DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 17 August 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-22 remain pending in the application. Claims 16-22 are new. Applicant’s amendments to Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, 10, 11 and 15 have overcome some objections and all U.S.C. 112 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 15 May 2026. However, Applicant’s amendments to Claims 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, 10, 11 and 15 do not overcome the U.S.C. 102 and U.S.C. 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 17 August 2026, with respect to the U.S.C. 102 and U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-22, have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant Remarks
Applicant remarks that Bol'shakov does not teach “wherein the objectives are arranged and aligned in the objective mount such that the plasma detection regions are arranged offset along the beam axis”. The claimed spatial arrangement of the plasma detection regions of the claimed invention is not disclosed or suggested in Bol'shakov. The present invention employs a plurality of objectives arranged such that their detection regions are offset along the beam axis of the plasma inducing laser beam, thereby creating an elongated viewing region that eliminates the need for mechanical height adjustment of either the detection unit or the sample. See fig. 4B (and 14B) of the present disclosure. The claimed invention results in a fast, more reliable, and sample-preparation-free analysis of uneven surfaces by enabling a detection of a greater depth range. In contrast, Bol'shakov teaches two collection optics modules (e.g. 8410, 9410) in fig. 13, where the detection cones of collection optics modules (9350, 9360) intersect at a single point (9300) in a common plane (9460) – the surface of the sample 8310. Thus, the central axes of the modules are not offset along the beam axis but instead converge at a single plasma plume location.
Present Disclosure Fig. 4B
Applicant remarks that Bol'shakov fig. 9 illustrates one common plasma plume 8010 that originates from a flat surface and is observed from two sides with the collection optics module 8410, 9410. In contrast, the multifocal concept in the present disclosure is not taught by Bol'shakov. Bol'shakov does not disclose any differentiation with respect to axial detection.
Applicant requests a telephone call prior to issuing any further Office Action.
Examiner Responses
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Comparing the two figures (present disclosure fig. 4B vs. Bol'shakov fig. 9 and 13), the beams travel through multiple objectives and converges onto one position below, while the beam axis is the vertical line through the point of convergence. Also, the detection regions of the objectives all include the point of convergence. Thus, the collection optics modules 8410, 9410 detection regions in Bol'shakov begin offset along the beam axis (i.e. the vertical line through the sample) and converge at a single point (i.e. the sample), under broadest reasonable interpretation. Examiner believes the Applicant remarks refer to the offset in heights of the objectives as shown in present disclosure fig. 4B. Therefore, Examiner respectfully suggests amending the claim to further explain the features in fig. 4B of the present disclosure. For example, “wherein the objectives are arranged and aligned in the objective mount at different distances from the objective mount”.
Examiner respectfully points out that claim 1 does not limit the multifocal concept in such a way that overcomes the teachings of Bol'shakov under broadest reasonable interpretation. Examiner respectfully suggests amending the claim to further explain the features in fig. 4B of the present disclosure. For example, “wherein the objectives are arranged and aligned in the objective mount at different distances from the objective mount”.
Examiner respectfully suggests formally requesting an official interview through official USPTO channels.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 6, “dependent on of laser” should be corrected to say –dependent on laser--.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 9, “two to 25” should be corrected to say –two to twenty-five— (or corrected to say –2 to 25—).
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 2, “mounting plate” should be corrected to say –mount plate—.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 is unclear because it does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. Claim 19 depends on claim 8. The “observation axes” are claimed in an “and/or wherein” clause that is not required by claim 8. Therefore, claim 19 as a whole is an optional limitation. See MPEP 2173.05h. Sec II. An “optional” limitation creates confusion because it doesn’t appear to do any actual work in the claim because a claim “comprising” a list of features may also include other features as well. See also: https://patentlyo.com/patent/2020/03/consisting-and-optionally.html.
For examination purposes, claim 19 is understood to mean, “if each of the detection cones extends along an observation axis, which extends at an observation angle in the range from 0° to 90° with respect to the beam axis, then the observation axes of the objectives lie on a cone surface around the beam axis”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-11 and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bol'shakov et al. (US 20210341392 A1) from the IDS, hereinafter Bol'shakov.
