DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 19, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0055]: “…at the transmission output power in the low output power mode”; This occurs after the completion of S11 where the communication mode was set to high output power mode. It is suggested to the applicant to change “low” to –high--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20160205500 A1) in view of Kallio (US 20050026608 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a mobile wireless device, comprising:
a sensor unit (Fig. 2; sensor array 118) configured to measure a displacement of the mobile wireless device ([0018] The devices include an array of machine vision sensor(s) and/or inertia (motion) sensor(s) to detect movement of the cargo on which the device is positioned. [0035] Tracking device 100 includes a sensor array 118 to determine the location of device 100 in relation to an aircraft);
a transmitter (Fig. 2; cellular module 114) configured to transmit a signal including information related to the mobile wireless device ([0056] At this stage, when no movement is detected, tracking device 100 may send time-based pings to receiver 12 indicating its location and/or status; these pings may be sent via RF module 112 or cellular module 114.);
a storage (Fig. 2; memory 116) configured to pre-store a predetermined displacement condition, and to store a displacement history of the displacement measured by the sensor unit ([0054] The acoustic sensor captures sounds made in the air and/or through the body of the aircraft when the aircraft is operating, such as during the pre-flight checks, taxi, and takeoff, and compares the frequency and amplitude of the detected signal pattern with that of a pre-defined jet engine and/or aircraft engine signal pattern stored in memory. [0048] When movement is detected, the motion sensor 120 then identifies a sequence of movements. Those sequences of motion may follow a certain pattern of movement, and generally this pattern is fixed or within a boundary condition. Those sequences are unique for every movement event, such as unloading, loading or other movement event. Typical loading and unloading movement sequences have been identified above. Therefore, by recognizing this pattern of movements, one can not only predict a business event but also a gross location of the asset. One exemplary pattern is a set combination of lateral motion followed by a vertical (or sliding up) motion, which is indicative of loading into a cargo hold. Another exemplary pattern is a set combination of lateral motion followed by decreasing vertical (or dropping) motion, which is indicative of unloading from a cargo hold. [0056] If a wireless communication mechanism or network (e.g., CDMA, GSM, ZigBee, LBT) is unavailable, the message (i.e., the data) (displacement measured by the sensor unit) is saved in an internal memory of the device for later transmittal.); and
a controller (Fig. 2; CPU 106) configured to control a communication mode of the transmitter based on the predetermined displacement condition and the displacement history stored in the storage ([0029] Together CPU 106 and power module 104 activate and deactivate various elements of device 100, based on the status of the aircraft in which device 100 is located. CPU 106 compares an inductive change with values stored in memory representative of the conductance of an aircraft body, to determine when the container is loaded onto the aircraft so as to initiate the activation of aircraft mode. [0043] CPU 106 compares the measured ultrasound wave travel distance with values stored in its memory representative of the spacing between the container and an aircraft body (to which the container would be proximate if loaded onto the aircraft), to determine when the container is loaded onto the aircraft, and thus activate the aircraft mode. [0055] When it is determined that the tracking device is in aircraft mode in which FAA regulations do not allow the use of RF communications or cellular communications, tracking device 100 goes into the sleep mode as shown in FIG. 3 (CPU has turned the transmitter off). [0056] As seen in FIG. 3, tracking device 100 goes into a ping mode when it has confirmed its location outside the aircraft (CPU has turned the transmitter on).),
wherein the controller controls the communication mode of the transmitter to be either a mode, for restricting a transmission output power of the transmitter for transmitting the signal to a predetermined value or lower ([0054] Activation of aircraft mode (RF radios off) is then determined when the signal patterns match or fall within a predefined range.), or a high output power mode, for increasing the transmission output power of the transmitter for transmitting the signal to be higher than the predetermined value ([0056] As seen in FIG. 3, tracking device 100 goes into a ping mode (RF radios on) when it has confirmed its location outside the aircraft. At this stage, when no movement is detected, tracking device 100 may send time-based pings to receiver 12 indicating its location and/or status; these pings may be sent via RF module 112 or cellular module 114.), and
when it is definitely determined that the mobile wireless device is not loaded on an airplane based on the predetermined displacement condition and the displacement history, sets the communication mode of the transmitter to the high output power mode [0056] As seen in FIG. 3, tracking device 100 goes into a ping mode when it has confirmed its location outside the aircraft (CPU has turned the transmitter on). [0050] When the movement is unrecognized within the pattern of movement, or, if a predetermined time period has not elapsed, the tracking device goes to sleep mode. However, if the sequence of movement is within identified pattern of movement, tracking device 100 goes to active mode. Once the device 100 is in the active mode, one or more sensors determine the location of device 100 is relation to the aircraft and the aircraft's status, e.g., inside the aircraft, outside the aircraft, idle, pre-flight check, etc.).
