DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending and under current examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 19 recites “wherein the composition includes” in line 5. The examiner recommends amending the claim to recite “comprises” in place of “includes”. Although in this instance, “includes” is interpreted as a transitional phrase rather than preceding exemplary language, the consistency of the claims would be improved by the suggested amendment. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, line 3 recites “a thickening system including”. The word “including” in this instance renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether that substances that follow are required or merely exemplary.
The term “substantial leakage” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantial leakage” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention in terms of the amount of leakage that would be acceptable in compositions falling within the scope of the claims.
Claim 2 recites “pigments based on bismuth oxychloride” in line 4. The phrase “based on” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear the extent to which a substance must resemble bismuth oxychloride in order to fall within the scope of the claim.
Claim 1 requires the thickening system to be present in an amount sufficient to cause the cosmetic composition to be retained within a rollerball cartridge assembly without substantial leakage; however, the viscosity (which reflects the amount and identity of thickening agents in the composition) required to retain a composition within a rollerball cartridge is contingent on specific features of the cartridge that vary among different cartridges (see e.g. Roberts US 20090257971, claim 14, which indicates that the clearance between the rotatable ball and the container housing carrying the rotatable ball affects the retention of composition, depending on viscosity). Because the parameter of the rollerball in claim 1 are not defined, the requisite viscosity is also undefined and the claim is indefinite.
The phrase “may be” and the parentheses in claim 5, line 4 render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the phrase within the parentheses and following the word “may be” is required or merely exemplary.
The parentheses in claim 9, line 4 render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the phrase within the parentheses is required or merely exemplary.
The term “substantial leakage” in claim 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantial leakage” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention in terms of the amount of leakage that would be acceptable in compositions falling within the scope of the claims.
Claim 19, line 7 recites “a thickening system including”. The word “including” in this instance renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether that substances that follow are required or merely exemplary.
Claim 19 requires the thickening system to be present in an amount sufficient to cause the cosmetic composition to be retained within a rollerball cartridge assembly without substantial leakage; however, the viscosity (which reflects the amount and identity of thickening agents in the composition) required to retain a composition within a rollerball cartridge is contingent on specific features of the cartridge that vary among different cartridges (see e.g. Roberts US 20090257971, claim 14, which indicates that the clearance between the rotatable ball and the container housing carrying the rotatable ball affects the retention of composition, depending on viscosity). Because the parameter of the rollerball in claim 1 are not defined, the requisite viscosity is also undefined and the claim is indefinite.
The term “substantial leakage” in claim 19 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantial leakage” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention in terms of the amount of leakage that would be acceptable in compositions falling within the scope of the claims.
Claims depending from rejected claims have also been rejected because they incorporate all of the limitations of the claims from which they depend, but fail to resolve the indefiniteness concerns outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breyfogle (US20130195783; publication date: 08/01/2013) in view of Roberts US 20090257971; publication date: 10/15/2009) and further in view of Banowski et al (WO 9637184; publication date: 01/23/1997, citing the English machine translation).
With regard to claims 1 and 19, Breyfogle discloses a personal care composition for reducing wrinkles on skin (0001) in the form of a water gel (abstract). The composition comprises thickening agents selected from a group that contains synthetic polymers as well as various natural polysaccharides (0070): “Thickening agents which can be used in the present invention include, but are not limited to, cross-linked polyacrylates such as Carbopol™ (Goodrich); polyacrylate copolymers such as SepiMAX ZEN (Seppic, Inc.); modified acrylate copolymers such as Sepiplus S (Seppic, Inc.) polymeric carboxylates including modified and unmodified starches, polysaccharide gums such as xanthan gum (e.g. CP Kelco's Keltrol CGT and Keltrol T630, Jungbunzlauer's Xanthan Gum), dehydroxanthan gum (e.g. Amaze XT from AkzoNobel), gallactomanan ((Solagum Tara from Seppic), and cellulose derivatives (e.g. Natrosol 250). Gums may also include, but are not limited to, crosslinked-xanthan gum, hydroxypropyl xanthan gum, undecylenoyl xanthan gum, deacetylated xanthan gum, guar gum, cellulose gum, carrageenan, hydroxylpropyl methyl cellulose, and sodium carboxymethyl chitin. It would have been prima facie obvious to combine any of the above thickening agents, including a combination of synthetic polymers and polysaccharides because each are taught for the purpose of thickening the composition (see MPEP 2144.06).
The composition may further comprise pigments such as titanium oxide coated mica (i.e. a pearlescent pigment; 0047). It would have been prima facie obvious to include titanium oxide coated mica in the composition as a means to impart a color to the cosmetic, and choice of titanium oxide coated mica would have been merely a matter of aesthetic preference.
The composition does not require emulsifiers as it is either an emulsion or an aqueous gel.
With regard to the limitation requiring the thickening system to be present in an amount sufficient to cause the cosmetic composition to be retained within a rollerball cartridge assembly without substantial leakage, Breyfogle teaches rollerball applicators as one option to deliver the composition to the skin (0093) but does not disclose any particular amount of thickening agent to achieve retention in the rollerball device.