As to claim 1, Bol'shakov teaches a spectrometer system for laser-induced plasma spectral analysis (Bol'shakov [0012]; fig. 1; “a laser ablation spectroscopy apparatus… The plasma plume can be detected with an optical spectrometer”) comprising:
a laser beam source for emitting a laser beam (Bol'shakov [0063]; fig. 1; “pulse laser 102”);
a focusing optics for focusing the laser beam onto a sample (Bol'shakov [0063]; fig. 1; “The laser pulses are focused onto a sample 105 with a lens 104”),
wherein a plasma excitation area is formed along a beam axis of the laser beam (Bol'shakov [0063]; fig. 1; “The laser pulses are focused onto a sample 105 with a lens 104 to produce a plasma plume 114 of the sample 105 at a sample site 110”) which is dependent on [[of]] laser parameters of the laser beam (Bol'shakov fig. 1; beam from pulsed laser 102) and a material of the sample (Bol'shakov fig. 1; [0073]; “The application software decodes the spectral information from the detector 130 and facilitates analysis of the spectral information and generates composition information of the sample 105”. Thus, the material of the sample is described by Bol'shakov as the composition information of the sample 105) in such a manner that a surface of the sample (Bol'shakov [0064]; “a surface of the sample site 110”) located in the plasma excitation area leads to the formation of a laser-induced plasma (Bol'shakov fig. 1; plasma plume 114 of the sample 105);
a detection unit for detecting plasma light, which is emitted from the laser-induced plasma (Bol'shakov [0012]; fig. 1; “The plasma plume can be detected with an optical spectrometer having an intensified charge coupled device”. [0068]-[0072]; fig. 1; The position sensor 112, the spectrometer 120, the fiber cable 124, the ICCD or detector 130 and the system computer 140 can be described by Bol'shakov as the detection unit), comprising
- an objective mount (Bol'shakov fig. 9; [0090]-[0091]; optical frame structure 8440 with collection optics modules 8410, 9410);
and - a plurality of objectives mounted by the objective mount (Bol'shakov fig. 9 and 13; [0091]-[0091]; collection optics modules 8410, 9410, mounted by optical frame structure 8440, each comprising of lenses 8412, 8414 which gather light from the object/sample), wherein with each of the objectives there is associated a detection cone (Bol'shakov fig. 13; [0099]; “The central axes 8416, 9416 intersect an x-y plane parallel to the stage at equal angles 8419, 9419, from which each module can view from a plume at 9300 and capture equal portions of the light through equal solid angle cones 9350, 9360”),
which forms a plasma detection region in an overlap region with the laser beam (Bol'shakov fig. 9 and 13; pulsed laser 8205 beam overlap with the collection optics modules 8410, 9410 detection regions), so that when the laser-induced plasma is formed in one of the plasma detection regions, a measurement portion of the plasma light (Bol'shakov fig. 13; [0091]; “each collection optics module aimed at a situs 9300 of the plasma plume”) can be detected by the corresponding one of the objectives and the plasma detection regions jointly form a viewing region of the detection unit (Bol'shakov fig. 9 and 13; pulsed laser 8205 beam overlap with the collection optics modules 8410, 9410 detection regions, jointly forming a viewing region of the optical spectrometer, part of the detection unit),
wherein the objectives are arranged and aligned in the objective mount such that the plasma detection regions are arranged offset along the beam axis and jointly form the viewing region of the detection unit (Bol'shakov fig. 13; [0091]; “Accordingly, each optics support substructure 8415, 9415 can hold a respective collection optics module 8410, 9410 in a fixed position and orientation that can optimize light collection from a plasma plume arising from the spot circle position”);
a sample vessel with a sample vessel bottom surface on which the sample can be positioned (Bol'shakov [0012]; “A sample of material is coupled to a stage movable…”. The sample vessel bottom surface is described by Bol'shakov as the surface of the stage where the sample is positioned);
a sample vessel support adapted to move the sample vessel so that a plurality of sections of the surface of the sample can be positioned in the plasma excitation area (Bol'shakov [0012]; “A sample of material is coupled to a stage movable in independent x, y and z directions using an array of x-y-z motors”. The sample vessel support is described by Bol'shakov as the array of x-y-z motors, which can position a plurality of sections of the surface of the sample to be excited by the plasma plume);
and an optical spectrometer for spectral analysis of the measured components of the plasma light detected by the detection unit (Bol'shakov [0012]; “The plasma plume can be detected with an optical spectrometer”).
