DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 18-27 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-43 of U.S. Patent No. 12,151,496.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the US Patent (496) and is covered by the US Patent, since the US Patent and the instant application are claiming common subject matter.
Claims 18-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-51 of copending Application No. 18/941534 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the co-pending application and is covered by the co-pending application since the co-pending application and the instant application are claiming common subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 18-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-83 of copending Application No. 18/916145 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the co-pending application and is covered by the co-pending application since the co-pending application and the instant application are claiming common subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 18-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-45 of copending Application No. 19/096928 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the co-pending application and is covered by the co-pending application since the co-pending application and the instant application are claiming common subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 18-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-43 of copending Application No. 19/379508 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is disclosed in the co-pending application and is covered by the co-pending application since the co-pending application and the instant application are claiming common subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Falser et al. (# US 2010/0283811).
Falser et al. discloses:
18. A printing apparatus (element: 1, figure: 1-5) for creating a multiple layered print structure, comprising:
a movable carriage assembly (element: 10, figure: 1-5);
a first print-head 3attached to the movable carriage assembly, wherein the first print-head is adapted to print at least one print layer having a design on a removable substrate using a digital ink-jet print method (element: 32, figure: 3-4);
a second print-head attached to the movable carriage assembly; wherein the second print-head is adapted to print at least one opaque layer on top of the design using a digital ink-jet print method (element: 31, figure: 3-4; see claims 1-6).
19. The printing apparatus for creating a multiple layer print structure of claim 18, wherein the first print-head is adapted to print the design in mirror image format ([0056]-[0117]).
20. The printing apparatus for creating a multiple layer print structure of claim 18, wherein the printing apparatus further comprises a print-head adapted to print at least one release layer underlying said at least one print layer, where the printed release layer creates a shape profile (element: 40, figure: 4).
21. The printing apparatus for creating a multiple layer print structure of claim 18, wherein the movable carriage assembly comprises more than one of the first print-head; wherein each of the more than one first print-head is adapted to print at least one print layer on a removable substrate using a digital ink-jet print method; wherein, the at least one print layer forms a design (figure: 4).
22. The printing apparatus for creating a multiple layer print structure of claim 18, wherein the movable carriage assembly comprises more than one of the second print-head; wherein each of the more than one second print-head is adapted to print at least one opaque layer on top of the design using a digital ink-jet print method (figure: 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(1) Truog (# US 2004/0161564) discloses a dry paint transfer laminate (100) comprises a dry paint film layer (110) has an upper surface and a lower surface, an adhesive layer (120) overlying the upper surface (112) of the dry paint film layer, and a release liner (130) overlying the lower surface (114) of the dry paint film layer. The dry paint film layer comprises a binder and a pigment (see Abstract).
(2) La Costa (# US 2013/0004742) discloses a method of transfer printing onto articles, particularly dark articles, is disclosed. A design, preferably in color, is printed onto a transfer sheet in sublimation dye using a commercially-available printer. White toner is then printed over at least a portion of the design using an electrostatic printing device. Heat and pressure are applied to transfer the design and the white toner to an article. In some preferred embodiments, the transfer sheet is a self-weeding transfer paper. In some preferred embodiments, the same printer is used to print both the sublimation dye design and the white toner. In some preferred embodiments, the color palette of the image is inverted prior to printing with white toner. The invention is particularly well suited to the transfer printing of dark textile articles (see Abstract).
(3) Daley et al.(# US 2016/0358519) discloses a digitally printed heat transfer label and method of manufacture is disclosed. The heat transfer label and method of manufacture provides a more efficient process with less waste, as well as prevents halos. The method comprises adding adhesive powder to a digital image printed on a substrate to produce a high stretch, multi-color photographic quality label for the apparel industry (see Abstract).
(4) McGovern et al. (# US 2019/0118575) discloses a thermal transfer and process for producing it that provides a fully-digital printed heat transfer capable of little to no process changeover between different graphics. Specifically, the method comprises printing a digital image onto a treated adhesive substrate, applying the image side to a carrier substrate, then digitally cutting and removing substrate not containing graphic elements through a combination of kiss-and-through cutting to produce a high stretch, multi-color photographic quality print transfers for the apparel and soft goods industry (see Abstract).
(5) Weedlun et al. (# US 2020/0096910) discloses the method involves digitally printing an image onto the protective coating to form a printed area and an unprinted area of the protective coating on a protective coating receptive to ink and/or toner. An attractant is digitally printed precisely onto the printed area and not onto the unprinted area. An adhesive powder is applied onto the printed area and the unprinted area. The adhesive powder is removed (208) from the unprinted area. The remaining adhesive powder is bonded to the printed area. A release layer is applied onto a substrate. The protective coating is applied onto the release layer (see Abstract).
MANISH S. SHAH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/Manish S Shah/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853