrating the judicial exception into a practical application and without an additional element which amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claims 1-10, step 1 analysis, the subject matter of claims 1-10 is included in the four patent-eligible subject matter categories (e.g., process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter). Claims 1-10 are directed to a method.
Claims 1-10 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea). The claim limitations recite a revised step 2A, prong one, abstract idea (a mental process involving observation and evaluation which could be performed in the human mind). Claims 1-10 are directed to a method for determining movement instructions for autonomous vehicles which would cause the number of autonomous vehicles available within a geographical region to correspond to the demand for autonomous vehicles within the geographical region. This limitation is a simple process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, the claims encompass a fleet manager deciding to adjust vehicle locations to balance supply and demand for a ride service. Thus, the claims recite a mental process.
Claims 1-10 include the revised step 2A, prong two additional elements of determining a demand for said autonomous vehicles within a geographical region, determining a number of autonomous vehicles that are available within a geographical region, and communicating movement instructions to a particular one of said autonomous vehicles. Determining a demand for said autonomous vehicles within a geographical region and determining a number of said autonomous vehicles that are available within a geographical region are recited at a high level of generality and amount to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Communicating movement instructions to a particular one of said autonomous vehicles is also recited at a high level of generality and also represents insignificant extra-solution activity. Claims 1-10 do not recite revised step 2A, prong two additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claims 1-10 generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (autonomous vehicles). See MPEP 2106.05(g-h) and the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, which is available on the USPTO Website.
Claims 1-10 include the step 2B additional element of a network connection. Applicant’s specification does not provide any indication that the network connection is anything other than a conventional network connection. Receiving information and communicating instructions are well-understood, routine and conventional functions when claimed using a generic network connection. Network connections are widely prevalent and in common use in autonomous vehicles. A network connection is not significantly more than the judicial exception since it is a well-understood, routine and conventional feature previously known to the autonomous vehicle industry. Therefore, claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding claims 11-20, step 1 analysis, the subject matter of claims 11-20 is included in the four patent-eligible subject matter categories (e.g., process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter). Claims 11-20 are directed to a method.
Claims 11-20 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea). The claim limitations recite a revised step 2A, prong one, abstract idea (a mental process involving observation and evaluation which could be performed in the human mind). Claims 11-20 are directed to a method for determining relocation instructions for a selected autonomous vehicle. This limitation is a simple process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, the claims encompass a fleet manager determining which vehicle to dispatch to meet a passenger request for service. Thus, the claims recite a mental process.
Claims 11-20 include the revised step 2A, prong two additional elements of receiving a request for an autonomous vehicle, determining a particular location, and providing relocation instructions to said selected autonomous vehicle. Receiving a request for an autonomous vehicle and determining a particular location are recited at a high level of generality and amount to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Providing relocation instructions to said selected autonomous vehicle is also recited at a high level of generality and also represents insignificant extra-solution activity. Claims 11-20 do not recite revised step 2A, prong two additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claims 11-20 generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (autonomous vehicles). See MPEP 2106.05(g-h) and the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Claim 12 includes the revised step 2A, prong two additional element of providing a graphical representation of available autonomous vehicles. The step of providing a graphical representation of available autonomous vehicles within a first predetermined distance of a particular location to a user device amounts to mere post solution displaying, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Claim 12 does not recite a revised step 2A, prong two additional element that integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 12 generally links the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (autonomous vehicles).
Claims 11-20 include the step 2B additional element of a network connection. Applicant’s specification does not provide any indication that the network connection is anything other than a conventional network connection. Receiving information and communicating instructions are well-understood, routine and conventional functions when claimed using a generic network connection. Network connections are widely prevalent and in common use in autonomous vehicles. A network connection is not significantly more than the judicial exception since it is a well-understood, routine and conventional feature previously known to the autonomous vehicle industry. Therefore, claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chase et al. (US-2018/0321050-A1, hereinafter Chase).
