DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the door opener or door closer of claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Additionally, Figures 1A-1D should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- or --Related Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 12, 15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Houdoux (FR2783862).
Regarding claim 1, Houdoux teaches a trimless frame assembly for retaining a panel, the trimless frame assembly comprising: a plurality of trimless frame segments (see fig 2), each comprising an elongate front wall (bottom wall in fig 2), an elongate back wall (top wall in fig 2) substantially parallel to the elongate front wall, and a gripping assembly (right side of fig 2) in between the elongate front wall and elongate back wall (as seen in fig 2), the gripping assembly comprising: a gripping channel (2) comprising a plurality of spaced-apart internal surfaces (as noted in annotated fig 2 below), and a plurality of clip-shaped abutments (housings 21/21’), each on a respective one of the plurality of spaced-apart internal surfaces (see fig 2) such that a side of a panel (V) can be received and gripped by the plurality of clip-shaped abutments (as seen in fig 2); and a panel (V) having a plurality of sides (fig 7 as an example shows two sides of panel V), each of the plurality of sides within a respective gripping channel (2) of a respective one of the plurality of trimless frame segments (as seen in fig 2).
Regarding claim 2, Houdoux teaches the trimless frame assembly of claim 1. Houdoux further teaches wherein the plurality of spaced apart internal surfaces comprises: an internal front surface (as seen in annotated fig 2) spaced-apart from and substantially parallel to the elongate front wall (bottom wall in fig 2); an internal back surface (as seen in annotated fig 2) spaced-apart from and substantially parallel to the elongate back wall (top wall in fig 2); and an internal connecting surface connecting the internal front surface to the internal back surfaces (as seen in fig 2).
Regarding claim 3, Houdoux teaches the trimless frame assembly of claim 1. Houdoux further teaches wherein the plurality of trimless frame segments comprise a top segment and a bottom segment (both seen in fig 2, named “top and bottom crosspieces” on page 2, second to last full paragraph), each comprising: an internal intermediate wall (as seen in annotated fig 2) connecting the elongate front wall to the elongate back wall such that an elongate channel (23) is formed by the elongate front wall, the internal intermediate wall, and the elongate back wall (see annotated fig 2).
Regarding claim 7, Houdoux teaches the trimless frame assembly of claim 1. Houdoux further teaches wherein the plurality of trimless frame segments comprises a left segment (fig 2, as the assembly can be made with the profile of fig 2 on both left and right sides, as mentioned in page 2, full paragraph 6) and a right segment (fig 2, as described above), each comprising: an elongate back side wall (as seen on the left in fig 2) connecting the elongate front wall to the elongate back wall (see fig 2).
Regarding claim 12, Houdoux teaches the trimless frame assembly of claim 1. Houdoux further teaches wherein each of the plurality of trimless frame segments (2) is made of a single piece of material (discusses being made of metal in first full paragraph on page 2 by extrusion, see title).
Regarding claim 15, Houdoux teaches a trimless frame segment for retaining a panel, the trimless frame segment (see fig 2) comprising: an elongate front wall (bottom wall in fig 2); an elongate back wall (top wall in fig 2) substantially parallel to the elongate front wall; and a gripping assembly (right side of fig 2) in between the elongate front wall and elongate back wall (as seen in fig 2), the gripping assembly comprising: a gripping channel (2) comprising a plurality of spaced-apart internal surfaces (see annotated fig 2), and a plurality of clip-shaped abutments (housings 21 and 21’), each on a respective one of the plurality of spaced-apart internal surfaces (see fig 2) such that a side of a panel (V) can be received and gripped by the plurality of clip-shaped abutments (as seen in fig 2).
Regarding claim 17, Houdoux teaches the trimless frame segment of claim 15. Houdoux further teaches wherein the plurality of spaced apart internal surfaces comprises: an internal front surface (annotated fig 2) spaced-apart from and substantially parallel to the elongate front wall (bottom wall in fig 2); an internal back surface (annotated fig 2) spaced-apart from and substantially parallel to the elongate back wall (top wall in fig 2); and an internal connecting surface connecting the internal front surface to the internal back surfaces (as seen in fig 2).
