DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: please delete the recitations of “each liquid ejection unit further comprises the ejection port forming member in which the ejection ports are formed”, because the parent claims already require that each liquid ejection unit comprises an ejection port forming member. It only adds confusion to require the liquid ejection units to “further comprise” an element that is already included. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “electric wiring member(s)” (from claims 12, 16) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: please include the claim term “liquid ejection unit.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 12-15:
These claims are directed to “a liquid ejection unit.” Although this term is not used in the written description, it is Examiner’s best understanding that this term corresponds to the disclosed “device chips” (e.g. elements 2 in Fig. 1 / elements 201-209 in Fig. 5). However, in this case, it is not clear what structures correspond to the claimed “electric wiring member electrically coupled to the electrical connecting portion.”
Specifically, the term “electric wiring member” is found in the written description as a member that is joined to the device chips (paragraphs 31, 38). However, because the described electric wiring member is joined to the device chips, it is not a component of the device chips, as required by the claims.
Further regarding claims 14 and 18:
Each of these claims requires that each of the liquid ejection units is formed with “a substrate in which the liquid supply port is formed” (line 4 of claim 14 / line 4 of claim 18). However, in each of these claims, the respective parent claims already require that the liquid ejection units include “a substrate having (a) piezoelectric elements … and (b) an electrical connecting portion …” Because the parent claims introduce “a substrate,” it is not clear if the recitations of “a substrate” in claims 14 and 18 are meant to refer to the substrate recited in the parent claims, or refer to a different substrate.
In the case that Applicant is referring to the same substrate, please change these later recitations to “the substrate”. In the case that Applicant is referring to a different substrate, please use different nomenclature, i.e. “a second substrate”.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claims 14-15:
Each of these claims are improperly drawn to “The liquid ejection head according to claim 12”. However, claim 12 is directed towards “a liquid ejection unit”.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagi et al. (US 2007/0046738 A1) in view of Enomoto et al. (US 2006/0187271 A1).
Regarding claims 12 and 16:
Yagi et al. disclose a liquid ejection head comprising a plurality of liquid ejection units (recording head units 32/62) arrayed in an array direction (Fig. 17), wherein each of the liquid ejection unit comprise:
an ejection port forming member (nozzle surface 52A) having an ejection port (nozzle 54) for ejecting liquid (paragraph 67 & Fig. 6A);
a substrate (at least head base plate 52) having a piezoelectric element for ejecting liquid through the ejection port (paragraph 67); and
a positioning portion (for adhesive U: paragraph 106 & Fig. 18-19),
wherein a liquid ejection unit has a polygonal shape with at least five corners as viewed from a side where the ejection port is provided (Fig. 17).
Yagi et al. do not expressly disclose the electrical connecting section or electric wiring member.
However, Enomoto et al. disclose a liquid ejection unit that enables piezoelectric elements to be arranged at high density (paragraph 29), the liquid ejection unit comprising an ejection port forming member (nozzle plate 62) having an ejection port (51A) for ejecting liquid (Fig. 3A), a substrate (68) having a piezoelectric element (58) and an electrical connecting portion (at least wiring layer 74) electrically coupled to the piezoelectric element (paragraph 72 & Fig. 3A) and disposed on a surface of the substrate that is opposite to a side where the ejection port forming member is provided (Fig. 3A), wherein an electric wiring member (flexible cable 100) is electrically coupled to the electrical connecting portion (paragraph 69 & Fig. 3A).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yagi et al.’s liquid ejection unit with Enomoto et al.’s electrical configuration, so as to enable high density arrangement of the piezoelectric elements.
Regarding claims 13 and 17:
Yagi et al.’s modified liquid ejection unit comprises all the limitations of claims 12/16, and Yagi et al. also disclose that the positioning portion is disposed inside and adjacent to a corner of the polygonal shape (Figs. 18-28).
Regarding claims 14 and 18 (as best understood):
Yagi et al.’s modified liquid ejection unit comprises all the limitations of claims 12/16, and Yagi et al. also disclose that the liquid ejection unit further comprises a liquid supply port (at least a supply path 50A), wherein the liquid ejection unit is formed with the ejection port forming member in which the ejection port is formed (Fig. 32A), a second substrate (liquid relay member 50) in which the liquid supply port is formed (Fig. 32A), and a base plate (base plate 40) in which a liquid flow path (ink supply unit 44) is formed therein (Figs. 31-32), and liquid is supplied from the liquid flow path to the ejection port via the liquid supply port (Fig. 32A).
Regarding claims 15 and 19 (as best understood):
Yagi et al.’s modified liquid ejection unit comprises all the limitations of claims 12/16, but does not expressly disclose that the material of the ejection port forming member includes an inorganic material selected from Si, SiC, or SiO.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that ejection port forming members are commonly formed out of silicon, at least because silicon is a readily available material and the processing techniques thereof are easily employed.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Yagi et al.’s liquid ejection unit to utilize a silicon ejection port forming member.
Communication with the USPTO
SHELBY L. FIDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853