Lee does not teach a low output power mode that is set to a predetermined value or lower.
Kallio in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches a low output power mode that is set to a predetermined value or lower ([0014] The present invention provides an aircraft profile which adjusts a transmitting power of a cellular system and a mobile terminal used inside the aircraft to a limit value (predetermined value or lower) that the mobile terminals inside the aircraft camp the indoor cellular network inside the aircraft and do not interfere with external cellular networks. This limit value of transmitting power in the indoor cellular network also reduces possible electromagnetic interference with avionics inside the aircraft, because the transmitted power levels are low. [0036] The transmitting power of the MS and the BTS is controlled by the power control functionality in the radio networks. [0037] there will be a limited transmitting power value, called a limit power value, to enable wireless communication inside the aircraft according to the invention. I.e. the limit power value is high enough to guarantee an acceptable quality for voice, data, audio and video transmission inside the aircraft, and low enough not to camp on external networks outside the aircarft. [0056] FIG. 2 shows an embodiment of the method for providing an aircraft profile mode of wireless communication from the point of view of a mobile terminal, preferably the mobile station (MS).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aircraft mode of Lee to include the low output power mode of Kallio. The motivation to do so would have been to allow conventional mobile terminals and conventional base transceiver stations applying the aircraft profile according to the invention to be used inside the aircraft while aboard to communicate with the conventional external cellular networks. (Kallio; [0014]).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the mobile wireless device according to claim 1, wherein the sensor unit is an acceleration sensor or a position detection sensor ([0036] Sensor array 118 includes a motion sensor 120. Motion sensor 120 may be a multiple-degree-of-freedom (DOF) device (e.g., 10 DOF) and may include any or all of a gyroscope, an accelerometer, a magnetometer, and an altitude sensor. With the various multiple degrees of freedom, device 100 can distinguish among various movements, orientations and locations, such as lateral motion, acceleration, inclined or declined motion, and altitude. With this information, device 100 can determine the aircraft's status, e.g., parked, idling, taxiing, take-off, cruising at altitude, landing, etc.).
Regarding claim 8, Lee teaches a logistics tracking system, comprising:
the mobile wireless device of claim 1 (Fig. 2; transmitter device 100); and
an information processing apparatus configured to receive the signal transmitted by the mobile wireless device, and manage a position of an article to which the mobile wireless device is attached ([0022] Located in a remote location, for example within terminal 10 or in an office building remote from the airport, is a receiver 12 operably connected to a display screen or monitor 14 (e.g., a computer). The tracking system, which includes receiver 12 and at least one tracking or transmitter device, uses an established wireless communication network (not illustrated) to receive information on the location of the transmitter device and convey that information to display 14. [0030] In some embodiments, transmitter device 100 has two-way communication with receiver 12. That is, transmitter device 100 transmits information (i.e., a data ping) and also receives information from receiver 12.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20160205500 A1) in view of Kallio (US 20050026608 A1); further in view of Takahashi (JP 2008206125 A).
Regarding claim 2, Lee and Kallio teach the mobile wireless device according to claim 1, but do not teach wherein the predetermined displacement condition is a condition concerning whether a displacement of the mobile wireless device indicates that the mobile wireless device is moving by land transportation or water transportation.