Regarding claim 18, Houdoux teaches the trimless frame segment of claim 15. Houdoux further teaches further comprising: an internal intermediate wall (as seen in annotated fig 2) connecting the elongate front wall to the elongate back wall (as seen in fig 2) such that an elongate channel (23) is formed by the elongate front wall, the internal intermediate wall, and the elongate back wall (see annotated fig 2).
Regarding claim 19, Houdoux teaches the trimless frame segment of claim 15. Houdoux further teaches , further comprising: an elongate back side wall (left side of fig 2) connecting the elongate front wall to the elongate back wall (fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houdoux (FR2783862) in view of Artwohl (U.S. 9,687,087).
Regarding claim 4, Houdoux teaches the trimless frame assembly of claim 3. Houdoux is silent as far as a rod proximate a bottom segment to form a swinging door.
Artwohl teaches a similar assembly with a rod (66) proximate the bottom segment (see fig 15, rod 66 goes into channel 50 of the door segment), such that the assembly forms a swinging door (described in column 20 lines 10-21). The combination of Houdoux and Artwohl would see the rod 66 of Artwohl in the channel 23 of Houdoux to form a swinging door.
Houdoux and Artwohl are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of door assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Houdoux to incorporate the teachings of Artwohl and provide a rod proximate the bottom segment of Houdoux to form a swinging door. Doing so would allow the door to pivot on its end without needing to add hardware to the frame segments, simplifying construction.
Claim(s) 5 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houdoux (FR2783862) in view of Chen (U.S. 2024/0175311).
Regarding claim 5, Houdoux teaches the trimless frame assembly of claim 3. Houdoux is silent as to a reinforcement bar internal to the frame segment, where hardware is attached to the reinforcement bar.
Chen teaches a similar assembly where the frame segments contain an elongate reinforcement bar (12) between the elongate front wall and the elongate back wall (as seen in fig 3). Chen teaches in fig 19 for example that fasteners for a hardware component attach to the elongate reinforcement bar through apertures in the frame segments, when attaching accessories to the frame segments.
Houdoux and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of door assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Houdoux to incorporate the teachings of Chen and provide an elongate reinforcement bar within the frame segment. Doing so would improve the structure strength of the assembly, as taught in [0054] of Chen.
Regarding claim 8, Houdoux teaches the trimless frame assembly of claim 7. Houdoux is silent as to a reinforcement bar internal to the frame segment, where hardware is attached to the reinforcement bar.
Chen teaches a similar assembly where the frame segments contain an elongate reinforcement bar (12) between the elongate front wall and the elongate back wall (as seen in fig 3). Chen teaches in fig 19 for example that fasteners for a hardware component attach to the elongate reinforcement bar through apertures in the frame segments, when attaching accessories to the frame segments.
Houdoux and Chen are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of door assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Houdoux to incorporate the teachings of Chen and provide an elongate reinforcement bar within the frame segment. Doing so would improve the structure strength of the assembly, as taught in [0054] of Chen.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Houdoux and Chen teaches the trimless frame assembly of claim 8. Chen further teaches wherein the hardware component is a lockset (lockset 18).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Houdoux and Chen teaches the trimless frame assembly of claim 8. Chen further teaches wherein the hardware component comprises a hinge plate (15 is a hinge plate) configured to be attached to a partition wall such that the trimless frame assembly forms a swinging door.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Houdoux and Chen teaches the trimless frame assembly of claim 8. Houdoux further teaches wherein the plurality of trimless frame segments further comprises a top segment and a bottom segment (both fig 2), each comprising an internal intermediate wall (see annotated fig 2) connecting the elongate front wall to the elongate back wall such that an elongate channel is formed by the elongate front wall, the internal intermediate wall, and the elongate back wall (see annotated fig 2), wherein the top segment is connected to a respective first end of the left segment and the right segment (as seen in fig 5), and wherein the bottom segment is connected to a respective second end of the left segment and the right segment (as seen in fig 5).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houdoux (FR2783862) in view of Chen (U.S. 2024/0175311) and Hass (U.S. 10,077,591).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Houdoux and Chen teaches the trimless frame assembly of claim 5. Though Hass teaches several hardware components to attach to the frame segment and the elongate reinforcing bar (12), both Houdoux and Hass are silent as far as a hardware component that is one of a door opener and a door closer.