Roberts, in the analogous art of personal care compositions delivered by rollerball, teaches that the clearance between the rotatable ball and the container housing carrying the rotatable ball determines retention of the composition and prevents leaking and that this is contingent on viscosity of the composition (specifically claim 14 recites “the clearance between the rotatable ball and the container housing carrying the rotatable ball is sufficient small to prevent the less than 800 centipoises antiperspirant composition from leaking therepast.”)
Banowski, in the analogous art of personal care compositions delivered by rollerball, “For use in rollerball application containers, the viscosity should preferably be in the range from 500 to 1000 [m ^ Pa-s] at 20 ° C, which may be achieved by adding water-soluble thickeners, e.g. of natural microbial or synthetic water-soluble polymers such as e.g. water-soluble starch, guar, xanthan gum, hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl starch, polyacrylamide, polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyvinyl alcohol or jittery polyacrylates (e.g. of the Carbopol (R) type) can be achieved.”
Thus, one having ordinary skill would have recognized that the viscosity of a composition contributes to its retention in rollerball applicators, that viscosity can be adjusted by adding comparable thickeners to those taught by Breyfogle, and a target range in viscosity for rollerball compositions thickened by synthetic or natural water soluble polymers is from 500 – 1000 mPa.s. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the instant invention was filed to optimize the concentration of the thickeners in Breyfogle’s composition in order to prevent leakage from a rollerball applicator because this would have been routine optimization of an art-recognized parameter. See MPEP 2144.05.
With regard to claim 2, as noted above, the composition may contain the pearlescent pigment titanium oxide coated mica (0047).
With regard to claims 3 and 4, the pigment powder, which includes the titanium oxide coated mica, may be present in amounts ranging from about 5 to about45% of the composition (0046). This range overlaps with the range recited in instant claims 3 and 4 as the value “about 5” is considered to embrace “about 4.8%”.
With regard to claims 5, 8, and 9, as noted above, the thickening agent may be Carbopol, which is a trademark for carbomer as well as various gums (e.g. xanthan) and celluloses.
With regard to claims 6, 7, 10 12-14 and 18, the Breyfogle teaches a range in thickening polymer of up to 15% (0069), and Banowski teaches a target range for viscosity for rollerball delivery. The examiner considers it a matter of routine for one of ordinary skill to determine optimal amounts of the polymers known to increase viscosity in order to achieve a target viscosity of the composition for Breyfogle’s embodiment delivered in a rollerball cartridge. See MPEP 2144.05.
With regard to claim 11, one having ordinary skill, e.g. a Ph.D. in cosmetic formulations science, would have recognized the need to consider uniformity of the composition over time for consistent effect on application to the skin, and would have also optimized the stability of the suspension of pigment particles accordingly be taking into consideration the proportion of the particle relative to the thickening agents that increase viscosity.
With regard to claims 15 and 16, the composition can be formulated as a gel (0043), therefore the examiner considers the disclosure to embrace gelling amounts of thickening agent; the composition contains from about 10 to 98% water (i.e. a solvent, claim 1) and can contain polyhydric alcohols (a solvent; 0040); and as noted above, can contain pearlescent pigments such as titanium oxide coated mica.
With regard to claim 17, the composition can contain skin active agents (page 5).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 5626853 in view of Breyfogle (US20130195783; publication date: 08/01/2013) in view of Roberts US 20090257971; publication date: 10/15/2009) and further in view of Banowski et al (WO 9637184; publication date: 01/23/1997, citing the English machine translation).
Inter alia the claims of the ‘853 patent embrace a gel composition having viscosity from 0.1 – 10 Pa, containing polysaccharide and acrylic hydrophilic polymers as well as a pigment. The ‘853 invention does not require emulsifiers.
The claims of the cited patent do not recite a limitation requiring the pigments to be pearlescent or expressly describe the polymers as being present in an amount sufficient to cause the cosmetic composition to be retained within a rollerball cartridge assembly without leakage.
Breyfogle teach inclusion of pearlescent pigments such as titanium oxide coated mica (0047).
It would have been prima facie obvious to use a pearlescent pigment such as titanium oxide coated mica in the ‘853 composition because this would merely have been combining known prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143(A)).
Breyfogle discloses that gel cosmetic compositions may be delivered via a rollerball assembly (0093).
Roberts, in the analogous art of personal care compositions delivered by rollerball, teaches that the clearance between the rotatable ball and the container housing carrying the rotatable ball determines retention of the composition and prevents leaking and that this is contingent on viscosity of the composition (specifically claim 14 recites “the clearance between the rotatable ball and the container housing carrying the rotatable ball is sufficient small to prevent the less than 800 centipoises antiperspirant composition from leaking therepast.”)
Banowski, in the analogous art of personal care compositions delivered by rollerball, “For use in rollerball application containers, the viscosity should preferably be in the range from 500 to 1000 [m ^ Pa-s] at 20 ° C, which may be achieved by adding water-soluble thickeners, e.g. of natural microbial or synthetic water-soluble polymers such as e.g. water-soluble starch, guar, xanthan gum, hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl starch, polyacrylamide, polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyvinyl alcohol or jittery polyacrylates (e.g. of the Carbopol (R) type) can be achieved.”
