DETAILED ACTION
Currently pending claims are 1 – 8 & 11 – 21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the subject matter of the instant claims have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
As per claim 1, Applicant asserts prior-art(s) fails to teach the newly added claim elements such as (a) analyzing the at least one action includes inputting an indication of the at least one action into a trained model configured to generate an indication of whether the at least one action is a human-initiated action as an output, and (b) the trained model being selected from a plurality of trained models based on the characteristic of the native client (Remarks: page 8). Examiner respectfully disagrees with the following rationale.
Regarding the argument of (a) –
(a-1) Examiner notes according to MPEP 2111 of the broadest and reasonable claim interpretations, applicant’s argument has no merit since the alleged limitation such as “exactly and specifically what is an indication of the at least one action to be inputted into a trained model” has not been specifically recited into the claim. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
(a-2) In light of that, Examiner notes Xu teaches inputting behavior data of a log-in request (e.g.) as an indication of the at least one action into a deep learning trained model to generate whether the at least one action is a human-initiated action or automated process (Xu: Col. 3 Line 1 – 13) to match the recited claim language.
Regarding the argument of (b) –
(b-1) Examiner notes according to MPEP 2111 of the broadest and reasonable claim interpretations, applicant’s argument has no merit since the alleged limitation such as “exactly what are a plurality of trained models the recited trained model to be selected from” has not been specifically recited into the claim. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
(b-2) In light of that, Examiner notes Xu teaches applying a plurality of different behavior data of requests to deep learning techniques to generate a plurality of respective trained models (Xu: Col. 3 Line 1 – 3) to identify whether the action of the request is a human-initiated action. As such, each of a trained model is indeed associated with (selected from) a plurality of respective trained models based on the particular behavior data indicative of a particular characteristic of a native client (Xu: Col. 3 Line 1 – 12) to match the recited claim language. Thereby, Applicant's arguments are respectfully traversed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 7, 8, 12 – 13 & 16 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Sade et al. (U.S. Patent 10,116,658), in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Patent 11,483,324).
As per claim 1 & 13, Sade teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations for classifying network session activities, the operations comprising:
identifying a session between a network identity and a network resource, the session being established using a native client associated with the network identity, wherein the native client is associated with a native communication protocol;
(Sade: Figure 2B / E-2000 & Col. 2 Line 9 – 12, Col. 7 Line 24 – 27, Col. 3 Line 60 – 67, Col. 5 Line 20 – 23, Col. 4 Line 45 – 57 and Col. 11 Line 21 – 25:
(a) a user / client (networking identity) sends a request to access a network resource of target service (Sade: Figure 2B / E-2000 & Col. 2 Line 9 – 12 and Col. 7 Line 24 – 27);
(b) a proxy entity of CMS (Credential Management System) authenticates the user / client (network identity) based on an authentication credential sent in the request (Sade: Col. 3 Line 60 – 67 and Col. 5 Line 20 – 23), wherein
(b-1) the CMS proxy entity can be an endpoint device located on which the user / client resides, which constitutes as one type of a native client (Sade: Col. 3 Line 60 – 67 and Col. 5 Line 20 – 23) – besides, the user / client resides at the endpoint device, which also constitutes another type of native client respective to a server viewpoint,
(b-2) the authentication credential can be sent in the request via (e.g.) a Kerberos protocol (i.e. a native communication protocol) (Sade: Col. 3 Line 60 – 67 and Col. 5 Line 20 – 23) and
(b-3) the CMS proxy entity (i.e. native client) communicates with an authentication service and operates transparently with the target service (i.e. network resource) (Sade: Figure 2B / E-2000).
monitoring at least one message conveyed during the session to identify at least one first data element associated with the session, the at least one message being associated with the native communication protocol (Sade: see above & Col. 3 Line 60 – 67, Col. 4 Line 45 – 57 and Col. 11 Line 21 – 25: the CMS proxy entity authorizes the user / client using the user / client’s authentication credential to access the network resource of target service, wherein the client’s authentication credential associated with the access request constitutes a first data element).
However, Sade does not disclose expressly analyzing the at least one first data element to identify a characteristic of the native client.
