DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims X are canceled.
Claims X are amended.
Claims X are new.
Claims 1-9 are pending and have been examined.
This action is in reply to the papers filed on 11/19/2024 (effective filing date 05/26/2022).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted: 11/19/2024 and 12/16/2024, has/have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on xxx as modified by the amendment filed on xxx.
Reasons For Allowance
Prior-Art Rejection withdrawn
Claims xxx are allowed. The closest prior art (See PTO-892, Notice of References Cited) does not teach the claimed:
The invention teaches… and the prior-art teaches…, however, the prior-art does not teach…
The closest prior-art (xxx) teach the features as disclosed in Non-final Rejection (xxxx), however, these cited references do not teach and the prior-art does not teach at least the following combination of features and/or elements:
determining, at a second time after associating the information corresponding to the first loyalty card with the logged location, that a second user computing device is located within a specified distance of the logged location using a second positioning system of the second user computing device; in response to determining that the second user computing device is located within the specified distance of the logged location of the first user computing device at the first time of detecting: retrieving information corresponding to a second loyalty card, the second loyalty card being associated with the merchant and the second user computing device; and displaying, by the second user computing device, data describing the second loyalty card.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101 - Withdrawn
Per Applicant’s amendments and arguments and considering new guidance in the MPEP, the rejections are withdrawn. Specifically, in Applicant’s Remarks (dated 03/14/2017, pgs. 8-11), Applicant traverses the 35 USC §101 rejections arguing that the amended claims recite new limitations that are not abstract, amount to significantly more, are directed to a practical application, etc… For example, Applicant argues….
In support of their arguments, Applicant cites to the following recent Fed. Cir. court cases (i.e., Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, SRI Int’l, Inc. v. Cisco Systems, Inc., Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, Berkheimer, Core Wireless, McRO, Enfish, Bascom, DDR, etc…).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. These claims recite a method, system, and computer readable medium for registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner.
Claim 1 recites [a] computer-implemented management method that registers information for providing a subscription service in a management system that provides a maintenance service using operation data of an air conditioner, the computer-implemented management method comprising: receiving the operation data from the air conditioner through a communication network; storing management information in a memory, the management information being for providing the maintenance service using the received operation data stored in the memory, the management information including customer information and device information; and registering in the memory, as part of the management information, information relevant to the subscription service such that the information registered in the memory is distinguishable between the maintenance service and the subscription service.
The claims are being rejected according to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No. 5, p. 50-57 (Jan. 7, 2019)).
Step 1: Does the Claim Fall within a Statutory Category?
Yes. Claims 1-6 and 9 recite a method and, therefore, are directed to the statutory class of a process. Claim 7 recites a system/apparatus and, therefore, are directed to the statutory class of machine. Claim 8 recites a non-transitory computer readable medium/computer product and, therefore, are directed to the statutory class of a manufacture.
Step 2A, Prong One: Is a Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The following tables identify the specific limitations that recite an abstract idea. The column that identifies the additional elements will be relevant to the analysis in step 2A, prong two, and step 2B.
Claim 1: Identification of Abstract Idea and Additional Elements, using Broadest Reasonable Interpretation
Claim Limitation
Abstract Idea
Additional Element
1. A computer-implemented management method that registers information for providing a subscription service in a management system that provides a maintenance service using operation data of an air conditioner, the computer-implemented management method comprising:
This limitation includes the step(s) of: A computer-implemented management method that registers information for providing a subscription service in a management system that provides a maintenance service using operation data of an air conditioner, the computer-implemented management method comprising.
But for the air conditioner, computer, and/or memory this limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information to facilitate registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner which may be categorized as any of the following:
mental process – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity –
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), and/or
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations).
… using operation data of an air conditioner, the computer-implemented management method …
receiving the operation data from the air conditioner through a communication network;
This limitation includes the step(s) of: receiving the operation data from the air conditioner through a communication network.
But for the air conditioner, computer, and/or memory this limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information to facilitate registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner which may be categorized as any of the following:
mental process – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity –
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), and/or
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations).
receiving the operation data from the air conditioner through a communication network
storing management information in a memory, the management information being for providing the maintenance service using the received operation data stored in the memory, the management information including customer information and device information; and
This limitation includes the step(s) of: storing management information in a memory, the management information being for providing the maintenance service using the received operation data stored in the memory, the management information including customer information and device information.
But for the air conditioner, computer, and/or memory this limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information to facilitate registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner which may be categorized as any of the following:
mental process – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity –
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), and/or
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations).
storing management information in a memory, the management information being for providing the maintenance service using the received operation data stored in the memory, the management information including customer information and device information
registering in the memory, as part of the management information, information relevant to the subscription service such that the information registered in the memory is distinguishable between the maintenance service and the subscription service.
This limitation includes the step(s) of: registering in the memory, as part of the management information, information relevant to the subscription service such that the information registered in the memory is distinguishable between the maintenance service and the subscription service.
But for the air conditioner, computer, and/or memory this limitation is directed to processing and/or communicating known information to facilitate registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner which may be categorized as any of the following:
mental process – concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion)
and/or
certain method of organizing human activity –
fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk), and/or
commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations).
registering in the memory…
As shown above, under Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite a judicial exception (an abstract idea). The claims are directed to the abstract idea of registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner, which, pursuant to MPEP 2106.04, is aptly categorized as a mental process and/or a method of organizing human activity. Therefore, under Step 2A, Prong One, the claims recite a judicial exception.
Next, the aforementioned claims recite additional functional elements that are associated with the judicial exception, including: a memory for storing information. Examiner understands these limitations to be insignificant extrasolution activity. (See Accenture, 728 F.3d 1336, 108 U.S.P.Q.2d 1173 (Fed. Cir. 2013), citing Cf. Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 191-192 (1981) ("[I]nsignificant post-solution activity will not transform an unpatentable principle in to a patentable process.”).
The aforementioned claims also recite additional technical elements including: a computer and air conditioner to execute the method and system, and a “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” for storing executable instructions. These limitations are recited at a high level of generality and appear to be nothing more than generic computer components. Claims that amount to nothing more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer do not render an abstract idea eligible. Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2358, 110 USPQ2d at 1983. See also 134 S. Ct. at 2389, 110 USPQ2d at 1984.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Is the Abstract Idea Integrated into a Practical Application?
No. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The additional elements listed above that relate to computing components are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as generic components performing generic computer functions such as communicating, receiving, processing, analyzing, and outputting/displaying data) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Additionally, the claims do not purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. There is no technological problem that the claimed invention solves. Rather, the computer system is invoked merely as a tool. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, these claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Furthermore, looking at the elements individually and in combination, under Step 2A, Prong Two, the claims as a whole do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because they fail to: improve the functioning of a computer or a technical field, apply the judicial exception in the treatment or prophylaxis of a disease, apply the judicial exception with a particular machine, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply the judicial exception beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Rather, the claims merely use a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea(s), and/or add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Step 2B: Does the Claim Provide an Inventive Concept?
Next, under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Simply put, as noted above, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer (or any other technology), and their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements relating to computing components amount to no more than applying the exception using a generic computing components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computing component cannot provide an inventive concept. Furthermore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed computer components (i.e., additional elements) includes any generic computing components that are capable of being programmed to communicate, receive, send, process, analyze, output, or display data.
Additionally, pursuant to the requirement under Berkheimer, the following citations are provided to demonstrate that the additional elements, identified as extra-solution activity, amount to activities that are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d).
Capturing an image (code) with an RFID reader. Ritter, US Patent No. 7734507 (Col. 3, Lines 56-67); “RFID: Riding on the Chip” by Pat Russo. Frozen Food Age. New York: Dec. 2003, vol. 52, Issue 5; page S22.
