DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11-19-2024 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least one of said air pockets is formed by a layer of material having a first thickness, while other air pockets are formed by a layer of material having a second thickness that is less than said first thickness” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 is rejected because it recites limitations “said synthetic rubber material” in line 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In general, claims 3-6 and 11-13 are rejected because they define that synthetic rubber material is ethylene-vinyl acetate which according to one of ordinary skill in the art that ethylene-vinyl acetate is plastic.
For the express purpose of an examination on the merits, ethylene-vinyl acetate will be treated as synthetic rubber or thermoplastic rubber because applicant stated in the specification that ethylene-vinyl acetate is synthetic rubber or thermoplastic rubber.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen Jr, (4,774,774) in view of Schindler (7,707,743).
Regarding claim 1, Allen discloses a multi-layer shock-absorbing cushion sole (figs 1-3) comprising: a top layer; a cushion layer attached to an underside of said top layer; a third layer attached to an underside of said cushion layer; and a bottom layer positioned on an underside of said third layer, said bottom layer including a tread pattern on an underside thereof; wherein said cushion layer includes a plurality of air pockets therein (fig 1 annotated above).
Schindler teaches a sole having at least one of said air pockets is formed by a layer of material having a first thickness, while other air pockets are formed by a layer of material having a second thickness that is less than said first thickness (col 7, lines 30-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole of Allen by using the different thickness of Schindler in order to provide a comfortable structure that is suited for a variety of ambulatory activities, such as walking and running.
Regarding claim 2, the modified sole Allen-Schindler discloses said air pocket having said first thickness is positioned in a medial portion of said cushion layer to provide additional support for an arch of a wearer’s foot (Allen, fig 1).
Regarding claim 3, the modified sole Allen-Schindler discloses said top layer is formed from a thermoplastic rubber material (Allen, the entire sole is made of EVA, col 2, line 68 and col 3, line 1).
Regarding claim 4, the modified sole Allen-Schindler discloses said cushion layer is formed from a synthetic rubber material (Allen, the entire sole is made of EVA, col 2, line 68 and col 3, line 1).
Regarding claim 5, the modified sole Allen-Schindler discloses said synthetic rubber material is ethylene-vinyl acetate (Allen, the entire sole is made of EVA, col 2, line 68 and col 3, line 1).
Regarding claim 6, the modified sole Allen-Schindler discloses said third layer is formed from a thermoplastic rubber material (Allen, the entire sole is made of EVA, col 2, line 68 and col 3, line 1).
Regarding claims 9-10, Allen teaches a multi-layer shock-absorbing cushion sole comprising: a top layer; a cushion layer attached to an underside of said top layer; a third layer attached to an underside of said cushion layer; and a bottom layer positioned on an underside of said third layer, said bottom layer including a tread pattern on an underside thereof; wherein said cushion layer includes a plurality of air pockets disposed therein (fig 1 annotated above).
Schindler teaches a sole comprising at least one of said air pockets is formed by first material, while other air pockets are formed by a second material that is different from said first material, wherein said first material comprises nylon.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole of Allen by using the different material and nylon of Schindler in order to provide a comfortable structure that is suited for a variety of ambulatory activities, such as walking and running.
Regarding claim 11, the modified sole Allen-Schindler discloses said top layer is formed from a thermoplastic rubber material (Allen, the entire sole is made of EVA, col 2, line 68 and col 3, line 1).
Regarding claim 12, the modified sole Allen-Schindler discloses said third layer is formed from a thermoplastic rubber material (Allen, the entire sole is made of EVA, col 2, line 68 and col 3, line 1).
Regarding claim 13, the modified sole Allen-Schindler discloses said top layer is formed from a thermoplastic rubber material (Allen, the entire sole is made of EVA, col 2, line 68 and col 3, line 1).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen Jr, (4,774,774) and Schindler (7,707,743), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yung-Mao (4,908,962).
Regarding claim 7, the modified sole Allen-Schindler does not teach said bottom layer is formed from natural rubber. Yung-Mao teaches a sole having a bottom layer (i.e. outsole) made of natural rubber (fig 1, member 14, col 2, lines 51-53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole of Kita by using natural rubber bottom layer, as taught by Yung-Mao, because the material is durable and resilient.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Allen Jr, (4,774,774) and Schindler (7,707,743), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (2017/0127751).
Regarding claim 8, the modified sole Allen-Schindler does not teach said air pockets are open on either side of said multi-layer shock-absorbing cushion sole, so that air may freely flow into and out of said air pockets from surrounding atmosphere.
Kim teaches a sole having air pockets are open on either side of said multi-layer shock-absorbing cushion sole, so that air may freely flow into and out of said air pockets from surrounding atmosphere (fig 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole of Allen by adding an open side air pocket, as taught by Kim, in order to provide support for walking, shock absorption, and comfortable static support.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is listed on the attached PTO-892.
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732