DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohno et al (US 8085335).
Regarding Claim 1, Ohno teaches a reflective member (abstract; figs. 1-5), comprising:
an incident surface on which light is incident (figs. 4-5, 56, 56A);
a reflective surface from which the incident light is reflected (figs. 4-5, 56, 56B/62; col. 6, line 45-50, after incident light passing through the fixed aperture stop 40 travels through the first face 56A of the first prism 56, a green light component of the incident light is reflected by the first dichroic film 62 and passes through the third face 56C so as to be guided to the image pickup face of the second image pickup element 44B);
an exit surface from which the reflected light exits (figs. 4-5, 56, 56C); and
a light blocking portion that extends along an edge of at least one of the incident surface and the exit surface (figs. 4-5, 40; fig. 9, 40, 56; figs. 12-13, 66, 70/76),
wherein the light blocking portion comprises a wave shape that is formed by a plurality of convex portions and a plurality of concave portions (figs. 12-13, 66, 70/76), and
wherein the wave shape has a plurality of wavelengths which respectively have sizes that change in an extension direction of the light blocking portion (figs. 12-13, 66, 70/76; col. 11, line 18-24, the projections and depressions 76 on each linear segment 70 are provided by alternately and repetitively arranging, in an orderly fashion, four kinds of wave patterns having different wavelengths and each constituted by a projection and a depression. Thus, the projections and depressions 76 form a pattern that appears as if the four kinds of wave patterns are combined).
Regarding Claim 13, Ohno teaches reflective module (abstract; figs. 1-5), comprising:
a reflective member comprising an incident surface, a reflective surface, and an exit surface (figs. 4-5, 56, 56A-C; col. 6, line 45-50, after incident light passing through the fixed aperture stop 40 travels through the first face 56A of the first prism 56, a green light component of the incident light is reflected by the first dichroic film 62 and passes through the third face 56C so as to be guided to the image pickup face of the second image pickup element 44B); and
a holder on which the reflective member is mounted (fig. 1, 10; fig. 9, 80, 82, 40, 56),
wherein a light blocking portion is disposed on at least one of the incident surface and the exit surface of the reflective member (fig. 9, 40, 56, 56A);
wherein the light blocking portion is configured to block a portion of at least one of the incident surface and the exit surface (fig. 5, 40, 66, 68),
wherein the light blocking portion comprises a wave shape that is formed by a plurality of convex portions and a plurality of concave portions (figs. 12-13, 66, 70/76), and
wherein the wave shape has a plurality of wavelengths which have sizes that change in an extension direction of the light blocking portion (figs. 12-13, 66, 70/76; col. 11, line 18-24, the projections and depressions 76 on each linear segment 70 are provided by alternately and repetitively arranging, in an orderly fashion, four kinds of wave patterns having different wavelengths and each constituted by a projection and a depression. Thus, the projections and depressions 76 form a pattern that appears as if the four kinds of wave patterns are combined).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al (US 20220082735) in a view of Ohno et al (US 8085335).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang teaches a reflective member (abstract; figs. 5-8), comprising:
an incident surface on which light is incident (fig. 5, 311);
a reflective surface from which the incident light is reflected (fig. 5, 312); an
exit surface from which the reflected light exits (fig. 5, 313; ¶[0109], line 1-10, The reflective member 310; includes an incident surface 311, a reflective surface 312, and an emission surface 313); and
a light blocking portion that extends along an edge of at least one of the incident surface and the exit surface (fig. 5, 313, 317, 318, 319; fig. 17, 311, 317, 318, 319; ¶[0115], line 1-6, a light blocking portion 317 may be provided on the emission surface 313. The light blocking portion 317 may include a first light blocking layer 319 and a second light blocking layer 318 spaced apart from each other).
wherein the light blocking portion comprises a wave shape that is formed by a plurality of convex portions and a plurality of concave portions (fig. 5, 318, 319; fig. 17, 318, 319).
But Yang does not specifically disclose that wherein the wave shape has a plurality of wavelengths which respectively have sizes that change in an extension direction of the light blocking portion.