Hass teaches a similar door assembly where a hardware component which is a bracket for a door closer (20, as seen in 15B), attaches to a frame segment. The combination of Houdoux, Chen, and Hass would see the door closer bracket 20 attached to the frame segment shown in fig 2 of Houdoux, via the elongate reinforcement bar 12 of Chen.
Houdoux, Chen, and Hass are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of door assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Houdoux and Chen to incorporate the teachings of Hass and utilize a door closer as a hardware component to attach to the frame segment of Houdoux vie the elongate reinforcement bar of Chen. Doing so would attach the door closer to a reinforced frame segment to improve the structural strength of the connection.
Claim(s) 13, 14, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Houdoux (FR2783862) in view of Mourchid (U.S. 11,613,923).
Regarding claim 13, Houdoux teaches the trimless frame assembly of claim 1. Houdoux further teaches wherein each of the plurality of trimless frame segments (fig 2) are made of metal ( Houdoux discusses being made of metal in first full paragraph on page 2) and the panel (V) comprises glass (the panel is glass, as described in page 1, first paragraph).
Houdoux is silent as to the type of metal the frame segments are made from.
Mourchid teaches a similar door assembly where the frame segments are made of aluminum (column 12, lines 59-67).
Houdoux and Mourchid are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of door assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Houdoux to incorporate the teachings of Mourchid and utilize aluminum as a metallic material to make the frame segments. Doing so would utilize a material that is strong, lightweight, and easy to manufacture, as taught by Mourchid in column 12 lines 59-67.
Regarding claim 14, Houdoux teaches the trimless frame assembly of claim 1. While Houdoux teaches the possibility of utilizing rods (J, see fig 7) within the plurality of clip-shaped abutments (21 and 21’), it is silent as to the details of the rods and if they are gaskets.
Mourchid teaches a similar door assembly where gaskets (60, see fig 1G), are contained within a plurality of clip-shaped abutments of a frame segment.
Houdoux and Mourchid are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of door assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Houdoux to incorporate the teachings of Mourchid and utilize gaskets within the clip-shaped abutments of the frame segment of Houdoux. Doing so would utilize an element to increase the sealing and reduce contamination of dirt and water into the frame segment.
Regarding claim 16, Houdoux teaches the trimless frame segment of claim 15. While Houdoux teaches the possibility of utilizing rods (J, see fig 7) within the plurality of clip-shaped abutments (21 and 21’), it is silent as to the details of the rods and if they are gaskets.
Mourchid teaches a similar door assembly where gaskets (60, see fig 1G), are contained within a plurality of clip-shaped abutments of a frame segment.
Houdoux and Mourchid are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of door assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Houdoux to incorporate the teachings of Mourchid and utilize gaskets within the clip-shaped abutments of the frame segment of Houdoux. Doing so would utilize an element to increase the sealing and reduce contamination of dirt and water into the frame segment.
Regarding claim 20, Houdoux teaches the trimless frame segment of claim 15. Houdoux further teaches the trimless frame segment is made of a single piece of material (discusses being made of metal in first full paragraph on page 2 by extrusion, see title).
Houdoux is silent as to the type of metal the frame segments are made from.
Mourchid teaches a similar door assembly where the frame segments are made of aluminum (column 12, lines 59-67).
Houdoux and Mourchid are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of door assemblies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Houdoux to incorporate the teachings of Mourchid and utilize aluminum as a metallic material to make the frame segments. Doing so would utilize a material that is strong, lightweight, and easy to manufacture, as taught by Mourchid in column 12 lines 59-67.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2022/0074256 and US 4,110,942 (teach a frame segment with clip-shaped abutments).
/SUSAN M. HESCHEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3637
/Muhammad Ijaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631