DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant' s communication filed November 19, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-6 are now pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 19, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 16, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, and 4-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 3-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,614,961 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim substantially the same subject matter.
Claim Limitations of Instant Application
Corresponding Claim Language of
U.S. Patent No. 12,614,961 B2
RE Claim 1: A linear motor comprising:
Claim 1 recites: A linear motor comprising:
an armature; and a field magnet, the armature and the field magnet being arranged to face each other such that relative movement is possible
an armature and a field magnet that are disposed to face each other and configured to be subjected to relative movement,
wherein the armature includes a plurality of windings, each of which being wound around a first iron core and arranged along a direction of the relative movement,
wherein the armature includes a plurality of windings that are arranged along a direction of the relative movement, each of the windings being wound around a first iron core,
the field magnet is arranged to face the armature in a direction orthogonal to the direction of the relative movement, and includes a plurality of permanent magnets arranged along the direction of the relative movement,
wherein the field magnet includes a plurality of permanent magnets that are disposed to face both sides of the armature in a direction perpendicular to the direction of the relative movement, and are arranged along the direction of the relative movement,
and a plurality of second iron cores arranged to alternate with the permanent magnets along the direction of the relative movement,
Claim 3 recites: wherein the field magnet includes a second iron core and a third iron core, the second iron core is disposed on a side of the plurality of permanent magnets opposite to a side facing the armature so as to be adjacent to all of the plurality of permanent magnets that are arranged along the direction of the relative movement, and the third iron core is disposed between and in contact with permanent magnets of the plurality of permanent magnets,
and a first ratio of a dimension of a portion of the first iron core facing the field magnet with respect to a pitch at which the windings are arranged in the direction of the relative movement, is less than or equal to 0.53.
Claim 1 recites: wherein a ratio of a dimension of the first iron core to an arrangement pitch of the windings in the direction of the relative movement is in a range from 0.1 to 0.35,
RE Claim 4: wherein the permanent magnet is configured to be rare-earth-free.
Claim 4 recites: wherein the plurality of permanent magnets are rare-earth-free magnets.
RE Claim 5: wherein the permanent magnet is configured to be rare-metal-free.
Claim 5 recites: wherein the plurality of permanent magnets are rare-metal-free magnets.
RE Claim 6: wherein the permanent magnet is a lanthanum-free and cobalt-free ferrite magnet.
Claim 6 recites: wherein the plurality of permanent magnets are lanthanum-free and cobalt-free ferrite magnets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakayama et al. (US 20180076675 A1, hereafter referred to as Wakayama) in view of Trumper et al. (US 20200266692 A1, hereafter referred to as Trumper) and Vogel et al. (US 20110210689 A1, hereafter referred to as Vogel).
Regarding Claim 1, Wakayama discloses a linear motor (10, ¶ [0029]) comprising: an armature (12, ¶ [0029]); and a field magnet (11, ¶ [0029]), the armature (12, ¶ [0029]) and the field magnet (11, ¶ [0029]) being arranged to face each other such that relative movement is possible, wherein the armature (12, ¶ [0029]) includes a plurality of windings (14, ¶ [0032]), each of which being wound around a first core (13, ¶ 0032) and arranged along a direction of the relative movement, the field magnet (11, ¶ [0029]) is arranged to face the armature (12, ¶ [0029]) in a direction orthogonal to the direction of the relative movement, and includes a plurality of permanent magnets (11b, ¶ [0030]) arranged along the direction of the relative movement, and a first ratio of a dimension of a portion (tw, ¶ [0040]) of the first core (13, ¶ 0032) facing the field magnet (11, ¶ [0029]) with respect to a pitch (τs, ¶ [0040]) at which the windings (14, ¶ [0032]) are arranged in the direction of the relative movement, is less than or equal to 0.53 (see Fig 5, ¶ [0040]: “Then, the parts of the armature core 13 satisfy τs−φ>x−φ≧tw.”).
Wakayama does not explicitly disclose that the first core is an iron core, and a plurality of second iron cores arranged to alternate with the permanent magnets along the direction of the relative movement.
However, Trumper, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 7) that the first core is an iron core (502, ¶ [0099]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the linear motor disclosed by Wakayama such that the first core is an iron core, as disclosed by Trumper, in order to improve force density (¶ [0003]: “Iron-core permanent magnet linear motors have the potential for high force density,”).
Wakayama in view of Trumper does not disclose a plurality of second iron cores arranged to alternate with the permanent magnets along the direction of the relative movement.
However, Vogel, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 1) a plurality of second iron cores (4, ¶ [0033]) (¶ [0016]: “The pole piece and the magnetic guiding member must always include ferromagnetic and/or soft magnetic materials.”) arranged to alternate with the permanent magnets (7, 8, ¶ [0033]) along the direction of the relative movement.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the linear motor disclosed by Wakayama in view of Trumper such that a plurality of second iron cores arranged to alternate with the permanent magnets along the direction of the relative movement, as disclosed by Vogel, in order to improve the force of the motor (¶ [0033]: “The force of the motor can be increased by more than an order of magnitude due to the pole piece. ”).