Regarding claim 1, Chase discloses:
establishing a network connection with each autonomous vehicle of said plurality of said autonomous vehicles (paragraphs [0039-0040] and FIG. 1, Autonomous Vehicle Enhancement System (AVES) - 10, autonomous vehicle-20, AVES Central Operations Center (COC) - 100, and vehicle equipment-200);
receiving vehicle location information associated with each autonomous vehicle of said plurality of autonomous vehicles via said network connections (paragraph [0040] and FIG. 1, Autonomous Vehicle Enhancement System (AVES) - 10, autonomous vehicle-20, AVES Central Operations Center (COC) - 100, vehicle equipment-200, and real-time vehicle location data-404);
defining a first geographical region (paragraph [0067], standby locations for autonomous vehicles throughout the transportation network’s geographic area);
determining a demand for said autonomous vehicles (paragraph [0044] and FIG. 2, AVES Central Operations Center (COC) - 100, computer servers-120, Artificial Intelligence (AI) system-130, knowledge base-140, vehicle records for each of the autonomous vehicles registered in the transportation network-400, user records for each of the users registered in the transportation network-500, and trip records for each trip performed by the transportation network-600);
within said first geographical region (paragraph [0067] and FIG. 1, AVES Central Operations Center (COC) - 100, and real-time vehicle location data-404);
determining a first number of said autonomous vehicles that are available within said first geographical region, based at least in part on said vehicle location information (paragraph [0067] and FIG. 1, autonomous vehicle-20, AVES Central Operations Center (COC) - 100, and real-time vehicle location data-404);
determining whether said first number of the autonomous vehicles corresponds to said demand for said autonomous vehicles within said first geographical region (paragraph [0067] and FIG. 2, computer servers-120, Artificial Intelligence (AI) system-130, and knowledge base-140); and
if said first number of the autonomous vehicles available within said first geographical region does not correspond to said demand for said autonomous vehicles within said first geographical region, communicating movement instructions to a particular one of said autonomous vehicles, via a particular one of said network connections, to cause said particular one of said autonomous vehicles to move into or out of said first geographical region, thereby changing said first number of the autonomous vehicles available within said first geographical region to a second number of said autonomous vehicles available within said first geographical region, said second number of said available autonomous vehicles in said first geographical region corresponding more closely to said demand for said autonomous vehicles within said first geographical region than said first number of said available autonomous vehicles in said first geographical region (paragraph [0057] and FIG. 5A, Execute vehicle distribution optimization algorithm and guide vehicle to standby location).
Regarding claim 2, Chase further discloses:
establishing a network connection with each user device of a plurality of user devices, each of said user devices being associated with a respective one of said certain individuals (paragraph [0041]; FIG. 1, computing devices-30, AVES COC-100, AVES application-300, and trip information-506; and FIG. 4, computing device-30, and AVES application-300);
receiving user location information indicative of a current location of an accessing one of said user devices each time one of said user devices accesses a server associated with said autonomous vehicles (paragraph [0055]; FIG. 1, computing devices-30, AVES COC-100, AVES application-300, and trip information-506; and FIG. 4, computing device-30, and AVES application-300);
determining from said user location information a number of times that said server is accessed from within said first geographical region (paragraph [0067] and FIG. 2, computer servers-120, Artificial Intelligence (AI) system-130, and knowledge base-140); and
determining a demand for said autonomous vehicles within said first geographical region based at least in part on said number of times that said server is accessed within said first geographical region (paragraph [0067] and FIG. 2, computer servers-120, Artificial Intelligence (AI) system-130, and knowledge base-140).
Regarding claim 3, Chase further discloses:
receiving preference information associated with particular ones of said certain individuals associated with said user location information (paragraph [0055]); and
wherein determining said demand for said autonomous vehicles within said first geographical region includes determining a demand for autonomous vehicles having a particular characteristic based at least in part on said preference information (paragraph [0067] and FIG. 5A, Execute matchmaking algorithm to select vehicle from active pool to fulfill trip request).
Regarding claim 4, Chase further discloses:
receiving time information associated with particular ones of said certain individuals associated with said user location information (paragraph [0055], real-time user location); and
wherein determining said demand for said autonomous vehicles within said first geographical region includes determining a demand for autonomous vehicles during a particular time period based at least in part on said time information (paragraph [0067]).
Regarding claim 5, Chase further discloses:
wherein said particular time period is a recurring time period (paragraph [0067], Vehicle Distribution Optimization Algorithm uses current information and information from knowledge base (e.g., real-time vehicle location data, historical information regarding previous trip requests, real-time information regarding current trip requests, and information regarding scheduled events in the transportation network’s geographic area) to select standby locations for autonomous vehicles).
