DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending in this examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.1. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
4.2. Claims 1-11, 13-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application No. 20190296932 to Jang et al (“Jang”) in view of US Patent Application No. 20170063807 to Cheng et al (“Cheng”).
Independ claims 1, 9 and 16 As per claim 1, Jang discloses method of establishing network connection for an endpoint device, the method comprising: detecting, by an endpoint device comprising one or more processors, a gateway device in proximity to the endpoint device ([0115], the user terminal 200 searches the gateway 120 that connects to the access point 110 (S232). In this case, the user terminal 200 of the access point 110 may be in a state where the user terminal is connected to a local network of the access point 110 through a short-range wireless communication network (e.g., Wi-Fi);
receiving, at the endpoint device, a device ID of the gateway device ([0116], the user terminal 200 receives the SSID from the searched gateway 120);
computing, by the endpoint device, a passcode prediction associated with the gateway device based on the device ID of the gateway device ([0117], the user terminal 200 generates a PW [passcode prediction] of the gateway 120 based on the received SSID (S236). In this case, the user terminal 200 may include a memory that has already stored a decoding algorithm used to generates a PW);
Furthermore, Jang deliver authentication information on a specific gateway to a home appliance that is activated by the user, thereby making it possible to prevent the home appliance from connecting to the other's gateway; But Jang does not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Cheng discloses transmitting the passcode prediction to the gateway device to access a network ([0054] In step 310, the client device 120 starts to connect to the gateway device 110 according to the selected SSID and the acquired access password P1. Specifically, during step S310, the client device 120 sends a connection request REQ_HSK based on the access password P1 to the gateway device 110 having the selected SSID (step S311). When the connection request REQ_HSK is received by the gateway device 110, the gateway device 110 may check whether the access password is correct according to the received connection request REQ_HSK (step S312), so as to authenticate whether the client device 120 is valid. The gateway device 110 may send a connection response RES_HSK back to the client device 120 when the client device 120 is determined to be valid (step S313), so as to notice the client device 120 that the connection request REQ_HSK has been acknowledged. The wireless connection WC between the client device 120 and the gateway device 110 is established after step S312).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jang with the teaching of Cheng by including the feature of send information to the gateway, in order for Jang’s system to establish the wireless connection between the client device and the gateway device. The wireless connection between the client device and the gateway device can be automatically established since the client device acquires the access password from the SSID of the gateway device. A gateway device for IoT adapted for providing a wireless network connection service to at least one client device. The gateway device includes a wireless communication circuit, a memory circuit, and a processing unit. The wireless communication circuit is adapted for wirelessly connecting to at least one surrounding client device. The memory circuit stores a plurality of modules. The processing unit is coupled to the wireless communication circuit and the memory circuit, in which the processing unit controls operation of the wireless communication circuit and accesses the memory circuit for executing the modules. The modules include an encryption module, a SSID generating module, and a connection module. The encryption module encrypts an access password of the gateway device, so as to generate an encryption password. The SSID generating module generates a SSID of the gateway device, in which the SSID includes an index and the encryption password. The connection module receives connection request sent from at least one client device and checks whether an access password of the connection request is correct, so as to establish a wireless connection with the at least one client device sending the correct access password (Cheng, [0010]).
As per claim 9, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses method of establishing network connection for an endpoint device, the method comprising: determining, by a gateway device communicatively connected to a network ([0047] Like the access point 110, the gateway 120 has a unique SSID and PW and may wirelessly connect with an external device (e.g., a user terminal 200 or a home appliance 300), [0115], the user terminal 200 searches the gateway 120 that connects to the access point 110 (S232). In this case, the user terminal 200 of the access point 110 may be in a state where the user terminal is connected to a local network of the access point 110 through a short-range wireless communication network (e.g., Wi-Fi)),
a passcode for the gateway device based on a device ID of the gateway device ([0116], the user terminal 200 receives the SSID from the searched gateway 120)… [0117], the user terminal 200 generates a PW of the gateway 120 based on the received SSID (S236);
receiving, at the gateway device, a signal descriptive of a passcode prediction computed by an endpoint device ([0117], the user terminal 200 generates a PW [passcode prediction] of the gateway 120 based on the received SSID (S236). In this case, the user terminal 200 may include a memory that has already stored a decoding algorithm used to generates a PW, [0144] Next, the user terminal 200 selects a decoding algorithm based on the prefix of the received SSID and generates a PW based on the selected decoding algorithm and the suffix of the SSID (step 4)).