Takahashi in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the predetermined displacement condition is a condition concerning whether a displacement of the mobile wireless device indicates that the mobile wireless device is moving by land transportation or water transportation ([0192] For example, when the data table indicating the correspondence between the movement speed and the movement mode as shown in FIG. 32 is stored and held in the storage unit (predetermined displacement condition), if the measured movement measure degree is 30 to 80 km / h, the movement means “ It can be judged as "car" (land transportation). (a displacement of the mobile wireless device indicates that the mobile wireless device is moving by land transportation)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the predetermined displacement conditions of Lee and Kallio to include the predetermined displacement conditions of Takahashi to determine if the mobile wireless device is moving by land transportation or water transportation. The motivation to do so would have been to know the state of the wireless device and to improve the convenience of a communication device such as a mobile phone device by focusing on “location information” and using the “location information”. (Takahashi; [0003] [0193]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee and Kallio teach the mobile wireless device according to claim 2, but do not teach wherein the condition concerning whether the displacement of the mobile wireless device indicates that the mobile wireless device is moving by land transportation or water transportation includes at least one selected from: whether the displacement history of the mobile wireless device over a past first predetermined period of time falls within a pattern of moving and stopping by land transportation or water transportation; whether a state, in which a moving speed of the mobile wireless device is lower than a minimum speed of an airplane in flight, has continued for a second predetermined period of time or longer; and whether the displacement history over a third predetermined period of time or longer falls within land transportation or water transportation.
Takahashi in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the condition concerning whether the displacement of the mobile wireless device indicates that the mobile wireless device is moving by land transportation or water transportation includes at least one selected from: whether the displacement history of the mobile wireless device over a past first predetermined period of time falls within a pattern of moving and stopping by land transportation or water transportation; whether a state, in which a moving speed of the mobile wireless device is lower than a minimum speed of an airplane in flight, has continued for a second predetermined period of time or longer; and whether the displacement history over a third predetermined period of time or longer falls within land transportation or water transportation ([0192] The position information of the device is acquired by the acquisition function, and the movement speed is measured (detected) based on the distance between the positions represented by the position information and a predetermined interval time (displacement history over a third predetermined period of time), and the movement speed (displacement history) and the speed and movement stored in advance (predetermined displacement condition) are measured. Based on the correspondence between the modes, the movement mode (movement state, movement means) of the own apparatus (land, water or air) is predicted and determined. For example, when the data table indicating the correspondence between the movement speed and the movement mode as shown in FIG. 32 is stored and held in the storage unit (predetermined displacement condition), if the measured movement measure degree is 30 to 80 km / h, the movement means “ It can be judged as "car" (land transportation). (Thus, the displacement history over a period of time falls within land transportation.)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the predetermined displacement conditions of Lee and Kallio to include the predetermined displacement conditions of Takahashi to determine if the mobile wireless device is moving by land transportation or water transportation. The motivation to do so would have been to know the state of the wireless device and to improve the convenience of a communication device such as a mobile phone device by focusing on “location information” and using the “location information”. (Takahashi; [0003] [0193]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20160205500 A1) in view of Kallio (US 20050026608 A1); further in view of Randall (US 20220039049 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Lee and Kallio teaches the mobile wireless device according to claim 1 but does not teach wherein the controller sets the communication mode of the transmitter to the low output power mode when a radio field intensity at a base station is high.
Randall in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the controller sets the communication mode of the transmitter to the low output power mode when a radio field intensity at a base station is high ([0097] At step 605, the first transceiver makes an evaluation of signal intensity whereafter, at step 606, it is possible for an adjustment of output power to be made. Thus, the intensity of a received radio signal is evaluated, whereafter transmitter power is increased if the intensity is below the first threshold, with the transmitter power being decreased if this intensity is above a second threshold.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of Lee and Kallio to include the procedures of Randall for assessing distance between two transceivers and evaluating intensity to set the communication mode of the transmitter to the low output power mode when a radio field intensity at a base station is high. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce the introduction of ranging errors due to automatic changes being made to input amplification (Randall; [0097]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20160205500 A1) in view of Kallio (US 20050026608 A1); further in view of Gupta (US 20210337464 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Lee and Kallio teach the mobile wireless device according to claim 1, but do not teach wherein when the transmitter is in the low output power mode, the transmission output power of the transmitter for transmitting the signal when the mobile wireless device is loaded on the airplane is same as that when the mobile wireless device is not loaded on the airplane.
