DETAILED ACTION
EXAMINER’S COMMENTS
To facilitate processing of the internet communication authorization or withdrawal of authorization, the Office strongly encourages use of Form PTO/SB/439, available at www.uspto.gov/PatentForms. The form may be filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system using the document description Internet Communications Authorized to facilitate processing. If applicant authorizes Internet communications, USPTO employees may respond to email and initiate communications with applicants via email.
The Office Action is responsive to amendments filed for No. 18/952181 on August 21, 2026. After careful reviewing the disclosure, the amended claims and the arguments filed in the amendment, examiner had added new grounds rejections (112, 102 and 103 rejections). Examiner apologies for such late changes and made this action as non-final. Examiner would like to invite the attorney to contact the examiner if further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the bottom surface" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 13-15, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipate by Gong CN 118200807 (For examination purports English Machine Translation of Gong would be use as cited reference).
Regarding claim 1, Gong teaches
A micro speaker structure (Figs. 1, 7 and 23 show a micro-speaker structure 10), comprising:
a substrate (Figs. 1 and 7 show a substrate 100) having a hollow chamber (Fig. 7 shows a hollow chamber S) as shown in Fig. 7;
a diaphragm (Fig. 7 shows a diaphragm 110) disposed over the substrate (i.e. substrate 100) and covering the hollow chamber (i.e. hollow chamber S) as shown in Fig. 7;
a coil 104 (Figs. 1 and 7 show a multi-layer coil 120) embedded in the diaphragm (i.e. diaphragm 110) as shown in Fig. 7;
a circuit board (Fig. 7 shows a printed circuit board (PCB) 150) disposed on a bottom surface of the substrate (i.e. substrate 100) as shown in Fig. 7;
a first permanent magnetic element (Fig. 8 shows a first magnet (i.e. a permanent magnet) 161….Pg. 8, Lines 28-33) disposed on the circuit board (i.e. printed circuit board (PCB) 150) and in the hollow chamber (i.e. hollow chamber S) as shown in Fig. 7; and
a magnetic conductive element (Fig. 8 shows a second magnet (i.e. a neodymium iron boron magnet) 162….Pg. 8, Lines 28-33) disposed on the circuit board (i.e. printed circuit board (PCB) 150) and surrounding the first permanent magnetic element (i.e. first magnet (i.e. a permanent magnet) 161) as shown in Fig. 8 and Pg. 8, Lines 34-36, wherein the magnetic conductive element (i.e. second magnet (i.e. a neodymium iron boron magnet) 162) is a metal ring with magnetic permeability ((a second magnet (i.e. a neodymium iron boron magnet) 162 having a (circular) annular….Pg. 8, Lines 28-36) as shown in Fig. 8), wherein the magnetic conductive element (i.e. second magnet (i.e. a neodymium iron boron magnet) 162) partially overlaps the coil (i.e. multi-layer coil 120) in a plan view as shown in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 2, Gong teaches
The micro speaker structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein a thickness of the magnetic conductive element (i.e. second magnet (i.e. a neodymium iron boron magnet) 162) is equal to a thickness of the first permanent magnetic element (i.e. first magnet (i.e. a permanent magnet) 161) as shown in Fig. 9.
Regarding claim 4, Gong teaches
The micro speaker structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the inner diameter of the magnetic conductive element (i.e. second magnet (i.e. a neodymium iron boron magnet) 162) is equal to the diameter of the first permanent magnetic element (i.e. first magnet (i.e. a permanent magnet) 161) as shown in Fig. 9, and the magnetic conductive element (i.e. second magnet (i.e. a neodymium iron boron magnet) 162) is in contact with the first permanent magnetic element (i.e. first magnet (i.e. a permanent magnet) 161) as shown in Fig. 9.
Regarding claim 6, Gong teaches
The micro speaker structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein a top surface of the magnetic conductive element (i.e. second magnet (i.e. a neodymium iron boron magnet) 162) and a top surface of the first permanent magnetic element (i.e. first magnet (i.e. a permanent magnet) 161) are at the same level as shown in Fig. 8.
Regarding claim 13, Gong teaches
The micro speaker structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the circuit board (i.e. printed circuit board (PCB) 150) has at least one vent hole 161 (Fig. 7 shows one or more air holes 151) passing through the top surface and a bottom surface of the circuit board (i.e. printed circuit board (PCB) 150) as shown in Fig. 7.
Regarding claim 14, Gong teaches
The micro speaker structure as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: a lid (Fig. 23 shows a package cover 170) wrapped around the substrate (i.e. substrate 100) and the diaphragm (i.e. diaphragm 110) as shown in Fig. 23, wherein the lid (i.e. package cover 170) has an air opening that exposes a portion of a top surface of the diaphragm (i.e. diaphragm 110) as shown in Fig. 23.
Regarding claim 15, Gong teaches
The micro speaker structure as claimed in claim 14, further comprising: a second permanent magnetic element (Fig. 23 shows a permanent magnet 180) disposed on the lid (i.e. package cover 170) as shown in Fig. 23, wherein the second permanent magnetic element (i.e. permanent magnet 180) is located below the air opening as shown in Fig. 23.
