DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 are pending in this examination.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot (claims 1 and claim 11) in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5.1. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
5.2. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application No. 20190296932 to Jang et al (“Jang”) in view of US Patent Application No. 20170063807 to Cheng et al (“Cheng”), and further in view of US Patent No. 12651300 to Boyd et al (“Boyd”).
As per claim 1, Jang discloses method of establishing network connection for an endpoint device, the method comprising: in the operational state detecting, by the endpoint device, a gateway device in proximity to the endpoint device ([0115], the user terminal 200 searches the gateway 120 that connects to the access point 110 (S232). In this case, the user terminal 200 of the access point 110 may be in a state where the user terminal is connected to a local network of the access point 110 through a short-range wireless communication network (e.g., Wi-Fi);
receiving, at the endpoint device, a device ID of the gateway device ([0116], the user terminal 200 receives the SSID from the searched gateway 120);
computing, by the endpoint device, a passcode prediction associated with the gateway device based on the device ID of the gateway device ([0117], the user terminal 200 generates a PW [passcode prediction] of the gateway 120 based on the received SSID (S236). In this case, the user terminal 200 may include a memory that has already stored a decoding algorithm used to generates a PW);
Furthermore, Jang deliver authentication information on a specific gateway to a home appliance that is activated by the user, thereby making it possible to prevent the home appliance from connecting to the other's gateway; But Jang does not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Cheng discloses transmitting the passcode prediction to the gateway device to access a network ([0054] In step 310, the client device 120 starts to connect to the gateway device 110 according to the selected SSID and the acquired access password P1. Specifically, during step S310, the client device 120 sends a connection request REQ_HSK based on the access password P1 to the gateway device 110 having the selected SSID (step S311). When the connection request REQ_HSK is received by the gateway device 110, the gateway device 110 may check whether the access password is correct according to the received connection request REQ_HSK (step S312), so as to authenticate whether the client device 120 is valid. The gateway device 110 may send a connection response RES_HSK back to the client device 120 when the client device 120 is determined to be valid (step S313), so as to notice the client device 120 that the connection request REQ_HSK has been acknowledged. The wireless connection WC between the client device 120 and the gateway device 110 is established after step S312).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jang with the teaching of Cheng by including the feature of send information to the gateway, in order for Jang’s system to establish the wireless connection between the client device and the gateway device. The wireless connection between the client device and the gateway device can be automatically established since the client device acquires the access password from the SSID of the gateway device. A gateway device for IoT adapted for providing a wireless network connection service to at least one client device. The gateway device includes a wireless communication circuit, a memory circuit, and a processing unit. The wireless communication circuit is adapted for wirelessly connecting to at least one surrounding client device. The memory circuit stores a plurality of modules. The processing unit is coupled to the wireless communication circuit and the memory circuit, in which the processing unit controls operation of the wireless communication circuit and accesses the memory circuit for executing the modules. The modules include an encryption module, a SSID generating module, and a connection module. The encryption module encrypts an access password of the gateway device, so as to generate an encryption password. The SSID generating module generates a SSID of the gateway device, in which the SSID includes an index and the encryption password. The connection module receives connection request sent from at least one client device and checks whether an access password of the connection request is correct, so as to establish a wireless connection with the at least one client device sending the correct access password (Cheng, [0010]).
Jang and Cheng do not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Boyd discloses maintaining an endpoint device in a lockdown state in which access to a learn mode of the endpoint device is inhibited; receiving, at the endpoint device, a lockdown disable signal in response to a disablement request to transition the endpoint device from the lockdown state to an operational state (col. 38, line 30-65 , if the agent wishes to transition a facility to a closed state, the agent may select the graphical element 511 corresponding to the facility to be closed. Such an action causes a close command to be sent to the facility 12, as described above to put the door lock 444 in the locked state and to turn off the sign 99. In addition, the state of the graphical element 509 for the facility 12 is changed to indicate that the facility 12 is now in the closed state. Note that, if desired, the agent may change the open/close states of multiple facilities 12 at the same time rather than controlling such states individually for each facility 12. For example, in FIG. 15, the GUI 505 includes a graphical element 521 (e.g., icon), referred to hereafter as the “open all element.” and a graphical element 522 (e.g., icon), referred to hereafter as the “close all element.” If the open all element 521 is selected, then the system ensures that all of the facilities 12 of the displayed group of facilities 12 are controlled to be in the opened state. In this regard, for each facility 12 that is currently in the closed state, an open command is sent to the facility's site controller 325 from the agent's computing device 190 or the RAS controller 163, as described above, so that the sign 99 is illuminated and the door lock 444 is transitioned to the opened state. Thus, all of the facilities 12 of the group should be in the opened state, and the graphical elements 509 are updated as appropriate to indicate the opened state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jang with the teaching of Cheng/ Boyd by including the feature of lockdow, in order for Jang’s system for enabling remote management of storage facilities. A system for enabling remote management of storage facilities has a videoconferencing system that allows a remote sales agent to communicate with customers at any of a plurality of storage facilities. A presence of the customer is sensed by one or more sensor nodes, and the remote sales agent is alerted to the customer's presence. In response, a videoconference call with the sales agent is established so that the customer sees an image of and may interact with the sales agent through the videoconferencing system. (Boyd, abstract).