Xu (& Sade) teaches analyzing the at least one first data element to identify a characteristic of the native client (Sade: see above) || (Xu: FIG. 1 & Col. 6 Line 48 – 53 and Col. 3 Line 1 – 12 / Line 27 – 31:
(a) a user (networking identity) sends a Login request to access a network resource of target service and transmit the request over the network (Xu: FIG. 1 & Col. 6 Line 48 – 53); and
(b) providing a network security system for anomaly detection by utilizing a machine learning / training model (e.g. deep-learning techniques) including a behavior model, wherein one input parameters of a set of aggregated behavior data used for modeling analysis can include the data that characterizes a client device of a plurality of client devices (i.e. as a particular type of client device) (Xu: Col. 3 Line 1 – 12 / Line 27 – 31).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification of analyzing the at least one first data element to identify a characteristic of the native client because Xu teaches to alternatively, effectively and securely provide a network security system to detect a malicious activity by utilizing a machine learning / training model (e.g. deep-learning techniques) including a behavior model, wherein the training data can be classified as behavior data generated by a human-user as well as behavior data generated by automated-user (i.e. automated request) in association with a plurality of different requests for generating a likelihood score to determine whether the action of the access request is a human-initiated action or automated-process (Xu: see above & Col. 3 Line 1 – 12, Col. 20 Line 11 – 18 & Col. 8 Line 51 – 58) within the Sade’s system of authorizing the user / client using the user / client’s authentication credential to access the network resource of target service and detecting anomaly / malicious activities (see above).
monitoring the at least one message conveyed during the session to identify at least one second data element associated with the session, the at least one second data element being associated with at least one action requested by the network identity (Xu: see above & Col. 3 Line 1 – 12 / Line 27 – 31: providing a network security system for anomaly detection by utilizing a machine learning / training model (e.g. deep-learning techniques) including a behavior model, wherein one input parameters of a set of aggregated behavior data used for modeling analysis can include the data that indicates whether the activities were determined to be legitimate (i.e. human-initiated) or automated process – i.e. feedback the previous analysis result into the model for analysis such that one action includes inputting an indication, generated from a configured trained model as an analyzed result of a request action including whether the action is legitimate or automated (i.e. a human-initiated action or not) – this is also consistent with the disclosure of the instant specification (SPEC-PG.PUB: Para [0015]); and
analyzing the at least one action and the characteristic of the native client to determine, for each action of the at least one action, whether the action is a human-initiated action (Sade: see above) || (Xu: see above & Col. 3 Line 1 – 12, Col. 20 Line 11 – 18 & Col. 8 Line 51 – 58: providing a machine learning / training model, wherein the training data can be classified as behavior data generated by a human-user as well as behavior data generated by automated-user (i.e. automated request) in association with a plurality of different requests for generating a likelihood score to determine whether the action of the access request is a human-initiated action or automated-process),
wherein analyzing the at least one action includes inputting an indication of the at least one action into a trained model configured to generate an indication of whether the at least one action is a human-initiated action as an output (Xu: see above & Col. 3 Line 1 – 13):
(a-1) Examiner notes according to MPEP 2111 of the broadest and reasonable claim interpretations, applicant’s argument has no merit since the alleged limitation such as “exactly and specifically what is an indication of the at least one action to be inputted into a trained model” has not been specifically recited into the claim. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
(a-2) In light of that, Examiner notes Xu teaches inputting behavior data of a log-in request (e.g.) as an indication of the at least one action into a deep learning trained model to generate whether the at least one action is a human-initiated action or automated process (Xu: Col. 3 Line 1 – 13) to match the recited claim language.
the trained model being selected from a plurality of trained models based on the characteristic of the native client (Xu: see above & Col. 3 Line 1 – 12):
(b-1) Examiner notes according to MPEP 2111 of the broadest and reasonable claim interpretations, applicant’s argument has no merit since the alleged limitation such as “exactly what are a plurality of trained models the recited trained model to be selected from” has not been specifically recited into the claim. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
(b-2) In light of that, Examiner notes Xu teaches applying a plurality of different behavior data of requests to deep learning techniques to generate a plurality of respective trained models (Xu: Col. 3 Line 1 – 3) to identify whether the action of the request is a human-initiated action. As such, each of a trained model is indeed associated with (selected from) a plurality of respective trained models based on the particular behavior data indicative of a particular characteristic of a native client (Xu: Col. 3 Line 1 – 12) to match the recited claim language.