Regarding claim 16, Gong teaches
The micro speaker structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the coil (i.e. multi-layer coil 120) comprises a first metal layer (Fig. 1 shows a first layer 121) and a second metal layer (Fig. 1 shows a second layer 122) as shown in Fig. 1, and wherein the first metal layer (i.e. first layer 121) has a spiral structure (Fig. 1 shows a spiral structure 121A) surrounding a central axis of the diaphragm (i.e. diaphragm 110) as shown in Fig. 1, and the second metal layer (i.e. second layer 122) crosses over the spiral structure (i.e. spiral structure 121A) of the first metal layer (i.e. first layer 121) and is electrically connected to the first metal layer (i.e. first layer 121)….Pg. 6, Lines 7-9.
Regarding claim 17, Gong teaches
A method for forming a micro speaker structure (Figs. 1, 7 and 23 show a micro-speaker structure 10), comprising:
forming a coil (Figs. 1 and 4-7 show a multilayer coil 120 includes a first layer 121 and a second layer 122) on a substrate (Figs. 1 and 4-7 show a substrate 100) as shown in Fig. 7;
forming a diaphragm (Fig. 7 shows a diaphragm 110) on the substrate (i.e. substrate 100) to cover the coil (i.e. multilayer coil 120 includes a first layer 121 and a second layer 122) as shown in Fig. 7;
forming a hollow chamber (Figs. 6 and 7 show a hollow chamber S) in the substrate (i.e. substrate 100) as shown in Fig. 6, so that the coil (i.e. multilayer coil 120 includes a first layer 121 and a second layer 122) structure is aligned with the hollow chamber (i.e. hollow chamber S) in a plan view as shown in Fig. 7;
attaching a circuit board (Fig. 7 shows a printed circuit board (PCB) 150) to the bottom surface of the substrate (i.e. substrate 100) as shown in Fig. 7, wherein a permanent magnetic element (Figs. 7 and 8 show a magnet member 160 includes a first magnet (i.e. a permanent magnet) 161….Pg. 8, Lines 28-33) is mounted on the circuit board (i.e. printed circuit board (PCB) 150) and positioned in the hollow chamber (i.e. hollow chamber S) as shown in Fig. 7; and
placing a magnetic conductive element (Figs. 7 and 8 show the magnet member 160 includes a second magnet (i.e. a neodymium iron boron magnet) 162….Pg. 8, Lines 28-33) on the circuit board (i.e. printed circuit board (PCB) 150) to surround the permanent magnetic element (i.e. first magnet (i.e. a permanent magnet) 161) as shown in Fig. 8 and Pg. 8, Lines 34-36, wherein the magnetic conductive element (i.e. second magnet (i.e. a neodymium iron boron magnet) 162) is a metal ring with magnetic permeability ((a second magnet (i.e. a neodymium iron boron magnet) 162 having a (circular) annular….Pg. 8, Lines 28-36) as shown in Fig. 8), wherein the magnetic conductive element (i.e. second magnet (i.e. a neodymium iron boron magnet) 162) is placed on the circuit board (i.e. first magnet (i.e. a permanent magnet) 161) so that the magnetic conductive element (i.e. second magnet (i.e. a neodymium iron boron magnet) 162) partially overlaps the coil (i.e. multi-layer coil 120) in a plan view as shown in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 20, this claim is rejected for the same reason as the apparatus of claim 6 because the method steps of claim 20 can be perform by the apparatus of claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong.
Regarding claim 3, Gong teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
Gong does not explicitly teach an inner diameter of the magnetic conductive element is larger than a diameter of the first permanent magnetic element.
Gong teaches in alternative embodiment that an inner diameter of the second magnet 162 is larger than a diameter of first magnet 161 as shown in Fig. 13 and Pg. 9, Lines 33-38.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the Gong’s micro speaker structure to include the inner diameter of the magnetic conductive element is larger than a diameter of the first permanent magnetic element, as taught by the alternative embodiment of Gong. The advantage of such modification will allow the micro speaker structure enhance the force generated along the normal direction of the diaphragm.
Regarding claim 19, Gong teaches all the features with respect to claim 17 as outlined above.
Gong does not explicitly teach that the magnetic conductive element is placed on the circuit board so that the magnetic conductive element is laterally spaced apart from the permanent magnetic element.
Gong teaches in alternative embodiment that the second magnet 162 is placed on the circuit board (i.e. printed circuit board (PCB) 150) so that the second magnet 162 is laterally spaced apart from the first magnet 161 as shown in Fig. 13.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify the Gong’s micro speaker structure to include the magnetic conductive element is placed on the circuit board so that the magnetic conductive element is laterally spaced apart from the permanent magnetic element, as taught by the alternative embodiment of Gong. The advantage of such modification will allow the micro speaker structure enhance the force generated along the normal direction of the diaphragm.
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Regarding claims 7-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fu et al., US-PG-PUB No. 2022/0340409, Electromagnetic Microspeaker, Its coil Module, Speaker/Coil Module Array Preparation Method Thereof, Fig. 1 shows a coil module, comprising: a vibrating membrane suspended on an air chamber defined and supported by a first substrate, at least one planar coil, embedded in the vibrating membrane, and at least a soft magnet, embedded in the vibrating membrane.
14. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANGELICA M MCKINNEY whose telephone number is (571)270-3321. The examiner can normally be reached 7AM-3PM EST M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Vivian Chin can be reached on (571)-272-7848. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANGELICA M MCKINNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694