However, Ohno teaches an image pickup apparatus (abstract; figs. 1), comprising a reflective member (fig. 5, 56, 40), wherein the wave shape has a plurality of wavelengths which respectively have sizes that change in an extension direction of the light blocking portion (figs. 12-13, 66, 70/76; col. 11, line 18-24, the projections and depressions 76 on each linear segment 70 are provided by alternately and repetitively arranging, in an orderly fashion, four kinds of wave patterns having different wavelengths and each constituted by a projection and a depression. Thus, the projections and depressions 76 form a pattern that appears as if the four kinds of wave patterns are combined).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reflective member of Yang by the image pickup apparatus of Ohno for a purpose to provide an image pickup apparatus that can reliably prevent the occurrence of diffraction phenomenon by the fixed aperture stop so as advantageously achieve an improved quality of picked-up images (col. 2, line 30-33).
Regarding Claim 2, Yang - Ohno combination teaches that the reflective member of claim 1, wherein the sizes of the plurality of wavelengths are different from each other (figs. 12-13, 66, 70/76; col. 11, line 18-24, the projections and depressions 76 on each linear segment 70 are provided by alternately and repetitively arranging, in an orderly fashion, four kinds of wave patterns having different wavelengths and each constituted by a projection and a depression. Thus, the projections and depressions 76 form a pattern that appears as if the four kinds of wave patterns are combined, as disclosed in Ohno).
Regarding Claim 3, Yang - Ohno combination teaches that the reflective member of claim 1, wherein the convex portions and the concave portions are repeatedly disposed to form a wave shape (fig. 5, 313, 317, 318, 319; fig. 17, 311, 317, 318, 319, as disclosed in Yang).
Regarding Claim 4, Yang - Ohno combination teaches that the reflective member of claim 1, wherein the light blocking portion is formed of an opaque material (¶[0147], line 1-4,The first light blocking layer 319 and the second light blocking layer 318 may be made of an opaque material, as disclosed in Yang).
Regarding Claim 5, Yang - Ohno combination teaches that the reflective member of claim 1, further comprising:
a virtual first boundary line that corresponds to a region in which light is incident on the incident surface (fig. 17, 311, as disclosed in Yang); and
a virtual second boundary line that connects ends of the plurality of convex portions (fig, 17, 318/319, as disclosed in Yang),
wherein the first boundary line and the second boundary line are disposed to be parallel to each other (fig. 17, 311, 318/319, as disclosed in Yang).
Regarding Claim 6, Yang - Ohno combination teaches that the reflective member of claim 5, further comprising:
a virtual third boundary line that connects ends of the plurality of concave portions (fig. 17, 318/319, as disclosed in Yang),
wherein the third boundary line is disposed outside of the incident surface compared to the first boundary line (fig. 17, 311, 318/319, as disclosed in Yang) .
Regarding Claim 7, Yang - Ohno combination teaches that the reflective member of claim 1, wherein an amplitude of the plurality of wavelengths is constant (fig. 8, 318, 319, as disclosed in Yang; fig. 13, 70/76; col. 11, line 25-31, When the aperture width is 9 .5 mm, the four kinds of wave patterns have wavelengths of 0.32 mm, 0.68 mm, 0.44 mm, and 0.56 mm, respectively, and all have the same amplitude of 0.2 mm, as disclosed in Ohno).
Regarding Claim 8, Yang - Ohno combination teaches that the reflective member of claim 1, further comprising:
a virtual first boundary line which corresponds to a region in which light is incident on the incident surface (fig. 17, 311, as disclosed in Yang),
wherein the first boundary line is disposed along a half point of an amplitude of the plurality of wavelengths (fig. 17, 318, 319, as disclosed in Yang; ---further, the first boundary line can be disposed along a half point of an amplitude of the plurality of wavelengths, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination, In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)).
Regarding Claim 9, Yang - Ohno combination teaches that the reflective member of claim 1, wherein:
the edge of the incident surface comprises a first edge that is disposed in a length direction of the incident surface and a second edge that faces the first edge (fig. 17, 311, as disclosed in Yang), and
a portion of the light blocking portion that extends along the first edge is bent inwardly of the incident surface (fig. 17, 318, 319, as disclosed in Yang, --convex portions of 318, 319).
Regarding Claim 10, Yang - Ohno combination teaches that the reflective member of claim 9, wherein a portion of the light blocking portion that extends along the second edge is bent inwardly of the incident surface (fig. 17, 318, 319, as disclosed in Yang, --convex portions of 318, 319).
Regarding Claim 11, Yang - Ohno combination teaches that the reflective member of claim 1, wherein a period of the light blocking portion is 0.3 mm or more and 2 mm or less (col. 11, line 25-31, When the aperture width is 9 .5 mm, the four kinds of wave patterns have wavelengths of 0.32 mm, 0.68 mm, 0.44 mm, and 0.56 mm, respectively, and all have the same amplitude of 0.2 mm, as disclosed in Ohno).