Thus, one having ordinary skill would have recognized that the viscosity of a composition contributes to its retention in rollerball applicators, that viscosity can be adjusted by adding comparable thickeners to those delimited in the ‘853 patent, and a target range in viscosity for rollerball compositions thickened by synthetic or natural water soluble polymers is from 500 – 1000 mPa.s.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the instant invention was filed to optimize the concentration of the thickeners in the composition embraced by the ‘853 patent in order to prevent leakage from a rollerball applicator because this would have been routine optimization of an art-recognized parameter. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11129789 in view of Breyfogle (US20130195783; publication date: 08/01/2013) in view of Roberts US 20090257971; publication date: 10/15/2009) and further in view of Banowski et al (WO 9637184; publication date: 01/23/1997, citing the English machine translation).
Inter alia the claims of the ‘789 patent embrace a cosmetic composition comprising ammonium polyacyloyldimethyl taurate and xanthan gum and a pearlescent pigment including micas. The claims of the ‘789 patent do not require an emulsifier.
The claims of the ‘789 patent do not mention the thickening agents being present in an amount sufficient to cause the cosmetic composition to be retained within a rollerball cartridge assembly without leakage.
Breyfogle discloses that cosmetic compositions having comparable thickening agents may be delivered via a rollerball assembly (0093).
Roberts, in the analogous art of personal care compositions delivered by rollerball, teaches that the clearance between the rotatable ball and the container housing carrying the rotatable ball determines retention of the composition and prevents leaking and that this is contingent on viscosity of the composition (specifically claim 14 recites “the clearance between the rotatable ball and the container housing carrying the rotatable ball is sufficient small to prevent the less than 800 centipoises antiperspirant composition from leaking therepast.”)
Banowski, in the analogous art of personal care compositions delivered by rollerball, “For use in rollerball application containers, the viscosity should preferably be in the range from 500 to 1000 [m ^ Pa-s] at 20 ° C, which may be achieved by adding water-soluble thickeners, e.g. of natural microbial or synthetic water-soluble polymers such as e.g. water-soluble starch, guar, xanthan gum, hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl starch, polyacrylamide, polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyvinyl alcohol or jittery polyacrylates (e.g. of the Carbopol (R) type) can be achieved.”
Thus, one having ordinary skill would have recognized that the viscosity of a composition contributes to its retention in rollerball applicators, that viscosity can be adjusted by adding comparable thickeners to those delimited in the ‘789 patent, and a target range in viscosity for rollerball compositions thickened by synthetic or natural water soluble polymers is from 500 – 1000 mPa.s.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the instant invention was filed to optimize the concentration of the thickeners in the composition embraced by the ‘789 patent in order to prevent leakage from a rollerball applicator because this would have been routine optimization of an art-recognized parameter. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 1-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18499498 in view of Breyfogle (US20130195783; publication date: 08/01/2013) in view of Roberts US 20090257971; publication date: 10/15/2009) and further in view of Banowski et al (WO 9637184; publication date: 01/23/1997, citing the English machine translation).
Inter alia the claims of the ‘498 application embrace a gelling solution comprising a crosslinked polyacrylic thickener and a hyaluronate in combination with a pearlescent agent. The claims of the ‘498 application do not require an emulsifier.
The claims of the ‘498 application do not mention the thickening agents being present in an amount sufficient to cause the cosmetic composition to be retained within a rollerball cartridge assembly without leakage.
Breyfogle discloses that cosmetic compositions having comparable thickening agents may be delivered via a rollerball assembly (0093).
Roberts, in the analogous art of personal care compositions delivered by rollerball, teaches that the clearance between the rotatable ball and the container housing carrying the rotatable ball determines retention of the composition and prevents leaking and that this is contingent on viscosity of the composition (specifically claim 14 recites “the clearance between the rotatable ball and the container housing carrying the rotatable ball is sufficient small to prevent the less than 800 centipoises antiperspirant composition from leaking therepast.”)
Banowski, in the analogous art of personal care compositions delivered by rollerball, “For use in rollerball application containers, the viscosity should preferably be in the range from 500 to 1000 [m ^ Pa-s] at 20 ° C, which may be achieved by adding water-soluble thickeners, e.g. of natural microbial or synthetic water-soluble polymers such as e.g. water-soluble starch, guar, xanthan gum, hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl starch, polyacrylamide, polyvinylpyrrolidone, polyvinyl alcohol or jittery polyacrylates (e.g. of the Carbopol (R) type) can be achieved.”
Thus, one having ordinary skill would have recognized that the viscosity of a composition contributes to its retention in rollerball applicators, that viscosity can be adjusted by adding comparable thickeners to those delimited in the ‘498 application, and a target range in viscosity for rollerball compositions thickened by synthetic or natural water soluble polymers is from 500 – 1000 mPa.s.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the instant invention was filed to optimize the concentration of the thickeners in the composition embraced by the ‘498 application in order to prevent leakage from a rollerball applicator because this would have been routine optimization of an art-recognized parameter. See MPEP 2144.05.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/KATHERINE PEEBLES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617