As per claim 2, 5, 7 – 8, the instant claim is directed to a claimed content having functionality corresponding to the Claims 1, and are rejected by a similar rationale.
As per claim 3, Sade as modified teaches wherein the characteristic of the native client includes at least one of: a type of the native client or a version of the native client (Xu: Col. 3 Line 1 – 12 / Line 27 – 31: providing a behavior model, wherein one input parameters of a set of aggregated behavior data used for modeling analysis can include the data that characterizes a client device of a plurality of client devices (i.e. as a particular type of client device) (Xu: Col. 3 Line 1 – 12 / Line 27 – 31)).
As per claim 4 & 19, Sade as modified teaches wherein identifying the characteristic of the native client includes generating a score indicating a likelihood of the native client being associated with one or more native client identities (Sade: see above) || (Xu: Col. 3 Line 1 – 12, Col. 20 Line 11 – 18 & Col. 8 Line 51 – 58: utilizing a machine learning / training model (e.g. deep-learning techniques) including a behavior model, wherein the training data can be classified as behavior data generated by a human-user as well as behavior data generated by automated-user (i.e. automated request) in association with a plurality of requests for generating a likelihood score to determine whether the action of the access request is a human-initiated action or automated-process.
move up
As per claim 12, Sade as modified teaches receiving feedback associated with the determination whether the at least one action is a human-initiated action and training the trained model based on the feedback (Xu: see above & Xu: Col. 3 Line 1 – 12 / Line 27 – 31: utilizing a machine learning / training model (e.g. deep-learning techniques) including a behavior model, wherein one input parameters of a set of aggregated behavior data used for modeling analysis can include the data that indicates whether the activities were determined to be legitimate (i.e. human-initiated) or automated process – i.e. feedback the previous analysis result into the model for analysis such that one action includes inputting an indication, generated from a configured trained model as an analyzed result of a request action including whether the action is legitimate or automated (i.e. a human-initiated action or not) – this is also consistent with the disclosure of the instant specification (SPEC-PG.PUB: Para [0015]).
As per claim 16, Sade as modified teaches wherein the at least one first data element includes an indication of a type of the at least one action and wherein the characteristic of the native client is determined based at least in part on the type of the at least one action (Xu: Col. 3 Line 1 – 12 / Line 27 – 31: providing a network security system for anomaly detection by utilizing a machine learning / training model (e.g. deep-learning techniques) including a behavior model, wherein one input parameters of a set of aggregated behavior data used for modeling analysis can include the data that characterizes a client device of a plurality of client devices (i.e. as a particular type of client device) and also include the data that indicates whether the activities were determined to be legitimate (i.e. human-initiated) or automated process (i.e. the at least one action)).
As per claim 17, Sade as modified teaches wherein the at least one action includes a plurality of actions and wherein the at least one second data element includes an order in which the plurality of actions are requested (Sade: see above) || (Xu: see above & Col. 11 Line 1 – 8: for example, a series of mouse input event as the second data element associated with an order of the plurality of actions are requested) (Xu: Col. 11 Line 1 – 5)).
As per claim 18, Sade as modified teaches wherein the at least one second data element includes a timing in which the at least one action is requested (Sade: see above) || (Xu: see above & Col. 11 Line 1 – 8: for example, a series of mouse input event as the second data element associated with an order of the plurality of actions are requested as well as a timing of a time-stamp along with its 2-dimensinal (x, y) coordinate) (Xu: Col. 11 Line 6 – 8)).
As per claim 20, Sade as modified teaches comparing the likelihood to a threshold and generating, based on the comparison, an output identifying the action for analysis by a user (Sade: see above) || (Xu: see above & Col. 19 Line 21 – 29: a threshold associated with a likelihood score to differentiate the level between Moderate and Strong).
As per claim 21, Sade as modified teaches performing one or more control actions associated with the action based on a determination that the action is a human-initiated action (Sade: see above) || (Xu: see above & Col. 20 Line 29 – 43: upon detection that indicates the action is a human-initiated action, the network security system instructs the server system to process the particular request).
