DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 11/19/2024, 04/22/2025, 10/01/2025 and 05/14/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5,7,8,10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kumagai et al. (US 20230134155).
Regarding claim 1, Kumagai et al. disclose:
A motor (para 21) comprising:
a stator core (20);
a coil (30, para 29) that is wound around the stator core (20);
a neutral bus bar (10, para 38), that is connected to the coil (30, better seen in Fig 3); and
a bus bar holder (5) that holds the neutral bus bar (10),
wherein the bus bar holder (5) includes a coolant flow path capable of receiving coolant from the motor (para 78) and
also supplying the coolant toward a coil end (30e, para 78) exposed from the stator core (20).
Regarding claim 2/1, Kumagai et al. disclose wherein the coolant flow path includes a coolant guide (96, para 78) that is open and that guides the coolant toward the coil end.
Regarding claim 3/1, Kumagai et al. disclose wherein the coolant flow path includes an internal coolant flow channel (96, para 78 since it is a hole) that passes through the bus bar holder and also includes an opening that discharges the coolant toward the coil end.
Regarding claim 4/1, Kumagai et al. disclose further comprising a coolant supply channel (96-98, paras 76-78) configured to supply the coolant to the coolant flow path.
Regarding claim 5/4, Kumagai et al. disclose, wherein: the coolant flow path includes a coolant guide that is open and that guides the coolant toward the coil end (para 78); and the coolant supply channel is configured to communicate with the coolant guide such that the coolant flows through the coolant guide, or to discharge the coolant into the coolant guide (paras 76-78).
Regarding claim 7/4, Kumagai et al. disclose wherein: the coolant flow path includes an internal coolant flow channel that passes through the bus bar holder and that also includes an opening that discharges the coolant toward the coil end (paras 76-78); and the coolant supply channel communicates with the internal coolant flow channel such that the coolant can flow through the internal coolant flow channel, or discharges the coolant into a coolant intake hole of the internal coolant flow channel (paras 76-78).
Regarding claim 8/1, Kumagai et al. disclose wherein the bus bar holder (5, Fig 1) includes a skirt portion (7) extending toward the coil end (30e) to supply the coolant that passed through the coolant flow path (95-98) to the coil end (30e).
Regarding claim 10/4, Kumagai et al. disclose wherein the coolant supply channel (95, Fig 6) is disposed on an outer periphery of the stator core (20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai et al. (US 20230134155) in view of Sun et al. (CN 112953120).
Regarding claim 6/5, Kumagai et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, except wherein: the coolant supply channel is disposed spaced apart from the bus bar holder; and the coolant guide is configured to receive the coolant discharged from the coolant supply channel.
Sun et al. teach an apparatus wherein: the coolant supply channel (44) is disposed spaced apart from the bus bar holder (Fig 6 shows no busbar holder); and the coolant guide is configured to receive the coolant discharged (coolant outlet 45) from the coolant supply channel (44, see annotated Fig 6 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Kumagai et al. wherein: the coolant supply channel is disposed spaced apart from the bus bar holder; and the coolant guide is configured to receive the coolant discharged from the coolant supply channel, as Sun et al. teach.
The motivation to do so is it would allow one to cool the machine as wanted (abstract of Sun et al.).
Regarding claim 9/1, Kumagai et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, except wherein the bus bar holder is configured to supply the coolant to the coil end over a range of at least a quarter of a circumference of the stator core.
Sun et al. teach wherein the bus bar holder is configured to supply the coolant to the coil end over a range of at least a quarter of a circumference of the stator core (Figs 3 and 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Kumagai et al. wherein: the coolant supply channel is disposed spaced apart from the bus bar holder; and the coolant guide is configured to receive the coolant discharged from the coolant supply channel, as Sun et al. teach.
The motivation to do so is it would allow one to cool the machine as wanted (abstract of Sun et al.).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai et al. (US 20230134155) in view of Okamoto et al. (US 20160190886).
Regarding claim 11/4, Kumagai et al. disclose the invention as discussed above, except wherein the coolant supply channel passes through inside of the stator core.
Okamoto et al. teach a device wherein the coolant supply channel passes through inside of the stator core (para 27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Kumagai et al. wherein the coolant supply channel passes through inside of the stator core, as Okamoto et al. teach.
The motivation to do so is it would allow one to cool the machine as wanted (paras 5-7,9,27,28 of Okamoto et al.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for details.
NAISHADH N. DESAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/NAISHADH N DESAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834