Gupta in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein when the transmitter is in the low output power mode, the transmission output power of the transmitter for transmitting the signal when the mobile wireless device is loaded on the airplane is same as that when the mobile wireless device is not loaded on the airplane ([0047] WLAN Connection Enhancer 292 can adjust the transmit power level 328 using various methods, including statically by one fixed amount. In embodiments of adjusting statically, WLAN Connection Enhancer 292 reduces transmit power level 328 from a default transmit power value (e.g., 100%) to a fixed, power-saving transmit power value (e.g., 75%). The power-saving transmit power value can be determined during configuring/testing for optimization of mobile device 200. (Since the transmit power is reduced by a fixed amount from high power mode to low power mode, it follows that the transmit power remains constant while the device is in low power mode, i.e. regardless of whether the mobile device is loaded on the airplane or not loaded on the airplane.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the output power control of Lee and Kallio to include the WLAN Connection Enhancer of Gupta to ensure the output power remains constant while in low power mode. The motivation to do so would have been to enable WiFi transceiver to detect a strong-beacon subset of WiFi APs, which are located a closer distance away and have RSSI values that are within the acceptable range and effectively filter out the wireless connection points that have an unacceptably weak RSSI. (Gupta; [0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20160205500 A1) in view of Kallio (US 20050026608 A1); further in view of Silver (US 20200305064 A1) and Jones (US 20230385792 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Lee and Kallio teaches the mobile wireless device according to claim 1, but does not teach wherein the predetermined displacement condition is a stop condition concerning whether the sensor unit has measured a displacement indicating that the mobile wireless device has stopped moving, after measuring a displacement indicating the mobile wireless device was moving, and the controller switches the communication mode of the transmitter from the low output power mode to the high output power mode when it is definitely determined that the mobile wireless device has stopped moving based on the stop condition and the displacement history.
Silver in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the predetermined displacement condition is a stop condition concerning whether the sensor unit has measured a displacement indicating that the mobile wireless device has stopped moving, after measuring a displacement indicating the mobile wireless device was moving (Silver teaches removing restriction policies when the speed of the vehicle is less than a threshold. See method of Fig. 4. [0131] In one example, a vehicle may have just come to rest at a traffic light and is not moving (implies vehicle was previously moving). The mobile device may be able to detect that the device has come to rest, using position detection via GPS, WiFi, Doppler effect frequency detection, access to the vehicle's recent speed information (which shows vehicle was moving) or other methods, and by nature of the user device and/or vehicle device being in the vehicle, that information can be used to report that the vehicle has come to rest (mobile wireless device has stopped moving, after measuring a displacement indicating the mobile wireless device was moving) as a condition precedent to permitting or not permitting user access to one or more features.).
Silver teaches a condition where it is definitely determined that the mobile wireless device has stopped moving based on the stop condition and the displacement history ([0131] In one example, a vehicle may have just come to rest at a traffic light and is not moving (implies vehicle was previously moving). The mobile device may be able to detect that the device has come to rest, using position detection via GPS, WiFi, Doppler effect frequency detection, access to the vehicle's recent speed information (which shows vehicle was moving) or other methods, and by nature of the user device and/or vehicle device being in the vehicle, that information can be used to report that the vehicle has come to rest (mobile wireless device has stopped moving, after measuring a displacement indicating the mobile wireless device was moving) as a condition precedent to permitting or not permitting user access to one or more features.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the predetermined displacement conditions of Lee and Kallio to include the stop condition of Silver concerning whether the sensor unit has measured a displacement indicating that the mobile wireless device has stopped moving, after measuring a displacement indicating the mobile wireless device was moving. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a method and apparatus of controlling a restriction policy based on the speed of a vehicle or device. (Silver; [0011]).
Silver does not teach the controller switches the communication mode of the transmitter from the low output power mode to the high output power mode when a condition occurs.
Jones in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches the controller switches the communication mode of the transmitter from the low output power mode to the high output power mode when a condition occurs (Claim 3; wherein the control system is further configured to alter the system power state from a low power state to a higher power state based on a change in the vehicle condition detected by a vehicle detection sensor.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restriction policy of Silver to include the switching of the power state of Jones to switch the communication mode of the transmitter from the low output power mode to the high output power mode. The motivation to do so would have been to switch the controller to provide higher power when the devices under its control are active. (Silver; [0102]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Klochikhin (US 20260050088 A1) discloses systems and methods to provide for a secure, cost effective, and high accuracy location detection used in improved vehicle based transactions, such as energy dispensing and payment management systems and methods.
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465