DETAILED ACTION
Claims 16-27 are pending and are currently under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-28 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Massa et al (WO 2016/113334) (US 2017/0253897) and Sievernich et al (WO 2009/141367)(both IDS References).
Massa teaches a composition comprising L-glufosinate (see entire document, for instance, page 24, lines 12-22). The L-glufosinate is taught as being the L-glufosinate ammonium (see entire document, for instance, page 24, lines 12-22). Green further teaches that pyrimidinedione herbicides can be utilized in the composition, and teaches II-83/S-3100 is a known pyrimidinedione herbicide (see entire document, for instance, page 9, lines 14-29). The composition is useful for treating glufosinate resistant or tolerant natural or genetically engineered corn (see entire document, for instance, page 42, lines 20-26.
Massa, while teaching all of the instantly claimed components, does not directly teach the ratio of the L-glufosinate to II-83/S-3100.
Sievernich teaches an herbicidal composition comprising herbicides A, B, and C, wherein herbicide A is taught as being a salt of glufosinate, including ammonium salt, herbicide B is pyroxasulfone, and C is taught as being a pyrimidinedione herbicide useful for treating corn (see entire document, for instance, Abstract, claim 1, page 5, lines 25-26, page 33, lines 33-34, page 98, lines 19-30, and page 99, lines 32-38). Sievernich teaches that the ratio of herbicide A to herbicide B is preferably 100:1 to 1:2 (see entire document, for instance, page 5, lines 35-37). Sievernich teaches a ratio of B (pyroxasulfone) to C.2.1 (saflufenacil, a pyrimidinedione herbicide, the same class as II-83/S-3100) of 1:100 to 100:1 (see entire document, for instance, the page 57, No. 20). Sievernich teaches that the herbicides can be applied simultaneously (see entire document, for instance, page 3, lines 8-10). Sievernich further teaches that the composition is a useful herbicide for crop plants that are resistant to glufosinate (see entire document, for instance, paragraph bridging pages 99 and 100). The composition can be applied pre- or post-emergence (see entire document, for instance, page 108, lines 24-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to utilize the L-glufosinate and II-83/S-3100 of Massa in the instantly claimed amounts since Sievernich directly teaches glufosinate and pyrimidinedione herbicides (such as II-83/S-3100) are useful for herbicidal compositions in amounts that directly overlap the instantly claimed range. It is noted that MPEP 2144.05 states: “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Further, it is noted that MPEP 2144.05 states: "Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).”
Conclusion
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611