Receiving or transmitting data over a network. Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362; OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014).
Storing and retrieving information in memory. Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Outputting/Presenting data to a user. Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015); MPEP 2106.05(g)(3).
Using a machine learning model to determine user segment characteristics for an ad campaign. https://whites.agency/blog/how-to-use-machine-learning-for-customer-segmentation/.
Thus, taken alone and in combination, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above-identified judicial exception (the abstract idea), and are ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Independent method claim 9, system claim 7, and CRM claim 8 also contains the identified abstract ideas, with the additional elements of a processor and storage medium, which are a generic computer components, and thus not significantly more for the same reasons and rationale above.
Dependent claims 2-6 further describe the abstract idea. The additional elements of the dependent claims fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus, as the dependent claims remain directed to a judicial exception, and as the additional elements of the claims do not amount to significantly more, the dependent claims are not patent eligible.
As such, the claims are not patent eligible.
Invention Could be Performed Manually
It is conceivable that the invention could be performed manually without the aid of machine and/or computer. For example, Applicant claims receiving data, storing information, registering information, etc… Each of these features could be performed manually and/or with the aid of a simple generic computer to facilitate the transmission of data.
See also Leapfrog Enterprises, Inc. v. Fisher-Price, Inc., and In re Venner, which stand for the concept that automating manual activity and/or applying modern electronics to older mechanical devices to accomplish the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. Here, applicant is merely claiming computers to facilitate and/or automate functions which used to be commonly performed by a human.
Leapfrog Enterprises, Inc. v. Fisher-Price, Inc., 485 F.3d 1157, 82 USPQ2d 1687 (Fed. Cir. 2007) "[a]pplying modern electronics to older mechanical devices has been commonplace in recent years…"). The combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is commonly available and understood in the art.
In In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958), the court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. MPEP 2144.04, III Automating a Manual Activity.
MPEP 2144.04 III - Automating a Manual Activity and In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958) further stand for and provide motivation for using technology, hardware, computer, or server to automate a manual activity.
Therefore, the Office finds no improvements to another technology or field, no improvements to the function of the computer itself, and no meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Therefore, based on the two-part Alice Corp. analysis, there are no limitations in any of the claims that transform the exception (i.e., the abstract idea) into a patent eligible application.
Claim Rejections - Not an Ordered Combination
None of the limitations, considered as an ordered combination provide eligibility, because taken as a whole, the claims simply instruct the practitioner to implement the abstract idea with routine, conventional activity.
Claim Rejections - Preemption
Allowing the claims, as presently claimed, would preempt others from registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner. Furthermore, the claim language only recites the abstract idea of performing this method, there are no concrete steps articulating a particular way in which this idea is being implemented or describing how it is being performed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730; in view of Wilson et al. 2023/0222471.
18/952,253 – Claim 1. Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 teaches A computer-implemented management method that registers information for providing a subscription service in a management system that provides a maintenance service using operation data of an air conditioner (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0016 - method of operating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) monitoring service … periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data … analyzing the stored data to selectively identify problems and selectively predict faults of the HVAC system; receiving a subscription fee …] A method of operating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) monitoring service is disclosed. The method includes: providing a local device for installation in an HVAC system of a residential or commercial building; periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data. The method further includes: analyzing the stored data to selectively identify problems and selectively predict faults of the HVAC system; receiving a subscription fee corresponding to the building, the subscription fee applying to a calendar period; and during the calendar period, providing information on the identified problems and the predicted faults to a customer corresponding to the building.), the computer-implemented management method comprising: receiving the operation data from the air conditioner through a communication network (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0035 - receiving sensor data from the HVAC system … wherein the operating parameters are obtained from the recorded sensor data] A method of monitoring a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) system installed in a residential or commercial building is disclosed. The method includes: receiving sensor data from the HVAC system, wherein the received sensor data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; recording the received sensor data; providing a graphical interface to a customer corresponding to the building; and, in the graphical interface, displaying a timeline of operating parameters of the HVAC system, wherein the operating parameters are obtained from the recorded sensor data. [0187 - data received from the customer's HVAC system … including repair history information … and operating parameters, such as efficiency…] In FIG. 10A, the customer device 680 is shown with an example repair/replace interface. This interface assists the customer in determining whether to repair or to replace subsystems of the HVAC system or the entire HVAC system. Some or all of the following information can be displayed to the customer based on monitored data. The following list is not exhaustive, however, and additional information can be displayed in various situations based on the data received from the customer's HVAC system as well as comparative data obtained from other systems, including repair history information, pricing information, and operating parameters, such as efficiency. A history of repairs 1304 shows the customer what repairs have been done, the corresponding dates, and the corresponding prices. This may include maintenance, such as filter replacements, tuneups, etc. A projected life of the current system 1308 shows how long the current system is expected to last with regular maintenance and potential replacement of minor parts. A cost of replacement 1312 is calculated based on past history with previous installations and may include a number of options of systems for the customer. For example, a low, medium, and high efficiency system may each be presented. A cost of repairs 1316 depicts what an expected cost is for current repairs to the HVAC system to bring the HVAC system up to a reasonable level of performance. A total cost of ownership comparison 1320 shows the customer how much their current system will cost to repair and operate in comparison to the cost of a new system being installed and operated. An energy savings 1324 is shown based on expected savings from operating a newer, higher efficiency system. A return on investment 1328 may depict the break-even point, if there is one, that shows where the cost of a new system and its lower operating costs may fall below the total cost of the current system with increased operating costs.); storing management information in a memory (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0016 - receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data] A method of operating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) monitoring service is disclosed. The method includes: providing a local device for installation in an HVAC system of a residential or commercial building; periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data. The method further includes: analyzing the stored data to selectively identify problems and selectively predict faults of the HVAC system; receiving a subscription fee corresponding to the building, the subscription fee applying to a calendar period; and during the calendar period, providing information on the identified problems and the predicted faults to a customer corresponding to the building. [0173 - stores received data either in the memory or in other forms of storage, including magnetic storage, optical storage, flash memory storage, etc.] A server of the monitoring system includes a processor and memory, where the memory stores application code that processes data received from the air handler monitor and condensing monitor modules and determines existing and/or impending failures, as described in more detail below. The processor executes this application code and stores received data either in the memory or in other forms of storage, including magnetic storage, optical storage, flash memory storage, etc. While the term server is used in this application, the application is not limited to a single server.), the management information being for providing the maintenance service using the received operation data stored in the memory (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0015 - Monitoring of operation of components … performed by multiple discrete sensors, measuring current individually to each component … a sensor may sense the current drawn by a motor, another sensor measures resistance or current flow of an igniter, and yet another sensor monitors a state of a gas valve… ] Monitoring of operation of components in the condensing unit 212 and the air handler unit 208 has traditionally been performed by multiple discrete sensors, measuring current individually to each component. For example, a sensor may sense the current drawn by a motor, another sensor measures resistance or current flow of an igniter, and yet another sensor monitors a state of a gas valve. However, the cost of these sensors and the time required for installation has made monitoring cost prohibitive. [0016 - providing a local device for installation in an HVAC system of a residential or commercial building; periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data] A method of operating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) monitoring service is disclosed. The method includes: providing a local device for installation in an HVAC system of a residential or commercial building; periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data. The method further includes: analyzing the stored data to selectively identify problems and selectively predict faults of the HVAC system; receiving a subscription fee corresponding to the building, the subscription fee applying to a calendar period; and during the calendar period, providing information on the identified problems and the predicted faults to a customer corresponding to the building. [0026 - comparing received sensor data from before a repair was performed with received sensor data from after the repair was performed … providing a graph of operating parameters of the HVAC system including a time period before the repair was performed and a time period after the repair was performed] In yet further features, the method further includes comparing received sensor data from before a repair was performed with received sensor data from after the repair was performed. In still further features, the method further includes informing the customer of a result of the comparison. In further features, the method further includes providing a graph of operating parameters of the HVAC system including a time period before the repair was performed and a time period after the repair was performed. [0228 - an interface to contractors that manages customer data, equipment information, and fault information for customers of the contractor subscribing to the monitoring service] Contractors may subsidize some or all of the above costs for a variety of reasons. For example, the monitoring company may offer an interface to contractors that manages customer data, equipment information, and fault information for customers of the contractor subscribing to the monitoring service. This may reduce administrative overhead for the contractor. In addition, this may allow for more efficient scheduling and tasking of service visits. For example, location data for customers may be used to reduce driving distances between service visits. Further, employees can be tasked to service visits for which they have the necessary skills, and likely replacement parts can be carried on the service visits. The monitoring service data may also help to prioritize service visits and estimate time required to complete the service visit. This management software may be implemented by the monitoring service or may be packaged and sold for installation by a contractor.), the management information including customer information and device information (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0022 - make and model number of the HVAC system] In still further features, the selectively identifying problems includes selectively identifying a reduced efficiency of the HVAC system in response to the stored data. In further features, the method further includes waiting to send information regarding the reduced efficiency to the customer until the reduced efficiency falls below a threshold. In yet further features, the method further includes determining the threshold based on a make and model number of the HVAC system. In still further features, the method further includes determining the threshold based on an initial efficiency determination performed on the HVAC system. [0061 - identifying information of the customer's HVAC system, including make and model numbers, as well as indications of the specific part numbers] The monitoring system may provide specific information to the contractor, including identifying information of the customer's HVAC system, including make and model numbers, as well as indications of the specific part numbers that appear to be failing. Based on this information, the contractor can allocate the correct repair personnel that have experience with the specific HVAC system and/or component. In addition, the service technician is able to bring replacement parts, avoiding return trips after diagnosis. [0095 - a unique identifier of the customer or the building … contractor device 372 may include a database indexed by the unique identifier, which stores information about the customer including the customer's address, contractual information such as service agreements, and detailed information about the installed HVAC equipment] In various implementations, the monitoring system 330 may transmit a unique identifier of the customer or the building to the contractor device 372. The contractor device 372 may include a database indexed by the unique identifier, which stores information about the customer including the customer's address, contractual information such as service agreements, and detailed information about the installed HVAC equipment.); and registering in the memory, as part of the management information, information relevant to the subscription service such that the information registered in the memory is distinguishable between the maintenance service and the subscription service (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0069 - information may be relevant to warranty concerns, such as determining whether a particular problem is covered by a warranty] The historical data collected by the monitoring system may allow the contractor to properly specify new HVAC components and to better tune configuration, including dampers and set points of the HVAC system. The information collected may be helpful in product development and assessing failure modes. The information may be relevant to warranty concerns, such as determining whether a particular problem is covered by a warranty. Further, the information may help to identify conditions, such as unauthorized system modifications, that could potentially void warranty coverage. [0164 - the subscription fee, the installation fee, and the device fee] The installer may collect a device fee, an installation fee, and/or a subscription fee from the customer. In various implementations, the subscription fee, the installation fee, and the device fee may be rolled into a single system fee, which the customer pays upon installation. The system fee may include the subscription fee for a set number of years, such as 1, 2, 5, or 10, or may be a lifetime subscription, which may last for the life of the home or the ownership of the building by the customer. [0224 - contractor may subsidize the monitoring service costs … Contractors may recoup monitoring service costs out of the profit margin of service visits and repairs] When the customer has not prepaid for the monitoring service, the contractor may subsidize the monitoring service costs as long as the customer retains the contractor for service calls and repairs. Contractors may recoup monitoring service costs out of the profit margin of service visits and repairs; contractors may also apply surcharges to service visits and repairs to recoup costs. If the customer chooses a new contractor, the new contractor may assume the subsidization; alternatively, the customer may begin to pay for the full cost of monitoring. [0228 - the monitoring company may offer an interface to contractors that manages customer data, equipment information, and fault information for customers of the contractor subscribing to the monitoring service] Contractors may subsidize some or all of the above costs for a variety of reasons. For example, the monitoring company may offer an interface to contractors that manages customer data, equipment information, and fault information for customers of the contractor subscribing to the monitoring service. This may reduce administrative overhead for the contractor. In addition, this may allow for more efficient scheduling and tasking of service visits. For example, location data for customers may be used to reduce driving distances between service visits. Further, employees can be tasked to service visits for which they have the necessary skills, and likely replacement parts can be carried on the service visits. The monitoring service data may also help to prioritize service visits and estimate time required to complete the service visit. This management software may be implemented by the monitoring service or may be packaged and sold for installation by a contractor.).
Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 may not expressly disclose the “registering” features, however, Wilson et al. 2023/0222471 teaches these features as follows (Wilson et al. 2023/0222471 [0021 - registering, by the local subscription manager, a subscription based on the updating; remotely registering, by the local subscription manager, the subscription with a subscription management service that initiated the subscription update] In an embodiment, a computer-implemented method for providing a solution using managed systems is provided. The method may include obtaining, by a local subscription manager hosted by a managed system of the managed system, a subscription update for the managed system; based on the subscription update: updating, by the local subscription manager, operation of: a startup manager of the managed system, an operation manager of the managed system, and a software stack of the managed system; locally registering, by the local subscription manager, a subscription based on the updating; remotely registering, by the local subscription manager, the subscription with a subscription management service that initiated the subscription update; and enforcing, by the local subscription manager, the locally registered subscription on the managed system. [0114 - subscription update is registered with the subscription management service] At operation 312, the subscription update is registered with the subscription management service. The subscription update may be registered by sending a message to the subscription management service. The message may indicate that the solution specified by the solution deployment request is deployed and available for use by a user that requested that the solution be deployed. [0134 - update is registered as being complete both locally and with a subscription management service] At operation 416, the subscription update is registered as being complete both locally and with a subscription management service. The subscription update may be registered locally by modifying a subscription information repository 164. The modification may indicate the subscription as well as limitations and disablement actions (e.g., code blocks) for the subscription. Similar information may be sent to the deployment manager which may provide similar information to the subscription management service which may perform a similar recordation.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 to include the features as taught by Wilson et al. 2023/0222471. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730; in view of Wilson et al. 2023/0222471; in further view of KO et al. 2011/0145110.
