DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a non-final Office Action for application # 18952221, entitled: FOLDING STRUCTURE OF A MIRROR, filed on 11/19/2024. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “300” has been used to designate both the “cover” (as seen in Fig. 2C) and a “ring,” (as seen in Fig. 3A). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 discloses: “…where the cover comprises at least one protrusion…” Based on the Examiner’s understanding, the at least one protrusion is located on the “detent ring.” For Examination purposes, the claim will be interpreted as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-12, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by van Stiphout (U.S. Pat. 10562453).
Regarding claim 1, van Stiphout discloses a folding structure 1 of a mirror comprising: a cover 6; a motor 30; and a shaft 4 coupled to the motor 30 and configured to, based on a driving force from the motor 30, rotate the cover 6 with respect to a base, where the shaft 4 comprises a detent ring 23, coupled to the cover 6, configured to support a load generated as the cover 6 moves upward or downward based on rotation relative to the base (see discussion in col. 4, lines 59-63).
Regarding claim 2, van Stiphout discloses the folding structure 1, where the shaft 4 further comprises at least one stepped portion 14 configured to implement upward or downward movement of the cover 6 via inclined portions 12 formed at both ends of the at least one stepped portion 14 (as seen in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, van Stiphout discloses the folding structure 1, where the inclined portions 12 of the shaft 4 are formed to be inclined at a predetermined angle in a rotation direction of the cover 6 (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, van Stiphout discloses the folding structure 1, where the detent ring 23 comprises at least one protrusion 11 configured to protrude into the at least one stepped portion 14 of the shaft 4, where the at least one protrusion 11 is configured to move up or down the inclined portions 12 based on rotation of the cover 6.
Regarding claim 5, van Stiphout discloses the folding structure 1, where the cover 6 comprises second protrusions (as shown in Fig. 2 below) each having one surface that is convex toward the detent ring 23, where the cover 6 is coupled to the detent ring 23 via the second protrusions.
Regarding claim 6, van Stiphout discloses the folding structure 1, where the motor 30 is coupled to the cover 6, the folding structure 1 further comprising: a transmission unit (as seen in Fig. 1 below) configured to transmit the driving force to the shaft 4.
Regarding claim 7, van Stiphout discloses the folding structure 1, where the transmission unit comprises: a first worm wheel gear engaged with a first worm gear 31 located on a rotatable shaft of the motor 30 (as seen in Fig. 1 below); and a second worm gear located coaxially with the first worm wheel gear and coupled to the shaft 4 (also seen in Fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 8, van Stiphout discloses the folding structure 1, where the shaft 4 is coupled to the base and the detent ring 23 is coupled to the shaft 4, the folding structure 1 further comprising: a driven gear 16 located on the shaft 4 and engaged with the second worm gear (as seen in Fig. 1); and a pressing member 20 located between the driven gear 16 and the cover 6.
Regarding claim 9, van Stiphout discloses the folding structure 1, where the second worm gear is configured to apply a driving force to the driven gear 16 so as to cause the driven gear 16 to: be restrained by the shaft 4, and rotate the motor 30 and the cover 6 about the shaft 4 (see Fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 11, van Stiphout discloses the folding structure 1, where the detent ring 23 comprises: vertical guide protrusions 24 inserted into recesses 25 formed on an outer circumferential surface of the shaft 4; and position regulation recesses 29 configured to accommodate position regulation protrusions 19 of the driven gear 16 inserted thereinto (as seen in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, van Stiphout discloses the folding structure 1, where the driven gear 16 is restrained by the shaft 4 via the position regulation protrusions 19 being inserted into the position regulation recesses 29 of the detent ring 23.
Regarding claim 14, van Stiphout discloses the folding structure 1, where the detent ring 16 comprises third protrusions (at 26) protruding towards the cover 6, and second protrusions 8 of the cover 6 are inserted between the third protrusions (at 26).
Regarding claim 15, van Stiphout discloses the folding structure 1, where, the third protrusions (at 26) are configured to contact a side surface of an upper end of the cover 6 when the mirror is in a folded state (see, for example Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 16, van Stiphout discloses a folding structure 1 of a mirror comprising: a motor 30; a shaft 4 comprising one or more grooves 14 in a first direction parallel to an axis of rotation of the shaft 4; and a cover 6, around and concentric with the shaft 4, comprising one or more first protrusions 11 inserted into one or more grooves 14 (as seen in Fig. 2); where the shaft 4 is configured to rotate, via the motor 30 and relative to a base of the mirror, to cause the mirror to be in a folded state or an unfolded state; where, sides of the one or more grooves 14 are inclined (at 12) from the first direction and a second direction parallel to a circumference of the shaft 4; and where the one or more first protrusions 11 are inserted into the one or more grooves 14 in the unfolded state, and when the shaft 4 rotates from the unfolded state to the folded state, the one or more first protrusions 11 move along the sides of the one or more grooves 14 in a direction which raises the cover 6 relative to the base (see discussion in col. 5, lines 16-24).
Regarding claim 17, van Stiphout discloses the folding structure 1, where, when the shaft 4 rotates from the folded state to the unfolded state, the one or more first protrusions 11 move along the sides of the one or more grooves 14 in a direction which lowers the cover 6 relative to the base.
Regarding claim 18, van Stiphout discloses the folding structure 1, further comprising: a detent 23 configured to support a load generated as the cover 6 is raised or lowered relative to the base.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van Stiphout in view of Casals et al. (U.S. Pat. 10077001).
Regarding claim 10, van Stiphout is discussed above and teaches the folding structure. However, van Stiphout fails to teach where the folding structure 1 further comprises an elastic member, located between the second worm gear and the cover 6, configured to provide elastic force in an axial direction of the second worm gear. Casals teaches a foldable rear-view mirror, comprising a motor 151, pressing member 270, and cover 6. Casals further teaches a transmission unit 215 comprising a worm gear 159, wheel gear 158, and an elastic member 170.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transmission unit of van Stiphout to have an elastic member, in order to provide a means to cooperate with the gear wheel assembly such that in a first direction of rotation, the mirror housing is allowed to rotate relative to the base member, in addition to allowing rotation of the mirror housing relative to the base member, where, the spring element resiliently deforms as it slides against a slide surface formed in the gear rim, as taught to be desirable by Casals (see discussion in col. 8, lines 1-9).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over van Stiphout in view of Mazurek (U.S. Pat. 5521744).
Regarding claim 13, van Stiphout is discussed above, and teaches the folding structure, where the cover 6 is installed in a mirror housing connected to the base. However, Stiphout fails to teach where a cutline seal is configured to selectively contact the mirror housing, and the mirror housing is spaced apart from the cutline seal if the cover 6 is raised. Mazurek teaches a folding structure 1 for a vehicle mirror 11, comprising a cutline seal with his folding structure 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of van Stiphout to have a cutline seal, in order to provide a water tight frame to prevent exposure of the mirror to road-salt and moisture from humidity or rain, as taught to be desirable by Mazurek (see discussion in col. 11, lines 60-63).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the reference to van Stiphout, Casals et al., and Mazurek, the Examiner submits the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892). The prior art teaches mounting structures for vehicle mirrors.
/Michael McDuffie/Examiner, Art Unit 3632 21-Feb-26
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632