Furthermore, Jang deliver authentication information on a specific gateway to a home appliance that is activated by the user, thereby making it possible to prevent the home appliance from connecting to the other's gateway; But Jang does not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Cheng discloses comparing, via the gateway device, the passcode determined by the gateway device and the passcode prediction of the endpoint device; and providing, via the gateway device, the endpoint device with access to the network based on the comparing ([0054] In step 310, the client device 120 starts to connect to the gateway device 110 according to the selected SSID and the acquired access password P1. Specifically, during step S310, the client device 120 sends a connection request REQ_HSK based on the access password P1 to the gateway device 110 having the selected SSID (step S311). When the connection request REQ_HSK is received by the gateway device 110, the gateway device 110 may check whether the access password is correct according to the received connection request REQ_HSK (step S312), so as to authenticate whether the client device 120 is valid. The gateway device 110 may send a connection response RES_HSK back to the client device 120 when the client device 120 is determined to be valid (step S313), so as to notice the client device 120 that the connection request REQ_HSK has been acknowledged. The wireless connection WC between the client device 120 and the gateway device 110 is established after step S312).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jang with the teaching of Cheng by including the feature of send information to the gateway, in order for Jang’s system to establish the wireless connection between the client device and the gateway device. The wireless connection between the client device and the gateway device can be automatically established since the client device acquires the access password from the SSID of the gateway device. A gateway device for IoT adapted for providing a wireless network connection service to at least one client device. The gateway device includes a wireless communication circuit, a memory circuit, and a processing unit. The wireless communication circuit is adapted for wirelessly connecting to at least one surrounding client device. The memory circuit stores a plurality of modules. The processing unit is coupled to the wireless communication circuit and the memory circuit, in which the processing unit controls operation of the wireless communication circuit and accesses the memory circuit for executing the modules. The modules include an encryption module, a SSID generating module, and a connection module. The encryption module encrypts an access password of the gateway device, so as to generate an encryption password. The SSID generating module generates a SSID of the gateway device, in which the SSID includes an index and the encryption password. The connection module receives connection request sent from at least one client device and checks whether an access password of the connection request is correct, so as to establish a wireless connection with the at least one client device sending the correct access password (Cheng, [0010]).
As per claim 16, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses a gateway device for establishing network connection for an endpoint device, the gateway device comprising: a network interface comprising one or more communication protocols configured to be communicatively coupled to a network (Jang, [0053] The gateway
120 may change a protocol such that the access point 110 accesses an external communication network (e.g., the Internet network or the public communications network). External devices that have accessed the gateway 120 maybe connected
to an external communication network via the gateway 120).
a local interface comprising a wireless communication protocol configured to be communicatively coupled to an endpoint device (Jang, [0041] The access point 110
forms a local network 100 with a gateway 120 and connects with a cloud server
400 and an external communication network (e.g., the Internet network or the public communications network). That is, the access point 110 serves as a medium for connecting the Internet network and a local network);
a memory storing firmware including instructions configured to determine a passcode for the gateway device and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: compute a passcode for the wireless communication protocol based on processing a device ID of the gateway device; perform a comparison between a received passcode prediction of the endpoint device and the passcode computed by the processor (Jang, [0117], the user terminal 200 generates a PW [passcode prediction] of the gateway 120 based on the received SSID (S236). In this case, the user terminal
200 may include a memory that has already stored a decoding algorithm used to generates a PW, [0144] Next, the user terminal 200 selects a decoding algorithm based on the prefix of the received SSID and generates a PW based on the selected decoding algorithm and the suffix of the SSID (step 4)).