18/952,253 – Claim 2. Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 further teaches The computer-implemented management method according to claim 1, wherein the computer-implemented management method includes extracting a user who uses the subscription service (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0016 - method of operating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) monitoring service … periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data … analyzing the stored data to selectively identify problems and selectively predict faults of the HVAC system; receiving a subscription fee …] A method of operating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) monitoring service is disclosed. The method includes: providing a local device for installation in an HVAC system of a residential or commercial building; periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data. The method further includes: analyzing the stored data to selectively identify problems and selectively predict faults of the HVAC system; receiving a subscription fee corresponding to the building, the subscription fee applying to a calendar period; and during the calendar period, providing information on the identified problems and the predicted faults to a customer corresponding to the building.) or a user who does not use the subscription service from the management information based on the information relevant to the subscription service of the management information (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0069 - information may be relevant to warranty concerns, such as determining whether a particular problem is covered by a warranty] The historical data collected by the monitoring system may allow the contractor to properly specify new HVAC components and to better tune configuration, including dampers and set points of the HVAC system. The information collected may be helpful in product development and assessing failure modes. The information may be relevant to warranty concerns, such as determining whether a particular problem is covered by a warranty. Further, the information may help to identify conditions, such as unauthorized system modifications, that could potentially void warranty coverage. [0164 - the subscription fee, the installation fee, and the device fee] The installer may collect a device fee, an installation fee, and/or a subscription fee from the customer. In various implementations, the subscription fee, the installation fee, and the device fee may be rolled into a single system fee, which the customer pays upon installation. The system fee may include the subscription fee for a set number of years, such as 1, 2, 5, or 10, or may be a lifetime subscription, which may last for the life of the home or the ownership of the building by the customer. [0224 - contractor may subsidize the monitoring service costs … Contractors may recoup monitoring service costs out of the profit margin of service visits and repairs] When the customer has not prepaid for the monitoring service, the contractor may subsidize the monitoring service costs as long as the customer retains the contractor for service calls and repairs. Contractors may recoup monitoring service costs out of the profit margin of service visits and repairs; contractors may also apply surcharges to service visits and repairs to recoup costs. If the customer chooses a new contractor, the new contractor may assume the subsidization; alternatively, the customer may begin to pay for the full cost of monitoring. [0228 - the monitoring company may offer an interface to contractors that manages customer data, equipment information, and fault information for customers of the contractor subscribing to the monitoring service] Contractors may subsidize some or all of the above costs for a variety of reasons. For example, the monitoring company may offer an interface to contractors that manages customer data, equipment information, and fault information for customers of the contractor subscribing to the monitoring service. This may reduce administrative overhead for the contractor. In addition, this may allow for more efficient scheduling and tasking of service visits. For example, location data for customers may be used to reduce driving distances between service visits. Further, employees can be tasked to service visits for which they have the necessary skills, and likely replacement parts can be carried on the service visits. The monitoring service data may also help to prioritize service visits and estimate time required to complete the service visit. This management software may be implemented by the monitoring service or may be packaged and sold for installation by a contractor.).
Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 may not expressly disclose the “extracting” features, however, KO et al. 2011/0145110 teaches these features as follows (KO et al. 2011/0145110 [0016 - extracting a first customer identifier and a first customized service request state value…] Another embodiment of the present invention provides a method for an index information management device of a service level agreement system (SLA) system to manage a service level agreement index, including: receiving subscriber subscription information including a customized service request for requesting a different service for each subscriber from a subscriber subscription management system; determining whether a period has reached a transfer period by searching for charging period information; when it has reached the transfer period, extracting a first customer identifier and a first customized service request state value from an Scn_slayn_fut table for storing a state of whether the subscriber has selected the customized service request; searching a second customer identifier and a second customized service request state value corresponding to the first customer identifier and the first customized service request state value from a subscriber information table; storing the second customer identifier and the second customized service request state value in an Scn_slayn_old table for storing a state of whether the subscriber selected the customized service request in the past; and updating the first customer identifier and the first customized service request state value to the subscriber information table.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 to include the features as taught by KO et al. 2011/0145110. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730; in view of Wilson et al. 2023/0222471; in further view of Boller 2005/0289012.
18/952,253 – Claim 3. Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 further teaches The computer-implemented management method according to claim 1, wherein the computer-implemented management method includes: storing information regarding the subscription service and information regarding an optional service that is additionally provided (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0016 - receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data] A method of operating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) monitoring service is disclosed. The method includes: providing a local device for installation in an HVAC system of a residential or commercial building; periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data. The method further includes: analyzing the stored data to selectively identify problems and selectively predict faults of the HVAC system; receiving a subscription fee corresponding to the building, the subscription fee applying to a calendar period; and during the calendar period, providing information on the identified problems and the predicted faults to a customer corresponding to the building. [0173 - stores received data either in the memory or in other forms of storage, including magnetic storage, optical storage, flash memory storage, etc.] A server of the monitoring system includes a processor and memory, where the memory stores application code that processes data received from the air handler monitor and condensing monitor modules and determines existing and/or impending failures, as described in more detail below. The processor executes this application code and stores received data either in the memory or in other forms of storage, including magnetic storage, optical storage, flash memory storage, etc. While the term server is used in this application, the application is not limited to a single server.); and registering, in the management information, first contract information regarding the subscription service and second contract information regarding the optional service, which is added to the first contract information, the first contract information and the second contract information being associated with each other (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0095 - contractual information such as service agreements] In various implementations, the monitoring system 330 may transmit a unique identifier of the customer or the building to the contractor device 372. The contractor device 372 may include a database indexed by the unique identifier, which stores information about the customer including the customer's address, contractual information such as service agreements, and detailed information about the installed HVAC equipment.).
Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 may not expressly disclose the “optional service” features, however, Boller 2005/0289012 teaches these features as follows (Boller 2005/0289012 [0025 - optional subscription service…] In the corresponding marketing method, illustrated in the flow chart provided in FIG. 6, a programming provider provides 36 a tiered set of multi-media programming 34. The multi-media programming preferably includes a first set of multi-media programs available under a basic subscription service with a set of standard subject matter themes and a premier set of multi-media programs available under an optional subscription service with at least one specialty subject matter theme 32. The specialty subject matter themes may include a sports theme, a movie theme, a music theme, and a gaming theme (although additional themes are readily apparent). The provider then offers 38 the premier subscription service to subscribers in combination with the offer of a satellite antenna that includes a design corresponding to the specialty subject matter theme selected by the subscribers. For example, the designs might include a set of team logos for the sports theme, a set of movie screen-shots for the movie theme, a set of band logos for the music theme, and a set of gaming logos for the gaming theme. Again other possible designs corresponding to other specialty subject matter themes are encompassed within the described method. Finally, the provider provides 40 the new subscribers with an antenna having a design corresponding to the subscriber's selected specialty subject matter theme.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 to include the features as taught by Boller 2005/0289012. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 may not expressly disclose the “registering” features, however, Wilson et al. 2023/0222471 teaches these features as follows (Wilson et al. 2023/0222471 [0021 - registering, by the local subscription manager, a subscription based on the updating; remotely registering, by the local subscription manager, the subscription with a subscription management service that initiated the subscription update] In an embodiment, a computer-implemented method for providing a solution using managed systems is provided. The method may include obtaining, by a local subscription manager hosted by a managed system of the managed system, a subscription update for the managed system; based on the subscription update: updating, by the local subscription manager, operation of: a startup manager of the managed system, an operation manager of the managed system, and a software stack of the managed system; locally registering, by the local subscription manager, a subscription based on the updating; remotely registering, by the local subscription manager, the subscription with a subscription management service that initiated the subscription update; and enforcing, by the local subscription manager, the locally registered subscription on the managed system. [0114 - subscription update is registered with the subscription management service] At operation 312, the subscription update is registered with the subscription management service. The subscription update may be registered by sending a message to the subscription management service. The message may indicate that the solution specified by the solution deployment request is deployed and available for use by a user that requested that the solution be deployed. [0134 - update is registered as being complete both locally and with a subscription management service] At operation 416, the subscription update is registered as being complete both locally and with a subscription management service. The subscription update may be registered locally by modifying a subscription information repository 164. The modification may indicate the subscription as well as limitations and disablement actions (e.g., code blocks) for the subscription. Similar information may be sent to the deployment manager which may provide similar information to the subscription management service which may perform a similar recordation.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 to include the features as taught by Wilson et al. 2023/0222471. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730; in view of Wilson et al. 2023/0222471; in further view of Boller 2005/0289012; in view of Sellers et al. 2014/0156376.
