CTNF 18/952,389 CTNF 82022 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato et al. (2021/0101387) . Regarding Claim 1, Kato et al. teaches a printing apparatus (1, Fig. 3) comprising: a printing unit (50, Fig. 3) configured to perform printing on a medium while moving in a movement direction [Paragraphs 0022-0023]; a platen (32, Fig. 3) provided at a position facing the printing unit (50) in a printing range of the printing unit (50) and configured to support the medium [Paragraphs 0022-0023 and 0031]; a base frame (6, Fig. 3) extending in the movement direction and configured to support the platen (32) [Paragraph 0022]; and a pair of leg frames (7, Fig. 3) provided with an interval therebetween in the movement direction and configured to support the base frame (6) [Paragraph 0022], wherein the base frame (6) includes a protruding portion (area of the capping unit (70, Fig. 3), (flushing reception unit 75, Fig. 3, wiping unit (80, Fig. 3), and maintenance unit (100, Fig. 3)) protruding further to an outer side than the leg frame (7) in the movement direction [see Fig. 3], and the protruding portion (area of the capping unit (70, Fig. 3), (flushing reception unit 75, Fig. 3, wiping unit (80, Fig. 3), and maintenance unit (100, Fig. 3)) includes a reinforcing portion (area of the capping unit (70, Fig. 3), (flushing reception unit 75, Fig. 3, wiping unit (80, Fig. 3), and maintenance unit (100, Fig. 3)) constituted by a plurality of metal plates overlapping each other when viewed from a direction intersecting the movement direction [see Fig. 3]. Regarding Claim 5, Kato et al. teaches the printing apparatus (1), wherein the pair of leg frames (7) are provided at positions sandwiching the platen (32) when viewed from a direction intersecting the movement direction [see Fig. 3]. Regarding Claim 6, Kato et al. teaches the printing apparatus (1), comprising a maintenance unit (100) configured to perform maintenance of the printing unit (50), wherein the maintenance unit (100) is disposed at the protruding portion (area of the capping unit (70, Fig. 3), (flushing reception unit 75, Fig. 3, wiping unit (80, Fig. 3), and maintenance unit (100, Fig. 3)) [Paragraphs 0055, 0058-0059, see also Fig. 3]. Regarding Claim 7, Kato et al. teaches the printing apparatus (1), wherein the protruding portion (area of the capping unit (70, Fig. 3), (flushing reception unit 75, Fig. 3, wiping unit (80, Fig. 3), and maintenance unit (100, Fig. 3)) includes a plurality of the reinforcing portions (area of the capping unit (70, Fig. 3), (flushing reception unit 75, Fig. 3, wiping unit (80, Fig. 3), and maintenance unit (100, Fig. 3)) [see Fig. 3]. Regarding Claim 8, Kato et al. teaches the printing apparatus (1), wherein the plurality of metal plates overlap each other in different directions in at least two of the plurality of reinforcing portions (area of the capping unit (70, Fig. 3), (flushing reception unit 75, Fig. 3, wiping unit (80, Fig. 3), and maintenance unit (100, Fig. 3)) [see Fig. 3] . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (20110316924) (hereinafter Kobayashi et al.) . Regarding Claim 1, Kobayashi et al. teaches a printing apparatus (10, Fig. 1) comprising: a printing unit (30, Fig. 2) configured to perform printing on a medium (S, Fig. 1) while moving in a movement direction [Paragraphs 0053 and 0055]; a platen (13, Fig. 1) provided at a position facing the printing unit (30) in a printing range of the printing unit (30) and configured to support the medium (S) [Paragraphs 0053 and 0055]; a base frame (12, Fig. 1) extending in the movement direction and configured to support the platen (13) [Paragraph 0053]; and a pair of leg frames (11a, 11b, Fig. 1) provided with an interval therebetween in the movement direction and configured to support the base frame (12) [Paragraph 0053], wherein the base frame (12) includes a protruding portion (the left body (15, Fig. 1) of the base frame (12)) protruding further to an outer side than the leg frame (11a, 11b) in the movement direction [Paragraph 0053], and the protruding portion (the left body (15, Fig. 1) of the base frame (12)) includes a reinforcing portion (the left body (15, Fig. 1) of the base frame (12)) constituted by a plurality of metal plates (see Fig. 1) overlapping each other when viewed from a direction intersecting the movement direction [see Fig. 1]. Regarding Claim 5, Kobayashi et al. teaches the printing apparatus (10), wherein the pair of leg frames (11a, 11b) are provided at positions sandwiching the platen (13) when viewed from a direction intersecting the movement direction [Paragraph 0053 and See Fig. 1] . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the allowance of claim(s) 2-4 is the inclusion of the limitation of a printing apparatus that includes a shape of a protruding portion on an inside of a reinforcing portion is different than a shape of the protruding portion on an outside of the reinforcing portion in a movement direction. It is this limitation found in the claims, as it is claimed in the combination, that has not been found, taught, or suggested by the prior art of record, which makes these claims allowable over the prior art . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to LISA SOLOMON whose telephone number is (571)272-1701. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 9:30am -6pm, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Douglas Rodriguez can be reached at (571) 431-0716. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LISA SOLOMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/952,389 Page 2 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/952,389 Page 3 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/952,389 Page 4 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/952,389 Page 5 Art Unit: 2853