As per claim 2, the combination of Jang, Cheng and Boyd discloses the method of claim 1, wherein computing the passcode prediction comprises: determining, by the endpoint device, a passcode cipher based on one or more characteristics of the device ID, wherein the passcode cipher is part of a passcode cipher set; and computing, by the endpoint device, the passcode prediction based on the determined passcode cipher (Jang, [0117] Next, the user terminal 200 generates a PW of the gateway 120
based on the received SSID (S236). In this case, the user terminal 200 may include a memory that has already stored a decoding algorithm used to generates a PW. [0118] For instance, when the SSID of the gateway 120 is “LG_GW2.0_E824EA234”, a prefix is “LG_GW2.0”, and a suffix is “E824EA234”. [0119] In this case, the user terminal 200 determines the sort of the gateway
120 based on “LG_GW2.0” and selects a decoding algorithm that corresponds to the gateway 120 from the algorithm that is stored in the memory in advance to decode the PW, [0120] Next, the user terminal 200 calculates a PW using the decoding algorithm that is selected on the basis of “E824EA234” which is a suffix. The generated SSID of the gateway 120 and the generated PW are stored in the memory.).
As per claim 3, the combination of Jang, Cheng and Boyd discloses the method of claim 2, wherein determining the passcode cipher comprises: determining, by the endpoint device, the passcode cipher from the passcode cipher set using a cipher identifier; and providing, by the endpoint device, the passcode cipher for computing the passcode prediction (Jang, [0117]-[0120]).
As per claim 4, the combination of Jang, Cheng and Boyd discloses the method of claim 3, wherein determining the passcode cipher using the cipher identifier is performed using a subset of the device ID, the subset including less than an entire device ID (Jang, [0117]-[0118]).
As per claim 5, the combination of Jang, Cheng and Boyd discloses the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the gateway device comprises: detecting, by the endpoint device, two or more gateway devices; comparing, by the endpoint device, received signals associated with each of the two or more gateway devices;
selecting, by the endpoint device, the gateway device from the two or more gateway devices based on the comparing (Chen, [0055]). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 1 is also applied to claim 5.
As per claim 6, the combination of Jang, Cheng and Boyd discloses the method of claim 1, wherein detecting the gateway device occurs in response to electrically connecting the one or more processors of the endpoint device to a power source or in response to losing connection with the network (Cheng, [0044]-[0045]). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 1 is also applied to claim 6.
As per claim 7, the combination of Jang, Cheng and Boyd discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising implementing a security layer comprising a two-way validation protocol between the endpoint device and one or more of the gateway device, a local server, or a remote server, the two-way validation protocol comprising a local mTLS or an EAP authentication method (Jang, [0044], also see [0011]).
As per claim 8, the combination of Jang, Cheng and Boyd discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, at the endpoint device, a learn mode command prior to receiving the device ID of the gateway device (Jang, [0125]).
5.3. Claims 9-10, 13-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application No. 20190296932 to Jang et al (“Jang”) in view of US Patent Application No. 20170063807 to Cheng et al (“Cheng”).
As per claim 9, Jang discloses a method of establishing network connection for an endpoint device, the method comprising: computing, by a gateway device communicatively connected to a network ([0047] Like the access point 110, the gateway 120 has a unique SSID and PW and may wirelessly connect with an external device (e.g., a user terminal 200 or a home appliance 300), [0115], the user terminal 200 searches the gateway 120 that connects to the access point 110 (S232). In this case, the user terminal 200 of the access point 110 may be in a state where the user terminal is connected to a local network of the access point 110 through a short-range wireless communication network (e.g., Wi-Fi)),
a passcode for the gateway device based on a device ID of the gateway device ([0116], the user terminal 200 receives the SSID from the searched gateway 120)… [0117], the user terminal 200 generates a PW of the gateway 120 based on the received SSID (S236);
receiving, at the gateway device, a signal descriptive of a passcode prediction computed by an endpoint device ([0117], the user terminal 200 generates a PW [passcode prediction] of the gateway 120 based on the received SSID (S236). In this case, the user terminal 200 may include a memory that has already stored a decoding algorithm used to generates a PW, [0144] Next, the user terminal 200 selects a decoding algorithm based on the prefix of the received SSID and generates a PW based on the selected decoding algorithm and the suffix of the SSID (step 4)).