Furthermore, Jang deliver authentication information on a specific gateway to a home appliance that is activated by the user, thereby making it possible to prevent the home appliance from connecting to the other's gateway; But Jang does not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Cheng discloses provide network access to the endpoint device based on the comparison ([0054] In step 310, the client device 120 starts to connect to the gateway device 110 according to the selected SSID and the acquired access password P1. Specifically, during step S310, the client device 120 sends a connection request REQ_HSK based on the access password P1 to the gateway device 110 having the selected SSID (step S311). When the connection request REQ_HSK is received by the gateway device 110, the gateway device 110 may check whether the access password is correct according to the received connection request REQ_HSK (step S312), so as to authenticate whether the client device 120 is valid. The gateway device 110 may send a connection response RES_HSK back to the client device 120 when the client device 120 is determined to be valid (step S313), so as to notice the client device 120 that the connection request REQ_HSK has been acknowledged. The wireless connection WC between the client device 120 and the gateway device 110 is established after step S312).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jang with the teaching of Cheng by including the feature of send information to the device, in order for Jang’s system to establish the wireless connection between the client device and the gateway device. The wireless connection between the client device and the gateway device can be automatically established since the client device acquires the access password from the SSID of the gateway device. A gateway device for IoT adapted for providing a wireless network connection service to at least one client device. The gateway device includes a wireless communication circuit, a memory circuit, and a processing unit. The wireless communication circuit is adapted for wirelessly connecting to at least one surrounding client device. The memory circuit stores a plurality of modules. The processing unit is coupled to the wireless communication circuit and the memory circuit, in which the processing unit controls operation of the wireless communication circuit and accesses the memory circuit for executing the modules. The modules include an encryption module, a SSID generating module, and a connection module. The encryption module encrypts an access password of the gateway device, so as to generate an encryption password. The SSID generating module generates a SSID of the gateway device, in which the SSID includes an index and the encryption password. The connection module receives connection request sent from at least one client device and checks whether an access password of the connection request is correct, so as to establish a wireless connection with the at least one client device sending the correct access password (Cheng, [0010]).
As per claim 2, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein computing the passcode prediction comprises: determining, by the endpoint device, a passcode cipher based on one or more characteristics of the device ID, wherein the passcode cipher is part of a passcode cipher set; and computing, by the endpoint device, the passcode prediction based on the determined passcode cipher (Jang, [0117] Next, the user terminal 200 generates a PW of the gateway 120
based on the received SSID (S236). In this case, the user terminal 200 may include a memory that has already stored a decoding algorithm used to generates a PW. [0118] For instance, when the SSID of the gateway 120 is “LG_GW2.0_E824EA234”, a prefix is “LG_GW2.0”, and a suffix is “E824EA234”. [0119] In this case, the user terminal 200 determines the sort of the gateway
120 based on “LG_GW2.0” and selects a decoding algorithm that corresponds to the gateway 120 from the algorithm that is stored in the memory in advance to decode the PW, [0120] Next, the user terminal 200 calculates a PW using the decoding algorithm that is selected on the basis of “E824EA234” which is a suffix. The generated SSID of the gateway 120 and the generated PW are stored in the memory.).
As per claim 3, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the method of claim 2, wherein determining the passcode cipher comprises: determining, by the endpoint device, the passcode cipher from the passcode cipher set using a cipher identifier; and providing, by the endpoint device, the passcode cipher for computing the passcode prediction (Jang, [0117]-[0120]).
As per claim 4, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the method of claim 3, wherein determining the passcode cipher using the cipher identifier is performed using a subset of the device ID, the subset including less than an entire device ID (Jang, [0117]-[0118]).
As per claim 5, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the gateway device comprises: detecting, by the endpoint device, two or more gateway devices; comparing, by the endpoint device, received signals associated with each of the two or more gateway devices;
selecting, by the endpoint device, the gateway device from the two or more gateway devices based on the comparing (Chen, [0055]). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 1 is also applied to claim 5.
As per claim 6, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the gateway device occurs in response to electrically connecting the one or more processors to a power source or in response to losing connection with the network (Cheng, [0044]-[0045]). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 1 is also applied to claim 6.
As per claim 7, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising implementing a security layer comprising a two-way validation protocol between the endpoint device and one or more of the gateway device, a local server, or a remote server, the two-way validation protocol comprising a local mTLS or an EAP authentication method (Jang, [0044], also see [0011]).
As per claim 8, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, at the endpoint device, a learn mode command prior to receiving the device ID of the gateway device (Jang, [0125]).
As per claim 10, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising storing the computed passcode in a memory of the gateway device, wherein comparing the passcode computed by the gateway device and the passcode prediction further comprises accessing the stored passcode from the memory (Jang, [0117], also see [0018]-[0120]).
As per claim 11, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising implementing a security layer comprising a two-way validation protocol between the endpoint device and one or more of the gateway device, a local server, or a remote server, the two-way validation protocol comprising a local mTLS or an EAP authentication method (Jang, [0044], also see [0011]).