Claims 6 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Sade et al. (U.S. Patent 10,116,658), in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Patent 11,483,324), and in view of Alon et al. (U.S. Patent 2024/0406058).
As per claim 6 & 11, Alon (& Sade as modified) teaches wherein the trained model is a large language model (Sade | Xu: see above) || (Alon: Para [0153] & Para [0030]: for streamlined anomaly detection, providing an AI service (e.g., an inference service) as a machine learning models executed by calling upon (e.g., as an API call) an inference service (e.g., an inference server) to execute machine learning model(s) and software implementing advanced processing as well as inferencing pipeline (Alon: Para [0153]) and the learning model can include a generative AI with large language model (Alon: Para [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification that the trained model is a large language model because Alon teaches to alternatively, effectively and securely, for streamlined anomaly detection, provide an AI service (e.g., an inference service) as a machine learning models executed by calling upon (e.g., as an API call) an inference service (e.g., an inference server) to execute machine learning model(s) and software implementing advanced processing as well as inferencing pipeline and the learning model can include a generative AI with large language model (see above) within the Sade’s system of authorizing the user / client using the user / client’s authentication credential to access the network resource of target service and detecting anomaly / malicious activities (see above).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Sade et al. (U.S. Patent 10,116,658), in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Patent 11,483,324), and in view of Sirov et al. (U.S. Patent 2023/0164043).
As per claim 14, Sirov (& Sade as modified) teaches wherein the characteristic of the native client is determined based at least in part on the number of open connections (Sade: see above & Col. 15 Line 38 – 39: a native client identifies a particular target service and determines corresponding required privileged credential for authentication) || (Sirov: Para [0034] & Para [0041]: using a trained machine learning model that can be inferenced on monitoring network traffic flows to classify and identify a predetermined target service (Sirov: Para [0034]) by extracting a data traffic session connection attribute such as the number and handling of open connections associated with the requested target service along with the client device (Sirov: Para [0041]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification of determining the characteristic of the native client based at least in part on the number of open connections because Sirov teaches to alternatively, effectively and securely utilize a trained machine learning model that can be inferenced on monitoring network traffic flows to classify and identify a predetermined target service by extracting a data traffic session connection attribute such as the number and handling of open connections associated with the requested target service along with the client device (see above) within the Sade’s system of authorizing the user / client using the user / client’s authentication credential to access the network resource of target service and detecting anomaly / malicious activities and a native client identifies a particular target service so as to determine the corresponding required privileged credential for authentication (see above).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Sade et al. (U.S. Patent 10,116,658), in view of Xu et al. (U.S. Patent 11,483,324), in view of Sirov et al. (U.S. Patent 2023/0164043), and in view of Brown et al. (U.S. Patent 11,734,713).
per claim 15, Brown (& Sade as modified) teaches wherein the characteristic of the native client is determined based at least in part on the timing in which connections of the native client are opened (Sade: see above: authorizing the user / client using the user / client’s authentication credential to access the network resource of target service and detecting anomaly / malicious activities) || (Brown: Col. 16 Line 39 – 43 & Col. 17 Line 1 – 2: (a) a security entity can differentiate between fraudulent and authentic behavior by using messages and leveraging its own data having the metrics for training an authentic neural network (model) (Brown: Col. 16 Line 39 – 43) and (b) one of the metrics that inputs into the neural network model for analysis can be a timing threshold regarding how long does a client device hold open connection until termination (Brown: Col. 17 Line 1 – 2)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to propose the modification of determining the characteristic of the native client based at least in part on the timing in which connections of the native client are opened because Brown teaches to alternatively, effectively and securely differentiate between fraudulent and authentic behavior by using messages and leveraging its own data having the metrics for training an authentic neural network (model) and (b) one of the metrics that inputs into the neural network model for analysis can be a timing threshold regarding how long does a client device hold open connection until termination (see above) within the Sade’s system of authorizing the user / client using the user / client’s authentication credential to access the network resource of target service and detecting anomaly / malicious activities (see above).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
---------------------------------------------------
/Longbit Chai/
Longbit Chai E.E. Ph.D.
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431
No. #2585 – 2026 ---------------------------------------------------