Furthermore, Jang deliver authentication information on a specific gateway to a home appliance that is activated by the user, thereby making it possible to prevent the home appliance from connecting to the other's gateway; But Jang does not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Cheng discloses comparing, via the gateway device, the passcode determined by the gateway device and the passcode prediction of the endpoint device; and providing, via the gateway device, the endpoint device with access to the network based on the comparing ([0054] In step 310, the client device 120 starts to connect to the gateway device 110 according to the selected SSID and the acquired access password P1. Specifically, during step S310, the client device 120 sends a connection request REQ_HSK based on the access password P1 to the gateway device 110 having the selected SSID (step S311). When the connection request REQ_HSK is received by the gateway device 110, the gateway device 110 may check whether the access password is correct according to the received connection request REQ_HSK (step S312), so as to authenticate whether the client device 120 is valid. The gateway device 110 may send a connection response RES_HSK back to the client device 120 when the client device 120 is determined to be valid (step S313), so as to notice the client device 120 that the connection request REQ_HSK has been acknowledged. The wireless connection WC between the client device 120 and the gateway device 110 is established after step S312).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jang with the teaching of Cheng by including the feature of send information to the gateway, in order for Jang’s system to establish the wireless connection between the client device and the gateway device. The wireless connection between the client device and the gateway device can be automatically established since the client device acquires the access password from the SSID of the gateway device. A gateway device for IoT adapted for providing a wireless network connection service to at least one client device. The gateway device includes a wireless communication circuit, a memory circuit, and a processing unit. The wireless communication circuit is adapted for wirelessly connecting to at least one surrounding client device. The memory circuit stores a plurality of modules. The processing unit is coupled to the wireless communication circuit and the memory circuit, in which the processing unit controls operation of the wireless communication circuit and accesses the memory circuit for executing the modules. The modules include an encryption module, a SSID generating module, and a connection module. The encryption module encrypts an access password of the gateway device, so as to generate an encryption password. The SSID generating module generates a SSID of the gateway device, in which the SSID includes an index and the encryption password. The connection module receives connection request sent from at least one client device and checks whether an access password of the connection request is correct, so as to establish a wireless connection with the at least one client device sending the correct access password (Cheng, [0010]).
As per claim 16, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses a gateway device for establishing network connection for an endpoint device, the gateway device comprising: a network interface comprising one or more communication protocols configured to be communicatively coupled to a network (Jang, [0053] The gateway
120 may change a protocol such that the access point 110 accesses an external communication network (e.g., the Internet network or the public communications network). External devices that have accessed the gateway 120 maybe connected
to an external communication network via the gateway 120).
a local interface comprising a wireless communication protocol configured to be communicatively coupled to an endpoint device (Jang, [0041] The access point 110
forms a local network 100 with a gateway 120 and connects with a cloud server
400 and an external communication network (e.g., the Internet network or the public communications network). That is, the access point 110 serves as a medium for connecting the Internet network and a local network);
a memory storing firmware including instructions configured to determine a passcode for the gateway device and a processor configured to execute the instructions to: compute the passcode for the wireless communication protocol based on processing a device ID of the gateway device; perform a comparison between a received passcode prediction of the endpoint device and the passcode computed by the processor (Jang, [0117], the user terminal 200 generates a PW [passcode prediction] of the gateway 120 based on the received SSID (S236). In this case, the user terminal
200 may include a memory that has already stored a decoding algorithm used to generates a PW, [0144] Next, the user terminal 200 selects a decoding algorithm based on the prefix of the received SSID and generates a PW based on the selected decoding algorithm and the suffix of the SSID (step 4)).
