DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Estevez et al. (US 2025/0392523).
Regarding claim 1, Estevez et al. (US 2025/0392523) teaches a non-network-slicing-based configuration method, comprising: generating, by a next-generation radio access network (NG-RAN) node, a next-generation setup request message, wherein the next-generation setup request message does not include a first network slice support list supported by the NG-RAN node (i.e., During NG interface setup between NG-RAN and AMF, the list of supported AI/ML models may be exchanged between NG-RAN and AMF… information on “NG-RAN supported AI/ML models IE” (or Supported AI/ML model List IE, or any other IE naming) and “AMF supported AI/ML models IE” (or any other IE naming) may be included in NG SETUP REQUEST MESSAGE [2], respectively, as shown in FIG. 5 [0255]-[0258]); and transmitting, by the NG-RAN node, the next-generation setup request message to an access and mobility management function (AMF) node in a core network (i.e., During NG interface setup between NG-RAN and AMF, the list of supported AI/ML models may be exchanged between NG-RAN and AMF… information on “NG-RAN supported AI/ML models IE” (or Supported AI/ML model List IE, or any other IE naming) and “AMF supported AI/ML models IE” (or any other IE naming) may be included in NG SETUP RESPONSE message [2], respectively, as shown in FIG. 5 [0255]-[0258]). There is no network slice support in the network setup request/response message illustrated in fig. 5.
Regarding claim 3, Estevez teaches receiving, by the NG-RAN node, a next-generation setup response message from the AMF node, wherein the next-generation configuration response message does not include a second network slice support list supported by the core network During NG interface setup between NG-RAN and AMF, the list of supported AI/ML models may be exchanged between NG-RAN and AMF… information on “NG-RAN supported AI/ML models IE” (or Supported AI/ML model List IE, or any other IE naming) and “AMF supported AI/ML models IE” (or any other IE naming) may be included in NG SETUP RESPONSE message [2], respectively, as shown in FIG. 5 [0255]-[0258]). There is no network slice support in the network setup request/response message illustrated in fig. 5.
Regarding claim 5, Estevez et al. (US 2025/0392523) teaches a non-network-slicing-based configuration device, comprising: radio front-end circuitry, configured to perform wireless communication over a wireless network (common feature in communication device); and processor circuitry, coupled to the radio front-end circuitry (common feature in communication device), configured to: generate, by a next-generation radio access network (NG-RAN) node, a next-generation setup request message, wherein the next-generation setup request message does not include a first network slice support list supported by the NG-RAN node (i.e., During NG interface setup between NG-RAN and AMF, the list of supported AI/ML models may be exchanged between NG-RAN and AMF… information on “NG-RAN supported AI/ML models IE” (or Supported AI/ML model List IE, or any other IE naming) and “AMF supported AI/ML models IE” (or any other IE naming) may be included in NG SETUP REQUEST MESSAGE [2], respectively, as shown in FIG. 5 [0255]-[0258]); and transmit, by the NG-RAN node, the next-generation setup request message to an access and mobility management function (AMF) node in a core network (i.e., During NG interface setup between NG-RAN and AMF, the list of supported AI/ML models may be exchanged between NG-RAN and AMF… information on “NG-RAN supported AI/ML models IE” (or Supported AI/ML model List IE, or any other IE naming) and “AMF supported AI/ML models IE” (or any other IE naming) may be included in NG SETUP RESPONSE message [2], respectively, as shown in FIG. 5 [0255]-[0258]). There is no network slice support in the network setup request/response message illustrated in fig.
Regarding claim 7, Estevez teaches receive, by the NG-RAN node, a next-generation setup response message from the AMF node, wherein the next-generation configuration response message does not include a second network slice support list supported by the core network During NG interface setup between NG-RAN and AMF, the list of supported AI/ML models may be exchanged between NG-RAN and AMF… information on “NG-RAN supported AI/ML models IE” (or Supported AI/ML model List IE, or any other IE naming) and “AMF supported AI/ML models IE” (or any other IE naming) may be included in NG SETUP RESPONSE message [2], respectively, as shown in FIG. 5 [0255]-[0258]). There is no network slice support in the network setup request/response message illustrated in fig. 5.
