Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naskar (US2014/0306364A1) in view of Tanaka et al (US 2011/0038788 A1) and McCabe (US4661336 A).
Regarding claim 1, Naskar teaches a process for producing carbon fibers [abstract], the process comprising:
A) preparing a polymer solution or a molten polymer [abstract]
B) spinning the polymer solution in step (a) by wet spinning or air-gap spinning to form carbon fiber precursor fibers [0070];
C) drawing the carbon fiber precursors fibers through one or more draw and wash baths, resulting in drawn carbon fiber precursor fibers that are substantially free of solvent [0055]; and
D) oxidizing the drawn carbon fiber precursor fibers of step c) to form stabilized carbon fiber precursor fibers and then carbonizing the stabilized carbon fiber precursor fiber, thereby producing carbon fibers [0020-0038]; and Naskar teaches the polymer solution comprises polyacrylonitrile-based (PAN) polymer (claim 2).
Naskar does not explicitly disclose wherein said spinning comprises filtering and extruding the polymer solution into a coagulation bath. However, it is conventionally well known for carbon fibers to comprise a step of spinning comprising filtering and extruding the polymer solution into a coagulation bath. Analogous carbon fiber art, Tanaka et al, discloses spinning comprising filtering and extruding the polymer solution into a coagulation bath [0168]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated spinning comprising filtering and extruding the polymer solution into a coagulation bath since it is conventionally well known.
Although Naskar does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one salt of an organic cation containing C=N imine group is present in at least one of the steps a) and or step b, analogous art, McCabe discloses the use of C=N groups used to accelerate the rate of peroxidation-stabilization (column 4 lines 65-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an imine group as taught by McCabe into the method taught by Naskar for the benefit of increasing the rate of peroxidation-stabilization which results in a faster process and increased efficiency and productivity (column 2 lines 17-23).
Regarding claim 2, McCabe discloses wherein preparing the polymer solution at step (a) comprises polymerizing acrylonitrile with one or more co-monomer(s) in a medium (claim 3).
Regarding claim 3, Naskar is silent to the salt of an organic cation containing a C=N imine group is added to the polymer solution in step (a). Analogous art, McCabe discloses the use of C=N groups used to accelerate the rate of peroxidation-stabilization. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an imine group as taught by McCabe into the coagulation bath [0071] as taught by Naskar for the benefit of increasing the rate of peroxidation-stabilization which results in a faster process and increased efficiency and productivity (column 2 lines 17-23).
Regarding claim 4, Naskar teaches wherein the one or more co-monomers selected from the group consisting of acrylic acid, methacrylic acid methacrylate, vinyl acetate [0083].
Regarding claim 5, Naskar teaches wherein the one or more co-monomer(s) is selected from the group consisting of itaconic acid, methacrylic acid, acrylic acid, vinyl-based esters, and other vinyl derivatives, and mixtures thereof [0083].
Regarding claim 6, Naskar is silent to the salt of an organic cation containing a C=N imine group is present in the coagulation bath in step b). Analogous art, McCabe discloses the use of C=N groups used to accelerate the rate of peroxidation-stabilization. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an imine group as taught by McCabe into the coagulation bath [0071] as taught by Naskar for the benefit of increasing the rate of peroxidation-stabilization which results in a faster process and increased efficiency and productivity (column 2 lines 17-23).
Regarding claim 7, Naskar is silent to the C=N imine group which falls in Applicant’s claim range of less than or equal to 15 wt% . Further, McCabe discloses the C=N imine group is from 0.25%- 25% which overlaps with Applicant’s range less than 15 wt% (column 4 lines 33-36). MPEP 2131.03: Prior Art which teaches a range within, overlapping or touching the claimed range is anticipated if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with “sufficient specificity.” Further, MPEP 2144.05 states In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Regarding claim 8, Naskar does not explicitly disclose wherein the carbon fiber precursor fibers formed are in the coagulation bath for less than or equal to 15 minutes. However, coagulation time is determine the separation and solidification of the material to forming a porous or structured material. If the coagulation time is not long enough, the material will not separate and polymerize and if the bath time is too long, the material maybe polymerize and form a different product all together. Therefore, coagulation time is a result effective variable. MPEP 2144.05 states In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Regarding claim 9, Naskar is silent to the salt of an organic cation containing a C=N imine group is present in one or more of the draw and wash baths in step C. Analogous art, McCabe discloses the use of C=N groups used to accelerate the rate of peroxidation-stabilization. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an imine group as taught by McCabe into the coagulation bath [0071] as taught by Naskar for the benefit of increasing the rate of peroxidation-stabilization which results in a faster process and increased efficiency and productivity (column 2 lines 17-23).
