DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02-19-2025 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 2G, 4A to 4D, 5D, 5E-1, 5E-2, 19, 20A, 20B, and 21 to 25B have more than one figure. Applicant should show how the components are interconnected by using a bracket or label them as separate figures (e.g. 2B, 2C, 3B, and 3C). The drawings are also objected to because the figures do not show clearly what they are.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-36 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kapsali (2011/0092121).
Regarding claim 20, Kapsali discloses a yarn comprising: a plurality of fibers arranged in the yarn (figs 2E to 2F), wherein: at least one fiber of the plurality of fibers is made up of an active material having a corresponding transformation stimulus (para 0029 to 0036), and the at least one fiber has a twist angle, a filament helical bias angle, a diameter (para 0039), and an applied torsion configured to generate an output capacity that exceeds the output capacity corresponding to the at least one fiber in an untwisted state (figs 2E and 2F shows that the fibers are in the twist configuration therefore the output capacity torsion must be higher than the untwist configuration to keep the yarn in place).
Regarding claim 21, Kapsali discloses the yarn is arranged in a knit pattern (figs 3A to 3B, para 0049).
Regarding claim 22, Kapsali discloses the knit pattern corresponds to a fabric that exhibits variable recruitment (figs 3A to 3B, para 0049).
Regarding claim 23, Kapsali discloses the knit pattern corresponds to a fabric configured to: partially deform in a first stage at which the at least one fiber is activated by application of the transformation stimulus; and more completely deform in a second stage at which a second fiber of the plurality of fibers is activated by application of a transformation stimulus corresponding to the second fiber (para 0046).
Regarding claim 24, Kapsali discloses the at least one fiber is pre-twisted in the yarn (para 0024).
Regarding claim 25, Kapsali discloses the at least one fiber is twisted during formation of the fabric from the yarn (para 0026).
Regarding claim 26, Kapsali discloses the plurality of fibers includes multiple active fibers (para 0026).
Regarding claim 27, Kapsali discloses at least two of the multiple active fibers are made of distinct active materials (para 0027).
Regarding claim 28, Kapsali discloses the output capacity is selected from the group consisting of force (para 0024), work, or displacement (para 0025).
Regarding claim 29, Kapsali discloses a fabric (para 0024) comprising: a plurality of fibers (figs 2E to 2F), wherein at least one fiber of the plurality of fibers is made up of an active material having a transformation stimulus (para 0029 to 0036), wherein the plurality of fibers are divided into subsets (fig 4), each subset corresponding to one of a plurality of yarns (para 0039), such that the filaments within each yarn of the plurality of yarns are intertwined at a filament helical bias angle (para 0036 to 0041), and wherein a blocked force is applied to a first yarn that includes the at least one fiber (figs 3A and 3B shows that the yarns are in the knitted or woven configuration therefore the block force must be the same with inactive buckling tension to keep the knitted or woven pattern in place, para 0046).
Regarding claim 30, Kapsali discloses the blocking force is equal to an inactive buckling tension of the first yarn (figs 2E and 2F shows that the fibers are in the twist configuration therefore it must be equal to the tension to keep the yarn in place).
Regarding claim 31, Kapsali discloses the critical inactive buckling tension is a critical martensite buckling tension of the first yarn (para 0025 to 0028).
Regarding claim 32, Kapsali discloses the blocked force on the first yarn is sufficient to inhibit a buckling rotation when at least one fiber is in an inactive state but not at a temperature at which the at least one fiber is in an active state (para 0025 to 0028).
Regarding claim 33, Kapsali discloses the plurality of fibers comprises a plurality of active fibers, and wherein a first subset of the plurality of active fibers has different characteristics than a second subset of the plurality of active fibers (para 0046).
Regarding claim 34, Kapsali discloses the first subset of the plurality of active fibers differs from the second subset of the plurality of active fibers in at least one of fiber diameter (fig 4), material composition, filament helical bias angle, or knit pattern.
Regarding claim 35, Kapsali discloses at least some of the plurality of yarns are configured to transition from inactive to active states upon the application of a material-specific stimulus than others of the plurality of yarns (para 0041).
Regarding claim 36, Kapsali discloses at least some of the plurality of yarns partially transition from inactive to active states upon the application of a material-specific stimulus of multiple active fibers corresponding to that yarn (para 0041).
Regarding claim 38, Kapsali discloses a textile (para 0051) comprising: a plurality of fibers (figs 2E to 2F) arranged in a knit pattern (para 0024), wherein: at least one fiber of the plurality of fibers is made up of an active material having a corresponding transition threshold (para 0029 to 0036), and the at least one fiber has a twist angle, a filament helical bias angle, a diameter (para 0039), and an applied torsion configured to generate an output capacity that exceeds the output capacity corresponding to the at least one fiber in an untwisted state (figs 2E and 2F shows that the fibers are in the twist configuration therefore the output capacity torsion must be higher than the untwist configuration to keep the yarn in place).
Double Patenting
Claims 20-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,297,593. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claimed a yarn, a fabric, or a textile comprising a plurality of fibers, wherein at least one fiber of the plurality of fibers is made up of an active material having a transformation stimulus, wherein the plurality of fibers are divided into subsets, each subset corresponding to one of a plurality of yarns, such that the filaments within each yarn of the plurality of yarns are intertwined at a filament helical bias angle, and wherein a blocked force is applied to a first yarn that includes the at least one fiber wherein the blocking force is equal to an inactive buckling tension of the first yarn, wherein the plurality of fibers comprises a plurality of active fibers, and wherein a first subset of the plurality of active fibers has different characteristics than a second subset of the plurality of active fibers; wherein the first subset of the plurality of active fibers differs from the second subset of the plurality of active fibers in at least one of fiber diameter, material composition, filament helical bias angle, or knit pattern; and wherein the fabric is pre-tensioned with a critical tensile force required to prevent yarn snarl formation according to the equation: P= (
x10-5) x nf x 2W where μ is the linear density of the at least one fiber, ρ is the density of the at least one fiber, {umlaut over (t)} is the twist factor of a yarn corresponding to the first fiber, E is the specific tensile modulus of the first fiber in either martensite or austenite state, G is the specific shear modulus of the first fiber in either austenite or martensite state, n.sub.f is the number of filament in the first yarn, and W is the number of wales that compose the fabric.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is listed on the attached PTO-892.
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732