DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the internal electrode" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the external electrode" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, and 6-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2021/0193384).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose in fig. 2, a multilayer electronic component (title), comprising:
a body (110) including:
a stack unit (111-112, 121-122) including a dielectric layer (111) and internal electrodes (121, 122) alternately arranged in a first direction (z) with the dielectric layer (111) interposed therebetween, when a direction, perpendicular to the first direction, is referred to as a second direction (x), and a direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, is referred to as a third direction (y),
a connection electrode (310) disposed on surfaces (directly – left; indirectly – right) of the stack unit (111-112, 121-122) opposing each other in the second direction (x) and in contact with one of the internal electrode (121), and
an extension unit (210, 221) disposed on the connection electrode (310) and including an insulating layer [0059]; and
external electrodes (131, 132) disposed on the body (111-112, 121-122), wherein the extension unit (210, 221) further includes a via electrode (220) in contact with at least a portion of the connection electrode (310) and one of the external electrode (131).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose the connection electrode (310) is spaced apart from one or more surfaces selected from surfaces of the body opposing each other in the first direction (z) and surfaces of the body opposing each other in the third direction (y).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose the connection electrode (310) is spaced apart from surfaces of the body (111-112, 121-122) opposing each other in the first direction (z)and surfaces of the body opposing each other in the third direction.
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose the extension unit (220, 221) includes a plurality of the via electrode (220 - Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose when surfaces of the body opposing each other in the first direction (z) are referred to as a first surface (top) and a second surface (bottom), respectively, the via electrode (220) is disposed to be closer to one of the first surface (top) and the second surface than to the other of the first surface and the second surface (bottom – Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose when surfaces of the body opposing each other in the first direction (z) are referred to as a first surface (top) and a second surface (bottom), respectively, and surfaces of the body opposing each other in the second direction (x) are referred to as a third surface (left) and a fourth (right) surface, respectively, the via electrode (220) includes a first via electrode (221) in contact (directly) with the third surface (left) and a second via electrode (220) in contact (indirectly) with the fourth surface (right), and the first via electrode (221) is disposed to be closer to the first surface (top) than to the second surface (bottom), and the second via electrode (224) is disposed to be closer to the second surface (bottom) than to the first surface (top).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose the via electrode (220) is spaced apart from surfaces of the body (111-112, 121-122) opposing each other in the first direction (z) and surfaces of the body opposing each other in the third direction (x).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose the connection electrode (310) covers one end of the internal electrodes (121, 122) in the second direction (x).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose in the stack unit (111-112, 121-122), when a region in which the internal electrodes (121, 122) overlap each other in the first direction (z) is referred to as a capacitance formation portion,
and regions disposed on a first surface (top) and a second surface (bottom) of the capacitance formation portion in the first direction are referred to as cover portions (112, 113), and the connection electrode (310) covers portions (left-right) of the cover portions (112, 113).
Regarding claim 11, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose the connection electrode (310) includes a plurality of body portions (applicant should note that “portions” can be any arbitrary area of the connection electrode – see annotated figure below) disposed to contact one end of the internal electrodes (121) in the second direction (z) and spaced apart from each other.
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose the connection electrode (310) further includes a connection portion (see annotated figure above) connecting the plurality of body portions (see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose the plurality of body portions includes three or more body portions (see annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose an entirety of the connection electrode (310) is spaced apart from the external electrodes (131, 132).
Regarding claim 15, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose the connection portion (see annotate figure below) intersects at least one body portion among the plurality of body portions.
Regarding claim 16, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose the connection portion includes a first connection portion and a second connection portion (applicant should note that “portions” can be any arbitrary area of the connection electrode – see annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 17, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose the first connection portion and the second connection portion intersect each other (see annotated figure above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0193384).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Kim et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a ratio of an area in which the via electrode contact surfaces of the body opposing each other in the second direction, as compared to an area of the surfaces of the body opposing each other in the second direction, is 15% or more and 65% or less.
Kim et al. teach that the via electrode that contacts the area of a surface of the body (via the connection electrode) is determined by the current tolerance in a circuit in which the capacitor is used [0066].
Lacking unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the capacitor of Kim et al. so that a ratio of an area in which the via electrode contact surfaces of the body opposing each other in the second direction, as compared to an area of the surfaces of the body opposing each other in the second direction, is 15% or more and 65% or less, since such a modification would form a capacitor having a desired current tolerance.
Conclusion
Applicant is encourage to contact the examiner to discuss possible amendments to overcome the current rejection of record. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 6:00 AM-2:30 PM.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2024143087 A1 – via electrode connecting internal electrodes
US 2021/0249193 A1 – via electrodes
US 2020/0205291 A1 – via electrodes
US 2020/0111612 A1 – connector electrodes / extension units formed on both sides of the stacked unit.
/ERIC W THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847
ERIC THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847