Regarding claim 10, McCabe discloses the C=N imine group is from 0.25%- 25% which overlaps with Applicant’s range of less than 15% (column 4 lines 33-36). MPEP 2131.03: Prior Art which teaches a range within, overlapping or touching the claimed range is anticipated if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with “sufficient specificity.” Further, MPEP 2144.05 states In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality.
Regarding claim 11, Naskar is silent to the salt of an organic cation containing a C=N imine group is present in steps c) in an amount effective for the organic cation containing a C=N imine group to be substantially uniformly distributed throughout the carbon fiber precursor fibers formed in step c). Analogous art, McCabe discloses the use of C=N groups used to accelerate the rate of peroxidation-stabilization which leads to increasing the productivity of carbon fiber (column 1 lines 5-9; column 2 lines 26-30). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an imine group as taught by McCabe into the method taught by Naskar for the benefit of increasing the rate of peroxidation-stabilization which results in a faster process and increased efficiency and productivity (column 2 lines 17-23).
Regarding claim 12, Naskar teaches the salt of an organic cation containing a C=N imine group is a salt of guanidinium ion [abstract].
Regarding claim 14, Naskar teaches the carbon fibers produced have a tensile strength of from 450-1000 ksi [0097].
Regarding claim 15, Naskar teaches the carbon fibers produced have a tensile modulus of from 30 to 48 msi [0097].
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Naskar (US2014/0306364A1) in view of Tanaka et al (US 2011/0038788 A1) and McCabe (US4661336 A), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Ikegami et al (US 4,412,937).
Regarding claim 13, Naskar and McCabe do not explicitly disclose wherein the carbon fibers produced have a core ratio of from 10-50%. Analogous carbon fiber art, Ikegami et al, discloses For the purpose of this invention, the core ratio is preferably as small as possible. The upper limit of the core ratio is 18, preferably 12, and more preferably 8. When the core ratio exceeds 18, the activated carbon fiber to be obtained fails to acquire high quality. In accordance with the present invention, the core ratio can be easily lowered below 5, even to 0.2, for example. Although the core ratio may be lowered to 0, such excessive lowering of the core ratio entails operational disadvantages such as elongation of the time for the preoxidation. In the first place, the manufacture of activated carbon fiber generally does not require such a low core ratio (column 6 lines 56-68). Ikegami et al’s range overlaps with Applicant’s range of 10-50%. MPEP 2131.03: Prior Art which teaches a range within, overlapping or touching the claimed range is anticipated if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with “sufficient specificity.” Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a core ratio of from 10-50%, as taught by Ikegami, into the method taught by Naskar and McCabe to ensure the quality of the carbon.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Naskar does not disclose the steps of preparing a polymer solution comprises PAN polymer. Applicant further argues Naskar discloses a method that includes immersing a functionalized polyvinyl precursor fiber in a heated liquid solution for sufficient time to convert the functionalized polyvinyl precursor fiber in a heated liquid solution for sufficient time to convert the functionalized precursor fiber to a pre-carbonized fiber, and subjecting the pre-carbonized fiber to high temperature carbonization conditions to produce the final carbon fiber. However, polyacrylonitrile is a type of polyvinyl precursor (claim 2).
Applicant further argues McCabe does not teach to add salt of an organic cation containing a C=N nitrile group to the polymer solution containing PAN polymer prior to spinning or the coagulation bath. However McCabe teaches the use of C=N as an accelerator. Furthers it’s the references in combination that teaches the limitation.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant further argues Ikegami core ratio is not relevant since the methods are different. However, Ikegami’s method are not inserted into the method of Naskar. Rather the teaching of why one ordinary skill in the art would desire a core ratio of from 10-50%. Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARAH TAUFIQ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754