DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on November 19, 2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: Line 2 of claim 1 requires “a capture solution” as does line 8. As such, it is unclear if the recitation in line 8 refers to the same solution as that in line 2. For the purposes of examination, the two recitations are being treated as the same solution.
Regarding claim 1: The use of pronouns, such as “itself”, in a claim render that claim indefinite as it is unclear as to which element or step is being further limited. As such the meets and bounds of the claim cannot be determined. Structural limitations and steps must always be referred to by name.
Regarding claims 2-6: These claims are considered indefinite due to their dependence on claim 1.
Regarding claim 7: There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the first membrane” in line 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Linden et al. (US 2021/0138364, Van).
Regarding claim 1: Van discloses a carbon dioxide-separating apparatus 100 – Fig 3 for separating carbon dioxide gas Abstract and ammonia gas Abstract from a capture solution wastewater - Abstract, in which the carbon dioxide gas has been captured by using the ammonia gas as an absorbent ammonia is a known absorbent of CO2 as noted by Han et al. (WO 2017/213413 A1, paragraph 4 on page 17 of the provided translation), the carbon dioxide-separating apparatus comprising:
a cation exchange membrane 12 and an anion exchange membrane 13 spaced apart from each other to form a capture channel 32, through which a capture solution flows Fig 3, [0036], therebetween,
a cathode current collector plate 42 with a cathode channel 31 formed between itself and the cation exchange membrane Fig 3,
an anode current collector plate 41 with an anode channel 33 formed between itself and the anion exchange membrane Fig 3,
wherein a basic solution flows in the cathode channel [0040], and an acidic solution flows in the anode channel [0041],
wherein when power is applied to the cathode current collector plate and the anode current collector plate, ammonium ions in the capture solution pass through the cation exchange membrane and move to the cathode channel Fig 3, [0050],
wherein bicarbonate ions in the capture solution pass through the anion exchange membrane and move to the anode channel Fig 3, [001],
wherein the ammonium ions that have moved to the cathode channel undergo a chemical reaction in the basic solution and are converted to ammonia gas 72 – [0022], and
wherein the bicarbonate ions that have moved to the anode channel undergo a chemical reaction in the acidic solution and are converted to carbon dioxide gas 73 – [0022].
Regarding claim 3: Wherein the carbon dioxide- separating apparatus further comprises:
a first membrane contactor 61 which separates the ammonia gas from the basic solution flowing through the cathode channel, and
a second membrane contactor 62 which separates the carbon dioxide gas from the acidic solution flowing through the anode channel.
Regarding claim 4: Wherein the carbon dioxide-separating apparatus further comprises:
a basic solution supply unit connected to flowline 52 supplying the basic solution to the cathode channel and
an acidic solution supply unit connected to flowline 51 supplying the acidic solution to the anode channel,
wherein the basic solution from which the ammonia gas is separated in the first membrane contactor is circulated to the basic solution supply unit Fig 3, and
the acidic solution from which the carbon dioxide gas is separated in the second membrane contactor is circulated to the acidic solution supply unit Fig 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van.
Van discloses the use of a basic solution and an acidic solution but fails to disclose that those solutions are.
However, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Van so that the basic solution was a sodium hydroxide solution or a potassium hydroxide solution and the acidic solution was a sulfuric acid solution or a hydrochloric acid solution, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5: The prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a carbon dioxide-separating apparatus that includes a cathode channel between a cathode current collection plate and a cation exchange membrane such that the cation exchange membrane was formed in contact with a plate surface of the cathode current collection plate and an anode channel between an anode current collection plate and an anion exchange membrane such that the anion exchange membrane was formed in contact with a plate surface of the anode current collector plate surface as recited in the claimed combination.
Regarding claim 6: Claim 6 is considered allowable due to its dependence on claim 5.
Regarding claim 7: The prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a carbon dioxide capture and storage system that separates carbon dioxide gas from ammonia gas and circulates the ammonia gas back into the system as an absorbent as recited in the claimed combination.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER H GAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
JHG
9/21/2026