DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugawara et al. (US Publication 2009/0147446).
In re claim 1, Sugawara discloses a solid electrolytic capacitor comprising:
an anode plate (1 – Figure 1, ¶32) including a core portion (central portion of 1 – Figure 1, Figure 2), a porous layer having pores on at least one main surface of the core portion (See Figure 2), and a dielectric layer (2 – Figure 2, ¶32) on a surface of the porous layer and extending into the pores of the porous layer (Figure 2); and
a cathode layer (3, 4 5 – Figure 1, ¶32 , ¶36) that includes a solid electrolyte layer (3 – Figure 1) on a surface of the dielectric layer (2 – Figure 1), the solid electrolyte layer including a conductive polymer layer (¶32) inside the pores of the porous layer (Figure 2), the conductive polymer layer comprising a mixture of a conductive polymer and an insulating material (¶24-25), wherein the insulating material is a material which contains an OH group, a COOH group, a CO group, or an NH2 group in a molecule, has hygroscopicity, and does not have a function as a dopant for the conductive polymer (¶26; Note that polyethylene terephthalate is one example that has a CO group and has hygroscopicity.).
In re claim 6, Sugawara discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1, as explained above. Sugawara further discloses a first insulating layer (8 – Figure 1, ¶32) on the surface of the porous layer (1 – Figure 1, Figure 2, ¶32; The anodization step creates a porous portion that surrounds the anode) in a region where the cathode layer (3, 4 – Figure 1) is not located (Figure 1).
In re claim 9, Sugawara discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor according to claim 6, as explained above. Sugawara further discloses wherein the first insulating layer (8 – Figure 1) surrounds the cathode layer (3, 4 – Figure 1) when viewed in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor (Figure 1).
In re claim 10, Sugawara discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor according to claim 6, as explained above. Sugawara further discloses wherein the first insulating layer (8 – Figure 1) is on an inner side portion of the cathode layer (3, 4 – Figure 1) when viewed in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor (Figure 1; Note that cladding resin 8 covers the side of elements 3 and 4.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9-11, 14, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furukawa (US Publication 2020/0312576) in view of Sugawara et al. (US Publication 2009/0147446).
In re claim 1, Furukawa discloses a solid electrolytic capacitor comprising:
an anode plate (21, 22 – Figure 1, Figure 21B, ¶50) including a core portion (21 – Figure 1, Figure 21B), a porous layer (22 – Figure 1, Figure 21B) having pores on at least one main surface of the core portion (¶50), and a dielectric layer (23 – Figure 1, Figure 21B, ¶50) on a surface of the porous layer and extending into the pores of the porous layer (¶50); and
a cathode layer (24 – Figure 1, Figure 21B, ¶50) that includes a solid electrolyte layer (24a – Figure 1, ¶50) on a surface of the dielectric layer (23 – Figure 1).
Furukawa does not disclose the solid electrolyte layer including a conductive polymer layer inside the pores of the porous layer, the conductive polymer layer comprising a mixture of a conductive polymer and an insulating material, wherein the insulating material is a material which contains an OH group, a COOH group, a CO group, or an NH2 group in a molecule, has hygroscopicity, and does not have a function as a dopant for the conductive polymer.
Sugawara discloses the solid electrolyte layer including a conductive polymer layer (¶32) inside the pores of the porous layer (Figure 2), the conductive polymer layer comprising a mixture of a conductive polymer and an insulating material (¶24-25), wherein the insulating material is a material which contains an OH group, a COOH group, a CO group, or an NH2 group in a molecule, has hygroscopicity, and does not have a function as a dopant for the conductive polymer (¶26; Note that polyethylene terephthalate is one example that has a CO group and has hygroscopicity.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the solid electrolyte structure as described by Sugawara to increase adherence between the dielectric oxide film and the solid electrolyte layer, and thus achieving a device having low impedance at high frequencies (¶17: Sugawara).
In re claim 6, Furukawa discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1, as explained above. Furukawa further discloses a first insulating layer (12 – Figure 1) on the surface of the porous layer in a region where the cathode layer (24 – Figure 1) is not located (Figure 1).
In re claim 9, Furukawa in view of Sugawara discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor according to claim 6, as explained above. Furukawa further discloses wherein the first insulating layer (12 – Figure 1) surrounds the cathode layer (24 – Figure 1) when viewed in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor (Figure 1).
In re claim 10, Furukawa in view of Sugawara discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor according to claim 6, as explained above. Furukawa further discloses wherein the first insulating layer (12 – Figure 1) is on an inner side portion of the cathode layer (24 – Figure 1) when viewed in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor (Figure 1).
In re claim 11, Furukawa in view of Sugawara discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor according to claim 1, as explained above. Furukawa further discloses a sealing layer (12 – Figure 1, Figure 21) covering the solid electrolytic capacitor (Figure 1, Figure 21);
a first outer electrode (53 – Figure 21, ¶138) and a second outer electrode (63 – Figure 21, ¶139) on an outer side portion of the sealing layer (Figure 21);
a via conductor (62 – Figure 21, ¶139) inside the sealing layer (12 – Figure 21); and
a through-hole conductor (52 – Figure 21, ¶138) penetrating the sealing layer (12 – Figure 21) in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor (Figure 21), wherein the through-hole conductor is electrically connected to an end surface of the anode plate (21, 22 – Figure 21) of one of the two or more of the solid electrolytic capacitors on a side wall of the through-hole conductor (¶138-139, Figure 21), the first outer electrode (53 – Figure 21) is electrically connected to the anode plate (21, 22 – Figure 21) of the one of the two or more of the solid electrolytic capacitors with the through-hole conductor interposed therebetween (Figure 21), and
the second outer electrode (63 – Figure 21) is electrically connected to the cathode layer (24 – Figure 21) of the one of the two or more of the solid electrolytic capacitors with the via conductor (62 – Figure 21) interposed therebetween (Figure 21).