Bol'shakov Fig. 1
Bol'shakov Fig. 9
Bol'shakov Fig. 13
As to claim 2, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 1, wherein the sample vessel support is configured to affect a relative movement between the sample vessel and the beam axis (Bol'shakov [0012]; fig. 1; “A sample of material is coupled to a stage movable in independent x, y and z directions using an array of x-y-z motors”. Meanwhile, the beam axis from laser 102 remains the same), during which relative movement the viewing region is moved at a distance over the sample vessel bottom surface along a scanning trajectory (Bol'shakov [0012]; The stage is movable in independent x, y and z directions and thus, the scanning trajectory can be linear or grid-shaped).
As to claim 5, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 1, wherein the sample vessel support comprises two linear drives, which are configured to move the sample vessel in a plane in space (Bol'shakov [0067]; “The x-y-z motors can comprise suitable stepper motors driven by stepping motor controllers”. Thus, there are at least two linear drives, i.e. x motor, y motor, z motor, configured to move the sample in an x-y-z plane in space);
and/or wherein the sample vessel has a two-dimensional extension and the beam axis extends at an angle in the range from 0° to 80° to a normal direction of the two-dimensional extension of the sample vessel.
As to claim 6, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 1, further comprising a deflecting mirror, wherein the deflecting mirror is configured to deflect the laser beam between the focusing optics and the sample vessel (Bol'shakov [0066]; fig. 1; “A dichroic mirror 107 is used for directing the laser beam toward the sample site 110 and a mirror 109 allows viewing of the sample site 110 using a video camera 116”. The laser beam is deflected by 90° between the laser 102 and the surface of the stage where the sample is positioned);
and wherein the detection unit is arranged between the deflecting mirror and the sample vessel (Bol'shakov fig. 1; The collection optics 122 which leads to the spectrometer 120 is arranged between the dichroic mirror 107 and the surface of the stage where the sample is positioned, i.e. sample site 110).
As to claim 7, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 1, wherein the plasma detection regions - partially overlap along the beam axis, merge into one another, or are spaced apart from one another (Bol'shakov fig. 9 and 13; the collection optics modules 8410, 9410 detection regions are spaced apart from one another and merge at the situs 9300 of the plasma plume);
and/or - extend along the beam axis over 0.1 mm to 15 mm and/or over 1/10 to 1/4 of the viewing region.
As to claim 8, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 1, wherein the objectives are arranged and aligned in the objective mount such that the detection cones form a common plasma detection region in an overlap region with the laser beam (Bol'shakov fig. 9 and 13; pulsed laser 8205 beam overlap with the solid angle cones 9350, 9360), from which common plasma detection region a measurement portion of the plasma light can be detected by each of the objectives in the case of a plasma being in the plasma detection region (Bol'shakov [0099]; “directing the central axis 8416, 9416 of each collection optics modules to a point 9300 equidistant from each module, where the pulsed laser 8205 spot circle can generate a precise plasma plume”);
and/or wherein each of the detection cones extends along an observation axis, which extends at an observation angle (α) in the range from 0° to 90° with respect to the beam axis.
As to claim 9, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 1, wherein the objectives are arranged azimuthally spaced around the beam axis (Bol'shakov fig. 13; [0091]; “Accordingly, each optics support substructure 8415, 9415 can hold a respective collection optics module 8410, 9410 in a fixed position and orientation that can optimize light collection from a plasma plume arising from the spot circle position”. Thus, the objectives of collection optics module 8410, 9410 are arranged azimuthally spaced around the laser beam axis as shown in fig. 13);
and/or wherein the objectives are arranged and aligned in the objective mount in such a manner that the detection cones detect measurement portions of the plasma light of a plasma emitted at different solid angles.
As to claim 10, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 1, wherein the objective mount comprises a mount plate in which a plurality of objective mount openings for receiving the objectives and an optical passage opening for the laser beam are provided, and wherein the objective mount openings are arranged around the optical passage opening (Bol'shakov fig. 9 and 13; [0090]-[0091]; “The laser beam focusing optics module 8445 is secured to frame 8440 in a position where it can center a precise laser spot circle 9510 of predetermined size in plane 9460 on a point 9500” and “the optical frame 8440 has support substructures 8415, 9415 operable to secure collection optics modules 8410 and/or 9410 in a preselected position with respective central axis/axes 8416 and/or 9416 of each collection optics module aimed at a situs 9300 of the plasma plume”. Thus, the frame 8440 has a plurality of support substructures openings 8415, 9415 for receiving the collection optics modules 8410, 9410 and the laser beam focusing optics module 8445. The support substructures openings 8415, 9415 are arranged around the laser beam focusing optics module 8445);
and/or wherein the detection unit comprises two to 25 objectives.