18/952,253 – Claim 4. Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 further teaches The computer-implemented management method according to claim 3, wherein the computer-implemented management method includes outputting suggestion information (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0028 - recommendation to perform preventative maintenance] In further features, the method further includes selectively providing, to the customer, a recommendation to replace a consumable of the HVAC system. In yet further features, the consumable is an air filter. In still further features, the method further includes shipping the consumable to the building. In further features, the method further includes directing an HVAC contractor to deliver the consumable to the building. In yet further features, the method further includes selectively providing, to at least one of an HVAC contractor or the customer, a recommendation to perform preventative maintenance. In still further features, the preventative maintenance includes one or more of cleaning evaporator coils of the HVAC system and cleaning condenser coils of the HVAC system.) to suggest the optional service to a user who uses the subscription service (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0069 - information may be relevant to warranty concerns, such as determining whether a particular problem is covered by a warranty] The historical data collected by the monitoring system may allow the contractor to properly specify new HVAC components and to better tune configuration, including dampers and set points of the HVAC system. The information collected may be helpful in product development and assessing failure modes. The information may be relevant to warranty concerns, such as determining whether a particular problem is covered by a warranty. Further, the information may help to identify conditions, such as unauthorized system modifications, that could potentially void warranty coverage. [0164 - the subscription fee, the installation fee, and the device fee] The installer may collect a device fee, an installation fee, and/or a subscription fee from the customer. In various implementations, the subscription fee, the installation fee, and the device fee may be rolled into a single system fee, which the customer pays upon installation. The system fee may include the subscription fee for a set number of years, such as 1, 2, 5, or 10, or may be a lifetime subscription, which may last for the life of the home or the ownership of the building by the customer. [0224 - contractor may subsidize the monitoring service costs … Contractors may recoup monitoring service costs out of the profit margin of service visits and repairs] When the customer has not prepaid for the monitoring service, the contractor may subsidize the monitoring service costs as long as the customer retains the contractor for service calls and repairs. Contractors may recoup monitoring service costs out of the profit margin of service visits and repairs; contractors may also apply surcharges to service visits and repairs to recoup costs. If the customer chooses a new contractor, the new contractor may assume the subsidization; alternatively, the customer may begin to pay for the full cost of monitoring. [0228 - the monitoring company may offer an interface to contractors that manages customer data, equipment information, and fault information for customers of the contractor subscribing to the monitoring service] Contractors may subsidize some or all of the above costs for a variety of reasons. For example, the monitoring company may offer an interface to contractors that manages customer data, equipment information, and fault information for customers of the contractor subscribing to the monitoring service. This may reduce administrative overhead for the contractor. In addition, this may allow for more efficient scheduling and tasking of service visits. For example, location data for customers may be used to reduce driving distances between service visits. Further, employees can be tasked to service visits for which they have the necessary skills, and likely replacement parts can be carried on the service visits. The monitoring service data may also help to prioritize service visits and estimate time required to complete the service visit. This management software may be implemented by the monitoring service or may be packaged and sold for installation by a contractor.).
Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 may not expressly disclose the “suggest/suggestion” features, however, Sellers et al. 2014/0156376 teaches these features as follows (Sellers et al. 2014/0156376 [0034 - provide optional goods and services recommendations…] In another illustrative implementation shown in FIG. 7, some 2-D codes such as the Micro QR code are able to contain only a very little data, and may be insufficient to embed POS information or even to hold a full URL. In this instance, a short code may be embedded in the matrix 350, and the code can be transmitted to an intermediary service 360 in a manner similar to the third implementation, where full URLs or other data may be stored and linked to the short code. The intermediary service may provide either the full URL 370 or other data to the mobile device's browser or provide optional goods and services recommendations in a manner similar to the third implementation.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 to include the features as taught by Sellers et al. 2014/0156376. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730; in view of Wilson et al. 2023/0222471; in further view of Boller 2005/0289012; in view of Sellers et al. 2014/0156376; in view of Saito et al. 2011/0173195.
18/952,253 – Claim 5. Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 further teaches The computer-implemented management method according to claim 4, wherein the computer-implemented management method includes: registering attribute information regarding an installation environment of the air conditioner; and outputting the suggestion information based on the attribute information (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0067 - monitoring service may allow the customer and/or contractor to remotely monitor and/or control HVAC components, such as setting temperature, enabling or disabling heating and/or cooling, etc. … able to track energy usage, cycling times of the HVAC system, and/or historical data. Efficiency and/or operating costs of the customer's HVAC system may be compared against HVAC systems of neighbors, whose buildings will be subject to the same or similar environmental conditions. This allows for direct comparison of HVAC system and overall building efficiency because environmental variables, such as temperature and wind, are controlled] The monitoring service may allow the customer and/or contractor to remotely monitor and/or control HVAC components, such as setting temperature, enabling or disabling heating and/or cooling, etc. In addition, the customer may be able to track energy usage, cycling times of the HVAC system, and/or historical data. Efficiency and/or operating costs of the customer's HVAC system may be compared against HVAC systems of neighbors, whose buildings will be subject to the same or similar environmental conditions. This allows for direct comparison of HVAC system and overall building efficiency because environmental variables, such as temperature and wind, are controlled.).
Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 may not expressly disclose the “registering attribute” features, however, Saito et al. 2011/0173195 teaches these features as follows (Saito et al. 2011/0173195 [0148 - attribute registered] For each of the attributes of each region, the coincidence calculation portion 32 calculates the coincidence between the attribute registered in the user registration information from the registration information acquisition 17 and the attribute of the item in the history information for the user who wants to receive a recommendation, stored in the history information DB 31, and supplies it together the information indicating the attribute thereof to the recommendation item specifying portion 33. [0157 - attribute registered … from the registration information acquisition portion…] In the step S32, the coincidence calculation portion 32 calculates the coincidence between the attribute registered in the user registration information from the registration information acquisition portion 17 and the attribute of the item in the history information for the user requesting the recommendation of the item stored in the history information DB 31. The coincidence calculation portion 32 supplies the calculated coincidences to the recommendation item specifying portion 33.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 to include the features as taught by Saito et al. 2011/0173195. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730; in view of Wilson et al. 2023/0222471; in further view of Boller 2005/0289012; in view of Sellers et al. 2014/0156376; in view of Funada 2011/0117537.
18/952,253 – Claim 6. Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 further teaches The computer-implemented management method according to claim 4, wherein the computer-implemented management method includes: storing the operation data (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0015 - Monitoring of operation of components … performed by multiple discrete sensors, measuring current individually to each component … a sensor may sense the current drawn by a motor, another sensor measures resistance or current flow of an igniter, and yet another sensor monitors a state of a gas valve… ] Monitoring of operation of components in the condensing unit 212 and the air handler unit 208 has traditionally been performed by multiple discrete sensors, measuring current individually to each component. For example, a sensor may sense the current drawn by a motor, another sensor measures resistance or current flow of an igniter, and yet another sensor monitors a state of a gas valve. However, the cost of these sensors and the time required for installation has made monitoring cost prohibitive. [0016 - providing a local device for installation in an HVAC system of a residential or commercial building; periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data] A method of operating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) monitoring service is disclosed. The method includes: providing a local device for installation in an HVAC system of a residential or commercial building; periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data. The method further includes: analyzing the stored data to selectively identify problems and selectively predict faults of the HVAC system; receiving a subscription fee corresponding to the building, the subscription fee applying to a calendar period; and during the calendar period, providing information on the identified problems and the predicted faults to a customer corresponding to the building. [0026 - comparing received sensor data from before a repair was performed with received sensor data from after the repair was performed … providing a graph of operating parameters of the HVAC system including a time period before the repair was performed and a time period after the repair was performed] In yet further features, the method further includes comparing received sensor data from before a repair was performed with received sensor data from after the repair was performed. In still further features, the method further includes informing the customer of a result of the comparison. In further features, the method further includes providing a graph of operating parameters of the HVAC system including a time period before the repair was performed and a time period after the repair was performed. [0228 - an interface to contractors that manages customer data, equipment information, and fault information for customers of the contractor subscribing to the monitoring service] Contractors may subsidize some or all of the above costs for a variety of reasons. For example, the monitoring company may offer an interface to contractors that manages customer data, equipment information, and fault information for customers of the contractor subscribing to the monitoring service. This may reduce administrative overhead for the contractor. In addition, this may allow for more efficient scheduling and tasking of service visits. For example, location data for customers may be used to reduce driving distances between service visits. Further, employees can be tasked to service visits for which they have the necessary skills, and likely replacement parts can be carried on the service visits. The monitoring service data may also help to prioritize service visits and estimate time required to complete the service visit. This management software may be implemented by the monitoring service or may be packaged and sold for installation by a contractor.); and outputting the suggestion information based on the operation data (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0028 - recommendation to perform preventative maintenance] In further features, the method further includes selectively providing, to the customer, a recommendation to replace a consumable of the HVAC system. In yet further features, the consumable is an air filter. In still further features, the method further includes shipping the consumable to the building. In further features, the method further includes directing an HVAC contractor to deliver the consumable to the building. In yet further features, the method further includes selectively providing, to at least one of an HVAC contractor or the customer, a recommendation to perform preventative maintenance. In still further features, the preventative maintenance includes one or more of cleaning evaporator coils of the HVAC system and cleaning condenser coils of the HVAC system.).
Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 may not expressly disclose the “outputting the suggestion information” features, however, Funada 2011/0117537 teaches these features as follows (Funada 2011/0117537 [0083 - and a display device 160 that displays the recommendation information] Referring to FIG. 11, according to a fourth embodiment of the present invention, a terminal device 400 of the user to be analyzed includes the processing device 110 including the reference trajectory generation unit 111, the analysis object trajectory generation unit 112, the similar trajectory detection unit 113, the usage transition destination estimation unit 115, and the recommendation information determination unit 119, the operation history information storage device 120, the reference usage trajectory storage device 130, and the analysis object trajectory storage device 140 of the third embodiment, and further includes a storage device 150 that stores operation history information of own terminal and a display device 160 that displays the recommendation information.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 to include the features as taught by Funada 2011/0117537. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730; in view of Wilson et al. 2023/0222471.
18/952,253 – Claim 7. Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 further teaches A management system for providing a maintenance service using operation data of an air conditioner (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0016 - method of operating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) monitoring service … periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data … analyzing the stored data to selectively identify problems and selectively predict faults of the HVAC system; receiving a subscription fee …] A method of operating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) monitoring service is disclosed. The method includes: providing a local device for installation in an HVAC system of a residential or commercial building; periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data. The method further includes: analyzing the stored data to selectively identify problems and selectively predict faults of the HVAC system; receiving a subscription fee corresponding to the building, the subscription fee applying to a calendar period; and during the calendar period, providing information on the identified problems and the predicted faults to a customer corresponding to the building.), the management system comprising: a computer including a processor and a memory storing one or more programs, wherein, when the one or more programs loaded into the memory are executed by the processor, the one or more programs cause the processor to perform a process including (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0173] A server of the monitoring system includes a processor and memory, where the memory stores application code that processes data received from the air handler monitor and condensing monitor modules and determines existing and/or impending failures, as described in more detail below. The processor executes this application code and stores received data either in the memory or in other forms of storage, including magnetic storage, optical storage, flash memory storage, etc. While the term server is used in this application, the application is not limited to a single server. [0243-0244]): receiving the operation data from the air conditioner through a communication network (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0035 - receiving sensor data from the HVAC system … wherein the operating parameters are obtained from the recorded sensor data] A method of monitoring a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) system installed in a residential or commercial building is disclosed. The method includes: receiving sensor data from the HVAC system, wherein the received sensor data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; recording the received sensor data; providing a graphical interface to a customer corresponding to the building; and, in the graphical interface, displaying a timeline of operating parameters of the HVAC system, wherein the operating parameters are obtained from the recorded sensor data. [0187 - data received from the customer's HVAC system … including repair history information … and operating parameters, such as efficiency…] In FIG. 10A, the customer device 680 is shown with an example repair/replace interface. This interface assists the customer in determining whether to repair or to replace subsystems of the HVAC system or the entire HVAC system. Some or all of the following information can be displayed to the customer based on monitored data. The following list is not exhaustive, however, and additional information can be displayed in various situations based on the data received from the customer's HVAC system as well as comparative data obtained from other systems, including repair history information, pricing information, and operating parameters, such as efficiency. A history of repairs 1304 shows the customer what repairs have been done, the corresponding dates, and the corresponding prices. This may include maintenance, such as filter replacements, tuneups, etc. A projected life of the current system 1308 shows how long the current system is expected to last with regular maintenance and potential replacement of minor parts. A cost of replacement 1312 is calculated based on past history with previous installations and may include a number of options of systems for the customer. For example, a low, medium, and high efficiency system may each be presented. A cost of repairs 1316 depicts what an expected cost is for current repairs to the HVAC system to bring the HVAC system up to a reasonable level of performance. A total cost of ownership comparison 1320 shows the customer how much their current system will cost to repair and operate in comparison to the cost of a new system being installed and operated. An energy savings 1324 is shown based on expected savings from operating a newer, higher efficiency system. A return on investment 1328 may depict the break-even point, if there is one, that shows where the cost of a new system and its lower operating costs may fall below the total cost of the current system with increased operating costs.); storing management information in the memory (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0016 - receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data] A method of operating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) monitoring service is disclosed. The method includes: providing a local device for installation in an HVAC system of a residential or commercial building; periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data. The method further includes: analyzing the stored data to selectively identify problems and selectively predict faults of the HVAC system; receiving a subscription fee corresponding to the building, the subscription fee applying to a calendar period; and during the calendar period, providing information on the identified problems and the predicted faults to a customer corresponding to the building. [0173 - stores received data either in the memory or in other forms of storage, including magnetic storage, optical storage, flash memory storage, etc.] A server of the monitoring system includes a processor and memory, where the memory stores application code that processes data received from the air handler monitor and condensing monitor modules and determines existing and/or impending failures, as described in more detail below. The processor executes this application code and stores received data either in the memory or in other forms of storage, including magnetic storage, optical storage, flash memory storage, etc. While the term server is used in this application, the application is not limited to a single server.), the management information being for providing the maintenance service using the received operation data stored in the memory (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0015 - Monitoring of operation of components … performed by multiple discrete sensors, measuring current individually to each component … a sensor may sense the current drawn by a motor, another sensor measures resistance or current flow of an igniter, and yet another sensor monitors a state of a gas valve… ] Monitoring of operation of components in the condensing unit 212 and the air handler unit 208 has traditionally been performed by multiple discrete sensors, measuring current individually to each component. For example, a sensor may sense the current drawn by a motor, another sensor measures resistance or current flow of an igniter, and yet another sensor monitors a state of a gas valve. However, the cost of these sensors and the time required for installation has made monitoring cost prohibitive. [0016 - providing a local device for installation in an HVAC system of a residential or commercial building; periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data] A method of operating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) monitoring service is disclosed. The method includes: providing a local device for installation in an HVAC system of a residential or commercial building; periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data. The method further includes: analyzing the stored data to selectively identify problems and selectively predict faults of the HVAC system; receiving a subscription fee corresponding to the building, the subscription fee applying to a calendar period; and during the calendar period, providing information on the identified problems and the predicted faults to a customer corresponding to the building. [0026 - comparing received sensor data from before a repair was performed with received sensor data from after the repair was performed … providing a graph of operating parameters of the HVAC system including a time period before the repair was performed and a time period after the repair was performed] In yet further features, the method further includes comparing received sensor data from before a repair was performed with received sensor data from after the repair was performed. In still further features, the method further includes informing the customer of a result of the comparison. In further features, the method further includes providing a graph of operating parameters of the HVAC system including a time period before the repair was performed and a time period after the repair was performed. [0228 - an interface to contractors that manages customer data, equipment information, and fault information for customers of the contractor subscribing to the monitoring service] Contractors may subsidize some or all of the above costs for a variety of reasons. For example, the monitoring company may offer an interface to contractors that manages customer data, equipment information, and fault information for customers of the contractor subscribing to the monitoring service. This may reduce administrative overhead for the contractor. In addition, this may allow for more efficient scheduling and tasking of service visits. For example, location data for customers may be used to reduce driving distances between service visits. Further, employees can be tasked to service visits for which they have the necessary skills, and likely replacement parts can be carried on the service visits. The monitoring service data may also help to prioritize service visits and estimate time required to complete the service visit. This management software may be implemented by the monitoring service or may be packaged and sold for installation by a contractor.), the management information including customer information and device information (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0022 - make and model number of the HVAC system] In still further features, the selectively identifying problems includes selectively identifying a reduced efficiency of the HVAC system in response to the stored data. In further features, the method further includes waiting to send information regarding the reduced efficiency to the customer until the reduced efficiency falls below a threshold. In yet further features, the method further includes determining the threshold based on a make and model number of the HVAC system. In still further features, the method further includes determining the threshold based on an initial efficiency determination performed on the HVAC system. [0061 - identifying information of the customer's HVAC system, including make and model numbers, as well as indications of the specific part numbers] The monitoring system may provide specific information to the contractor, including identifying information of the customer's HVAC system, including make and model numbers, as well as indications of the specific part numbers that appear to be failing. Based on this information, the contractor can allocate the correct repair personnel that have experience with the specific HVAC system and/or component. In addition, the service technician is able to bring replacement parts, avoiding return trips after diagnosis. [0095 - a unique identifier of the customer or the building … contractor device 372 may include a database indexed by the unique identifier, which stores information about the customer including the customer's address, contractual information such as service agreements, and detailed information about the installed HVAC equipment] In various implementations, the monitoring system 330 may transmit a unique identifier of the customer or the building to the contractor device 372. The contractor device 372 may include a database indexed by the unique identifier, which stores information about the customer including the customer's address, contractual information such as service agreements, and detailed information about the installed HVAC equipment.); and registering in the memory, as part of the management information, information relevant to a subscription service such that the information registered in the memory is distinguishable between the maintenance service and the subscription service (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0069 - information may be relevant to warranty concerns, such as determining whether a particular problem is covered by a warranty] The historical data collected by the monitoring system may allow the contractor to properly specify new HVAC components and to better tune configuration, including dampers and set points of the HVAC system. The information collected may be helpful in product development and assessing failure modes. The information may be relevant to warranty concerns, such as determining whether a particular problem is covered by a warranty. Further, the information may help to identify conditions, such as unauthorized system modifications, that could potentially void warranty coverage. [0164 - the subscription fee, the installation fee, and the device fee] The installer may collect a device fee, an installation fee, and/or a subscription fee from the customer. In various implementations, the subscription fee, the installation fee, and the device fee may be rolled into a single system fee, which the customer pays upon installation. The system fee may include the subscription fee for a set number of years, such as 1, 2, 5, or 10, or may be a lifetime subscription, which may last for the life of the home or the ownership of the building by the customer. [0224 - contractor may subsidize the monitoring service costs … Contractors may recoup monitoring service costs out of the profit margin of service visits and repairs] When the customer has not prepaid for the monitoring service, the contractor may subsidize the monitoring service costs as long as the customer retains the contractor for service calls and repairs. Contractors may recoup monitoring service costs out of the profit margin of service visits and repairs; contractors may also apply surcharges to service visits and repairs to recoup costs. If the customer chooses a new contractor, the new contractor may assume the subsidization; alternatively, the customer may begin to pay for the full cost of monitoring. [0228 - the monitoring company may offer an interface to contractors that manages customer data, equipment information, and fault information for customers of the contractor subscribing to the monitoring service] Contractors may subsidize some or all of the above costs for a variety of reasons. For example, the monitoring company may offer an interface to contractors that manages customer data, equipment information, and fault information for customers of the contractor subscribing to the monitoring service. This may reduce administrative overhead for the contractor. In addition, this may allow for more efficient scheduling and tasking of service visits. For example, location data for customers may be used to reduce driving distances between service visits. Further, employees can be tasked to service visits for which they have the necessary skills, and likely replacement parts can be carried on the service visits. The monitoring service data may also help to prioritize service visits and estimate time required to complete the service visit. This management software may be implemented by the monitoring service or may be packaged and sold for installation by a contractor.).
Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 may not expressly disclose the “registering” features, however, Wilson et al. 2023/0222471 teaches these features as follows (Wilson et al. 2023/0222471 [0021 - registering, by the local subscription manager, a subscription based on the updating; remotely registering, by the local subscription manager, the subscription with a subscription management service that initiated the subscription update] In an embodiment, a computer-implemented method for providing a solution using managed systems is provided. The method may include obtaining, by a local subscription manager hosted by a managed system of the managed system, a subscription update for the managed system; based on the subscription update: updating, by the local subscription manager, operation of: a startup manager of the managed system, an operation manager of the managed system, and a software stack of the managed system; locally registering, by the local subscription manager, a subscription based on the updating; remotely registering, by the local subscription manager, the subscription with a subscription management service that initiated the subscription update; and enforcing, by the local subscription manager, the locally registered subscription on the managed system. [0114 - subscription update is registered with the subscription management service] At operation 312, the subscription update is registered with the subscription management service. The subscription update may be registered by sending a message to the subscription management service. The message may indicate that the solution specified by the solution deployment request is deployed and available for use by a user that requested that the solution be deployed. [0134 - update is registered as being complete both locally and with a subscription management service] At operation 416, the subscription update is registered as being complete both locally and with a subscription management service. The subscription update may be registered locally by modifying a subscription information repository 164. The modification may indicate the subscription as well as limitations and disablement actions (e.g., code blocks) for the subscription. Similar information may be sent to the deployment manager which may provide similar information to the subscription management service which may perform a similar recordation.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 to include the features as taught by Wilson et al. 2023/0222471. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730; in view of Wilson et al. 2023/0222471.
18/952,253 – Claim 8. Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 further teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having one or more programs stored therein, wherein the one or more programs cause, when executed by a computer, the computer to perform the computer-implemented management method according to claim 1 (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0173] A server of the monitoring system includes a processor and memory, where the memory stores application code that processes data received from the air handler monitor and condensing monitor modules and determines existing and/or impending failures, as described in more detail below. The processor executes this application code and stores received data either in the memory or in other forms of storage, including magnetic storage, optical storage, flash memory storage, etc. While the term server is used in this application, the application is not limited to a single server. [0243-0244]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over: Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730; in view of Wilson et al. 2023/0222471; in further view of Boller 2005/0289012.