Regarding claim 9, Estevez teaches non-network-slicing-based configuration device as claimed in claim 5, wherein the non-network-slicing-based configuration device is a next-generation radio access network (NG-RAN) node (i.e., apparatus and systems for Radio Access Network (RAN) AI and/or ML models management in a 3.sup.rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) 5.sup.th Generation (5G) network [0064]-[0065]. the network may be a 3GPP 5G network [0124] and it is known that a non-network-slicing-based configuration device is a 3GPP 5G base station).
Regarding claim 10, Estevez et al. (US 2025/0392523) teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more processors of a next-generation radio access network (NG-RAN) node, cause the NG-RAN node to perform operations (typical features in the system of Estevez), the operations comprising: generating, by a next-generation radio access network (NG-RAN) node, a next-generation setup request message, wherein the next-generation setup request message does not include a first network slice support list supported by the NG-RAN node (i.e., During NG interface setup between NG-RAN and AMF, the list of supported AI/ML models may be exchanged between NG-RAN and AMF… information on “NG-RAN supported AI/ML models IE” (or Supported AI/ML model List IE, or any other IE naming) and “AMF supported AI/ML models IE” (or any other IE naming) may be included in NG SETUP REQUEST MESSAGE [2], respectively, as shown in FIG. 5 [0255]-[0258]); and transmitting, by the NG-RAN node, the next-generation setup request message to an access and mobility management function (AMF) node in a core network (i.e., During NG interface setup between NG-RAN and AMF, the list of supported AI/ML models may be exchanged between NG-RAN and AMF… information on “NG-RAN supported AI/ML models IE” (or Supported AI/ML model List IE, or any other IE naming) and “AMF supported AI/ML models IE” (or any other IE naming) may be included in NG SETUP RESPONSE message [2], respectively, as shown in FIG. 5 [0255]-[0258]). There is no network slice support in the network setup request/response message illustrated in fig. 5.
Regarding claim 12, Estevez teaches receiving, by the NG-RAN node, a next-generation setup response message from the AMF node, wherein the next-generation configuration response message does not include a second network slice support list supported by the core network During NG interface setup between NG-RAN and AMF, the list of supported AI/ML models may be exchanged between NG-RAN and AMF… information on “NG-RAN supported AI/ML models IE” (or Supported AI/ML model List IE, or any other IE naming) and “AMF supported AI/ML models IE” (or any other IE naming) may be included in NG SETUP RESPONSE message [2], respectively, as shown in FIG. 5 [0255]-[0258]). There is no network slice support in the network setup request/response message illustrated in fig. 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Estevez et al. (US 2025/0392523) in view of Ryu et al. (US 2024/0073848).
Regarding claim 2, Estevez et al. further teaches all the limitations above except the next-generation setup request message includes a Quality-of-Service (QoS) flow setup request list supported by the NG-RAN node.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Ryu teaches the AMF may receive the NG setup request message from the base station. The AMF may send a NG setup response message indicating successful association with the base station ([0199]). The SMF may receive the first message from the wireless device. In response to receiving the first message, the SMF may send a PDU session resource setup request message to the first base station. The PDU session resource setup request message may comprise one or more QoS parameters ([0222]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time invention, to have integrated the QoS (Quality of Service) parameters in the setup request message taught by Ryu within the system Estevez in order to ensure that critical data gets priority over standard traffic when network capacity is limited. Without dedicated, isolated slices, QoS rules tag and route different data flows to keep urgent services running smoothly.
Regarding claim 4, Estevez et al. further teaches all the limitations above except the next-generation setup response message includes a Quality-of-Service (QoS) flow for each transport network layer (TNL) information item of application services required by the AMF node.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Ryu teaches NAS messages may support session management procedures for maintaining user plane connectivity and quality of service (QoS) of a session between UE 301 and DN 309 ([0062]-[0063])… the AMF may receive the NG setup request message from the base station. The AMF may send a NG setup response message indicating successful association with the base station ([0199]). The SMF may receive the first message from the wireless device. In response to receiving the first message, the SMF may send a PDU session resource setup request message to the first base station. The PDU session resource setup request message may comprise one or more QoS parameters ([0222]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time invention, to have integrated the QoS (Quality of Service) parameters in the setup request message taught by Ryu within the system Estevez in order to ensure that critical data gets priority over standard traffic when network capacity is limited. Without dedicated, isolated slices, QoS rules tag and route different data flows to keep urgent services running smoothly.
