DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 9, 13 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20200413559 A1) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20200137911 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses An electronic device (Fig. 1, 100) comprising:
a display; (Fig. 1, 101)
a housing including: (Fig. 1, 110)
a base, (Fig. 3, 380)
a sidewall structure including: (Figs. 1, 2, 3, [0042] a housing 110 including a first side (or a front side) 110A, a second side (or a rear side) 110B, and a lateral side (surface) 110C surrounding a space between the first side 100A and the second side 110B. In an embodiment (not shown), the housing may refer to a structure which includes part of the first side 110A, second side 110B, and third side 110C of FIG. 1. According to an embodiment, the first side 110A may be constructed of a front plate 102 (or a front cover) (e.g., a polymer plate or a glass plate having various coating layers) which is at least partially transparent.)
a supporting surface supporting the display, ([0066] – [0068]) and
an outer surface from the supporting surface of the sidewall structure, the outer surface of the sidewall structure substantially perpendicular to the supporting surface of the sidewall structure, ([0066] – [0068]) and
a through-hole, (Fig 6, hole between 450 and 461]) extending from the outer surface of the sidewall structure to the supporting surface of the sidewall structure, including an end of the through-hole defined by the supporting surface of the sidewall structure to face a rear surface of the display, (Fig 6, [0088] [0092] [0093]) and another end of the through-hole defined by the outer surface of the sidewall structure substantially perpendicular to the supporting surface of the sidewall structure; ([0088] [0092] [0093])
a first adhesive member, (Fig 6, 700) attaching the rear surface of the display to the supporting surface of the sidewall structure, covering a first portion of the end of the through-hole defined by the supporting surface of the sidewall structure; ([0088] [0092] [0093])
a second adhesive member, (Fig 6, 461) attaching the rear surface of the display to the supporting surface of the sidewall structure, spaced apart from the first adhesive member, and covering a second portion of the end of the through-hole defined by the supporting surface of the sidewall structure; ([0095] [0100] [1029]) and
a sealing member, (Fig 6, 450) filling at least a portion of the through-hole, connecting the first adhesive member (Fig 6, 700).
Lee does not disclose “a sealing member, connecting the second adhesive member”.
Kim discloses “a sealing member, connecting the second adhesive member”. ([0050] [0051] [0055])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate adhesive member by Kim into device of Lee. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide adhesive. (Kim: [0050])
Regarding claim 2, Lee and Kim disclose wherein the sidewall structure further includes:
an inner surface opposite to the outer surface of the sidewall structure, (Lee [0066] – [0068]) and
at least one speaker hole, spaced apart from the through-hole, extending from the outer surface of the sidewall structure to the inner surface of the sidewall structure. (Lee [0048] speaker holes 107 and 114)
Regarding claim 3, Lee and Kim disclose wherein, when viewed from the outside of the electronic device, a shape of the through-hole is the same with a shape of the at least one speaker hole. (Lee [0048] speaker holes 107 and 114)
Regarding claim 4, Lee and Kim disclose wherein the at least one speaker hole includes:
a first speaker hole, (Lee [0048] speaker holes 107 and 114) and
a second speaker hole spaced apart from the first speaker hole by a first distance, (Lee [0048] speaker holes 107 and 114)
wherein the other end of the through-hole, defined by the outer surface of the sidewall structure, is spaced apart from an end of the first speaker hole by the first distance, (Lee [0066] – [0068]) and
wherein the end of the first speaker hole is defined by the outer surface of the sidewall structure. (Lee [0048] speaker holes 107 and 114)
Regarding claim 5, Lee and Kim disclose wherein the through-hole includes:
a first region extending from the outer surface of the sidewall structure in a direction inclined with respect to the outer surface of the sidewall structure, (Lee Fig. 6, [0088] [0099] – [0103]) and
a second region extending from the first region of the through-hole to the supporting surface of the sidewall structure in a direction perpendicular to the supporting surface of the sidewall structure. (Lee Fig. 6, [0088] [0099] – [0103])
Regarding claim 6, Lee and Kim disclose wherein the through-hole includes:
a first region extending from the outer surface of the sidewall structure in a direction perpendicular to the outer surface of the sidewall structure, (Lee Fig. 6, [0088] [0099] – [0103]) and
a second region extending from the first region of the through-hole to the supporting surface of the sidewall structure in a direction perpendicular to the supporting surface of the sidewall structure. (Lee Fig. 6, [0088] [0099] – [0103])
Regarding claim 7, Lee and Kim disclose wherein the first adhesive member includes:
a first extending portion covering the first portion of the end of the through-hole defined by the supporting surface of the sidewall structure, (Lee Fig. 6, [0088] [0099] – [0103]) and
a second extending portion, extending from the first extending portion of the first adhesive member in a direction away from the through-hole, having a width wider than the first extending portion, (Lee Fig. 6, [0088] [0099] – [0103])
wherein the second adhesive member includes: (Lee Fig. 6, [0088] [0099] – [0103])
a third extending portion, covering the second portion of the end of the through-hole defined by the supporting surface of the sidewall structure, (Lee Fig. 6, [0088] [0099] – [0103]) and
a fourth extending portion, extending from the third extending portion of the second adhesive member, in a direction away from the through-hole, having a width wider than the third extending portion. (Lee Fig. 6, [0088] [0099] – [0103])