Regarding claim 6, Chase further discloses:
dividing a larger geographical region into a plurality of geographical regions including said first geographical region (paragraph [0067], computer server guides autonomous vehicles in the active pool, which are not assigned to respond to trip requests from hailing users, to standby locations throughout the transportation network’s geographic area);
determining from said user location information a demand for autonomous vehicles within each geographical region of said plurality of geographical regions (paragraph [0067] and FIG. 2, computer servers-120, Artificial Intelligence (AI) system-130, and knowledge base-140);
determining from said vehicle location information an available number of said autonomous vehicles within each geographical region of said plurality of geographical regions (paragraph [0067] and FIG. 2, computer servers-120, Artificial Intelligence (AI) system-130, and knowledge base-140);
determining whether, within each particular geographical region of said plurality of geographical regions, said available number of said autonomous vehicles within each particular geographical region corresponds to said demand for said autonomous vehicles within that particular geographical region (paragraph [0067], Vehicle Distribution Optimization Algorithm uses current information and information from knowledge base (e.g., real-time vehicle location data, historical information regarding previous trip requests, real-time information regarding current trip requests, and information regarding scheduled events in the transportation network’s geographic area) to select standby locations for autonomous vehicles);
identifying a first subset of said plurality of geographical regions in which said available number of said autonomous vehicles is insufficient to meet said demand for said autonomous vehicles (paragraph [0067], standby locations may include fueling/power-charging stations, street parking spaces, parking garages, airports and bus stations, schools, and taxi queues);
identifying a subset of said autonomous vehicles to relocate to at least one geographical region of said identified subset of said plurality of geographical regions (paragraph [0067], computer server guides autonomous vehicles in the active pool, which are not assigned to respond to trip requests from hailing users, to standby locations throughout the transportation network’s geographic area); and
communicating movement instructions to said autonomous vehicles of said subset of autonomous vehicles to cause said autonomous vehicles of said subset of autonomous vehicles to move into one of said geographical regions of said first subset of geographical regions (paragraph [0057] and FIG. 5A, Execute vehicle distribution optimization algorithm and guide vehicle to standby location).
Regarding claim 7, Chase further discloses:
identifying a second subset of said plurality of geographical regions in which said available number of said autonomous vehicles exceeds said demand for said autonomous vehicles (paragraph [0067], computer server guides autonomous vehicles in the active pool, which are not assigned to respond to trip requests from hailing users, to standby locations throughout the transportation network’s geographic area); and
wherein said step of identifying a subset of said autonomous vehicles to relocate to said first subset of said plurality of geographical regions includes selecting ones of said autonomous vehicles from within said second subset of geographical regions (paragraph [0067]).
Regarding claim 8, Chase further discloses:
receiving a request for an autonomous vehicle at a particular location (paragraph [0059], the trip request including a pickup location; and FIG. 5A, Receive trip request from hailing user);
determining whether there is an available autonomous vehicle within a predetermined distance of said particular location (paragraph [0061] and FIG. 5A, Execute matchmaking algorithm to select vehicle from active pool to fulfill trip request); and
if there is not an available autonomous vehicle within a predetermined distance of said particular location, communicating movement instructions to a selected available one of said autonomous vehicles to cause said selected available one of said autonomous vehicles to move to a new location within said predetermined distance of said particular location (paragraph [0067] and FIG. 5A, Execute vehicle distribution optimization algorithm and guide vehicle to standby location).
Regarding claim 9, Chase further discloses:
said step of receiving a request for an autonomous vehicle at a particular location includes receiving a request for an autonomous vehicle at a particular time (paragraph [0059], the trip request including a pickup location and pickup date/time); and
said movement instructions cause said selected available one of said autonomous vehicles to move to said new location within a predetermined time period prior to said particular time (paragraph [0067]).
Regarding claim 10, Chase further discloses:
said step of receiving a request for an autonomous vehicle at a particular location includes receiving a request for an autonomous vehicle having a particular characteristic (paragraph [0055]); and
said selected available one of said autonomous vehicles is selected based at least in part on said particular characteristic (paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 11, Chase further discloses:
establishing a network connection with at least one user device (paragraph [0041] and FIG. 1, Autonomous Vehicle Enhancement System (AVES) - 10, computing devices-30, AVES Central Operations Center (COC) - 100, and AVES applications-300);
receiving a request for an autonomous vehicle from said at least one user device via said network connection (paragraph [0041]);
said request including location information associated with said at least one user device (paragraph [0055]);
determining a particular location based on said location information (paragraph [0055]);
identifying available autonomous vehicles within a first predetermined distance of said particular location (paragraph [0061] and FIG. 5A, Execute matchmaking algorithm to select vehicle from active pool to fulfill trip request);
selecting a particular one of said identified available autonomous vehicles (paragraph [0061]);
establishing a network connection with said selected autonomous vehicle (paragraphs [0039-0040] and FIG. 1, AVES-10, autonomous vehicle-20, AVES COC - 100, and vehicle equipment-200);
providing relocation instructions to said selected autonomous vehicle via said network connection (paragraphs [0039-0040]); and
said relocation instructions causing said autonomous vehicle to relocate to a new location within a second predetermined distance of said particular location, said second predetermined distance being shorter than said first predetermined distance (paragraph [0061] and FIG. 5A, Guide vehicle to fulfill trip request).