Regarding Claim 12, Yang - Ohno combination teaches that a portable electronic device comprising the reflective member of claim 1 (fig. 1, 1- portable electronic device, 1000- camera module, as disclosed in Yang).
Regarding Claim 13, 13. A reflective module, comprising:
a reflective member comprising an incident surface, a reflective surface, and an exit surface (fig. 5, 311, 312, 313; ¶[0109], line 1-10, The reflective member 310; includes an incident surface 311, a reflective surface 312, and an emission surface 313); and
a holder on which the reflective member is mounted (fig. 5, 330),
wherein a light blocking portion is disposed on at least one of the incident surface and the exit surface of the reflective member (fig. 5, 313, 317, 318, 319; fig. 17, 311, 317, 318, 319; ¶[0115], line 1-6, a light blocking portion 317 may be provided on the emission surface 313. The light blocking portion 317 may include a first light blocking layer 319 and a second light blocking layer 318 spaced apart from each other),
wherein the light blocking portion is configured to block a portion of at least one of the incident surface and the exit surface (fig. 5, 313, 318, 319; fig. 17, 311, 318, 319),
wherein the light blocking portion comprises a wave shape that is formed by a plurality of convex portions and a plurality of concave portions (fig. 5, 318, 319; fig. 17, 318, 319).
But Yang does not specifically disclose that wherein the wave shape has a plurality of wavelengths which respectively have sizes that change in an extension direction of the light blocking portion.
However, Ohno teaches an image pickup apparatus (abstract; figs. 1), comprising a reflective member (fig. 5, 56, 40), wherein the wave shape has a plurality of wavelengths which respectively have sizes that change in an extension direction of the light blocking portion (figs. 12-13, 66, 70/76; col. 11, line 18-24, the projections and depressions 76 on each linear segment 70 are provided by alternately and repetitively arranging, in an orderly fashion, four kinds of wave patterns having different wavelengths and each constituted by a projection and a depression. Thus, the projections and depressions 76 form a pattern that appears as if the four kinds of wave patterns are combined).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reflective member of Yang by the image pickup apparatus of Ohno for a purpose to provide an image pickup apparatus that can reliably prevent the occurrence of diffraction phenomenon by the fixed aperture stop so as advantageously achieve an improved quality of picked-up images (col. 2, line 30-33).
Regarding Claim 14, Yang - Ohno combination teaches that the reflective module of claim 13, wherein the sizes of the plurality of wavelengths are different from each other (figs. 12-13, 66, 70/76; col. 11, line 18-24, the projections and depressions 76 on each linear segment 70 are provided by alternately and repetitively arranging, in an orderly fashion, four kinds of wave patterns having different wavelengths and each constituted by a projection and a depression. Thus, the projections and depressions 76 form a pattern that appears as if the four kinds of wave patterns are combined, as disclosed in Ohno).
Regarding Claim 15, Yang - Ohno combination teaches that the reflective module of claim 13, wherein the convex portions and concave portions are repeatedly disposed to form a wave shape (fig. 5, 313, 317, 318, 319; fig. 17, 311, 317, 318, 319, as disclosed in Yang).
Regarding Claim 16, Yang - Ohno combination teaches that the reflective module of claim 13, further comprising:
a virtual first boundary line that corresponds to a region in which light is incident on the incident surface (fig. 17, 311, as disclosed in Yang); and
a virtual second boundary line that connects ends of the plurality of convex portions (fig, 17, 318/319, as disclosed in Yang)
wherein the first boundary line and the second boundary line are disposed to be parallel to each other (fig. 17, 311, 318/319, as disclosed in Yang).
Regarding Claim 17, Yang - Ohno combination teaches that the reflective module of claim 13, wherein an amplitude of the plurality of wavelengths is constant (fig. 8, 318, 319, as disclosed in Yang; fig. 13, 70/76; col. 11, line 25-31, When the aperture width is 9 .5 mm, the four kinds of wave patterns have wavelengths of 0.32 mm, 0.68 mm, 0.44 mm, and 0.56 mm, respectively, and all have the same amplitude of 0.2 mm, as disclosed in Ohno).
Regarding Claim 18, Yang - Ohno combination teaches that the a portable electronic device comprising the reflective module of claim 13 (fig. 1, 1- portable electronic device, 1000- camera module, as disclosed in Yang).
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872