As to claim 11, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 1, further comprising a support frame, at which the focusing optics (Bol'shakov fig. 1 and 9; lens 104/ laser beam focusing optics module 8416), the sample vessel support (Bol'shakov fig. 1; [0067]; “The stage 106 includes an attached array of ‘x-y-z’ motors 108”. [0092]; fig. 9; Thus, the stage enclosure 8200 comprises the motors 108), and optionally the optical spectrometer are mounted (Bol'shakov fig. 9; [0097]; “The master system module 9400 can include any of the elements and/or structures disclosed with respect to FIG. 8, including elements not shown in FIG. 9”, including the laser beam focusing optics module 8416 and the stage enclosure 8200, i.e. the focusing optics and the sample vessel support. Thus, the master system module 9400 is described by Bol'shakov as the support frame),
and wherein the objective mount (Bol'shakov; optical frame structure 8440) comprises a mount plate mounted at the support frame or formed as part of the support frame (Bol'shakov fig. 9; The optical frame 8440 is mounted at the master system module 9400), at which the objectives are mounted (Bol'shakov fig. 9 and 13; “the optical frame 8440 has support substructures 8415, 9415 operable to secure collection optics modules 8410 and/or 9410 in a preselected position with respective central axis/axes 8416 and/or 9416 of each collection optics module aimed at a situs 9300 of the plasma plume”)
and in which an optical passage opening for the laser beam is provided (Bol'shakov fig. 9 and 13; [0090]-[0091]; “The laser beam focusing optics module 8445 is secured to frame 8440 in a position where it can center a precise laser spot circle 9510 of predetermined size in plane 9460 on a point 9500”).
As to claim 16, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 2, wherein the sample vessel support comprises a rotation drive, a swivel drive, and/or a linear drive to perform the relative movement (Bol'shakov [0067]; “The x-y-z motors can comprise suitable stepper motors driven by stepping motor controllers”. Thus, the stage optionally comprises a linear drive).
As to claim 17, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 2, wherein the scanning trajectory is one of a circular trajectory, a spiral trajectory, a linear trajectory and a grid-shaped trajectory (Bol'shakov [0012]; The stage is movable in independent x, y and z directions and thus, the scanning trajectory can be linear or grid-shaped).
As to claim 18, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 1, wherein the laser beam is a pulsed laser beam (Bol'shakov [0063]; fig. 1; “pulse laser 102”).
As to claim 19, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 8, wherein the observation axes of the objectives lie on a cone surface around the beam axis (Note from the U.S.C. 112 rejections: For examination purposes, the limitation is understood to be optional, reliant on an optional “and/or wherein” clause in claim 8. Further, Bol'shakovn annotated fig. 13 can teach a cone surface (represented by the cone-shaped annotation) that contains the observation axes 8416, 9416 which are around the beam axis, represented by the vertical dotted line annotation (with an extended view in fig. 9)).
Bol'shakov annotated Fig. 13
As to claim 20, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 10, wherein the objectives are arranged azimuthally spaced around the beam axis, or wherein the objectives are arranged azimuthally equally distributed around the beam axis (Bol'shakov fig. 13; [0091]; “Accordingly, each optics support substructure 8415, 9415 can hold a respective collection optics module 8410, 9410 in a fixed position and orientation that can optimize light collection from a plasma plume arising from the spot circle position”. Thus, the objectives of collection optics module 8410, 9410 are arranged azimuthally spaced around the laser beam axis as shown in fig. 13).
As to claim 21, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 11, wherein the beam axis extends orthogonally to the mounting plate (Bol'shakov annotated Fig. 13; the beam axis, represented by the vertical dotted line annotation (with an extended view in fig. 9), extends orthogonally to the optical frame structure 8440, which supports substructures 8415, 9415).