Regarding claim 8, Lee and Kim disclose wherein the sidewall structure further includes a first sidewall and a second sidewall surrounding the display and perpendicular each other, (Lee Fig. 6, [0088] [0099] – [0103])
wherein the first adhesive member extends along a portion of the first sidewall, and wherein the second adhesive member extend along another portion of the first sidewall and the second sidewall. (Lee Fig. 6, [0088] [0099] – [0103])
Regarding claim 9, Lee and Kim disclose further comprising at least one accommodating groove disposed to the supporting surface and spaced apart from the through-hole, (Kim [0060] [0066] [0067])
wherein a portion of the at least one accommodating groove is covered by the first adhesive member and the second adhesive member. (Kim [0060] [0066] [0067])
Regarding claim 13, Lee and Kim disclose wherein the first adhesive member and the second adhesive member include an adhesive material attaching the display to the supporting surface. (Lee [0095] [0100] [1029])
Regarding claim 14, Lee and Kim disclose wherein the base includes an accommodating surface, parallel to the supporting surface, facing the rear surface of the display, (Lee Figs 1 - 6, [0066] – [0068]) and
wherein the electronic device further includes a speaker, configured to output audio, disposed on the accommodating surface of the base. (Lee [0048])
Regarding claim 15, Lee and Kim disclose wherein the sidewall structure surrounds a periphery of the display. (Lee Figs 1 - 6, [0008] [0042])
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses An electronic device comprising:
a display; (Fig. 1, 101)
a housing including: (Fig. 1, 110)
a base, (Fig. 3, 380)
a sidewall structure including: (Figs. 1, 2, 3, [0042] a housing 110 including a first side (or a front side) 110A, a second side (or a rear side) 110B, and a lateral side (surface) 110C surrounding a space between the first side 100A and the second side 110B. In an embodiment (not shown), the housing may refer to a structure which includes part of the first side 110A, second side 110B, and third side 110C of FIG. 1. According to an embodiment, the first side 110A may be constructed of a front plate 102 (or a front cover) (e.g., a polymer plate or a glass plate having various coating layers) which is at least partially transparent.)
a supporting surface supporting the display, ([0066] – [0068])
an outer surface surrounding the supporting surface and facing the outside of the electronic device, the sidewall structure disposed on a periphery of the base ([0066] – [0068]) and a through-hole extending from the outer surface to the supporting surface; (Fig 6, hole between 450 and 461)
a first adhesive member (Fig 6, 700) covering one part of one end of the through-hole disposed on the supporting surface; ([0088] [0092] [0093])
a second adhesive member (Fig 6, 461) spaced apart from the first adhesive member, and covering another part of the one end of the through-hole disposed on the supporting surface; ([0095] [0100] [1029]) and,
a sealing member (Fig 6, 450) filling at least part of the through-hole, and connecting the first adhesive member (Fig 6, 700) and the second adhesive member.
Lee does not disclose a sealing member and connecting and the second adhesive member.
Kim discloses a sealing member and connecting and the second adhesive member. ([0050] [0051] [0055])
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate adhesive member by Kim into device of Lee. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide adhesive. (Kim: [0050])
Regarding claim 17, Lee and Kim disclose wherein the sidewall structure further includes:
an inner surface facing inside of the housing and opposite to the outer surface; (Lee [0066] – [0068]) and
at least one speaker hole spaced apart from the through-hole, and extending from the outer surface to the inner surface. (Lee [0048] speaker holes 107 and 114)
Regarding claim 18, Lee and Kim disclose wherein the at least one speaker hole includes:
a first speaker hole; (Lee [0048] speaker holes 107 and 114) and
a second speaker hole spaced apart from the first speaker hole by a first distance, (Lee [0048] speaker holes 107 and 114)
wherein the other end of the through-hole disposed on the outer surface is spaced apart from one end of the first speaker hole disposed on the outer surface by the first distance. (Lee [0066] – [0068])
Regarding claim 19, Lee and Kim disclose wherein the through-hole includes:
a first region extending from the outer surface along a direction inclined with respect to the outer surface; (Lee Fig. 6, [0088] [0099] – [0103]) and
a second region extending from the first region to the supporting surface along a direction perpendicular to the supporting surface. (Lee Fig. 6, [0088] [0099] – [0103])
Regarding claim 20, Lee and Kim disclose wherein the through-hole includes:
a first region extending from the outer surface along a direction perpendicular to the outer surface; (Lee Fig. 6, [0088] [0099] – [0103])
a second region extending from the first region to the supporting surface along a direction perpendicular to the supporting surface. (Lee Fig. 6, [0088] [0099] – [0103])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20240201746 A1 [0065] According to an embodiment, as shown in FIG. 6A, the waterproof member 440 may include a first adhesive member 441, a waterproof film 443, and a second adhesive member 445. According to an embodiment, the first adhesive member 441 may attach the waterproof film 443 and the mounting portion 430 to one another. That is, the first adhesive member 441 may attach the waterproof film 443 to the inside surface of the frame structure 400, such that the waterproof film 443 may be disposed on the mounting portion 430 and may cover the recessed portion 420 while forming the recessed space 420a. According to an embodiment, the second adhesive member 445 may attach the audio module 460 and the waterproof film 443 to one another. That is, the second adhesive member 445 may attach the audio module 460 to the waterproof film 443, such that the audio module 460 may be disposed on the mounting portion 430.
/CHUN-NAN LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629