Furthermore, Jang deliver authentication information on a specific gateway to a home appliance that is activated by the user, thereby making it possible to prevent the home appliance from connecting to the other's gateway; But Jang does not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Cheng discloses provide network access to the endpoint device based on the comparison ([0054] In step 310, the client device 120 starts to connect to the gateway device 110 according to the selected SSID and the acquired access password P1. Specifically, during step S310, the client device 120 sends a connection request REQ_HSK based on the access password P1 to the gateway device 110 having the selected SSID (step S311). When the connection request REQ_HSK is received by the gateway device 110, the gateway device 110 may check whether the access password is correct according to the received connection request REQ_HSK (step S312), so as to authenticate whether the client device 120 is valid. The gateway device 110 may send a connection response RES_HSK back to the client device 120 when the client device 120 is determined to be valid (step S313), so as to notice the client device 120 that the connection request REQ_HSK has been acknowledged. The wireless connection WC between the client device 120 and the gateway device 110 is established after step S312).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jang with the teaching of Cheng by including the feature of send information to the device, in order for Jang’s system to establish the wireless connection between the client device and the gateway device. The wireless connection between the client device and the gateway device can be automatically established since the client device acquires the access password from the SSID of the gateway device. A gateway device for IoT adapted for providing a wireless network connection service to at least one client device. The gateway device includes a wireless communication circuit, a memory circuit, and a processing unit. The wireless communication circuit is adapted for wirelessly connecting to at least one surrounding client device. The memory circuit stores a plurality of modules. The processing unit is coupled to the wireless communication circuit and the memory circuit, in which the processing unit controls operation of the wireless communication circuit and accesses the memory circuit for executing the modules. The modules include an encryption module, a SSID generating module, and a connection module. The encryption module encrypts an access password of the gateway device, so as to generate an encryption password. The SSID generating module generates a SSID of the gateway device, in which the SSID includes an index and the encryption password. The connection module receives connection request sent from at least one client device and checks whether an access password of the connection request is correct, so as to establish a wireless connection with the at least one client device sending the correct access password (Cheng, [0010]).
As per claim 10, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising storing the computed passcode in a memory of the gateway device, wherein comparing the passcode computed by the gateway device and the passcode prediction further comprises accessing the stored passcode from the memory (Jang, [0117], also see [0018]-[0120]).
As per claim 13, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the method of claim 9, wherein computing the passcode for the gateway device comprises: determining, by the gateway device, a passcode cipher based on one or more characteristics of the device ID; and computing, by the gateway device, the passcode based on the determined passcode cipher (Jang, [0117]-[0120]).
As per claim 14, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: receiving, at the gateway device, a request to change the passcode; determining, at the gateway device, a new passcode cipher based on the request; computing, at the gateway device, a new passcode based on the new passcode cipher (Cheng, [0058]-[0059]). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 1 is also applied to claim 14.
As per claim 15, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving, at the gateway device, a second signal descriptive of a passcode prediction determined by a second endpoint device; comparing, via the gateway device, the passcode computed by the gateway device and the passcode prediction determined by the second endpoint device; and providing, via the gateway device, the second endpoint device with access to the network based on the comparison (Chen, [0055]). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 1 is also applied to claim 15.
As per claim 17, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the gateway device of claim 16, wherein the processor is configured to update the passcode in response to receiving a request to change the passcode (Cheng, [0058]-[0059]). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 1 is also applied to claim 17.
As per claim 19, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the gateway of claim 16, wherein the endpoint device implements, with at least one of the gateway device, a local server, or a remote server, a security layer comprising a two-way validation protocol comprising a local mTLS or an EAP authentication method (Jang, [0044], also see [0011]).
As per claim 20, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the gateway of claim 16, wherein the gateway device is in an environment with the endpoint device, and wherein the endpoint device comprises a movable barrier operator (Cheng, [0005]). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 1 is also applied to claim 20.
5.4. Claims 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang and Cheng as applied to claim above, and in view of US Patent Application No. 20090278479 to Platner et al (“Platner”) and further in view of US Patent No. 8495372 issued to Bailey et al (“Bailey”).
As per claim 11, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the invention as described above. Jang and Cheng do not explicitly disclose however, In the same field of endeavor, Platner discloses the method further comprises transmitting, by the gateway device, the device ID only in response to a first physical manipulation of a user interface at the gateway device ([0084]-[0085], also see claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jang with the teaching of Cheng/ Platner by including the feature of a gateway in order for Jang’s system to the host computer is not required in order to maintain automated lighting control in each of the lighting control zones of the system. The lighting control system can be advantageously deployed in schools, offices, museums, government buildings, apartment and building complexes, parking garages, factories, retail stores and malls, and combinations thereof. A programmable lighting control system integrates time-based, sensor-based, and manual control of lighting and other loads. The system includes one or more groups of controlled lighting areas, which may be, for example, floors of a building. Each group may have one or more lighting zones, which may be, for example, individual rooms or offices on a building floor. Each lighting zone includes occupancy and/or daylight sensors that may be wirelessly coupled to a gateway of the group. Each gateway is coupled to a network, such as, for example, a local area network (LAN). Control software, residing on a computer (e.g., a personal computer or a server) coupled to the network and accessible via the network, remotely communicates with and controls the lighting zones either individually, groupwise, or globally. Each lighting zone can also be locally controlled at the gateway and can function independently of the control software and the gateway (Platner, abstract).