As to claim 22, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 15, wherein the input aperture is an input slit (Bol'shakov fig. 1 and 9; [0105]; The spectrometers, which receive spectral emission, have certain “spectral bandwidth”, which is determined by the slit width of each spectrometer. The spectrometers comprise “wavelength separating elements”, such as monochromators, and “detectors”. Thus, each spectrometer has an implicit input slit),
or wherein the dispersive optical element is a grating, prism or grating prism (Bol'shakov [0069]; “A mirror (not shown) within the spectrometer 120 reflects the plasma lumina to a grating that disperses the plasma lumina”. [0109]; “One or several of these spectrometers can include a transmission grating operable to provide enhanced sensitivity in the red and near-infrared spectral region”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bol'shakov in view of Lin et al. (CN 216284940 U) from the IDS, hereinafter Lin, further in view of Wilson (US 20050175362 A1).
As to claim 3, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 1.
However, Bol'shakov does not explicitly disclose wherein the sample vessel support comprises a rotation drive, which is configured to drive a rotational movement of the sample vessel about an axis of rotation, wherein the axis of rotation extends at an angle in the range from 0° to 80° with respect to the beam axis.
Lin, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the sample vessel support comprises a rotation drive, which is configured to drive a rotational movement of the sample vessel about an axis of rotation (Lin pg. 7 ln. 50-51; fig. 2; “The sample stage 8 is placed on the rotating motor 9”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bol'shakov to incorporate the teachings of Lin to include wherein the sample vessel support comprises a rotation drive, which is configured to drive a rotational movement of the sample vessel about an axis of rotation; for the advantage of enhancing alignment uniformity (Lin pg. 7 ln. 50-51).
Still lacking the limitation such as wherein the axis of rotation extends, in particular, at an angle in the range from 0° to 80° with respect to the beam axis.
Wilson, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the axis of rotation extends, in particular, at an angle in the range from 0° to 80° with respect to the beam axis (Wilson [0021]; “Rotating tip/tilt stage 140 around its X-axis will steer the dispersed spectral pattern illuminating the permanent spectral-plane structure to shift vertically”. Thus, the axis of rotation extends at an angle that can increase greater than 0°, thus, can be in the range from 0° to 80°).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bol'shakov in view of Lin to incorporate the teachings of Wilson to include wherein the axis of rotation extends, in particular, at an angle in the range from 0° to 80° with respect to the beam axis; for the advantage of control over center wavelength of the signal to be detected (Wilson [0021]).
Lin Fig. 2
As to claim 4, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 3, wherein the sample vessel support further comprises - a swivel drive, which is configured to move the axis of rotation along a circular path in space; and/or - a linear drive, which is configured to move the axis of rotation along an axis (X, Y) in space (Bol'shakov [0012]; The stage is movable in independent x, y and z directions and thus, the scanning trajectory can be linear or grid-shaped).
Claim 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bol'shakov in view of Lin.
As to claim 12, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 1, further comprising an optical light guiding system configured for forwarding measurement portions of the plasma light detected by the detection unit to the optical spectrometer (Bol'shakov [0090]; fig. 9; “The collection optics module [[8410]] can couple the spectral emission into a lightguide 8230. The lightguide can transmit the optical emission to an optical spectrometer comprising wavelength separation unit 8510 and detector 8550”. [0098]; “A collection optics module 9410 to acquire plasma plume light emission for the extension spectrometer module 9600”) and comprising a plurality of optical inputs and an optical output, wherein each of the optical inputs is optically associated with one of the objectives and is adapted to receive the measurement portion detected by the associated objective (Bol'shakov [0090]; [0098]; fig. 9; The plurality of inputs enters the collection optics modules 8410 and 9410. The optical output enters the spectrometers 9510 and 9520, then one output to computer 8710).
However, Bol'shakov does not explicitly disclose the optical output is configured for coupling measurement portions detected by the objectives into the optical spectrometer.
Lin, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches the optical output is configured for coupling measurement portions detected by the objectives into the optical spectrometer (Lin fig. 2; pg. 8 ln. 33-39; “The second focusing lens 10 is arranged between the sample to be tested and the spectrometer 11”. The optical output couples the parallel beam axes detected into the spectrometer 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bol'shakov to incorporate the teachings of Lin to include the optical output is configured for coupling measurement portions detected by the objectives into the optical spectrometer; for the advantage of enhanced detection via optical axes coinciding on the surface of the sample to be tested (Lin pg. 8 ln. 38-39).