Regarding claim 6, Estevez et al. further teaches all the limitations above except the next-generation setup request message includes a Quality-of-Service (QoS) flow setup request list supported by the NG-RAN node.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Ryu teaches the AMF may receive the NG setup request message from the base station. The AMF may send a NG setup response message indicating successful association with the base station ([0199]). The SMF may receive the first message from the wireless device. In response to receiving the first message, the SMF may send a PDU session resource setup request message to the first base station. The PDU session resource setup request message may comprise one or more QoS parameters ([0222]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time invention, to have integrated the QoS (Quality of Service) parameters in the setup request message taught by Ryu within the system Estevez in order to ensure that critical data gets priority over standard traffic when network capacity is limited. Without dedicated, isolated slices, QoS rules tag and route different data flows to keep urgent services running smoothly.
Regarding claim 8, Estevez et al. further teaches all the limitations above except the next-generation setup response message includes a Quality-of-Service (QoS) flow for each transport network layer (TNL) information item of application services required by the AMF node.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Ryu teaches NAS messages may support session management procedures for maintaining user plane connectivity and quality of service (QoS) of a session between UE 301 and DN 309 ([0062]-[0063])… the AMF may receive the NG setup request message from the base station. The AMF may send a NG setup response message indicating successful association with the base station ([0199]). The SMF may receive the first message from the wireless device. In response to receiving the first message, the SMF may send a PDU session resource setup request message to the first base station. The PDU session resource setup request message may comprise one or more QoS parameters ([0222]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time invention, to have integrated the QoS (Quality of Service) parameters in the setup request message taught by Ryu within the system Estevez in order to ensure that critical data gets priority over standard traffic when network capacity is limited. Without dedicated, isolated slices, QoS rules tag and route different data flows to keep urgent services running smoothly.
layer (TNL) information item of application services required by the AMF node.
Regarding claim 11, Estevez et al. further teaches all the limitations above except the next-generation setup request message includes a Quality-of-Service (QoS) flow setup request list supported by the NG-RAN node.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Ryu teaches the AMF may receive the NG setup request message from the base station. The AMF may send a NG setup response message indicating successful association with the base station ([0199]). The SMF may receive the first message from the wireless device. In response to receiving the first message, the SMF may send a PDU session resource setup request message to the first base station. The PDU session resource setup request message may comprise one or more QoS parameters ([0222]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time invention, to have integrated the QoS (Quality of Service) parameters in the setup request message taught by Ryu within the system Estevez in order to ensure that critical data gets priority over standard traffic when network capacity is limited. Without dedicated, isolated slices, QoS rules tag and route different data flows to keep urgent services running smoothly.
Regarding claim 13, Estevez et al. further teaches all the limitations above except the next-generation setup response message includes a Quality-of-Service (QoS) flow for each transport network layer (TNL) information item of application services required by the AMF node.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Ryu teaches NAS messages may support session management procedures for maintaining user plane connectivity and quality of service (QoS) of a session between UE 301 and DN 309 ([0062]-[0063])… the AMF may receive the NG setup request message from the base station. The AMF may send a NG setup response message indicating successful association with the base station ([0199]). The SMF may receive the first message from the wireless device. In response to receiving the first message, the SMF may send a PDU session resource setup request message to the first base station. The PDU session resource setup request message may comprise one or more QoS parameters ([0222]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time invention, to have integrated the QoS (Quality of Service) parameters in the setup request message taught by Ryu within the system Estevez in order to ensure that critical data gets priority over standard traffic when network capacity is limited. Without dedicated, isolated slices, QoS rules tag and route different data flows to keep urgent services running smoothly.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643