Jang and Cheng do not explicitly disclose however in the same field of endeavor, Bailey discloses receiving the signal description of the passcode prediction computed by the endpoint device occurs in response to the endpoint device entering a discrete learn mode initiated by a second physical manipulation of a user interface at the endpoint device (col.12, line 40-50, also col. 7, 30-45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jang with the teaching of Cheng/Bailey/Platner by including the feature of an interface in order for Jang’s system to decrypt the encrypted authentication information. In one aspect, a first processing device, which may be an authentication token, establishes a shared key through a pairing protocol carried out between the first processing device and a second processing device. The pairing protocol also involves communication between the second processing device and an authentication server. As part of the pairing protocol, the first processing device sends identifying information to the second processing device, and the second processing device utilizes the identifying information to obtain the shared key from the authentication server. The first processing device encrypts authentication information utilizing the shared key, and transmits the encrypted authentication information from the first processing device to the second processing device. The second processing device utilizes the shared key to decrypt the encrypted authentication information (Bailey, Abstract).
5.5. Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang and Cheng as applied to claim above, and in view of US Patent Application No. 20170099647 to Shah et al (“Shah”).
As per claim 12, the combination of Jang and Cheng discloses the invention as described above. Jang and Cheng do not explicitly disclose however, In the same field of endeavor, Shah discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving, at the gateway device, credential information from the endpoint device, the credential information including an organizational unique identifier (OUI); comparing, via the gateway device, the received OUI and a whitelist of supported gateway devices; and terminating, via the gateway device, network access to the endpoint device based on the comparison ([0059], [0062], also see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jang with the teaching of Cheng by including the feature of a whitelist, in order for Jang’s system for ensure secure communication. During the Registration procedure, Gateways and Nodes are identified to the Registration System. Nodes are associated with the Gateway to which the Nodes will be connected. The Gateway stores a list of the Nodes that can be connected to the Gateway, a so-called whitelist. With few required user actions, authentic and authorized devices may be securely and reliably commissioned in a network. Factory setup for Gateways and Nodes, and a novel two level validation process help ensure secure commissioning (Shah, [0009]).
As per claim 18, the combination of Jang, Cheng and Shah discloses the gateway device of claim 16, wherein the processor is configured to: receive credential information from the endpoint device, the credential information including an organizational unique identifier (OUI); compare the received OUI and a whitelist of supported endpoint devices; and terminate network access to the endpoint device based on a failed comparison (Shah, [0059], [0062], also see abstract). The motivation regarding the obviousness of claim 12 is also applied to claim 18.
6.1. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as the prior art discloses many of the claim features (See PTO-form 892).
6.2. a). US Patent No. 10455418 issued to Bartlett; et al., discloses an apparatus and method are described for securely providing a User ID and/or password to an IoT device. For example, one embodiment of a method comprises: establishing a first communication channel between a user's mobile device and an Internet of Things (IoT) service; establishing a second communication channel between the IoT service and an IoT device, the IoT device having been previously registered with the IoT service; establishing a third communication channel between the IoT device and a computer on which the user is connecting to the online service; receiving at the IoT service a request from the mobile device to transmit a User ID and/or password for a particular online service to the IoT device; responsively encrypting the User ID and/or password to generate an encrypted User ID and/or password and transmitting the encrypted User ID and/or password to the IoT device; decrypting the encrypted User ID and/or password at the IoT device; and providing the User ID and/or password by the IoT device to the computer over the third communication channel, the computer causing the User ID and/or password to be provided to the online service to authenticate the user.
b). US Patent No. 10064062 issued to Idnani et al., discloses a mechanism for automatically registering Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices to an end-user account of an Internet-based resource, using a gateway that the end-user previously registered to the account. Various security alternatives are described that help avoid masquerading and other attacks on the home network of the end-user.
Conclusion
7. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HARUNUR . RASHID
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2497
/HARUNUR RASHID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497