As to claim 13, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 12, wherein at least one of the objectives is configured and arranged in the objective mount such that a measurement portion of the plasma light, which is detected in the detection cone of the objective, is imaged onto the optical input associated with the objective (Bol'shakov fig. 1; [0080]; “A real-time video image of the sample site 110 is generated on a first window 218 of the GUI 200. The real-time video is received from the video camera 116. The plasma plume 114 is analyzed by the spectrometer 120 and the detector 130”. Thus, a measurement portion of the plasma light is imaged onto the optical input associated with at least one of the objectives, i.e. lens 104).
As to claim 14, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 12.
However, Bol'shakov does not explicitly disclose wherein a beam axis is assigned to each of the measurement portions emerging from the optical light guiding system, and the beam axes extend parallel to each other or do not extend under an angle of up to 1° or up to 3° with respect to each other.
Lin, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein a beam axis is assigned to each of the measurement portions emerging from the optical light guiding system, and the beam axes extend parallel to each other or do not extend under an angle of up to 1° or up to 3° with respect to each other (Lin fig. 2; pg. 8 ln. 33-39; “The second focusing lens 10 is arranged between the sample to be tested and the spectrometer 11”. There are beam axes on one side of the second focusing lens 10 that are assigned to each measurement portion and are guided by the lens 10 to the spectrometer 11. The beam axes in fig. 2 extend parallel to each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bol'shakov to incorporate the teachings of Lin to include wherein a beam axis is assigned to each of the measurement portions emerging from the optical light guiding system, and the beam axes extend parallel to each other or do not extend under an angle of up to 1° or up to 3° with respect to each other; for the advantage of enhanced detection via optical axes coinciding on the surface of the sample to be tested (Lin pg. 8 ln. 38-39).
As to claim 15, Bol'shakov teaches the spectrometer system of claim 1, wherein the optical spectrometer comprises an input aperture (Bol'shakov fig. 1 and 9; [0105]; The spectrometers, which receive spectral emission, have certain “spectral bandwidth”, which is determined by the slit width of each spectrometer. The spectrometers comprise “wavelength separating elements”, such as monochromators, and “detectors”. Thus, each spectrometer has an implicit input slit),
a dispersive optical element (Bol'shakov [0069]; “A mirror (not shown) within the spectrometer 120 reflects the plasma lumina to a grating that disperses the plasma lumina”. [0109]; “One or several of these spectrometers can include a transmission grating operable to provide enhanced sensitivity in the red and near-infrared spectral region”).
However, Bol'shakov does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement portions are coupled through the input aperture into the optical spectrometer and are guided via the dispersive optical element spectrally resolved to the detector in order to output a spectral distribution associated with the objectives of the detection unit.
Lin, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the measurement portions are coupled through the input aperture into the optical spectrometer and are guided via the dispersive optical element spectrally resolved to the detector in order to output a spectral distribution associated with the objectives of the detection unit (Lin fig. 2; pg. 8 ln. 1-2; “The spectrometer 11 is used to collect the plasma beam signal, convert the plasma beam signal into an electrical signal, and transmit it to the computer 12 for analysis and processing”. The parallel signals are guided through the lens 10, which is dispersive, to the spectrometer 11 to be detected in order to output the electrical signal, i.e. the spectral distribution, to the computer 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bol'shakov to incorporate the teachings of Lin to inclue wherein the measurement portions are coupled through the input aperture into the optical spectrometer and are guided via the dispersive optical element spectrally resolved to the detector in order to output a spectral distribution associated with the objectives of the detection unit; for the advantage of enhanced detection via optical axes coinciding on the surface of the sample to be tested (Lin pg. 8 ln. 38-39).
Citation of pertinent prior art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Azo Materials, “An Introduction to a Spectrometer - The Detector”, 2 December 2016, B&W Tek, hereinafter Azo, teaches that all spectrometers have an input slit (“In traditional spectrometer (monochrometer) designs, a second slit is located in the image plane, called the exit slit. Usually, this exit slit the same size as the entrance slit, given that the width of the entrance slit is one of the limiting factors on the spectrometer’s resolution” (Emphasis added)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEMAYA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877