In re claim 14, Furukawa in view of Sugawara discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor according to claim 11, as explained above. Furukawa further discloses a first insulating layer (12 – Figure 1, Figure 21B, ¶49) on the surface of the porous layer (22 – Figure 1, Figure 21B) in a region where the cathode layer (24 – Figure 1, Figure 21B) is not located (Figure 1, Figure 21B).
In re claim 19, Furukawa in view of Sugawara discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Furukawa further discloses a capacitor array (1C – Figure 21, ¶145; 10A, 10B, 10C – Figure 1, ¶49) comprising two or more solid electrolytic capacitors (Figure 1, Figure 21);
a sealing layer (12 – Figure 1, Figure 21) covering the two or more of the solid electrolytic capacitors (Figure 1, Figure 21);
a first outer electrode (53 – Figure 21, ¶138) and a second outer electrode (63 – Figure 21, ¶139) on an outer side portion of the sealing layer (Figure 21);
a via conductor (62 – Figure 21, ¶139) inside the sealing layer (12 – Figure 21); and
a through-hole conductor (52 – Figure 21, ¶138) penetrating the sealing layer (12 – Figure 21) in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor (Figure 21), wherein the through-hole conductor is electrically connected to an end surface of the anode plate (21, 22 – Figure 21) of one of the two or more of the solid electrolytic capacitors on a side wall of the through-hole conductor (¶138-139, Figure 21), the first outer electrode (53 – Figure 21) is electrically connected to the anode plate (21, 22 – Figure 21) of the one of the two or more of the solid electrolytic capacitors with the through-hole conductor interposed therebetween (Figure 21), and
the second outer electrode (63 – Figure 21) is electrically connected to the cathode layer (24 – Figure 21) of the one of the two or more of the solid electrolytic capacitors with the via conductor (62 – Figure 21) interposed therebetween (Figure 21).
In re claim 20, Furukawa in view of Sugawara discloses the capacitor array according to claim 19, as explained above. Furukawa further discloses wherein a space between adjacent solid electrolytic capacitors (See array in Figure 21; 10A, 10B, 10C – Figure 1) of the two or more of the solid electrolytic capacitors is filled with a same material as the sealing layer (21 – Figure 1, Figure 21).
Claim(s) 7-8 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furukawa (US Publication 2020/0312576) in view of Sugawara et al. (US Publication 2009/0147446) and in further view of Hiroyuki et al. (JP2008098487A).
In re claim 7, Furukawa in view of Sugawara discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor according to claim 6, as explained above. Furukawa further discloses a second insulating layer (30 – Figure 1, ¶55) covers a part of the solid electrolyte layer (24 – Figure 1). Furukawa does not disclose the second insulating layer is inside the pores of the porous layer.
Hiroyuki discloses the second insulating layer (2 – Figure 4, Figure 2 ¶38) is inside the pores of the porous layer (1 – Figure 2, ¶51).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the resin structure as described by Hiroyuki to prevent the solid electrolyte layer from spreading.
In re claim 8, Furukawa in view of Sugawara and in further view of Hiroyuki discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor according to claim 7, as explained above. Furukawa further discloses wherein the second insulating layer (30 -Figure 1) is provided in a range of 1 μm to 100 μm from an end of the first insulating layer (12 – Figure 1) toward the solid electrolyte layer (¶59).
In re claim 15, Furukawa in view of Sugawara discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor according to claim 14, as explained above. Furukawa further discloses a second insulating layer (30 – Figure 1, ¶55) covers a part of the solid electrolyte layer (24 – Figure 1). Furukawa does not disclose the second insulating layer is inside the pores of the porous layer.
Hiroyuki discloses the second insulating layer (2 – Figure 4, Figure 2 ¶38) is inside the pores of the porous layer (1 – Figure 2, ¶51).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the resin structure as described by Hiroyuki to prevent the solid electrolyte layer from spreading.
In re claim 16, Furukawa in view of Sugawara and in further view of Hiroyuki discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor according to claim 15, as explained above. Furukawa further discloses wherein the second insulating layer (30 -Figure 1) is provided in a range of 1 μm to 100 μm from an end of the first insulating layer (12 – Figure 1) toward the solid electrolyte layer (¶59).
In re claim 17, Furukawa in view of Sugawara and in further view of Hiroyuki discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor according to claim 16, as explained above. Furukawa further discloses wherein the first insulating layer (12 – Figure 1) surrounds the cathode layer (24 – Figure 1) when viewed in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor (Figure 1).
In re claim 18, Furukawa in view of Sugawara and in further view of Hiroyuki discloses the solid electrolytic capacitor according to claim 16, as explained above. Furukawa further discloses wherein the first insulating layer (12 – Figure 1) is on an inner side portion of the cathode layer (24 – Figure 1) when viewed in a thickness direction of the solid electrolytic capacitor (Figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach nor suggest (in combination with other claim limitations) the solid electrolyte layer further includes a second conductive polymer layer on at least a part of a surface of the first conductive polymer layer and inside the pores of the porous layer, the second conductive polymer layer comprising a mixture of a second conductive polymer and the insulating material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chacko et al. (US Publication 2016/0211081) [¶7]
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847