As per claim 13, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the method of claim 9, wherein computing the passcode for the gateway device comprises: determining, by the gateway device, a passcode cipher based on one or more characteristics of the device ID; and computing, by the gateway device, the passcode based on the determined passcode cipher (Jang, [0117]-[0120]).
As per claim 14, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: receiving, at the gateway device, a request to change the passcode; determining, at the gateway device, a new passcode cipher based on the request; computing, at the gateway device, a new passcode based on the new passcode cipher (Cheng, [0058]-[0059]). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 1 is also applied to claim 14.
As per claim 15, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving, at the gateway device, a second signal descriptive of a passcode prediction determined by a second endpoint device; comparing, via the gateway device, the passcode computed by the gateway device and the passcode prediction determined by the second endpoint device; and providing, via the gateway device, the second endpoint device with access to the network based on the comparison (Chen, [0055]). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 1 is also applied to claim 15.
As per claim 17, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the gateway device of claim 16, wherein the processor is configured to update the passcode in response to receiving a request to change the passcode (Cheng, [0058]-[0059]). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 1 is also applied to claim 17.
As per claim 19, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the gateway of claim 16, wherein the endpoint device implements, with at least one of the gateway device, a local server, or a remote server, a security layer comprising a two-way validation protocol comprising a local mTLS or an EAP authentication method (Jang, [0044], also see [0011]).
As per claim 20, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the gateway of claim 16, wherein the gateway device is in an environment with the endpoint device, and wherein the endpoint device comprises a movable barrier operator (Cheng, [0005]). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 1 is also applied to claim 20.
4.3. Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang and Cheng as applied to claim above, and in view of US Patent Application No. 20170099647 to Shah et al (“Shah”).
As per claim 12, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the invention as described above. Jang and Cheng do not explicitly disclose however, In the same field of endeavor, Shah discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving, at the gateway device, credential information from the endpoint device, the credential information including an organizational unique identifier (OUI); comparing, via the gateway device, the received OUI and a whitelist of supported gateway devices; and terminating, via the gateway device, network access to the endpoint device based on the comparison ([0059], [0062], also see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jang with the teaching of Cheng by including the feature of a whitelist, in order for Jang’s system for ensure secure communication. During the Registration procedure, Gateways and Nodes are identified to the Registration System. Nodes are associated with the Gateway to which the Nodes will be connected. The Gateway stores a list of the Nodes that can be connected to the Gateway, a so-called whitelist. With few required user actions, authentic and authorized devices may be securely and reliably commissioned in a network. Factory setup for Gateways and Nodes, and a novel two level validation process help ensure secure commissioning (Shah, [0009]).
As per claim 18, the combination of Jang, Cheng and Shah discloses the gateway device of claim 16, wherein the processor is configured to: receive credential information from the endpoint device, the credential information including an organizational unique identifier (OUI); compare the received OUI and a whitelist of supported endpoint devices; and terminate network access to the endpoint device based on a failed comparison (Shah, [0059], [0062], also see abstract). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 12 is also applied to claim 18.
5.1. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as the prior art discloses many of the claim features (See PTO-form 892).
5.2. a). US Patent No. 10455418 issued to Bartlett; et al., discloses an apparatus and method are described for securely providing a User ID and/or password to an IoT device. For example, one embodiment of a method comprises: establishing a first communication channel between a user's mobile device and an Internet of Things (IoT) service; establishing a second communication channel between the IoT service and an IoT device, the IoT device having been previously registered with the IoT service; establishing a third communication channel between the IoT device and a computer on which the user is connecting to the online service; receiving at the IoT service a request from the mobile device to transmit a User ID and/or password for a particular online service to the IoT device; responsively encrypting the User ID and/or password to generate an encrypted User ID and/or password and transmitting the encrypted User ID and/or password to the IoT device; decrypting the encrypted User ID and/or password at the IoT device; and providing the User ID and/or password by the IoT device to the computer over the third communication channel, the computer causing the User ID and/or password to be provided to the online service to authenticate the user.
b). US Patent No. 10064062 issued to Idnani et al., discloses a mechanism for automatically registering Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices to an end-user account of an Internet-based resource, using a gateway that the end-user previously registered to the account. Various security alternatives are described that help avoid masquerading and other attacks on the home network of the end-user.
Conclusion
HARUNUR . RASHID
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2497
/HARUNUR RASHID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497