18/952,253 – Claim 9. Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 further teaches A computer-implemented management method performed by a management system that manages a subscription service of an air conditioner (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0016 - method of operating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) monitoring service … periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data … analyzing the stored data to selectively identify problems and selectively predict faults of the HVAC system; receiving a subscription fee …] A method of operating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) monitoring service is disclosed. The method includes: providing a local device for installation in an HVAC system of a residential or commercial building; periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data. The method further includes: analyzing the stored data to selectively identify problems and selectively predict faults of the HVAC system; receiving a subscription fee corresponding to the building, the subscription fee applying to a calendar period; and during the calendar period, providing information on the identified problems and the predicted faults to a customer corresponding to the building.), the computer-implemented management method comprising: storing, in a memory, information relevant to the subscription service (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0016 - receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data] A method of operating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) monitoring service is disclosed. The method includes: providing a local device for installation in an HVAC system of a residential or commercial building; periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data. The method further includes: analyzing the stored data to selectively identify problems and selectively predict faults of the HVAC system; receiving a subscription fee corresponding to the building, the subscription fee applying to a calendar period; and during the calendar period, providing information on the identified problems and the predicted faults to a customer corresponding to the building. [0173 - stores received data either in the memory or in other forms of storage, including magnetic storage, optical storage, flash memory storage, etc.] A server of the monitoring system includes a processor and memory, where the memory stores application code that processes data received from the air handler monitor and condensing monitor modules and determines existing and/or impending failures, as described in more detail below. The processor executes this application code and stores received data either in the memory or in other forms of storage, including magnetic storage, optical storage, flash memory storage, etc. While the term server is used in this application, the application is not limited to a single server.), and information relevant to an optional service that is additionally provided (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0016 - receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data] A method of operating a heating, ventilation, or air conditioning (HVAC) monitoring service is disclosed. The method includes: providing a local device for installation in an HVAC system of a residential or commercial building; periodically receiving data from the local device across a wide area network, wherein the received data includes electrical sensor data including at least one of current or power; and storing the received data. The method further includes: analyzing the stored data to selectively identify problems and selectively predict faults of the HVAC system; receiving a subscription fee corresponding to the building, the subscription fee applying to a calendar period; and during the calendar period, providing information on the identified problems and the predicted faults to a customer corresponding to the building. [0173 - stores received data either in the memory or in other forms of storage, including magnetic storage, optical storage, flash memory storage, etc.] A server of the monitoring system includes a processor and memory, where the memory stores application code that processes data received from the air handler monitor and condensing monitor modules and determines existing and/or impending failures, as described in more detail below. The processor executes this application code and stores received data either in the memory or in other forms of storage, including magnetic storage, optical storage, flash memory storage, etc. While the term server is used in this application, the application is not limited to a single server.); and registering, in the memory, first contract information regarding the subscription service, and second contract information regarding the optional service, which is added to the first contract information, such that the first contract information and the second contract information are associated with each other (Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 [0095 - contractual information such as service agreements] In various implementations, the monitoring system 330 may transmit a unique identifier of the customer or the building to the contractor device 372. The contractor device 372 may include a database indexed by the unique identifier, which stores information about the customer including the customer's address, contractual information such as service agreements, and detailed information about the installed HVAC equipment.).
Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 may not expressly disclose the “registering” features, however, Wilson et al. 2023/0222471 teaches these features as follows (Wilson et al. 2023/0222471 [0021 - registering, by the local subscription manager, a subscription based on the updating; remotely registering, by the local subscription manager, the subscription with a subscription management service that initiated the subscription update] In an embodiment, a computer-implemented method for providing a solution using managed systems is provided. The method may include obtaining, by a local subscription manager hosted by a managed system of the managed system, a subscription update for the managed system; based on the subscription update: updating, by the local subscription manager, operation of: a startup manager of the managed system, an operation manager of the managed system, and a software stack of the managed system; locally registering, by the local subscription manager, a subscription based on the updating; remotely registering, by the local subscription manager, the subscription with a subscription management service that initiated the subscription update; and enforcing, by the local subscription manager, the locally registered subscription on the managed system. [0114 - subscription update is registered with the subscription management service] At operation 312, the subscription update is registered with the subscription management service. The subscription update may be registered by sending a message to the subscription management service. The message may indicate that the solution specified by the solution deployment request is deployed and available for use by a user that requested that the solution be deployed. [0134 - update is registered as being complete both locally and with a subscription management service] At operation 416, the subscription update is registered as being complete both locally and with a subscription management service. The subscription update may be registered locally by modifying a subscription information repository 164. The modification may indicate the subscription as well as limitations and disablement actions (e.g., code blocks) for the subscription. Similar information may be sent to the deployment manager which may provide similar information to the subscription management service which may perform a similar recordation.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 to include the features as taught by Wilson et al. 2023/0222471. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 may not expressly disclose the “optional service” features, however, Boller 2005/0289012 teaches these features as follows (Boller 2005/0289012 [0025 - optional subscription service…] In the corresponding marketing method, illustrated in the flow chart provided in FIG. 6, a programming provider provides 36 a tiered set of multi-media programming 34. The multi-media programming preferably includes a first set of multi-media programs available under a basic subscription service with a set of standard subject matter themes and a premier set of multi-media programs available under an optional subscription service with at least one specialty subject matter theme 32. The specialty subject matter themes may include a sports theme, a movie theme, a music theme, and a gaming theme (although additional themes are readily apparent). The provider then offers 38 the premier subscription service to subscribers in combination with the offer of a satellite antenna that includes a design corresponding to the specialty subject matter theme selected by the subscribers. For example, the designs might include a set of team logos for the sports theme, a set of movie screen-shots for the movie theme, a set of band logos for the music theme, and a set of gaming logos for the gaming theme. Again other possible designs corresponding to other specialty subject matter themes are encompassed within the described method. Finally, the provider provides 40 the new subscribers with an antenna having a design corresponding to the subscriber's selected specialty subject matter theme.). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Arensmeier et al. 2014/0074730 to include the features as taught by Boller 2005/0289012. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to implement well known tools and features useful for registering information and providing a subscription service for managing maintenance of an air conditioner which should prove to improve user experience, maximize profits, and optimize revenue.
Examiner’s Response to Arguments
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Examiner’s Response: Claim Rejections – 35 USC §112
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Examiner’s Response: Claim Rejections – 35 USC §101
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn. See notes above for additional reasoning and rationale for dropping 35 USC 101 rejection including Applicant’s amendments, arguments, lack of abstract idea, and practical integration.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Regarding Claims 1-15, on page(s) 6-12 of Applicant’s Remarks (dated 12/27/2016), Applicants traverse the 35 USC §101 rejections arguing the following:
Examiner’s Response: Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102 / § 103
Per Applicants’ amendments/arguments, the rejections are withdrawn. See notes above for additional reasoning and rationale for dropping prior-art rejection including Applicant’s amendments and arguments and unique combination of features and elements not taught by the prior-art without hindsight reasoning.
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicants’ amendments have necessitated the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Regarding Claim X, on page(s) 8-9 of Applicant’s Remarks / After Final Amendments (dated 07/15/2011), Applicant(s) argues that the cited reference(s) (Ellis and Vandermolen) fails to teach, describe, or suggest the amended features. Specifically, Applicant(s) argues that cited reference(s) do not teach, describe, or suggest the following: . With respect, Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive and the amended feature(s) remain rejected as follows.
With respect, Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive and the amended feature(s) remain rejected as follows.
Conclusion
PERTINENT PRIOR ART – Patent Literature
The prior-art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gust et al. 2013/0310986 [Abstract - invention includes the method of providing tailored HVAC related controls, reports, notices and diagnostic services to a client under various subscription plans]
Vairamudi et al. 2019/0063770 [0032 - subscription service is a service that is provided by the manufacturer of the thermostat 12 or the HVAC system and it automatically reorders one or more peripheral components of the HVAC system when one of those components is no longer operable]
PERTINENT PRIOR ART – Non-Patent Literature (NPL)
The NPL prior-art made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The BEST NPL prior-art reference is:
Other relevant NPL prior-art reference are:
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant’s amendment necessitated new grounds of rejection and FINAL Rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/MATTHEW T SITTNER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629b