DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species VI in the reply filed on 2/19/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 5-14 are withdrawn. Claims 1-4 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stechmann (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0408335).
Regarding claim 1, Stechmann discloses a curvature adjustable magnetic strut (Fig. 20A), comprising a strut section (213, Fig. 18C) having a upper portion and a lower portion, and a spanning base plate member (230, 234) having an upper surface and a lower surface, wherein said strut section lower portion is secured to said spanning base plate member upper surface; two bracket assemblies (53, 224, 228) having an upper portion and lower portion wherein said two bracket assemblies upper portion each includes a hinge (53) thereon, and said hinge is affixed to said lower surface of said spanning plate member (the examiner considers the hinge to be affixed via the fasters to both the top and lower surfaces); two magnet base plates (224, 228) secured to said two bracket assemblies lower portion (the examiner considers the lower portion to be relative and considers the outermost portions to be the lower portion); and two magnets (240) affixed to each of said two magnet base plates; wherein said bracket assemblies are curvature adjustable by rotation about the hinges thereon.
Regarding claim 4, Stechmann discloses said two magnets (240) affixed to said magnet base plate (224, 228) are affixed to the magnet base plate are affixed to the magnet base plate using retaining screws and corresponding magnet retaining nuts (Fig. 20A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stechmann (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0408335).
Regarding claim 2, Stechmann discloses the strut section as set forth above, but does not disclose the strut section including a slotted strut having a plurality of orifices, and is secured to said spanning plate member using strut securing bolts and corresponding strut securing nuts. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had a strut that was a U-shaped channel with a plurality of orifices used in combination with the base plate to secure any external component as a well-known structure used to affix external components.
Regarding claim 3, Stechmann discloses said hinge includes a hinge pin bolt (Fig. 20A), but does not necessarily disclose a hinge pin nut, and further wherein said hinge is secured to said spanning plate member by welding. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a nut to secure the bolt and welding over fastening as an alternative securing option to affix the hinge assembly to the spanning plate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JAMES J BUCKLE JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3633