DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in EP on Nos: 22174619.1 ,22217043.3, filed on 5/20/2022, 12/28/2022, respectively. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Nos: 22174619.1 ,22217043.3 applications as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
The Information Disclosure Statements
The prior art cited in the information disclosure statements filed on 11/19/2024 has been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a beam steering device, color selection module, a controller… in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (1)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kasazumi et al. (US 20100020291 A1) [hereinafter Kasazumi].
As to claims 1, 14, Kasazumi teaches an illumination module for a metrology device comprising: a beam steering device ( 15, 16, 19, Figs. 4, 10, 14, 16) for scanning a beam of measurement illumination over a range of illumination angles during a measurement so as to provide measurement illumination over a configurable range of illumination angles; a color selection module (12, 17, 19a, Figs. 4, 10, 14, 16) for controllably configuring a spectral configuration of said measurement illumination; and a controller (paragraph 0114; 15, 16 of Fig.18) operable to control said beam steering device and said color selection module such that said spectral configuration of said measurement illumination is varied in dependence with illumination angle within said range of illumination angles so as to obtain a desired detection condition for detection of diffracted radiation from a diffractive structure resultant from a measurement of the diffractive structure using said measurement illumination.
As to claim 2, Kasazumi teaches all as applied to claim 1, and in addition the limitation ‘substantially filling a detection numerical aperture with wanted diffracted order radiation resulting
from said measurement of the diffractive structure, for each of a plurality of desired wavelengths of said measurement illumination,’ is intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
As to claim 6, Kasazumi teaches all as applied to claim 1, and in addition the limitation ‘wherein said wanted diffraction order radiation comprises one or more first diffraction orders,’ is intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
As to claim 15, Kasazumi teaches all as applied to claim 1, and in addition teaches ‘the illumination module (1, 1a-c, Figs. 1, 4, 10, 14, 16, 18) configured to provide measurement illumination.’
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 3, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious an illumination module, wherein the controller is operable to: control said beam steering device to provide measurement illumination over a range of illumination angles corresponding to a substantially filled detection numerical aperture for each of the plurality of desired wavelengths; and simultaneously control said color selection module to select, for each illumination angle within said range of illumination angles, all wavelengths of said plurality of desired wavelengths for which the wanted diffracted order radiation will be captured within said detection numerical aperture, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim.
As to claim 4, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious an illumination module, wherein a desired detection condition comprises, for each of a plurality of desired wavelengths of said measurement illumination, detecting within a detection numerical aperture only one or more wanted diffraction order radiation resulting from the measurement of the diffractive structure, and not detecting any unwanted diffraction order radiation resulting from the measurement of the diffractive structure, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim. Claim 5 depends on claim 4.
As to claim 7, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious an illumination module, wherein said controller is operable to vary the spectral configuration of said measurement illumination during a single scan of said beam of said measurement illumination over said range of illumination angles in dependence with said with illumination angle. , in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claim. Claims 8-13 depend on claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Kandel et al. (US 20150036142 A1) teaches various metrology systems and methods are provided. One metrology system includes a light source configured to produce a diffraction-limited light beam, an apodizer configured to shape the light beam in the entrance pupil of illumination optics, and optical elements configured to direct the diffraction-limited light beam from the apodizer to an illumination spot on a grating target on a wafer and to collect scattered light from the grating target. The metrology system further includes a field stop and a detector configured to detect the scattered light that passes through the field stop. In addition, the metrology system includes a computer system configured to determine a characteristic of the grating target using output of the detector (abstract).
/ABDULLAHI NUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2886