Regarding Claim 2/1, Wakayama in view of Trumper and Vogel has been discussed above.
wherein when the first ratio is “x” and a second ratio of a dimension of the second iron core with respect to a pitch at which the plurality of permanent magnets are arranged in the direction of the relative movement is “a”, a following relational expression is satisfied: x≤−0.184a+0.518.
Additionally, Trumper teaches (see Figure 7) that ratios of a dimensions of the second iron core (Annotated Figure 9) with respect to a pitch (τp) at which the plurality permanent magnets (Annotated Figure 9) are arranged is a result effective variable (see explanation in ¶ [0106], and Table 1 below)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the linear motor disclosed by Wakayama in view of Trumper and Vogel such that when the first ratio is “x” and a second ratio of a dimension of the second iron core with respect to a pitch at which the plurality of permanent magnets are arranged in the direction of the relative movement is “a”, a following relational expression is satisfied: x≤−0.184a+0.518, as taught by Trumper, in order to determine optimum force performance (¶ [0106]: “For the permanent magnet track design, a Halbach array ratio can be determined and represented by the fraction of vertical magnets, f.sub.magnet out of a pole pitch. Magnet thickness as a parameter of the magnet aspect ratio PM.sub.thick can also be determined. Determination of these parameters can be based on various design constraints and simulation modeling to determine optimum force performance (e.g., in terms of shear stress and acceleration) for a given set of design parameter constraints.”).
Regarding Claim 3/1, Wakayama in view of Trumper and Vogel has been discussed above.
Additionally, Wakayama discloses (see Figure 5 above) that in a direction facing the field magnet (11, ¶ [0029], the dimension of the portion (tw, ¶ [0040]) of the first iron core (13, ¶ 0032) facing the field magnet (11, ¶ [0029]) is larger than a dimension of other portions (φ, ¶ [0040]) of the first iron core (13, ¶ 0032).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakayama in view of Trumper and Vogel as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20190245425 A1, hereafter referred to as Kim).
Regarding Claim 4/1, Wakayama in view of Trumper and Vogel has been discussed above.
Wakayama in view of Trumper and Vogel does not disclose that the permanent magnet is configured to be rare-earth-free.
However, Kim, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 2) that the permanent magnet (130, ¶ [0072]) is configured to be rare-earth-free (¶ [0044]: “Furthermore, in the transverse flux type linear motor according to the present disclosure, ferrite magnet may be used as a magnet to reduce material cost for the magnet, thereby implementing the reduction of fabrication cost.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the linear motor disclosed by Wakayama in view of Trumper and Vogel such that the permanent magnet is configured to be rare-earth-free, as disclosed by Kim, in order to reduce cost (¶ [0044]: “Furthermore, in the transverse flux type linear motor according to the present disclosure, ferrite magnet may be used as a magnet to reduce material cost for the magnet, thereby implementing the reduction of fabrication cost.”).
Regarding Claim 5/4/1, Wakayama in view of Trumper, Vogel, and Kim has been discussed above.
Additionally, Kim discloses that the permanent magnet (130, ¶ [0072]) is configured to be rare-metal-free (¶ [0044]: “Furthermore, in the transverse flux type linear motor according to the present disclosure, ferrite magnet may be used as a magnet to reduce material cost for the magnet, thereby implementing the reduction of fabrication cost.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the linear motor disclosed by Wakayama in view of Trumper, Vogel, and Kim such that the permanent magnet is configured to be rare-metal-free, as further disclosed by Kim, in order to reduce cost (¶ [0044]: “Furthermore, in the transverse flux type linear motor according to the present disclosure, ferrite magnet may be used as a magnet to reduce material cost for the magnet, thereby implementing the reduction of fabrication cost.”).
Regarding Claim 6/5/4/1, Wakayama in view of Trumper, Vogel, and Kim has been discussed above.
Additionally, Kim discloses that the permanent magnet (130, ¶ [0072]) is a lanthanum-free and cobalt-free ferrite magnet (¶ [0044]: “Furthermore, in the transverse flux type linear motor according to the present disclosure, ferrite magnet may be used as a magnet to reduce material cost for the magnet, thereby implementing the reduction of fabrication cost.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the linear motor disclosed by Wakayama in view of Trumper, Vogel, and Kim such that the permanent magnet is a lanthanum-free and cobalt-free ferrite magnet, as further disclosed by Kim, in order to reduce cost (¶ [0044]: “Furthermore, in the transverse flux type linear motor according to the present disclosure, ferrite magnet may be used as a magnet to reduce material cost for the magnet, thereby implementing the reduction of fabrication cost.”).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
von der Heide et al. (US 4638192 A) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-7.
Tang et al. (US 20080218005 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figure 6.
Conclusion
/C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834