Regarding claim 13, Chase further discloses:
wherein said step of identifying available autonomous vehicles within said first predetermined distance of said particular location includes: (paragraph [0061] and FIG. 5A, Execute matchmaking algorithm to select vehicle from active pool to fulfill trip request);
identifying a set of autonomous vehicles within said first predetermined distance of said particular location (paragraph [0061], real-time vehicle location data); and
identifying a subset of available autonomous vehicles from said set of autonomous vehicles (paragraph [0057], active pool).
Regarding claim 14, Chase further discloses:
further comprising modifying a status indicator of said selected autonomous vehicle to indicate that said selected autonomous vehicle is no longer available (paragraph [0047] and FIG. 3, autonomous vehicle-20, AVES vehicle equipment-200, and AVES vehicle control system-210).
Regarding claim 15, Chase further discloses:
said step of receiving a request for an autonomous vehicle from said at least one user device includes receiving a request for an autonomous vehicle having a particular characteristic (paragraph [0055]); and
said step of identifying a subset of available autonomous vehicles from said set of autonomous vehicles includes identifying a subset of available autonomous vehicles having said particular characteristic (paragraph [0061]).
Regarding claim 16, Chase further discloses:
wherein said particular characteristic is a class of said available autonomous vehicles (paragraph [0055], user preferences may include pricing, priority, speed of trip, vehicle capacity, cabin temperature, etc.).
Regarding claim 17, Chase further discloses:
wherein said particular characteristic is a feature of said available autonomous vehicles (paragraph [0055], user preferences may include pricing, priority, speed of trip, vehicle capacity, cabin temperature, etc.).
Regarding claim 18, Chase further discloses:
wherein said location information is GPS data received from said user device (paragraph [0055]).
Regarding claim 19, Chase further discloses:
wherein said location information is entered by a user of said user device (paragraph [0059], trip information including pickup location).
Regarding claim 20, Chase further discloses:
said request for an autonomous vehicle specifies a particular time period for renting said at least one autonomous vehicle (paragraph [0059], trip information including pickup location, pickup date/time, destination location, and any intermediate stop locations);
said step of providing relocation instructions to said selected autonomous vehicle (paragraphs [0039-0040]); and
includes providing relocation instructions causing said autonomous vehicle to relocate to said new location within a predetermined time period prior to a starting time of said particular time period (paragraph [0061] and FIG. 5A, Guide vehicle to fulfill trip request).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chase, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Turato (US-2019/0266897-A1, hereinafter Turato).
Regarding claim 12, Chase does not disclose selection of a particular autonomous vehicle from a graphical display on a user device. However, Turato discloses a connected fleet communication and interface system, including the following features:
responsive to receiving said request (paragraph [0021] and FIG. 1, mobile device-100, reservation server-101, reservation database-102, and vehicle-104);
for an autonomous vehicle (paragraph [0014]);
providing a graphical representation of available autonomous vehicles within said first predetermined distance of said particular location to said user device (paragraph [0021] and FIG. 2, map-110); and
wherein said step of selecting a particular one of said identified available autonomous vehicles includes receiving information indicative of a selection of said particular one of said available autonomous vehicles from said user device (paragraph [0021]).
Turato teaches that a mobile device application should display a map of locations of available vehicles in order to enable a user to select a favorite vehicle (paragraph [0021]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the map display of available vehicles of Turato into the Autonomous Vehicle Enhancement System computing device display of Chase. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a user with a visual indication of the selection of available autonomous vehicles.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abari et al. (US-2019/0196503-A1) discloses autonomous-vehicle dispatch based on fleet-level target objectives (Abstract).
Shaheen et al., Autonomous Carsharing/Taxi Pathways, Envisioning Automated Vehicles within the Built Environment-Ancillary Workshop to the TRB Automated Vehicles Symposium, July 18, 2014, discusses the impact of autonomous vehicles on the way people use carsharing and taxi services (Abstract).
TAMARA L. WEBER
Examiner
Art Unit 3667
/TAMARA L WEBER/Examiner, Art Unit 3667