DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese document JP S6176711 U (hereinafter JP ‘711).
As shown in the annotated figure 2 below, JP ‘711 discloses a vehicle rear structure with a partition wall in a space surrounded by a rear bumper 24 and a fender panel 20 with the fender panel inside the rear bumper. The partition separates the space into an upper space and a lower space and is provided with a hole 27 allowing communication between the upper space and the lower space.
In regard to claim 3, reference numeral 15 represents an air outlet vent port to outside the cabin with the port below the partition. The space between the partition and the bumper is seen as a vent duct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP ‘711 in view of Japanese reference JP S63155810 U (hereinafter “JP ‘810”).
As detailed above, JP ‘711 discloses a vehicle rear structure with a partition between the fender and the rear bumper to separate the pace into an upper and lower section and an opening in the partition to allow air transfer between the sections. JP ‘711 does not disclose a side branch pipe in the partition. JP ‘810 discloses a structure for the rear of a vehicle with a space formed between the rear bumper 6 and the rear fender 4. Communicating with the space is a drafter 3 which serves to draw air through the opening 5 in the space. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s filing to modify the partition of JP ‘711 by adding a side branch pipe at the opening to draw air through the opening in the partition to assist with ventilation.
In regard to claim 5, a plurality of side branch pipes is seen as obvious duplication of disclosed parts. In this instance increasing the number of pipes will increase the amount of air that can be passed through to ensure adequate ventilation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN 219312888 U discloses a ventilation arrangement for the space between the rear bumper and rear fender of an automobile, as does JP 2018043739 A and WO 2014092018 A1.
/WILLIAM C DOERRLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993